DMV: Obtaining an Auto Club License

Obtaining an Auto Club License
 
SERVICE UPDATE:  As DMV transitions to a new, online-only appointment system for road tests, DMV will stop taking road test appointments on October 21 and October 23, and will resume October 24 with its new convenient online system.  See more information here
 
An Auto Club License is required for any person or entity that offers a membership to the public to perform, for a stipulated fee covering a certain period, any service relating to the protection and assistance of automobile owners or drivers, other than insurance. 
 
To obtain an Auto Club License under Connecticut State Law Title 14 Sec. 14-67 there are several steps which must be completed prior to filing.  Below listed are the steps which must be followed:
 
  • All applicants need to apply for a $10,000 Surety Bond (form E-140).

  • An application for an Auto Club License (form K-2) must be completed.

  • An outline of methods used to solicit memberships for the Auto Club License must be submitted.

  • A Business License Personnel List (form K-26) must be filled out with a valid e-mail address.

  • A Certificate of Business Status and Agent for Service (form K-198) must be completed.  Any companies or businesses located out of state must provide a statutory agent located in Connecticut from Secretary Of States Office.
  • An applicant must obtain a Certificate of Good Standing from the Office of the Secretary of State from the state in which you are located.

  • A check in the amount of $500 made payable to:  "DMV"
In order to obtain or submit the items necessary, please contact:
 
Department of Motor Vehicles
Regulated Business Licensing Unit
60 State Street
Wethersfield, CT 06161
Hours of Operation:  Monday - Friday 8 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Phone:  860-263-5056
Email: dmv.dr@ct.gov
 
                                  
 




Content Last Modified on 8/14/2015 11:09:45 AM