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CERTIFICATION
BY APPLICANT

(To be signed in the 
presence of DMV 

Inspector or 
DMV Agent)

DMV USE ONLY

STATE OF
CONNECTICUT

DATE

QUESTION EXPLANATIONYES
(    )

NO
(    )

Subscribed 
before me

DATE SIGNED

X

X
SIGNATURE OF INSPECTOR OR AGENT

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANTI swear or affirm under penalty of false statement in accordance with 
Connecticut General Statute 53a-157b that all information provided as part of 
this application is true and accurate.

REMARKS

DOCUMENTS SUBMITTED

FINGERPRINT CARD DRIVER HISTORY CRIMINAL HISTORYFORM MCSA-5876

1.  APPLICANT'S NAME (Last, First, Middle Initial) 2.  GENDER 3.  DATE OF BIRTH

7.  MAILING ADDRESS (Number and Street, City or Town, State, Zip Code)

8.  RESIDENCE ADDRESS (If different from mailing address)

6.  BIRTHPLACE (If foreign born, include country)

9.  NAME AND PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT (Business name and complete address)

12.  OPERATOR'S LICENSE NUMBER 13.  DAYTIME NUMBER

M F
5.  LIST ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED (Alias, Maiden, etc.)

4.  SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

11.  APPLYING FOR ENDORSEMENT

S V A

20.  Have you EVER BEEN CONVICTED of a 
crime, offense, forfeited bond or collateral?  
(Exclude minor traffic violations, or any offense 
settled in a juvenile court or under a youthful 
offender law).

IF YES, EXPLAIN

IF YES, EXPLAIN

IF NO, EXPLAIN
18.  Do you meet all the physical requirements 
as set forth in Section 14-44 CGS and Title 49 
CFR Section 391.41?

17.  Have you ever been treated for any health 
condition which is likely to cause a loss of 
consciousness or any other loss of ability to 
control a motor vehicle?

15.  Have you ever held a driver's license 
issued by any other state or country during the 
past five years?

IF "YES", WHAT STATE(S) OR COUNTRY?

IF YES, EXPLAIN
16.  Have you ever been convicted of an 
alcohol or drug related offense relative to 
operation of a motor vehicle?

INSTRUCTIONS
Type or print clearly with ballpoint pen, answer questions 1 through 20, and sign under oath
Attach: 

•
•

F











 

Medical Examiner Certificate (Form MCSA-5876) with a exam date within 90 days of applying.
Completed fingerprint card (1 for Connecticut State Police)
Certified driving history(ies) and criminal history record for any out-of-state/country licenses held during preceding 5 years
A bank check, personal check or money order in the amount of $14.75 payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) must accompany application  
Effective October 1st, the fee for fingerprint processing will be decreasing from $14.75 to $12.00.
National Sex Offender Check from http://nsopw.gov performed within 5 calendar days of applying.

(ATTACH CERTIFIED DRIVING AND CRIMINAL HISTORY FOR EACH STATE OR COUNTRY)

BADGE #

10.  E-MAIL: (IF YOU WISH TO BE CONTACTED VIA E-MAIL PLEASE LIST)

SEX OFFENDER CHECK

( )

14.  Have you lived in another state or country 
during the past five years?

IF "YES", WHAT STATE(S) OR COUNTRY?

19.  Are there any criminal charges currently 
pending against you?

IF YES, EXPLAIN

(ATTACH CERTIFIED DRIVING AND CRIMINAL HISTORY FOR EACH STATE OR COUNTRY)

I do here by authorize 
Print applicant name

the Dept. of Children and Families to research its records to determine if I am listed on the Central Registry of Perpetrators of Child Abuse and Neglect.  I understand that this 
information will be used solely to determine my suitability for whether I am a proper person to be issued a Connecticut Public Passenger endorsement by the Dept. of Motor 
Vehicles.  I release the Dept. of Children and Families from any liability for any damages I may incur which may result from the release/use of this information. 

Date: Applicant Signature:
This authorization will expire 180 days after the date of the signature.  
Note: This search will not disclose substantiations or DCF involvement unless the person signing the release is listed on the Central Registry.



CONNECTICUT DMV REQUIREMENTS FOR 
PUBLIC PASSENGER ENDORSEMENTS 

The following documents must be submitted in person by the applicant at one of the following DMV offices:  Bridgeport, Danbury, 
Hamden, Norwalk, Old Saybrook,  Waterbury, Wethersfield or Willimantic and signed in front of a DMV Licensing Agent/Inspector 
or Sergeant to obtain a public passenger endorsement.

1. ____ Application for Public Passenger Endorsement (R7)

•
•
•
•

All questions #1-20 must be answered.  Incomplete applications will not be accepted. (Please print clearly)
Employers name and address (#9) must be listed. If unemployed, state so.
Failure to disclose criminal history (#19 & #20) will result in denial.
Must sign DCF Release.

Medical Examiner Certificate Form MCSA-5876, the exam date on the certificate must be within 90 days of applying for the 
endorsement.

3. ____ Connecticut State Police Fingerprints (DPS-125C rev 7/95) 

NOTE: The State fingerprint card can be obtained at DMV or your local police department. However, the 
fingerprinting process must be done at your local police department or CT State Police headquarters. Fill out 
the information on the card before being fingerprinted. Do not fold the fingerprint card. 

4. ____ A personal check, bank check or money order made payable to "DMV" for $14.75 for fingerprint processing.
             Effective October 1st, the fee for fingerprint processing will be decreasing from $14.75 to $12.00.

6. ____ Valid Connecticut drivers license 

All applicants must be in the office one hour before closing.
DMV Hours are: Tuesday, Wednesday & Friday 7:45 am to 4:00 pm, 

Thursday 9:15 am to 5:30 pm, Saturday 8:00 am to 12:30 pm. Closed Mondays and Holidays.

Approval letter/email
Current CT driver license
Applicable fees for endorsement

STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES

On The Web At ct.gov/dmv

A public passenger endorsement is required to operate the following types of vehicles:

Endorsement Type of Vehicle

A certified driving history regardless if you held a driver license and a certified criminal history from all previous states 
where you resided in the past 5 years regardless if you held a driver license. (Applicants from the following CLOSED 
record states:  AZ, CA, MS, NC, TN, and VT are only required to submit a certified driving history). 

S

V

A

F

School Bus

Student Transportation

Activity Vehicle

Service Bus, Taxi and Livery

2. ____ 

NOTE: If an email address is provided on the application for Public Passenger Endorsement (R-7) you will receive all 
correspondence regarding your endorsement via email.  Written notification will not be sent.  We highly suggest that you 
provide an email address as it may shorten the processing time of your application.  (Average processing time is 6-8 
weeks).

Process: Once the above documentation is accepted by branch office it will be fowarded to the Passenger Endorsement Review Unit 
to be examined.  This examination will take approx. 6-8 weeks.  After the examination is complete an approval/denial letter will be sent 
to the applicant.  (NOTE: If an email address is provided the approval/denial letter will be emailed to the applicant).  If the applicant is 
approved the applicant must present the following at a local branch office:    

•
•
•

(S endorsement must have passed proficiency test/V endorsement must present a training certificate (R-360) in addition to the approval 
letter)

Sex Offender check:  A sex offender check must be run on the applicant name at http://www.nsopw.gov (if there are AKA's all 
names must be run).  The check submitted must have a date stamp from the printer it is printed from.  The date stamp must be 
within five (5) days of the date of application.

5. ____ 

NOTE: If your CT license was issued less than 5 years ago, you must also submit:

7. ____ 






