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State of Connecticut 
 Criminal Penalties 

• Connecticut General Statues: Section 53-344(b)  
– Any person who sells, gives or delivers to any minor 

under eighteen years of age tobacco in any form; 
unless the minor is delivering or accepting delivery in 
such person's capacity as an employee, shall be fined 
not more than:  

• $200 – 1st offense  
• $350 – 2nd offense within an 18 month period  
• $500 – 3rd offense within an 18 month period  
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State of Connecticut 
 Civil Penalties – Over the Counter 

• Connecticut General Statues: Section 12-295a (c) 
– Any dealer, distributor or their employee who has sold, 

given or delivered tobacco products to a minor; other 
than a minor who is delivering or accepting delivery in 
his capacity as an employee, is required for the:  

• 1st violation to successfully complete an online tobacco 
prevention education program administered by the 
Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services 
within thirty days of notice OR pay a civil penalty of $300 
if they fail to complete such program. 

• 2nd violation within an 24 month period to pay a civil 
penalty of $750   

• 3rd violation within an 24 month period to pay a civil 
penalty of $750 and suspension of license 
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State of Connecticut 
 Civil Penalties – Vending Machines 

• Connecticut General Statues: Section 12-295a (d) 
– Any owner of an establishment in which a cigarette vending 

machine or restricted cigarette vending machine is located has 
sold, given or delivered cigarettes or tobacco products from 
any such machine to a minor; other than a minor who is 
delivering or accepting delivery in his capacity as an employee, 
is required for the:  

• 1st violation to successfully complete an online tobacco prevention 
education program administered by the Department of Mental 
Health and Addiction Services within thirty days of notice OR pay 
a civil penalty of $500 if they fail to complete such program. 

• 2nd violation within an 24 month period to pay a civil penalty of 
$750   

• 3rd violation within an 24 month period a civil penalty of $750 and 
suspension of license 
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State of Connecticut 
 Civil Penalties – Electronic Nicotine Delivery System 

• Connecticut Public Act No. 14-76: Section1. (b) 
– Any person who sells, gives or delivers to any minor 

under eighteen years of age an electronic nicotine 
delivery system or vapor product, unless the minor is 
delivering or accepting delivery in such person's 
capacity as an employee, in any form shall be fined not 
more than: 

• $200 – 1st offense  
• $350 – 2nd offense within an 18 month period  
• $500 – 3rd offense within an 18 month period  
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