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ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES 

FOR PERSONS SEEKING PAWNBROKER, SECONDHAND DEALER AND 
PRECIOUS METALS AND STONES DEALERS LICENSING 

 
1. Complete the Application for Licensing under C.G.S. Chapter 409 (DESPP-XXX-C) 

2. Applicants are required to complete the appropriate Advisement of Requirement form(s) for each license you are 

applying for.  

3. Bring the Application, the Advisement of Requirement form(s) and any additional pages for the application process to a 

Notary Public and sign the appropriate forms in the presence of the Notary Public.  
4. PAWNBROKER and SECONDHAND DEALER APPLICATIONS: Applicants, employees, officers, shareholders, 

financial backers or creditors or any other individual with a relationship to the entity that is similar to that of an officer, 

shareholder, financial backer or creditor are required to submit to state and national criminal history checks. 
5. PRECIOUS METALS AND STONES DEALER APPLICATIONS: Applicants are required to submit to state and 

national criminal history checks. 
6. Criminal history checks require the submission of two complete sets of fingerprints, one on a State of Connecticut 

Applicant Card (Green Card) and the second on a FBI Applicant Card (Blue Card). Fingerprinting can be completed at 

any law enforcement agency, Resident Trooper’s Office, a State Police Troop (check with the Troop for fingerprint 

times) or at DESPP Headquarters. Please note, fingerprinting for criminal record checks must be completed by a law 

enforcement agency.  Fingerprints taken by the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection are subject 

to a fee of $15.00. 
7. Both fingerprint cards for each individual fingerprinted are to be sent with the Application to the Special Licensing and 

Firearms Unit.   

8. The following fees will apply;  

a. Application Licensing or Renewal Fee (Separate check or money order) 

i. Pawnbrokers Initial Fee $50.00, Pawnbroker Renewal Fee $25.00.  

1. If such person is also licensed as a Secondhand Dealer for such business the renewal fee 

and bond is waived only for the Pawnbrokers License.    

ii. Secondhand Dealer Initial Fee $250.00, Secondhand Dealer Renewal Fee $100.00               

iii. Precious Metal or Stones Initial Fee $10, Precious Metal or Stones Renewal Fee $10 

b. FBI Criminal Background Inquiry Fee $14.75 (Separate check or money order) 

c. State of Connecticut Criminal Background Inquiry Fee $50.00 (Separate check or money order) 

 The application packet must include (3) separate checks or money orders for each of the fees         
 listed above under a, b and c. All checks are to be made payable to: TREASURER, STATE OF  

CONNECTICUT. 
 

9. The application, advisement of requirements form(s), fingerprint cards and checks or money orders are to be sent to:  
 

DESPP- Special Licensing and Firearms Units 
1111 Country Club Road 

Middletown, CT 06457-2389 
ATTN:  Chapter 409/414 Licensing Section 

 
10. Applications for licenses that require the filing of a bond at the time such license is issued will be contacted by the 

Special Licensing and Firearms Unit (SLFU).  

11. Upon issuing a license, SLFU will provide the applicant with a CD containing an EXCEL spreadsheet which will serve 

as the electronic document for submission of transactions.        

Failure to comply with these procedures could result in the delayed processing of your application or renewal. Any question 

should be directed to the SLFU Chapter 409/414 Licensing Section at 860-685-8046. 


