
   
CONNECTICUT IS TOUGH ON 

DRUNK DRIVERS 
 
 
DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE (DUI) 
is a criminal offence in the State of 

Connecticut.  In addition to the fact that it is a criminal 
offence, violators will also be subjected to stiff administrative 
sanctions, including license suspension periods.   These 
suspensions have been revised and are imposed much earlier.  They 
are imposed in ADDITION to criminal penalties and appear on your 
DRIVING RECORD.   

DRINKING AND DRIVING IS NOT 
TOLERATED ON CONNECTICUT’S ROADWAYS

 
IMPLIED CONSENT LAW - In Connecticut if you operate a motor 
vehicle, it is presumed that you consent to a test to determine 
your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC).  Under the current law 
you are legally intoxicated if your BAC is .08 or above.  Also, 
if you are under the present drinking age of 21, you are 
considered legally intoxicated with a BAC of .02 
 

IF YOU DRINK AND DRIVE, YOU TAKE RISKS 
• You risk injuring yourself, your friends or family. 

You could also injure or kill other innocent drivers 
and passengers.   

• You risk a criminal arrest which could result in 
license suspensions, fines and even jail time. 

• You risk administrative sanctions involving the 
suspension of your license, In addition to the criminal 
penalties 

 
YOU RISK INJURING YOURSELF OR OTHERS - ANY amount of alcohol will 
inhibit your ability to operate a motor vehicle.  The effects of 
alcohol in your system are magnified by several factors, 
including your age, size, weight, emotional or physical 
condition, any prescription or over-the counter drugs you’ve 
taken and how much you food you have eaten.  After you have 
consumed alcohol, your reaction time is slower and your 
coordination, vision and judgment are all impaired. Combining 
these effects with driving is DANGEROUS. 
 
YOU RISK A CRIMINAL ARREST- You will be DETAINED by the police 
and read your rights.   You will be placed in restraints 
(handcuffs) and transported to the State Police Troop, or police 
station, in a police cruiser.  Your vehicle will be towed at your 
expense.  While at the station, after you are processed you will 
be held in a lock-up facility, until you are bailed out.  You 
will have to go to a criminal court and appear before a judge to 
face the criminal charge of Driving Under the Influence. 
 
YOU RISK ADMINISTRATIVE SANCTIONS -   While at the police station 
you will be asked to submit to a Blood Alcohol Concentration  

) Test.  If you refuse, you will loose your license for 6 

 
STIFF CRIMINAL PENALTIES FOR DRUNK DRIVERS 
 
In addition to the administrative sanctions which result in 
extended license suspension periods, a person arrested for DUI 
will have to appear in court.  If the court proceedings result in 
a conviction, there are mandatory criminal penalties which 
include:  

• Fines ranging from $500.00 to $8000.00  
• Jail time 
• Community Service 
• Additional license suspension periods, and even 

permanent license      revocations 
 
DRUNK DRIVING IS A FATAL ERROR 
 
According to data from the National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration (NHTSA), There are more than 17,000 people killed 
in alcohol related traffic deaths per year.  That is an average 
of one death every half- hour.  Alcohol related fatalities 
account for almost half of the total traffic fatalities in this 
country.  
 
97 percent of the driving public believe that drinking and 
driving is a threat to their personal safety, and 66 percent feel 
it is important to support tough drunk driving laws and assist in 
reducing this problem.  This means that there are people actively 
alerting police of possible drunk drivers on Connecticut 
roadways, IN ADDITION to the already heightened awareness of the 
law enforcement community.   
 

DON’T TAKE THE CHANCE 
DON’T DRINK AND DRIVE 

 

DESIGNATE A DRIVER 
 

COMPLIMENTS OF: 

 
CONNECTICUT STATE POLICE 

Department of Public Safety 
Public Information Office 
(BAC

months.  If you take the test and register with a BAC of .08 to 
.16, you will loose your license for 90 days.  If you register 
above a .16, you will loose your license for 120 days.  If you 
are under the age of 21 and your BAC is above a .02, you will 
loose your license for 90 days.  These penalties apply to 1st time 
offenders of DUI.  After your first offence, these suspension 
periods increase dramatically. 

THESE RISKS ARE NOT WORTH TAKING 
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