despp: Frequently Asked Questions
Special Licensing and Firearms

FIREARMS AND PISTOL PERMITS


 




How do I get a permit to carry a gun in the State of Connecticut?

Out of state residents may apply for a non-resident Connecticut State Pistol Permit. Non- residents apply directly to the Connecticut State Police.  Call 860-685-8494 to have an application mailed out.

How do I apply for a Temporary State Permit?

You must go to the your local Police Department or First Selectman’s office to obtain an application. The application has all the instructions necessary to obtain the permit. The cost of the permit is $70.00, and it generally takes eight weeks to obtain. 

Once I have received a Temporary State Permit, how do I apply for a Connecticut State Permit?

You can apply at the following locations to fill out the state application and have your photo taken. You must bring a copy of your Temporary State Permit, a check, money order for $70.00, made payable to Treasurer State of Ct. or cash,  proof you are legally and lawfully in the United States (i.e., Birth Certificate, U.S. Passport, Naturalization Certificate or Alien Registration Card issued by I.C.E.) and a current photo I.D., such as a driver’s license.  Applications are available at:

  • Troop G in Bridgeport - Tuesday through Saturday
  • Troop E in Montville - Tuesday through Saturday
  • Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection in Middletown

Office hours and locations

How do I change my address on my State Pistol Permit?

You can either call (860) 685-8290, or mail a letter to the Emergency Services and Public Protection, Division of State Police, Special Licensing and Firearms Unit, 1111 Country Club Road, Middletown, CT, 06457. Change of address is required within 48 hours, and the letter should include pistol permit number, name, and date of birth, old address, and new address.

May I keep my State Pistol Permit if I move out of state?

Yes, providing you notify the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit of the change of address, and continue to renew your permit.

How long is a State Permit to Carry Pistols and Revolvers good for?

The permit is valid for 5 years from date of issue unless revoked or suspended. 

Who may purchase a handgun? 

Only those people who are Permit holders, Eligibility Certificate holders, or sworn Police Officers may purchase a handgun.

I am selling a gun to a friend. How do I do this, and is there any paperwork involved?

If you are selling a handgun, the purchaser must have a Connecticut State Pistol Permit, Eligibility Certificate, or be a sworn Police Officer. You must call the toll free Gun Sale Authorization line at (888) 335-8438 and obtain an authorization number. The DPS-3, Sale and Transfer of all Firearms must be completed.  If you are selling a long gun, the purchaser must have a Connecticut State Pistol Permit, Eligibility Certificate, a Long Gun Eligibility Certificate, be a sworn Police Officer or an active member of the military.  A DPS-3 must also be completed.  In both cases, the seller must keep a copy of all related paperwork for 5 years.

What is considered an Assault Weapon in Connecticut?

Section 53-202a of the Connecticut General Statutes as amended by Public Act 13-3 and Public Act 13-200, gives the definition, and an itemized list of what weapons are considered Assault Weapons. Who may possess Assault Weapons in Connecticut? Law enforcement and military personnel may possess Assault Weapons in connection with their official duties, and any person who has a Certificate of Possession issued by the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit may possess the Assault Weapon listed on their certificate.

Can I get a Certificate of Possession for my Assault Weapon now?

Yes. You may apply for an Assault Weapon Certificate by December 31, 2013 for those firearms listed in Public Act 13-3 as amended by Public Act 13-220.  The only exceptions to this would be a person who has been out of state serving in the military since October 1994, or a person who receives an Assault Weapon through bequeath or intestate succession providing the weapon already had a certificate. In these instances, the person has 90 days to register the weapon with the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit.

I just moved into Connecticut and I possess an Assault Weapon. May I keep the weapon or if not what are my options?

Within 90 days of moving to Connecticut, you may sell the weapon to any licensed gun dealer, or you must do one of the following;

a) Render the weapon permanently inoperable,

b) Sell it to an out of state dealer,

c) Relinquish the weapon to a law enforcement agency.

If you choose to keep the weapon you risk a felony arrest.

I never registered my Assault Weapon, What are my options?

Relinquish it to a law enforcement agency without risk of penalty
RE. 53-202(e)

Can Connecticut gun dealers buy or sell Assault Weapons?

A licensed gun dealer may purchase any Assault Weapon that has a Certificate of Possession, or any Assault weapon that has been transferred into Connecticut as part of someone’s personal belongings for less than 90 days. The dealer may then sell them to other dealers, law enforcement agencies, or out of state.

Can Police Officers buy Assault Weapons?

Yes. However, in order to purchase the active duty police officer must first obtain a letter on your department's letterhead authorizing such purchase and stating that the weapon will be used in the discharge of official duties as well as off duty, authorized by such department, division, commissioner or authority, authorizing the purchase.  The letter must also contain the following statement, "A records check indicates that (your name) has not been convited of a crime of domestic violence".

LEO FAQS

PRIVATE DETECTIVE LICENSE

Declaratory Ruling

How do I apply for a Private Detective license in Connecticut?

Applicants must reference Connecticut General Statutes Sec. 29-161-2

    

Employment as a security officer SHALL NOT be considered as employment as an investigator. If the applicant is a corporation, association or partnership, the person filing the application in behalf of such corporation, association or partnership shall meet the qualifications set out herein for an individual applicant, and shall be an officer of such corporation, or member of such association or partnership. If the commissioner grants a private detective license to an applicant based on such applicant’s experience as an investigator with an organized municipal fire department, such license shall restrict such license to performing the same type of investigations as he performed for the municipal fire department.

To obtain a license you must:

  • Accurately complete an application, (DPS-366-C);
  • Two (2) recent photographs, 2"x 2", full-face passport style with blue background;
  • Return completed fingerprint card (State) with two Checks or Money Orders, one in the amount of $ 50.00 and the other in the amount of $ 14.75, both payable to the Treasuer, State of Connecticut;
  • Motor vehicle abstract (driving record) for the past three (3) years from the motor vehicle agency in the state you reside;
  • A copy of applicant’s current operator’s drivers license;
  • If the applicant has been in the military, a copy of his/her DD-214 or other documentation to indicate type of discharge;
  • Four (4) letters of character reference (licensee only) to be sent directly from the authors to the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit. Letters must include the addresses and telephone numbers of the authors. Form letters are not acceptable and will be returned;
  • If the applicant is retired or separated from a local or state police department, a letter of discharge must be sent from the former employer to this department. This letter from said department must describe length of service, duties and date of retirement or separation;
  • A recent credit bureau report (licensee only);
  • Minimum High School Education, provide a copy of high school diploma, GED, college transcript, or college degree;
  • If the applicant is currently under any psychiatric care, letter from the attending psychologist is to be sent to this office to verify the applicant’s ability to hold the sought after license;
  • The applicant must be a U.S Citizen, or a naturalized U.S. Citizen, or possess an INS Green card.  Proof of said documents is required.  An I.C.E. work permit is not acceptable to work in the Investigative Industry;
  • Documentation from previous employers, verifying license eligibility, must be sent directly to the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit. These letters must indicate, in chronological order, the following: date of hire and termination; duties (what, when, where and how long) in each position, reason for leaving employment. All information from previous employer(s) must be sent directly from past employer(s) to the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit. All letters must include telephone numbers and addresses of past employers;
  • Out of state applicants must submit written verification from the state agency regulating private detective/security companies stating the licensee’s name, type of license held, length of time license has been held and if the applicant is currently in good standing;
  • If a corporate license is being sought, a copy of the Certificate of Incorporation from the Connecticut Secretary of State must be submitted. If the corporate entity is an out-of-state corporation, a copy of the Certificate of Authority To Do Business as a Foreign Corporation from the Connecticut Secretary of State must be included. No corporate license will be issued until said documentation has been supplied to the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit.
  • Corporate Officials. All persons engaged as Corporate Officials must be registered with the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit (Corporate Official meaning President, Vice President, Secretary or Treasurer). Failure to register a Corporate Official may result in your license not being issued. Refer to Connecticut Public Act # 04-192 (Corporate officials may not work as an investigator, or bodyguard, unless he/she has been properly registered as an employee of the company.)
  • Each Corporate Official must complete the Application for License (DPS-366-C), indicating that he/she is a Corporate Official (only the individual acting as licensee will mark the box "licensee"). Each Corporate Official must submit two (2) 2" x 2" photographs (full face), two (2) fingerprint cards, and two (2) money orders: one in the amount of $50.00 and one in the amount of $16.50, both made payable to the Treasuer, State of Connecticut
 
SECURITY SERVICE LICENSE

What do I need to apply for a Security Service License?

Applicants must reference Connecticut General Statutes Sec. 29-161h

The applicant for a Security Service license shall be:

To obtain a license you must:

  • Accurately complete an application, (DPS-366-C);
  • Two (2) recent photographs,"2 x 2", full-face passport style with blue background;
  • Return completed fingerprint card (State) with two (2) Checks or Money Orders, one in the amount of $ 14.75, and the other in the amount of $ 50.00, both payable to the Treasuer, State of Connecticut;
  • Motor vehicle abstract (driving record) for the past three (3) years from the motor vehicle agency in the state you reside;
  • A copy of applicant’s current operator’s drivers license;
  • If applicant has been in the military, a copy of his/her DD-214 or other documentation to indicate type of discharge;
  • Four (4) letters of character reference (licensee only) to be sent directly from the author to the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit. Letters must include the addresses and telephone numbers of the authors.  Form letters are not acceptable and will be returned;
  • If applicant is retired or separated from a local or state police department, a letter of discharge must be sent from the former employer to this department. This letter from said department must describe length of service, duties and date of retirement or separation;
  • A recent credit bureau report (licensee only);
  • Minimum High School Education, provide a copy of high school diploma, GED, college transcript, or college degree;
  • If the applicant is currently under psychiatric care, a letter from the attending psychologist is to be sent to this office to verify the applicant’s ability to hold the sought after license;
  • The applicant must be a U.S Citizen, or a naturalized U.S. Citizen, or possess an INS Green card.  Proof of said documents is required.  An INS work permit is not acceptable to work in the Investigative Industry;
  • Documentation from previous employers, verifying license eligibility, must be sent directly to the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit. These letters must indicate, in chronological order, the following: date of hire and termination; duties (what, when, where and how long) in each position; reason for leaving employment. All information from previous employer(s) must be sent directly from past employer(s) to the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit. All letters must include telephone numbers and addresses of past employers;
  • Out-of-state applicants must submit written verification from the state agency regulation private detective/security companies stating the licensee’s name, type of license held, length of time license has been held and that the license is currently in good standing;
  • If a corporate license is being sought, a copy of the Certificate of Incorporation from the Connecticut Secretary of State must be submitted. If the corporate entity is an out-of-state corporation, a copy of the Certificate of Authority To Do Business as a Foreign Corporation from the Connecticut Secretary of State must be included. No corporate license will be issued until said documentation has been supplied to the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit.
  • Corporate Officials. All persons engaged as Corporate Officials must be registered with the Special Licensing & Firearms Unit (Corporate Official meaning President, Vice President, Secretary or Treasurer). Failure to register a Corporate Official may result in your license not being issued. (Corporate Officials may not work as Security Officers or Bodyguards, unless he/she has obtained the Security Officer Certification Identification Card and has been properly registered as an employee of the company).
  • Each Corporate Official must complete an Application for Licensing, (DPS-366-C), indicating that he/she is a Corporate Official (only the individual acting as licensee will mark the box "licensee"). Each Corporate Official must submit two (2) 2"x 2" photographs (full face), one(1) fingerprint card and two (2) money orders: one in the amount of $50.00 and one in the amount of $14.75, both made payable to the Treasuer, State of Connecticut.




Content Last Modified on 11/14/2017 12:11:26 PM