despp: Connecticut State Police Step Up Enforcement of Distracted Driving Violations
2017

Connecticut State Police Step Up Enforcement of Distracted Driving Violations



{Connecticut State Police Patch}

Dr. Dora B. Schriro
Commissioner
Colonel Alaric J. Fox
Deputy Commissioner
Division of State Police
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
August 3, 2017

Connecticut State Police Step Up Enforcement of Distracted Driving Violations


(MIDDLETOWN CT – August 2, 2017) - “U Drive. U Text. U Pay.” That’s the candid message that will be delivered to all drivers as the Connecticut State Police cracks down on distracted driving with an enhanced enforcement effort from August 2 – 16.


Troopers will ramp up their efforts to “find and fine” violators of the state law that prohibits motor vehicle operators from using hand-held devices while driving. 

Nationwide in 2015, an estimated 3,477 people were killed and 391,000 were injured in motor vehicle crashes involving distracted drivers, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

“Crashes due to cell phone usage are preventable. Keep your eyes on the road and your hands on the steering wheel whenever you are driving.  That incoming text and outgoing phone call can wait.  Focus all of your attention on arriving at your destination safely,” said Commissioner Dora B. Schriro of the Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection.

 

Colonel Alaric J. Fox, commanding officer of the State Police, noted, “Troopers have responded to countless crashes caused by distracted drivers – some of which have ended in fatalities.  The task of driving must have your full, undivided attention. Connecticut State Troopers urge you to put down the cell phone and do not pick it up before you arrive safely at your destination.”

 

As a reminder, fines for using a mobile phone while behind the wheel in Connecticut are significant: A first offense will cost $150, a second $300, and a third and subsequent offense $500.

The 2017 “U Drive. U Text. U Pay.” Campaign runs through August 16, 2017.


 

Contact Us:

                                      Office:
860-685-8230                     Fax: 860-685-8301                 

                      Email: DESPP.Feedback@ct.gov                
      Website: www.ct.gov/despp

           facebook.com/connecticutstatepolice                 
      @CT_State_Police   #ctstatepolice



An Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity
Employer





















































Content Last Modified on 8/3/2017 1:58:40 PM