despp: Special Licensing and Firearms

Special Licensing and Firearms

Effective November 9, 2016, Troop E, Montville's schedule will be changing.
Schedule will now be Tuesday and Saturday  8 am - 12pm & 12:30 pm - 3:45 pm, Thursday 11 am - 2 pm & 2:30 pm - 6:45 pm
(Closed Wednesday and Friday til further notice)
Troop G in Bridgeport and Headquarters in Middletown will remain unchanged for all your permitting needs.      

Holiday early closing Saturday the 24th and 30th of December at 12
for both Troop G and Troop E.
Authorizations as well will be closing at 1 on both Saturdays, the 24th and the 30th

State of Connecticut
Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection
Division of State Police -HQ
Special Licensing and Firearms Unit
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457

Telephone (860) 685-8290
Special Licensing and Firearms
{Special Licensing and Firearms Calendar}  
* All locations closed on state and federal holidays.

Effective October 1, 2016, the Federal Criminal History Record search rate will decrease from $14.75 to $12.00

The Special Licensing and Firearms Unit (SLFU) is responsible for the issuance of the following: 

The unit is located at Connecticut State Police Headquarters in Middletown, CT.  We also have a satellite office at  Troop G in Bridgeport and Troop E in Montville to process pistol permit applications and renewal paperwork.

The unit is also responsible for investigating violations of state law relating to the purchase, sale and transfer of firearms, and violations of statutes relating to the various professional licenses it issues.

Office Hours  

Special Licensing & Firearms Unit - HQ
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT  06457

Tel. (860) 685-8290

Monday through Friday 

8:30 am - 4:15 pm



Troop G - Bridgeport

149 Prospect Street
Bridgeport, CT  06604
Tel. (203) 696-2532

Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday

       8 am - 12 pm & 12:30 pm - 3:45 pm

Thursday  11 am 2 pm & 2:30 pm - 6:45 pm


Troop E - Montville

I-395 North (Between exits 6 & 9)

Montville, CT  06382

Tel. (860) 848-6539

Effective 11/9/16 Tuesday and Saturday

    8 am - 12pm & 12:30 pm - 3:45 pm

Thursday 11 am - 2 pm & 2:30 pm - 6:45 pm




*Attention Active Military Personnel and Veterans*

MOS Security Training and Licensing Fee Waiver for qualifying armed forces personnel.


Public Act 14-131: Effective October 1, 2014, military personnel seeking licensure as a security officer in Connecticut may qualify for a waiver of the required security training course and licensing fee.  Please contact the Special Licensing and Firearms Unit at 860- 685-8494 to speak to security licensing personnel for additional information and specific requirements.

Link to Public Act 14-131

Content Last Modified on 12/8/2016 4:01:47 PM