FY 2016

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)

Grant Opportunities Announcement

Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) Grant


Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) Grant


Application period: 3/15/2016 - 4/29/2016.  Sub-applications must be received by the state via e-grants no later than 3pm on April 29, 2016. Paper or email applications cannot be accepted.

Eligible Sub-Applicants:  State and Local Governmental Agencies, Indian Tribal Governments.

Applications for funding are reviewed on a nationally competitive basis and there are limited funds available for these programs.



To Apply: Eligible applicants must apply for funding through the Mitigation e-Grants system on the FEMA Grants Portal, accessible at https://portal.fema.govFor more information about e-Grants, go to:


e-Grants UserID Instructions

e-Grants Instructions

Paper or email applications cannot be accepted.


**Eligible Sub-Applicants for FMA must review the draft Connecticut DEMHS Flood Management Certification and where applicable, ensure that applications are in full compliance at the time of submittal.**

All Sub-Applicants applying for FMA must have a FEMA approved local hazard mitigation plan in place no later than April 29, 2016 to be eligible to apply for project funding. 


Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA):

Provides funds to eligible sub-applicants to reduce or eliminate risk of flood damage to buildings insured under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). Federal priorities are to mitigate severe repetitive loss (SRL) and repetitive loss properties (RL).

Eligible Activities Include:

Property acquisition and Structure Demolition

Structure Elevation

Dry Flood-proofing (Non-residential and Historic residential structures only)

Minor Localized Flood Reduction Projects (that primarily benefit NFIP insured structures)

Mitigation Re-construction


Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM):

Eligible Activities:  Mitigation Planning


         1. Multi-Jurisdictional Local Natural Hazard Mitigation Plans (NHMPs)  Up to $300,000 can be awarded per multi NHMP.

      2. Single-Jurisdictional Local Natural Hazard Mitigation Plans (NHMPs)  Up to $150,000 can be awarded per multi NHMP.


Further information on FMA and PDM can be found on



For FMA please contact Emily Pysh, State Hazard Mitigation Officer, 

For PDM please contact Gemma Fabris, Deputy State Hazard Mitigation Officer, 


Content Last Modified on 2/29/2016 2:06:32 PM