DEEP: Connecticut Greenways Council

Connecticut Greenways Council

Members of the Connecticut Greenways Council are appointed by the Governor and the leaders of the General Assembly. Their duties include advising and assisting in the coordination of state agencies, municipalities, regional planning organizations and private citizens in voluntarily planning and implementing a system of greenways; providing assistance to state agencies, municipalities, regional planning organizations and private citizens in the technical aspects of planning, designing and implementing greenways, including advice on securing state, federal and nongovernmental grants; and establishing criteria for designation of greenways.  Many Council members have had direct experience with trail and greenway development, and they can provide valuable insight into the development of successful local and regional projects.

Council Members

Lois Bruinooge - Executive Director, The Last Green Valley
Jan Collins - CT Horse Council & Water Trails
Robert Dickinson - CT Chapter Appalacian Mountain Club; BikeWalk CT
R.Bruce Donald (Chair) - Farmington Valley Trails Council
Lisa Fernandez - President, Farmington Canal Rail to Trail Association
Tracy Gionfriddo (Secretary) - Northeast Utilities
Joe Hickey - CT Forest & Park Assoc.
Steve Mitchell - East Coast Greenways Alliance; Mitchell Auto Group
William D. ONeill - East Coast Greenways Alliance
Rista Malanca - Naugatuck River Greenway
Jason Vincent (Vice Chair) - AICP, CT Chapter American Planning Association

Laurie Giannotti (DEEP Liaison) - Ex-Officio Member
Katherine Rattan (DOT Non-Motorized Transportation Coordinator) - Ex-Officio Member

Council Member Contact Information  (PDF)

Council Meetings

The CT Greenways Council meetings are open to the public. The Council meets at 9:30 am on the 2nd Monday of every other month at Northeast Utilities offices, 107 Seldon Street, in Berlin, Connecticut.  The meeting room is located in the Main Building (large building with clock tower) with visitor parking available. The guard will be able to direct you further if you tell him you are there for the CT Greenways Council meeting. You will need a photo ID. Conference call option is available. You must contact Board Member Tracy Gionfriddo at one week prior to be added to the conference call.

The 2015 meeting dates are:

January 12, 2015
March 9, 2015
May 11, 2015
July 13, 2015
September 14, 2015
November 9, 2015

For further information about the Connecticut Greenways Council, contact Laurie Giannotti, DEEP Liaison to the Council at:

79 Elm Street
Hartford, CT  06106
(860) 424-3578
(fax) (860) 424-4070

Content last updated February 25, 2015