The DEEP Marine Fisheries Division is hosting public hearings of the Atlantic State Marine Fisheries Commission to gather input on the PID for Draft Amendment 3 to the Atlantic Menhaden Fishery Management Plan and Draft Addendum II to the Jonah Crab Fishery Management Plan. (N16-27)
Public Hearing to be held December 14, 2016
November 10, 2016
Effective 0001 hours, Sunday, November 13, 2016, the black sea bass commercial fishery will reopen with a possession limit of 10 fish. (N16-25)
October 31, 2016
Effective 0001 hours, Tuesday, November 1, 2016, the scup commercial fishery will reopen at a possession limit of 18,000 pounds. Effective 0001 hours Sunday, November 6, 2016, the summer flounder commercial fishery will reopen at a possession limit of 100 pounds. (116-24)
The Interstate Fishery Management Plan for Spiny Dogfish prohibits removing any fins from these fish at-sea. This requirement is consistent with federal law under the Shark Finning Prohibition Act which was signed into law in 2000.
September 29, 2016
Nonprofit community organizations interested in collaborating with DEEP Fisheries should check out this opportunity (deadline: 10/31/2016). See Guidelines and Application
for more information.
September 1, 2016
The Connecticut Aquatic Resources Education Program (CARE) is pleased to announce new educational fishing brochures (inland and marine) in both English and Spanish.
Los folletos de la pesca en aguas dulces y aguas saladas fuerón traducidos al español para la distribución a la comunidad hispana residente en Connecticut. El objetivo de los folletos de pesca en español es para ayudar a fomentar, aumentar, y promover la participación hispana en esta actividad.
August 25, 2016
This notice serves as a reminder of the upcoming fall season closure required under Addendum XVII to the ASMFC American Lobster Fishery Management Plan which was approved in November 2011. (N16-18)
August 23, 2016
Effective 0001 hours, Sunday, August 7, 2016, the smooth dogfish commercial fishery possession limit will be reduced to zero pounds. (N16-15)
June 15, 2016
Notice to Recreational Fishermen
Anglers are advised that the state of Rhode Island has adopted the following regulations pertaining to striped bass. These regulations apply to all Rhode Island state lands and waters including the waters around Block Island:
“Any person recreationally harvesting a striped bass thirty-four (34) inches or larger shall at the time of harvest have the right pectoral fin removed at a point as close to the body of the fish as possible.”
Content last updated April 18, 2016