DEEP: 2017 Commercial Fishery Possession Limits

2017 Commercial Fishery Possession Limits
October 13, 2017
 

NOTICE

Effective 0001 hours Sunday October 15, 2017, the smooth dogfish commercial fishery possession limit will be reduced to zero pounds. The department estimates that 100% of the annual smooth dogfish quota of 9,293 pounds allocated to Connecticut for 2017 has been harvested.

Effective 0001 hours Sunday October 15, 2017, the scup commercial fishery possession limit will be increased. The department estimates that 86.4% of the 2017 annual Connecticut summer period scup quota (including the late-September quota transfer from Massachusetts) has been harvested. The possession limits will be:

 For Scup License Endorsement holders: 500 pounds;
 For Restricted Commercial Fishing License Holders NOT holding a Scup License Endorsement: 50 fish;

On November 1, the scup fishery changes to the coastwide Winter II period quota with an 18,000 pound possession limit.

Effective 0001 hours Sunday October 15, 2017, the bluefish commercial fishery possession limit will be increased to 1,500 pounds. The department estimates that 21.1% of the annual bluefish quota allocated to Connecticut for 2017 has been harvested. To prevent significant change in the character of the fishery, such as large scale targeted net fishing, the possession limit cannot exceed 1,500 pounds. The fishery will close temporarily in the event that 84% of the quota is landed prior to November 1st.

REMINDERS

American lobster:
The closed season for lobster is September 8 through November 28. The minimum length is 3-3/8 inches.

American eel: No possession limit. Minimum length is 9 inches.

Atlantic menhaden: 6,000 pound possession limit all year.

Black sea bass: 50 pound possession limit effective July 9. The Department adjusts limits periodically to maintain a steady monthly landings rate, to prevent in-season closure, and land 100% of the annual quota. The fishery will close temporarily if more than 84% of the quota is landed prior to November 1st. As of October 12th, 2017, 80.3% of the quota has been landed. A black sea bass license endorsement is required to land sea bass, including from lobster pots.

Jonah crab: In the commercial fishery no Jonah crab less than 4.75 inches carapace width may be possessed or sold. Possession of egg bearing Jonah crabs or crabs from which the eggs have been removed is prohibited. Jonah crabs must also be landed whole. Landing claws only is prohibited. Possession of more than two loose claws per body is prohibited. The possession limit in non-trap fisheries is 1,000 crabs. There is no possession limit in the lobster pot fishery. (Connecticut licensing statutes do not allow crabs to be taken by pots other than lobster pots.) In the recreational fishery, there is a 50 crab daily possession limit and possession of egg bearing crabs or crabs from which the eggs have been removed is prohibited. There is no minimum size limit in the recreational fishery.

Spiny dogfish: 6,000 pound possession limit effective Jan 1. Spiny dogfish are managed under a regional annual quota. The fishery will close when 100% of the regional quota has been harvested. As of August 9, 2017, 21% of the regional quota has been landed.

Summer flounder: 50 pound possession limit. The fishery will close when 95% of the quota is reached, then reopen November 1 and remain open until 100% of the quota is landed. The department currently estimates 88.7% of the annual quota (127,734 lbs.) has been landed as of September 7, 2017.

Tautog: 10 fish when fishing under a limited access (moratorium) license, and 4 fish when fishing under the new Restricted Commercial Fishing License. Open seasons are the months of April, July, August, and between Oct 8 and Dec 24. The commercial minimum length is 16 inches.

Weakfish: 100 pounds all year.

Winter flounder: 50 pounds or 38 fish unless the fish were taken in federal waters under a federal groundfish permit.

All of the possession limits listed above apply to the aggregate of all persons on board the vessel per trip or per day whichever is the longer period of time. Transfer of these species between vessels at sea is prohibited. In any instance where there is a violation of the possession limit on board a vessel carrying more than one person when the catch is commingled, the violation shall be deemed to have been committed by the owner of the vessel, or the operator of the vessel, if the owner is not on board. When any person on a vessel is commercial fishing, the commercial possession limit applies to the entire vessel and no person on that vessel may also possess fish under a recreational creel limit.

For current commercial fishery trip limits and quota status:
Call 860-434-6374 24/7 for a recorded message of current possession limits, or see:
www.ct.gov/deep/TL.

Please refer to the Quick Guide to 2016 Connecticut Commercial Fishing Licenses for more information concerning changes to commercial fishery licensing effective January 1, 2016 including both new requirements for license renewal and new opportunities. 

The Department monitors landings and adjusts trip limits according to Department regulations in an attempt to provide fishing opportunity throughout the year for all participants in the commercial fishery. In addition, the Department strives to provide advance notification of trip limit changes, although this may not always be possible due to rapidly escalating or unanticipated landings. In such circumstances, only a short notification period may be possible.

The information provided in this notice is a summary of possession limits and other general rules only. For complete information on commercial fishing regulations please see:
www.ct.gov/deep/lib/deep/fishing/saltwater/marinecirc.pdf, or contact the DEEP Marine Fisheries Division by email at deep.marine.fisheries@ct.gov, by mail at PO Box 719, Old Lyme, CT 06371 or by telephone at 860.434.6043 between the hours of 8:30 AM and 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday.

The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer that is committed to complying with the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Please contact us at (860) 418-5910 or
deep.accommodations@ct.gov if you: have a disability and need a communication aid or service; have limited proficiency in English and may need information in another language; or if you wish to file an ADA or Title VI discrimination complaint.
 
(N17-19)