DEEP: Connecticut Fire Crew Returns Home From Montana

August 28, 2013
Connecticut Fire Crew Returns Home From Montana
Connecticut’s Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) announced that the members of Connecticut’s second fire crew of the season are returning home to Connecticut today with staggered arrival times of approximately 2:45 pm (7 firefighters), 7:00 pm (nine firefighters), and 11:45 pm (four firefighters) at Eastern District Headquarters, 209 Hebron Road, Marlborough.
The 20-person fire crew (14 DEEP employees and 6 local firefighters) left Connecticut August 13 and were sent to Lolo National Forest, Montana to assist fighting wild fires in the western part of that state. 
DEEP maintains a roster of agency staff members and personnel from local fire departments who have been certified to fight forest or wildfires.  Crew members must complete a rigorous training program and participate in an annual renewal course.
Connecticut maintains this firefighting capability to participate in a reciprocal aid program operated by the U.S. Forest Service.  Under this program, trained personnel from other parts of the nation are available to assist Connecticut in the event of a fire emergency – in return for personnel from this state being available to assist elsewhere.
CT DEEP Members of Connecticut Fire Crew:
Jason Bjornberg  Lyme 
Timothy M. Baird  East Granby
Mark Blazejak  Voluntown
Eric Gileau  Preston
Christopher Kostopoulos  West Haven
Jeffrey Krukar  Torrington
Thomas Nosal Middletown 
Stacy Pappano Windsor
Thomas RisCassi Hartford
Richard Scalora  Berlin
Michael Shaw   Torrington
David Stygar  Lebanon
James Villwock Durham
Justin Wiggins  Newington
Other members:
Ben Arnold   Dayville
Anthony Flamio Farmington
Jacob Light Enfield 
Sergio Liguori  New Milford 
Juan Sanchez, III Chaplin
Allan Waterman  Moosup