DEEP: Hunting Licenses and Permits

Hunting Licenses and Permits

Licenses to fish, hunt, and trap in Connecticut can be purchased online by going to Connecticut's Online Sportsmen Licensing System. In addition to licenses, you can also purchase the special permits and tags needed to hunt species like deer, turkeys and migratory birds.

Licenses and permits can also be purchased directly from many town clerks and retail agents (pdf).

2017 License and Permit Information

2016 License and Permit Information

Permit Applications and Forms

Links to all DEEP Licenses and Permits

NEW! Legislation Results in Changes to the Connecticut Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp and Creates a New Resident Game Bird Conservation Stamp

New legislation (Public Act 16-27), effective July 1, 2016, established a Resident Game Bird Conservation Stamp, changed the Connecticut Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp, created a three-day out-of-state bird hunting license, and set specific reduced fees for hunters under the age of 18:

Resident Game Bird Conservation Stamp
The new legislation replaces the Pheasant Stamp AND turkey permits with a single $28 Resident Game Bird Conservation Stamp. This new stamp is required to hunt any resident (non-migratory) game birds, including pheasants, ruffed grouse, partridge, quail, AND wild turkey. The cost of the Resident Game Bird Conservation Stamp is $14 for Connecticut hunters ages 12 through 17. All revenues from the sale of Resident Game Bird Conservation Stamps will be deposited into a separate, non-lapsing account to use exclusively for the purchase and management of game birds and their habitat.

For the remainder of 2016, pheasant hunters will need either a Pheasant Stamp (if purchased on or before June 30, 2016) or a Resident Game Bird Conservation Stamp (if purchased on or after July 1, 2016). Wild turkey hunters planning to hunt in fall 2016 will need either a Fall Turkey Permit or a Pheasant Stamp (if purchased on or before June 30, 2016), or a Resident Game Bird Conservation Stamp (if purchased on or after July 1, 2016). Hunters pursuing wild turkeys in fall 2016 will NOT be required to hold both a Fall Turkey Permit and a Resident Game Bird Conservation Stamp.

*Landowners (who own 10 or more contiguous acres) -- For the rest of 2016, landowners may take turkeys on their property with any of the following: Free Landowner Fall Turkey Permit, Fall Turkey Permit, or Pheasant Stamp, if obtained before July 1, 2016. Those who did not obtain the turkey permits or Pheasant Stamp before July 1 would need the Free Resident Game Bird Conservation Stamp or Resident Game Bird Conservation Stamp to hunt wild turkeys on their property. Beginning January 1, 2017, landowners may take turkeys on their property (any season) with either a Free Landowner Resident Game Bird Conservation Stamp or Resident Game Bird Conservation Stamp. There is no additional bag limit for turkeys due to the free stamp.

Connecticut Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp
The $13 Connecticut Duck Stamp has been merged with the $4 Harvest Information Permit (HIP) into a single Connecticut Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp, which will cost $17. This new, single stamp is required for anyone hunting waterfowl, rails, snipe, woodcock, and crows. (Please note: the following information clarifies the new stamp and differs from what is in the printed 2016-2017 Connecticut Migratory Bird Hunting Guide.)

  • During the 2016 fall hunting seasons, a person hunting waterfowl needs either a Connecticut Duck Stamp AND HIP Permit, or a new CT Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp. A person planning to hunt rails, snipe, coot, or woodcock needs either a HIP Permit or the new CT Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp.
  • Anyone who purchased a 2016 Connecticut Duck Stamp and HIP permit before July 1, 2016, to hunt waterfowl does not need to purchase the new Connecticut Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp for the remainder of 2016.
  • Hunters pursuing rails, snipe, coot, or woodcock who purchased a HIP Permit prior to July 1, 2016, do not need to purchase the new Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp for the remainder of 2016.
  • Those pursuing migratory birds who did not purchase the Duck Stamp and/or HIP Permit before July 1, 2016, must purchase the new, single CT Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp for $17 to hunt for the rest of 2016.
  • All migratory bird hunters who want to hunt the latter portion of the 2016-2017 season (after Jan 1, 2017) must purchase the 2017 CT Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp, which will be valid through 2017.
  • Crow hunters must purchase the new CT Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp to hunt crows during fall 2016 if they did not purchase a HIP permit before July 1, 2016.
  • Junior hunters (ages 12-15 years old) who purchased a HIP Permit before July 1, 2016, are all set to hunt migratory birds (including waterfowl) for the remainder of 2016. Junior hunters who did not obtain the HIP Permit must now purchase the Connecticut Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp to hunt waterfowl and other migratory birds for the rest of 2016. Junior hunters who want to hunt the latter portion of the 2016-2017 migratory bird seasons (after Jan 1, 2017) must purchase the 2017 CT Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp, which will be valid through 2017. The cost of the stamp for 12 to 17 year old hunters will be $9. Hunters under the age of 16 do not need to purchase a Federal Duck Stamp to hunt waterfowl.
All of the proceeds from the Connecticut Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp will continue to go into a dedicated account that is to be used solely for wetland habitat management and acquisition or for improving hunter access.

Three-day Out-of-state Bird Hunting License
Another piece of this new legislation is the creation of a three-day out-of-state (non-resident) bird hunting license. This license costs $35 and allows out-of-state hunters to hunt migratory and resident (non-migratory) game birds for three consecutive privilege days (Sundays not included). The fee ($35) from this license will go into the Game Bird Conservation account. Out-of-state hunters still need to purchase either a Connecticut Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp or a Connecticut Resident Game Bird Conservation Stamp, depending on what species they intend to hunt.

Reduced Permit and Stamp Fees for Junior Hunters
In 2014, Public Act 14-201 established a 50% reduction in all license fees, as well as a 50% reduction in hunting and sport fishing permit, tag, and stamp fees, for resident 16 and 17 year old hunters and anglers. In 2016, Public Act 16-27 extended the 50% fee reduction for permits and stamps to encompass resident hunters and anglers less than 18 years of age. (More details on the license, permit, and stamp fees for resident 12 to 17 year old hunters.)

Summary of New Stamps
Resident Game Bird Conservation Stamp
As of July 1, 2016, this stamp replaces the Pheasant Stamp and all turkey permits. It is required to hunt all resident game birds: ring-necked pheasant, ruffed grouse, bobwhite quail, chukar and Hungarian partridges, AND wild turkey.
Adult Resident and all Non-Resident Hunters: $28.00
Connecticut Youth Hunters (ages 12-17): $14.00

Connecticut Migratory Bird Conservation Stamp
As of July 1, 2016, this stamp has been merged with the HIP permit, and it must be purchased by ALL migratory bird hunters, regardless of age. The stamp is required for anyone hunting waterfowl, rails, snipe, woodcock, and crows.
Adult Resident and all Non-resident Hunters: $17.00
Connecticut Youth Hunters (ages 12-17): $9.00

Content last updated on November 30, 2016.