Notice to Commercial Fishermen July 29, 2013
Notice to Commercial Fishermen
July 29, 2013
Black Sea Bass
Effective 0001 hours, Wednesday, July 31, 2013 the Connecticut possession limit for the commercial harvest of black sea bass is reduced to zero pounds for all gear types including lobster pots.
The Department estimates that 90% of the annual commercial black sea bass quota allocated to Connecticut for 2013 has been landed. State regulations require that the possession of black sea bass be prohibited once 90% of the quota has been landed before November 1.
Effective 0001 hours, Thursday, August 1, 2013 the Connecticut possession limit for the commercial harvest of scup is reduced to 100 pounds for all gears except lobster pots. The limit remains 10 fish for lobster pots.
The Department estimates nearly 70% of the summer period commercial scup quota allocated to Connecticut for 2013 will be landed by August 1. To prevent a complete closure of the scup fishery and reduce discards, a bycatch limit of 100 pounds is being implemented.
The Department monitors landings and adjusts trip limits according to Department regulations in an attempt to provide fishing opportunity throughout the year for all participants in the commercial fishery. In addition, the Department strives to provide advance notification of trip limit changes, although this may not always be possible due to rapidly escalating or unanticipated landings. In such circumstances, only a short notification period may be possible.
For further information, contact the DEEP Marine Fisheries Division by email at email@example.com, by mail at P.O. Box 719, Old Lyme, CT 06371 or by telephone at 860-434-6043 between the hours of 8:30 AM and 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday.
The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer that is committed to complying with the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Please contact us at (860) 418-5910 or firstname.lastname@example.org if you: have a disability and need a communication aid or service; have limited proficiency in English and may need information in another language; or if you wish to file an ADA or Title VI discrimination complaint.