DEEP: Notice to Commercial Summer Flounder Fishermen

Notice to Commercial Summer Flounder Fishermen

April 23, 2013

Trip Limit Change

Effective 0001 hours, Sunday, April 28, 2013 the Connecticut possession limit for the commercial harvest of summer flounder is reduced to 100 pounds.

The Department estimates that 45% of the annual commercial summer flounder quota allocated to Connecticut for 2013 will be landed by April 27. State regulations require that the possession of summer flounder be reduced to 100 pounds when 45% of the quota has been landed.

On May 1 the trip limit for summer flounder will remain 100 pounds. Effective May 25, no person engaged in commercial fishing shall possess or land summer flounder between 0001 hours and 2359 hours on Sundays until September 2. The first such Sunday closure will be May 26, 2013.

The Department monitors landings and adjusts trip limits according to Department regulations in an attempt to provide fishing opportunity throughout the year for all participants in the commercial fishery. In addition, the Department strives to provide advance notification of trip limit changes, although this may not always be possible due to rapidly escalating or unanticipated landings. In such circumstances, only a short notification period may be possible.

For further information, contact the DEEP Marine Fisheries Division by email at deep.marine.fisheries@ct.gov, by mail at P.O. Box 719, Old Lyme, CT 06371 or by telephone at 860-434-6043 between the hours of 8:30 AM and 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday.

The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer that is committed to requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Any person with a disability who may need information in an alternative format may contact the agency's ADA Coordinator at 860-424-3194, or at deep.hrmed@ct.gov. Any person with limited proficiency in English, who may need information in another language, may contact the agency's Title VI Coordinator at 860-424-3035, or at deep.aaoffice@ct.gov. Any person with a hearing impairment may call the State of Connecticut relay number - 711. Discrimination complaints may be filed with DEEP's Title VI Coordinator. Requests for accommodations must be made at least two weeks prior to any agency hearing, program or event.

(N13-07)