DEEP: Declaration of Regulation Change

DEP Marine Fisheries News

Declaration of Regulation Change

August 10, 2010

Under authority of Sections 26-25 and 26-159a of the Connecticut General Statutes and Section 26-159a-22 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, the Commissioner of Environmental Protection is authorized to establish or adjust, by declaration, closed seasons, length limits, creel limits, trip limits and trip limit adjustment values in order to meet the harvest level for efficient management and to comply with interstate fishery management plans adopted by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission (ASMFC).

In accordance with the aforementioned authority, the following changes in state COMMERCIAL FISHING regulations will be effective during 2010:

SCUP COMMECIAL FISHERY POSSESSION LIMITS
From September 1 to September 21 inclusive, and October 1 to October 31 inclusive:

1) in the commercial hook and gillnet fisheries, 50 pounds;
2) in the bottom trawl and fish pot fisheries, 100 pounds;
3) in the lobster pot fishery when in possession of lobsters, 10 fish;
4) when 100% of the Connecticut quota is landed, zero pounds.
Effective September 22 to September 30 inclusive, possession of scup is prohibited.

BLACK SEA BASS COMMERCIAL FISHERY POSSESSION LIMITS
From November 1 to December 31, inclusive:

1) in the bottom trawl and fish pot fisheries, 300 pounds until 100% of the Connecticut quota specified in the plan has been landed, at which time the limit shall be zero pounds;
2) in the commercial hook, pound net, scallop dredge and gill net fisheries, 75 pounds until 100% of the Connecticut quota specified in the plan has been landed, at which time the limit shall be zero pounds;
3) in the lobster pot fishery when in possession of lobsters, 10 fish.

SUMMER FLOUNDER COMMERCIAL FISHERY POSSESSION LIMITS

From November 1 to December 31, inclusive: 500 pounds, except that no vessel shall possess or land summer flounder on more than two trips per weekly period that begins Sunday morning at 0000 hours and ends the following Saturday night at 2400 hours.

REMINDERS

AMERICAN LOBSTER MINIMUM CARAPACE LENGTH

A minimum carapace length of 3-3/8 inches is required for all lobsters taken from Lobster Management Area 6 (Long Island Sound and western Block Island Sound). Effective July 1, 2010 the escape vent size was increased to 2 inches by 5-3/4 inches rectangular or 2-5/8 inches circular.

POSSESSION OF SHARKS

The possession of the following species of sharks for commercial purposes is prohibited in Connecticut: Atlantic angel, Basking, Bigeye sand tiger, Bigeye sixgill, Bigeye thresher, Bignose, Caribbean reef, Caribbean sharpnose, Dusky, Galapagos, Longfin mako, Narrowtooth, Night, sand tiger, Sevengill, Sixgill, Smalltail, Whale, White, silky, tiger, blacktip, spinner, bull, lemon, nurse, scalloped hammerhead, great hammerhead, smooth hammerhead, Atlantic sharpnose, finetooth, blacknose, bonnethead sharks, and smooth dogfish.

For further information, contact the DEP Marine Fisheries Division by email at dep.marine.fisheries@ct.gov, by mail at P.O. Box 719, Old Lyme, CT 06371 or by telephone at 860.434.6043 between the hours of 8:30 AM and 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday.

In conformance with the ADA, individuals with disabilities who need this information in an alternative format to allow them to benefit and/or participate in the agency’s programs and services, should call 860.424.3051 or 860.418.5937 or e-mail Marcia Z. Bonitto, ADA Coordinator, at: Marcia.Bonitto@ct.gov. Requests for accommodations must be made at least two weeks prior to the program date.

(N10-16)