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Operations Center Memo 2017-02 

 

TO:  Private Providers of Residential, Day and Clinical Services 

 

FROM:     Peter Mason, Director of the Operations Center 

 

CC:  Morna Murray, Commissioner, Jordan Scheff, Deputy Commissioner, Cres Secchiaroli, Finance 

Administrator, Regional Directors, Assistant Regional Directors, Resource Administrators, 

CCPA, CT Non-Profits, ARC/CT 

 

DATE:     August 17, 2016 

 

SUBJECT:  FY2016 Financial Reporting Requirements 

 

All residential, day and/or clinical support providers that expended financial compensation from the Department 

of Developmental Services (DDS) and/or other state agencies equal to or in excess of one hundred thousand 

dollars ($100,000) during the 2016 fiscal year are subject to financial reporting requirements. The following is a 

guideline on which reports must be completed and the timeline for submission. 

 

Financial Audit Requirements 

Providers that received financial compensation for DDS participants of more than one hundred thousand dollars 

($100,000) must submit one of the following: 

 

 Providers that received financial compensation for DDS participants of more than one hundred thousand 

dollars ($100,000) but less than three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) in FY2016 are required to 

submit a report completed by a Certified Public Accountant detailing the provider’s compliance with the 

standard DDS Agreed upon Procedures. Providers must submit the report no later than December 31, 

2016. 

 Non-Profit providers with a total financial compensation of three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) 

or more paid by any combination of a fiscal intermediary, a purchase of service contract for supports 

authorized by the Department of Developmental Services and all other revenue funded by State of 

Connecticut agencies shall submit a single audit for the fiscal year in accordance with the State Single 

Audit Act (Sections 4-230 through 4-236 of the Connecticut General Statutes). The State Single Audit 

Reports are due to the Office of Policy and Management (OPM), who is the cognizant agency for DDS.  
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Providers must electronically submit the report by December 31, 2016 for the fiscal year ended June 30, 

2016, unless an exemption or extension was granted by OPM. 

 For-Profit providers (including LLC’s, Sole Proprietors, Partnerships, S-Corporations, and C 

corporations) with a total financial compensation of three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) or more 

by a fiscal intermediary and/or a purchase of service contract for supports authorized by the Department 

of Developmental Services must submit a financial audit for the fiscal year July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2016 

along with a management letter and audit recommendations. The audit must be submitted to the 

Operations Center at DDS Central Office by December 31, 2016. Financial audits for a time period other 

than the State of Connecticut fiscal year must receive prior approval from the Operations Center. 

 

Financial Reporting Requirement: 

Providers that received financial compensation for DDS participants of more than one hundred thousand dollars 

($100,000) must submit one of the following: 

 

 A provider that received a total financial compensation for supports authorized by the Department of 

Developmental Services in FY2016 of more than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) and the 

financial compensation from the Purchase of Service contract was less than three hundred thousand 

dollars ($300,000) shall prepare and deliver an End of Year Expense Report for fiscal year July 1, 2015-

June 30, 2016. The End of the Year Expense Report can be found on the DDS Website. The report must 

be electronically filed no later than 4:00 p.m. on October 15, 2016 to your assigned Operation Center 

provider specialist. Attached is a list of provider specialists and their assigned providers. 

 A provider that received financial compensation of three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) or more 

through a purchase of service contract are required to file the 2016 Annual Report of Residential and 

Day Services for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2016. The report must be uploaded to the Myers and 

Stauffer website no later than 4:00 p.m. on October 15, 2016.  

Annual Report Requirements: 
Providers that are required to submit the FY2016 Annual Report of Residential and Day Services must submit 

one of the following 

 

 For-Profit (including LLC’s, Sole Proprietors, Partnerships, S-Corporations, and C corporations) 

providers are required to submit an Annual Report that has been certified by a Certified Public 

Accountant. 

 Non-Profit providers are required to submit a Reconciliation of Financial Statements to Annual Report 

of Residential and Day Services. The Reconciliation of Financial Statements to Annual Report of 

Residential and Day Services is included in the 2016 Annual Report download. The reconciliation 

assures the State of Connecticut that the expenses reported in the Annual Report are based on the 

audited costs reported in the Financial Statements. The reconciliation must be electronically submitted 

no later than December 31, 2016. 

 

If the Annual Report is filed late, Regulation Sec. 17-313b-4 notes that for each day that the ACOR (Annual 

Report of Residential and Day Services) is not filed, a penalty shall be assessed. The Commissioner may 

approve a request for an extension to the filing date only if she deems that extraordinary circumstances will 

prevent the timely filing of the Cost Report. The request for an extension should be sent to the attention of 

Commissioner Murray in writing prior to October 15, 2016. It is recommended that the request be submitted as 

soon as the extraordinary circumstances are identified. Approved annual report submission extensions will be 

effective no earlier than the date the request was received by the department. 

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

Financial Reporting Requirements For Agencies with a Purchase of Service Contract That Received 

Financial Compensation less than $100,000  

An agency with a Purchase of Service contract that received financial compensation less than $100,000 is 

required to file an End of Year Expense Report for fiscal year July 1, 2015-June 30, 2016 to your assigned 

provider specialist no later than October 15, 2016. 

 

Financial Reporting Requirements For Agencies with a Total Financial Reimbursement of Less Than 

$100,000 by a Fiscal Intermediary 

None. 

 

Executive Director Maximum Salary Reimbursement 

PA No. 07-238, Sec. 7 (Exec. Director Salary Cap) was signed by the Governor on July 11, 2007. The FY2016 

maximum allowable salary reimbursement by DDS for the executive director of an agency is $101,000. 

 

Related Party Disclosure 

Related Party Disclosure: The provider shall comply with the related party disclosure and reporting 

requirements established by the department. “Related Parties” means persons or organizations related through 

marriage, ability to control, ownership, family or business association. Past exercise or influence or control need 

not be shown, only the potential or ability to directly or indirectly exercise influence or control. Whenever costs 

are incurred between related parties, allowable costs shall be defined as and limited to the cost to the related 

party. The related party principle applies to any transaction between a provider and a related party, including 

but not limited to one time or multiple transactions involving services or supplies and one time sales or lease of 

the facility itself. Related party transactions must be identified as such in the Annual Report or the Attachment 

D and the unallowable portion excluded in the appropriate section of the cost report.  All Related Party 

transactions must be approved by the DDS Ethics Committee on a yearly basis. Transactions over $2,500 must 

receive approval from the Ethics Committee before the cost is incurred. Reporting related party transactions 

on the annual report does not replace the need to submit a request for prior approval from DDS in 
conformance to the DDS Ethics Protocols. 
 

Adherence to the OPM Cost Standards 

Providers are to report costs based on the OPM costs standards. The standards define and enumerate allowable 

and unallowable costs, including Administrative and General (A&G) costs, and require documentation of all 

allowable administrative costs in a formal cost allocation plan. Here is the link to the Cost Standards: 

http://www.ct.gov/opm/cwp/view.asp?a=2981&Q=382994&opmNav_GID=1806. 

 

Administrative Vehicle Limit 

The DDS limit for the vehicle lease/loan/rental payment of each administrative vehicle is $4,800 per year. The 

limit applies to the annual payment for the acquisition of the vehicle exclusive of gas and maintenance costs. 

Effective as of FY2014, costs over the $4,800 limit are disallowed and no exceptions will be granted. 
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