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All residential, day and/or clinical support providers that expended financial compensation from the Department
of Developmental Services (DDS) and/or other state agencies equal to or in excess of one hundred thousand
dollars ($100,000) during the 2013 fiscal year are subject to financial reporting requirements. The following is a
guideline on which reports must be completed and the timeline for submission.

Financial Audit Requirements
Providers that received financial compensation for DDS participants of more than one hundred thousand dollars
($100,000) must submit one of the following:

e Providers that received financial compensation for DDS participants of more than one hundred thousand
dollars ($100,000) but less than three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) in FY2013 are required to
submit a report completed by a Certified Public Accountant detailing the provider’s compliance with the
standard DDS Agreed upon Procedures. Providers must submit the report no later than six (6) months
after the end of the provider’s fiscal year.

e Non-Profit providers with a total financial compensation of three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000)
or more paid by any combination of a fiscal intermediary, a purchase of service contract for supports
authorized by the Department of Developmental Services and all other revenue funded by State of
Connecticut agencies shall submit a single audit for the fiscal year in accordance with the State Single
Audit Act (Sections 4-230 through 4-236 of the Connecticut General Statutes). The State Single Audit
Reports are due to the Office of Policy and Management (OPM), who is the cognizant agency for DDS.
A copy must be submitted to the Operations Center at DDS Central Office by December 31, 2013 for
the fiscal year ended June 30, 2013, unless an exemption or extension was granted by OPM.
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For-Profit providers with a total financial compensation of three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) or
more by a fiscal intermediary and/or a purchase of service contract for supports authorized by the
Department of Developmental Services must submit a financial audit for the fiscal year 7/1/2012-
6/30/2013 along with a management letter and audit recommendations. The audit must be submitted to
the Operations Center at DDS Central Office by December 31, 2013.

Financial Reporting Requirement:

Providers that received financial compensation for DDS participants of more than one hundred thousand dollars
($100,000) must submit one of the following:

A provider that received a total financial compensation for supports authorized by the Department of
Developmental Services in FY2013 of more than one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) and the
financial compensation from the Purchase of Service contract was less than three hundred thousand
dollars ($300,000) shall prepare and deliver an End of Year Expense Report. The End of the Year
Expense Report can be found on the DDS Website. The report must be electronically filed no later than
4:00 p.m. on October 15, 2013 to Sandra.McNally@ct.gov .

A provider that received financial compensation of three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000) or more
through a purchase of service contract are required to file the 2013 Annual Report of Residential and
Day Services for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2013. The report must be filed no later than 4:00 p.m. on
October 15, 2013 to the office of:

MYERS AND STAUFFER LLC
7 Waterside Crossing, Suite 202
Windsor, CT 06095
PH 860-687-0790

Annual Report Requirements:

Providers that are required to submit the FY2013 Annual Report of Residential and Day Services must submit
one of the following

For-Profit providers are required to submit an Annual Report that has been certified by a Certified
Public Accountant.

Non-Profit providers are required to submit a Reconciliation of Financial Statements to Annual Report
of Residential and Day Services. The Reconciliation of Financial Statements to Annual Report of
Residential and Day Services is included in the 2013 Annual Report software. The reconciliation assures
the State of Connecticut that the expenses reported in the Annual Report are based on the audited costs
reported in the Financial Statements. The reconciliation must be submitted to the Operations Center at
DDS Central Office no later than December 31, 2013.

If the Annual Report is filed late, Regulation Sec. 17-313b-4 notes that for each day that the ACOR
(Annual Report of Residential and Day Services) is not filed, a penalty shall be assessed. The
Commissioner may approve a request for an extension to the filing date only if he deems that
extraordinary circumstances will prevent the timely filing of the Cost Report. The request for an
extension should be sent to the attention of Commissioner Macy in writing prior to October 15, 2013. It
is recommended that the request be submitted as soon as the extraordinary circumstances are identified.

Financial Reporting Requirements For Agencies with a Purchase of Service Contract That Received

Financial Compensation less than $100,000

An agency with a Purchase of Service contract that received financial compensation less than $100,000 is
required to file an End of Year Expense Report to the Regional Office no later than October 15, 2013.



Financial Reporting Requirements For Agencies with a Total Financial Reimbursement of Less Than
$100,000 by a Fiscal Intermediary
None.

Executive Director Maximum Salary Reimbursement
PA No. 07-238, Sec. 7 (Exec. Director Salary Cap) was signed by the Governor on July 11, 2007. The FY2013
maximum allowable salary reimbursement by DDS for the executive director of an agency is $101,000.

Related Party Disclosure

Related Party Disclosure: The provider shall comply with the related party disclosure and reporting
requirements established by the department. “Related Parties” means persons or organizations related through
marriage, ability to control, ownership, family or business association. Past exercise or influence or control need
not be shown, only the potential or ability to directly or indirectly exercise influence or control. Whenever costs
are incurred between related parties, allowable costs shall be defined as and limited to the cost to the related
party. The related party principle applies to any transaction between a provider and a related party, including
but not limited to one time or multiple transactions involving services or supplies and one time sales or lease of
the facility itself. Related party transactions must be identified as such in the Annual Report or the Attachment
D and the unallowable portion excluded in the appropriate section of the cost report. All Related Party
transactions must be approved by the DDS Ethics Committee on a yearly basis. Transactions over $2,500 must
receive approval from the Ethics Committee before the cost is incurred.

Administrative Vehicle Limit

The DDS limit for the vehicle lease/loan/rental payment of each administrative vehicle is $4,800 per year. The
limit applies to the annual payment for the acquisition of the vehicle exclusive of gas and maintenance costs.
Effective FY2013, costs over the $4,800 limit will be disallowed and no exceptions will be granted.




