
  

 

 Real Estate Instructions for Reciprocal State Applicants 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
  

Requirements: 
 
 

 Written Examination: An applicant must have passed a national uniform written examination in 
the reciprocal state at the time of obtaining their license. 

 Active License: An applicant must have an active license in good standing within the reciprocal 
state. 

 Certification of License History: A certification of license history is required from the licensing 
authority in every state in which you currently hold or have held a real estate license. The reciprocal 
state must confirm you took an examination in that state. 

 

 Salespersons: Your sponsoring broker must have an “Active” Connecticut license. 
 

Please be sure you have read and understood all licensing requirements, rules and regulations available 
on our website at www.ct.gov/dcp prior to submitting your application.   

Fees: 
 

  Salesperson: $385.00 ($80 application fee*; $285 initial license fee; $20 guaranty fund fee*) 

  Broker: $705.00 ($120 application fee*; $565 initial license fee; $20 guaranty fund fee*) 

A check or money order in the amount indicated above made payable to “Treasurer, State of 
Connecticut” must accompany the application.  Application fees are non-refundable.   

*only the application fee is required at the time of application for those candidates who need to take the State Portion of the CT Real Estate 
Examination. The Guaranty Fund is a one-time fee.  If you paid the Guaranty Fund fee as a salesperson, it’s not required for the broker license. 

Examination: 

All applicants applying by reciprocity from the following states: Florida, Illinois, Indiana and Ohio or 
applicants who have not taken an examination in a reciprocal state are required to take the State 
Portion of the Connecticut Real Estate Examination administered by PSI.   

 After the application is reviewed and approved, you will receive an Examination Eligibility Postcard 
from PSI Examination Services with instructions to register and schedule the examination. PSI can 
be contacted at 1-800-733-9267 or www.psiexams.com.  

 

 Return your completed application, documentation, and applicable fee to: 
 

Department of Consumer Protection 
License Services Division 

165 Capitol Avenue 
Hartford, CT 06106 

Legal Entities: 
 

If you plan to do business as a legal entity you must obtain a broker license in the name of that legal 
entity. Follow these application procedures first; then AFTER you have passed the CT Real Estate 
Broker Licensing Exam, go to www.ct.gov/dcp and download the New Legal Entity Application and 
submit with initial license fee and your passing CT broker exam score report.  
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STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
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Real Estate Application for Reciprocal State Applicants 
 

Please check () the license type you are applying for:   

 Broker: $705.00 ($120.00 if required to take state examination) 

 Salesperson: $385.00 ($80.00 if required to take state examination) 

Section I: Applicant Information 
 

 First Name   Middle Initial Last Name 

Residence Address City   State Zip Code 

Telephone Number  Email Address Social Security Number* Date of Birth 

Mailing Address (if different from above) 
Address  City State Zip Code

*The Federal Privacy Act of 1974 requires that you be notified that disclosure of your Social Security Number is required pursuant to CGS17b-137a. 

Section II: Professional History 
Have you ever held or do you currently hold a real estate license in any other State or D.C.?     Yes    No 

If yes: list all states, license numbers and  type of license: _____________________________________________________________________ 
  

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Attach the original certification of license history you received directly from each state in which you have or had a real estate license 
 

Have you ever been convicted of a felony crime or been convicted of a crime including, but not limited to, forgery, embezzlement, 
obtaining money under false pretenses, extortion, criminal conspiracy to defraud, or any like offenses?      Yes      No  If yes, attach a 
statement providing the date(s) and nature of conviction(s), where the cases were decided, and a description of the circumstances. 

Have you ever had a real estate license refused, suspended or revoked in any State?   Yes    No  If yes, attach a statement providing the 
state(s) and the details regarding the type of action taken. 

Has a complaint ever been filed against you with any state licensing authority?   Yes    No  If yes, attach a statement providing the 
state(s) and the details regarding the nature of the complaint(s).   

 

Do you agree to return immediately any license, when required by the Real Estate Commission, and to conform to all rules and regulations 
promulgated by the Commission and this Department?    Yes     No

Section III: Consent for Service for all Non CT Residents 

The undersigned ____________________________________________________ county of  ___________________________________________  
Printed Name of Applicant 

State of  _________ I, applicant hereby file irrevocably consent that suits and actions may be commenced against such applicant in the 
proper court in any judicial district of the state in which a cause of action may arise or in which the plaintiff may reside, and that in the 
event proper service of process cannot be made upon such applicant in any such proceeding, service may be made by service of process or 
pleading authorized by the laws of Connecticut on the Chairperson of the Connecticut Real Estate Commission, hereby stipulating and 
agreeing that such service of such process or pleading upon the said Chairperson of the Connecticut Real Estate Commission shall be taken 
and held in all courts to be as valid and binding as if service had been made upon said applicant in the State of Connecticut, in accordance 
with Connecticut General Statutes, Section 20-317(b). 

______________________________________________________________________________    ______________________________ 
Signature of Applicant Date

For Official Use Only 



  

 
Real Estate Application for Reciprocal State Applicants 
 
 

Section IV: Salesperson Sponsoring Broker Information 
 
 

 Not required prior to taking state licensing examination 
 

THIS SECTION MUST BE COMPLETED BY THE SALESPERSON’S SPONSORING BROKER 
Legal Name of Sponsoring Broker 
 

Broker’s Current CT License # 

Sponsoring Broker Street Address  City State Zip Code 

Sponsoring Broker Email Address Telephone Number 

I accept the sponsorship for the real estate salesperson listed above. 
Signature of Sponsoring Broker Date 

Printed Name of Sponsoring Broker 

 
 
 

Section V: Notarization – All Applicants 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
Please be sure you have read and understood all licensing requirements, rules and regulations available 
on our website at www.ct.gov/dcp prior to mailing this application.   
 
 

 Return your completed application, documentation, and applicable fees to: 
 

Department of Consumer Protection 
License Services Division 

165 Capitol Avenue 
Hartford, CT 06106 

 
 

 

 

 
 

I, ____________________________________________________ being duly sworn according to law, hereby affirm that the answers  
                                        Printed Name of Applicant 
given in this application are true to the best of my knowledge and belief and that this application is made for the sole purpose of obtaining a 
Real Estate license. 
 
 

______________________________________________________________________  ________________________ 
Signature of Applicant        Date 
 
  Subscribed and sworn to before me, this __________ day of _________________________ 20 _______ 
 
 
______________________________________________________________________  __________________________ 
Signature of Notary Public, Justice of the Peace, Commissioner of Superior Court  My Commission Expires 
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