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State of Connecticut

Department of Consumer Protection

165 Capitol Ave

Hartford, CT 06106

Notice To All Limited General and Limited Residential Real Estate Appraisers 
RE: SUNSET OF THE CATEGORY OF LIMITED APPRAISER LICENSE
In accordance with Section 20-504-3(3) and Section 20-504-3(4) of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies the category of Limited Appraiser shall expire on September 30, 2006. No limited Appraiser License shall be renewed or reinstated after October 1, 2006.

Therefore renewal of your 2006 license will be for a period of five months based on Connecticut law. The fee for the license will be $101.75.
In order to renew your 2006 Limited General or Limited Residential Appraiser License you must complete 15 hours of Continuing Education. The ten hours of mandatory education are The 7 Hour National USPAP Course taught by an AQB Certified Instructor and the 3 Hour Mandatory Appraisal Law Update.
Please plan accordingly if you wish to make a license category change. The requirements for Appraisal Licensure may be found on the Department of Consumer Protection web site: www.ct.gov/dcp. Refer to the Connecticut Real Estate Appraisal Certification License Requirements Summary. 
There are significant changes to the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria 
adopted by the Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) that become effective January 1, 2008. It is most important that you read and understand the publication 

titled A Guide For Understanding The 2008 Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria. This publication may be located on the Appraisal Foundation website: www.appraisalfoundation.org. It is also important that you know that the Connecticut Real Estate Appraisal Commission as adopted the “Segmented Scenario” for implementation of the January 1, 2008 criteria.
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