
  
 

SHORTHAND REPORTERS 
 
Current with material published in Conn.L.J. through 5/13/08                      
 
Sec. 20-654-1. Definitions 
 
As used in section 20-654-1 to section 20-654-8, inclusive, of the Regulations of Connecticut 
State Agencies, the terms "Board", "Licensed shorthand reporter" and "Shorthand reporting" 
shall have the same meaning as provided in section 20-650 of the Connecticut General Statutes, 
and: 
 
(1) "Court reporter" means a person who records verbatim testimony in formal and informal 
legal proceedings in the direct employ of, or on a per diem basis for, the state of Connecticut or 
the United States of America; 
 
(2) "Financial interest" means any business relationship between a licensed shorthand reporter 
and a party to a proceeding, whether or not that party has a financial stake in the proceeding, or 
an attorney participating in a proceeding or an agent for either of them, other than a business 
engagement for court reporting services related to a particular case or reporting incident, in 
which a reporter derives, directly or indirectly, any benefit other than from the specific services 
provided in the particular case or reporting incident; and 
 
(3) "Shorthand reporter" means a person who makes a verbatim record of the spoken word by the 
use of written symbols, either manually or by the use of a stenotype machine or computer-aided 
stenotype transcription machine. 
 
(Added effective April 18, 2000.) 
 
Sec. 20-654-2. Records 
 
Each licensed shorthand reporter shall maintain an original stenographic record for a minimum 
period of seven years; however, that period shall be extended upon notice to the reporter or to 
such reporter's employer, if the reporter is associated with a reporting agency, that there may be a 
problem with a record "such reporter" has produced until such time as the problem has been 
resolved. 
 
(Added effective April 18, 2000.) 
 
Sec. 20-654-3. Application for license 
 
The application for licensure as a licensed shorthand reporter shall include the following 
information: 
 



  
 

(1) the applicant's full name; 
 
(2) any other name the applicant has used, including maiden name; 
 
(3) the applicant's residence address; 
 
(4) a telephone number at which the applicant may be reached during normal business hours; 
 
(5) the applicant's date of birth; 
 
(6) the applicant's social security number; 
 
(7) the name and address of the principal agency with which the applicant works; 
 
(8) whether the applicant has ever been convicted of a felony; 
 
(9) the applicant's professional designation from the National Court Reporter's Association, if 
any; 
 
(10) copies of similar licenses issued by other government agencies, in Connecticut or in any 
other location; and 
 
(11) the applicant's education and experience, which shall include documentation consisting of 
notarized statements from employers or agencies establishing the dates and duties of the 
applicant's employment, and which may include curricula vitae or resumes, certified transcripts 
from an educational facility, or such other documentation as the Board in its discretion may 
require. 
 
(Added effective April 18, 2000.) 
 
Sec. 20-654-4. Fees 
 
Each application shall be accompanied by a non-refundable application fee in the amount of fifty 
dollars ($50.00) and a license fee for a three-year license in the amount of one hundred fifty 
dollars ($150.00). The initial license fee may be prorated in accordance with section 21a-10(b) of 
the Connecticut General Statutes. The fee for the renewal of any license issued pursuant to this 
chapter shall be in the amount of one hundred fifty dollars ($150.00) for each successive three-
year period. The Department of Consumer Protection shall deposit all such fees in accordance 
with chapter 416 of the Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
(Added effective April 18, 2000.) 
 
Sec. 20-654-5. Examination for licensure 



  
 

 
(a) To become licensed in the state of Connecticut, a shorthand reporter shall take and pass the 
examination for licensure as a shorthand reporter which shall be offered by the Department of 
Consumer Protection or its designee with the advice and assistance of the State Board of 
Examiners of Shorthand Reporters. The examination may consist of one hundred true or false 
and multiple-choice questions, and the transcription of three audio tapes, consisting of jury 
charge material of two hundred words per minute, literary material of one hundred eighty words 
per minute and question and answer material of two hundred twenty-five words per minute. The 
Board may from time to time amend the examination requirements. 
 
(b) The State Board of Examiners of Shorthand Reporters shall waive the requirement set forth 
in section 20-654-5(a) of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies for any person who has 
met the requirements provided in section 20-654(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
(c) Any person seeking to establish that such person was actively engaged in the practice of court 
or shorthand reporting in the state of Connecticut as of October 1, 1997 as provided in section 
20-654(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes shall submit to the State Board of Examiners of 
Shorthand Reporters documentation consisting of notarized statements from employers or 
agencies establishing the dates and duties of the applicant's employment. The Board may also 
require production of curricula vitae or resumes, certified transcripts from an educational facility 
or such other documentation as the Board may in its discretion request. 
 
(Added effective April 18, 2000.) 
 
Sec. 20-654-6. Renewals. Continuing education requirements 
 
(a) Each applicant for renewal shall have successfully completed ten hours of continuing 
education which shall be in the form of continuing education courses approved by the National 
Court Reporters Association for each full year of licensure prior to the date of the license's first 
renewal. Thereafter, each applicant shall successfully complete thirty hours of continuing 
education courses approved by the National Court Reporters Association during each three-year 
license period. 
 
(b) The board may waive the requirement in section 20-654-6(a) of the Regulations of 
Connecticut State Agencies for an applicant who provides proof that such person holds a current 
Registered Professional Reporter Certification or such other certificate requiring a higher degree 
of qualification issued by the National Court Reporters Association and that such applicant has 
complied with the continuing education requirements of the National Court Reporters 
Association. The requirements may be obtained from the National Court Reporters Association, 
8224 Old Courthouse Road, Vienna, Virginia. 
 
(c) The board may in its discretion approve continuing education and instructional courses. 
 



  
 

(Added effective April 18, 2000.) 
 
Sec. 20-654-7. Complaints 
 
All consumer complaints shall be in written form and shall be accompanied by documentation 
regarding the services provided and the dates upon which those services were provided. 
 
(Added effective April 18, 2000.) 
 
Sec. 20-654-8. Discipline 
 
(a) The Department of Consumer Protection may, upon the request of the State Board of 
Examiners of Shorthand Reporters or the verified complaint in writing of any person investigate 
the actions of any shorthand reporter or any person who assumes to act in the capacity of a 
shorthand reporter within this state. 
 
(b) The State Board of Examiners of Shorthand Reporters shall give notice and afford 
opportunity for hearing, in accordance with the provisions of Chapter 54 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes and regulations established by the Commissioner of Consumer Protection, 
before imposing any penalties for violations of any provision of chapters 400 or 416 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes or any applicable regulations. 
 
(c) The State Board of Examiners of Shorthand Reporters shall conduct hearings in accordance 
with the requirements set forth in Chapters 54 and 416 and the regulations enacted pursuant to 
those chapters. 
 
(Added effective April 18, 2000.) 
 


