DCP: Shorthand Reporter Continuing Education Requirements

Shorthand Reporter Continuing Education Requirements

 
           The required amount of hours for continuing education are as follows:
    • 10 hrs. NCRA-approved per each full year of licensure
    • 30 hrs. NCRA-approved per each three-year period
(Regulation Excerpt)

Sec. 20-654-6. Renewals. Continuing education requirements

 

(a) Each applicant for renewal shall have successfully completed ten hours of continuing education which shall be in the form of continuing education courses approved by the National Court Reporters Association for each full year of licensure prior to the date of the license's first renewal. Thereafter, each applicant shall successfully complete thirty hours of continuing education courses approved by the National Court Reporters Association during each three-year license period.

 

(b) The board may waive the requirement in section 20-654-6(a) of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies for an applicant who provides proof that such person holds a current Registered Professional Reporter Certification or such other certificate requiring a higher degree of qualification issued by the National Court Reporters Association and that such applicant has complied with the continuing education requirements of the National Court Reporters Association. The requirements may be obtained from the National Court Reporters Association, 8224 Old Courthouse Road, Vienna, Virginia.

 

(c) The board may in its discretion approve continuing education and instructional courses.

 
IN THE EVENT OF AN AUDIT, CEU APPROVAL MAY BE OBTAINED THROUGH COMPLIANCE WITH ONE OR ALL OF THE FOLLOWING:
 
FOR PRE-APPROVED COURSES:
 
1.  Submit an official NCRA transcript showing 30 hours, or 3.0 CEUs, obtained in the three-year 
     period of the subject audit.
2.  Submit an official CT Court Reporters Association (CCRA) transcript showing 30 hours, or 3.0
     CEUs, obtained in the three-year period of the subject audit.
 
FOR NONPRE-APPROVED COURSES:
 
**Important** -  The Continuing Education Program Rules published by the National Court Reporters Association (NCRA) will be the guide the CT Board of Examiners of Licensed Shorthand Reporters (BOE) will defer to for approval of Continuing Education Units (CEUs) for CT Licensed Shorthand Reporter (LSR) renewals submitted under the “NonPre-Approved” category. This document lists approved topics and subject matters. It is suggested the licensee refer to this guide PRIOR to taking any NonPre-Approved courses.
 
1.  Submit a completed NCRA Continuing Education Form attaching all documentation as requested on the form, including but not limited to signature of sponsor, outline of class summary, proof of attendance, and any other information required per the form or later required by the BOE.  Incomplete forms may be denied and resubmission will be required.
Be advised that there is a limit of 10 hours of Professional Development Credits (1.0 PDC), as defined by NCRA, per three-year licensing cycle.
 
If there is any question by the BOE as to any submissions for CEU approval under the NonPre-Approved category, the licensee may be required to submit their request to NCRA for official approval, to be resubmitted to the BOE.  Please submit your CEU transcripts and requests for approval  in a timely manner.

 

 

 

 

 



Content Last Modified on 12/2/2016 10:17:36 AM