DCP: Real Estate Appraisers

Real Estate Appraisers


Real estate appraisers require a license from Department of Consumer Protection. Please note that there are several different appraisal licenses.

NEW! Department and CT Appraisal Commission adopt new criteria:  As the appraisal regulatory agency, the Department of Consumer Protection is responsible for implementing the new real property appraiser licensing and certification requirements.  The Appraisal Qualifications Board adopted these changes in December of 2011 to become effective January 1, 2015. The Connecticut Appraisal Commission adopted the new criteria June 13, 2012. 

Most notably, applying provisional appraisers and new applicants to become Certified Residential and Certified General appraisers must hold a bachelorís degree or higher from an accredited college or university. Education and experience must be completed prior to taking an appraisal exam.

Questions about the new requirements may be emailed to DCP.realestate@ct.gov.  For the complete list of changes please see the Appraisal Qualifications Board overview.
IMPORTANT: The Mandatory Appraisal Law class for the state of Connecticut is required for all licensees, including out of state licensees, as part of the 28-hour continuing education cycle. All education must correspond with the May to April cycle.  All appraisers, including provisionals, shall complete twenty eight hours of continuing education, to be demonstrated upon your renewal in April of 2016.
Please review the license applications below and select the appropiate category.

New Applications:

Reciprocal Application:
General, Residential and Provisional Temporary Certification Application:
Retiree Status License Application:
Request for License History Form:

Restoration from Retiree Status:

Appraisal Management Company:

Provisional Appraiser Sponsor:

Other Information:

Content Last Modified on 8/1/2016 8:55:20 AM