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Policy The Department of Children and Families shall operate a Child Abuse and 

Neglect Careline as the centralized unit that receives all telephone calls or 
written information alleging that a child is suspected of being abused or 
neglected and initiates appropriate action. 
 
The Careline's hours of operation shall be 24 hours a day, every day of 
the year. 
 
The Careline shall also respond to other types of calls related to services 
for children. 
 
Cross reference:  Careline Practice Guide. 

 
Public Policy 
of the State 
of 
Connecticut 

The public policy of the State of Connecticut is to protect children whose 
health and welfare may be adversely affected through injury and neglect; 
to strengthen the family and to make the home safe for children by 
enhancing the parental capacity for good child care; to provide a 
temporary or permanent nurturing and safe environment for children 
when necessary; and for these purposes to require the reporting of 
suspected child abuse, investigation of such reports by a social agency, 
and provision of services, where needed, to such child and family. 
 
Legal reference:  Conn. Gen. Stat. §17a-101 et seq. 

 
Definitions Expunge means the deletion from the LINK system of certain child 

protective services reports and investigations, including associated case 
participants, allegations and documents. 
 
Report means a verbal or written communication to DCF that alleges a 
reasonable suspicion of abuse or neglect of a child under 18 years of age 
(or a person aged 18-21 if he or she is in the care of DCF) by a caregiver 
or a person entrusted with the care of the child.  

 
Careline 
Collaboration 
with Other 
DCF Units 
 
 

The Careline shall collaborate with the Area Office investigations units, the 
Special Investigations Unit and ongoing service units to provide a 
comprehensive and continuous service delivery system which is 
responsive to the needs of client families 24 hours a day, every day of the 
year. 
 
Such collaboration shall ensure: 
 

• the accurate receipt and processing of reports of suspected child 
abuse or neglect;  and 

• the commencement and completion of investigations in accordance 
with prescribed timeframes. 
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Who Makes a 
Report 

Anyone may cause an oral or written report to be made to the Careline 
(or a law enforcement agency) when that person has reasonable cause to 
suspect that a child under the age of 18, or any youth over the age of 18 
who is still in DCF care, is in danger of being or has been abused or 
neglected. 
 
Mandated reporters are those persons (listed below) who are specifically 
required by statute to make a report when, in the ordinary course of their 
employment or profession, they have reasonable cause to suspect or 
believe that a child under the age of 18 years: 
 

• has been abused or neglected; 
• has had non-accidental physical injury, or injury which is at 

variance with the history given of the injury, inflicted upon the 
child; or 

• is placed at imminent risk of serious harm. 
 

 
What Must 
Be Reported 

The following suspected child abuse or neglect situations must be 
reported to DCF: 
 
Child abuse: Any child or youth who has a non-accidental physical 
injury, or injury which is at variance with the history given of the injury, 
or who is in a condition that is the result of maltreatment such as, but not 
limited to, malnutrition, sexual molestation, deprivation of necessities, 
emotional maltreatment or cruel punishment. 
 
Child neglect: Any child or youth who has been abandoned or is being 
denied proper care and attention, physically, educationally, emotionally or 
morally or is being permitted to live under conditions, circumstances or 
associations injurious to his or her well-being or has been abused. 
 
Child under age 13 with a venereal disease: A physician or facility 
must report to Careline upon the consultation, examination or treatment 
for venereal disease of any child under the age of 13 years. 
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List of 
Mandated 
Reporters 

The following persons are mandated reporters:  
 

 Battered women’s counselors 
 Chiropractors 
 Dental hygienists 
 Dentists 
 DCF employees 
 Licensed/certified alcohol and drug 

counselors 
 Licensed/certified emergency medical 

services providers 
 Licensed marital and family 

therapists 
 Licensed or unlicensed resident 

interns  
 Licensed or unlicensed resident 

physicians 
 School employees (teachers, 

substitute teachers, school 
administrators, school 
superintendents, guidance 
counselors, psychologists, social 
workers, nurses, physicians, school 
paraprofessionals or coaches 
employed by a local or regional 
boards of education or private 
elementary, middle or high schools 
or working in public or private 
elementary, middle or high schools; 
any other person who, in the 
performance of his or her duties, has 
regular contact with students and 
who provides services to or on behalf 
of students enrolled in a public 
elementary, middle or high school, 
pursuant to a contract with a local or 
regional board of education, or a 
private elementary, middle or high 
school, pursuant to a contract with 
the supervisory agent of such private 
school) 

 

 Medical examiners 
 Members of the clergy 
 Mental health professionals 
 Optometrists   
 Parole officers  
 Pharmacists 
 Physical therapists                               
 Physician assistants                             
 Podiatrists                                           
 Police officers 
 Probation officers (juvenile or adult) 
 Psychologists 
 Registered nurses 
 Sexual assault counselors 
 Social workers 
 The Child Advocate and any employee 

of the Office of the Child Advocate 
 Department of Public Health 

employees responsible for the 
licensing of child day care centers, 
group day care homes, family day care 
homes or youth camps 

 Any person paid to care for a child in 
any public or private facility, child day 
care center, group day care home or 
family day care home which is licensed 
by the state 
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Reporting 
Requirements 

A mandated report must make an oral report of suspected abuse or 
neglect by telephone or in person to the DCF Careline or to a law 
enforcement agency as soon as practicable, but not later than 12 hours 
after having reasonable cause to suspect or believe that a child has been 
abused or neglected or placed in imminent risk of serious harm. 
 
If a law enforcement agency receives an oral report, it shall immediately 
notify the DCF Careline. 
 
Within 48 hours of making an oral report, a mandated reporter shall 
submit a written report to the Careline (DCF-136, “Report of Suspected 
Child Abuse or Neglect.”) 
 
If the reporter is a member of the staff of a public or private facility 
providing care for children or a public or private school, then the reporter 
shall also submit a copy of the report to the person in charge of the 
facility or school or that person's designee.  

 
Contents of 
Written 
Reports 

All oral and written reports shall contain the following information if 
known: 
 

• the names and addresses of the child and the parents or other 
person responsible for the child’s care;  

• the age of the child;  
• the gender of the child;  
• the nature and extent of the child's injury or injuries, 

maltreatment or neglect;  
• the approximate date and time the injury or injuries, maltreatment 

or neglect occurred;  
• information concerning any previous injury or injuries to, or 

maltreatment or neglect of, the child or the child’s siblings;  
• the circumstances in which the injury or injuries, maltreatment or 

neglect came to be known to the reporter;  
• the name of the person or persons suspected to be responsible for 

causing such injury or injuries, maltreatment or neglect;  
• the reasons such person or persons are suspected of causing such 

injury or injuries, maltreatment or neglect;  
• any information concerning any prior cases in which such person 

or persons have been suspected of causing an injury, 
maltreatment or neglect of a child; and 

• whatever action, if any, was taken to treat, provide shelter or 
otherwise assist the child. 
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Reporter 
Liability and 
Protections 

Any person, institution or agency which, in good faith, makes or does not 
make a report shall be immune from any civil or criminal liability provided 
such person did not perpetrate or cause such abuse or neglect. 
 
No employer shall discharge, or in any manner discriminate or retaliate 
against, any employee who in good faith makes a report, testifies or is 
about to testify in any proceeding involving child abuse or neglect. The 
Attorney General may bring on civil suit against any employer who 
violates this provision.  

 
Penalty for 
Not 
Reporting 

If there is reason to believe that a mandated reporter has failed to make 
a report of suspected child abuse or neglect, including a failure to report 
within the time frames set out in the statute, the Commissioner of DCF or 
designee shall notify the Chief State's Attorney.  Any mandated reporter 
who fails to report or who delays reporting may be fined not less than 
$500 or more than $2500 and may be required to participate in an 
educational and training program concerning mandated reporting. 

 
Penalty for 
Making a 
False Claim 

Any person who knowingly makes a false report of child abuse or neglect 
shall be fined not more than $2000 or imprisoned not more than one year 
or both. 
 
The name of a person determined to have made a false report shall be 
disclosed to the appropriate law enforcement agency and to the person 
alleged to have committed the abuse or neglect. 
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Police 
Notification 

DCF shall notify the appropriate law enforcement agency (DCF-737, 
Notification to State or Local Police of Suspected Child Sexual Abuse, 
Severe Physical Abuse or Severe Neglect") within 12 hours of receipt of a 
report alleging sexual abuse or serious physical abuse including, but not 
limited to, a report that a child: 
 

− has died; 
− has been sexually assaulted; 
− has suffered brain damage or loss or serious impairment of a 

bodily function or organ; 
− has been sexually exploited; or 
− has suffered serious non-accidental physical injury. 

 
Sexual assault includes vaginal intercourse, anal intercourse and oral 
intercourse (fellatio or cunnilingus), as well as contact with the intimate 
parts (genital area, groin, anus, inner thighs, buttocks or breasts) of the 
victim's body for the purpose of sexual gratification of the perpetrator. 
 

•  Vaginal intercourse includes penetration, however slight, and 
includes manipulation of an object by the perpetrator into the 
genital or anal opening of the victim's body. 
 

•  Anal intercourse and fellatio do not require emission of semen. 
  

•  Indecent exposure to a child also constitutes sexual assault. 
 
Sexual exploitation includes incest, selling the child to others for sexual 
purposes and human trafficking. 
 
Non-accidental serious physical injury includes significant burns, 
wounds from a stabbing or shooting, severe lacerations, ruptured viscera, 
broken bones, brain damage, loss or serious impairment of a bodily 
function or an organ, or any series of injuries. Also falling into this 
category are: 
 

•  a child suffering from serious illness who must be moved 
immediately to ensure his or her safety but the provider or parent 
will not cooperate; and 

 
•  demonstrated threats of violence or death to a child. 
  

DCF shall also notify law enforcement (DCF-737), whether or not the 
report is accepted for investigation, in situations that involve possible 
criminal acts, such as: 
 

•  assault on a child by a person who is not the child’s caregiver; 
•  a child under the age of 12 left unsupervised in a place of public 

accommodation or in a motor vehicle for a period of time that 
presents a substantial risk to the child's health or safety (e.g., 
stores, restaurants, parks, malls);  

•  domestic violence; and  
•  human trafficking. 
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At Risk  
 

“At risk” is a status for reporting and report acceptance purposes only.  A 
report that is accepted as “at risk” must be substantiated pursuant to 
one of the current operational definitions of child abuse or neglect.  There 
is no separate “at risk” substantiation.  
  
“At risk” substantiations enter before October 1996 shall not be disclosed 
by DCF in response to a request for a background check unless a 
Program Manager or designee, after review of the case, determines that 
the facts of the case support a finding of neglect or abuse under current 
operational definitions.   
  
Cross references:  DCF Policy, 34-2-7, "Operational Definitions;" DCF 
Policy 34-3-6, "Conducting the Investigation." 

 
High Risk 
Newborns 

“High risk newborn” is a descriptive category that applies to certain cases 
that meet the criteria set forth in the DCF High Risk Newborns policy. 
 
Although a child may be identified as a “high risk newborn” for purposes 
of reporting and report acceptance purposes, the child’s parent can only 
be substantiated if the facts of the case support a finding of neglect or 
abuse under current operational definitions.   
 
Cross reference: DCF Policy 34-12-2, "High Risk Newborns." 

   _________________________________________________________________ 
Drug 
Endangered 
Child 

A “drug endangered child” is a child who is at risk of suffering physical 
or emotional harm as a result of illegal drug use or the possession, 
manufacture, cultivation or distribution of illegal drugs, or whose 
caregiver's substance misuse interferes with his or her ability to parent 
and provide a safe environment. 
  
Although a child may be identified as a “drug endangered child” for 
purposes of reporting and report acceptance, the child’s caregiver can 
only be substantiated if the facts of the case support a finding of neglect 
or abuse under current operational definitions.   

 
Expungement DCF shall expunge non-accepted and unsubstantiated reports of abuse 

and neglect in accordance with the standards set forth below.   
 
Legal Reference: Conn. Gen. Stat. §17a-101k. 
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Non-Accepted 
Reports 

Reports of neglect and abuse that are not accepted by the DCF Careline 
shall be kept for 60 days from the date the report is received and then 
expunged.   

 
Unsubstantiated 
Reports 

Reports of neglect and abuse that have been investigated and not 
substantiated shall be kept for five years from the completion date of 
the investigation.  
 
If DCF has received more than one report about a person, and all 
reports are unsubstantiated, they shall be expunged five years from the 
completion date of the most recent investigation.  
 
If at any time an investigation is substantiated, then none of the 
unsubstantiated investigations shall be expunged. 
 
Unsubstantiated investigations shall not be expunged if the person has 
been substantiated as a perpetrator in any other case. 

 
Substantiated 
Reports 

Reports of neglect and abuse that have been investigated and 
substantiated shall be retained indefinitely. 

 
Central 
Registry 

DCF shall maintain a Central Registry of Substantiated Perpetrators of 
Child Abuse or Neglect. 
 
The primary purpose of the Central Registry is child protection through 
prevention and identification of abuse or neglect of children. 
 
Legal references: Conn. Gen. Stat. §17a-28 and §17a-101; R.C.S.A. 
§17a-101-1 through §17a-101-10. 
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Access to the 
Registry  

Information in the Central Registry is confidential and shall be limited to 
duly authorized persons or entities, including: 
 

• DCF employees for purposes of obtaining information for the 
investigation of child abuse and neglect, background checks and 
other uses permitted by law; and 
 

• prospective employers, licensing authorities and other public 
agencies permitted by law to request background checks for a 
person, provided the request is submitted the DCF-3031, 
"Authorization for Release of Information for DCF CPS Search," and 
is signed by the subject of the background check. 
 

Note: Pursuant to state statute, the Connecticut Departments of Public 
Health, Education and Social Services may request background checks 
under certain circumstances without the signature of the person  
 
Legal references: Conn. Gen. Stat. §17a-28(f) and §17a101k(b). 

 
Perpetrator's 
Information 
on Central 
Registry 

The following information is displayed in a perpetrator search of the LINK 
system: 
 

• perpetrator’s name, address, gender, date of birth and race; 
• case name and number; 
• date of investigation; 
• substantiated allegations; and 
• whether the information is discloseable or not discloseable. 

 
Information 
That May be 
Disclosed   
 

The DCF Careline shall disclose only the following information in response 
to a request for a background check: 
 

• perpetrator’s name;  
• substantiated allegations of abuse or neglect; and  
• the date(s) of the investigation(s). 
 

The Careline may also refer the requestor to the Area Office that 
conducted the investigation for further information as authorized by law.  
  
If the requestor is the Department of Public Health or Social Services, DCF 
shall provide the investigation file if requested.  
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Information 
That May Not 
be Disclosed  

The DCF Careline shall not disclose: 
 

• the existence of an unsubstantiated allegation of abuse or neglect;  
• a substantiated allegation of abuse or neglect that has been 

appealed pursuant to DCF Policy 34-15-1 or 22-12-2 if the appeal 
is pending, except as noted below; or  

• a substantiated allegation of abuse or neglect if the time frame for 
requesting an appeal has not yet expired. 

 
 
Exceptions 
 

DCF may disclose that a person is on the Central Registry before the time 
for requesting an appeal has expired or while an appeal is pending if the 
child abuse or neglect resulted in or involves: 
 

• the death of a child;  
• the risk of serious physical injury or emotional harm to a child;  
• serious physical harm to a child;  
• the arrest of the person due to abuse or neglect of a child;  
• a neglect or termination of parental rights petition filed by the 

Commissioner; or  
• sexual abuse of a child. 

 
Deferred 
Appeals  
 

A substantiated allegation of child abuse or neglect that has been 
appealed and deferred because of a pending court or administrative 
proceeding shall not be disclosed while the court matter is pending except 
as provided in the “Exceptions” section above. 
  
It shall be the appellant’s responsibility to notify DCF that the court or 
administrative proceeding is no longer pending and that the appellant 
would like to proceed with the appeal. 
  
If the appellant does not notify DCF that he or she is ready to proceed 
with a hearing on a deferred case, the appellant's name shall appear on 
the Central Registry three years after the date of the deferral.    

 
 
Notification 
to Subject of 
Background 
Check  

 
If the name of the subject of a background check for purposes of licensing 
or employment appears on the Central Registry, the DCF Careline staff 
shall instruct the person or entity requesting the background check that:  
 

• the requestor must inform the subject of the background check 
that he or she is listed in the Central Registry as a perpetrator; 
and  

• that the subject may be able to appeal the substantiation pursuant 
to DCF Policy 34-15-1 or 22-12-2. 
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Access to LINK  The LINK system contains most of the information about a family 

gathered during investigations and through the provision of services. 
This information is confidential.  
 
Data from cases that preceded the introduction of the LINK system is 
stored in the Case Management System (CMS). 
 
Authorized persons (see next section) whose identity has been verified 
may access information about a family on an emergency basis by calling 
Careline and requesting a query and immediate response over the 
telephone. 
 
Calls to Careline for routine access to family information shall be 
referred to the Area Office Social Worker (for information over the 
telephone on an open case) or the DCF Office of Legal Affairs (for 
documents). See DCF Policy 31-10-3,"Confidentiality." 
 
Access to victim information for research purposes must be approved by 
the DCF Institutional Review Board. Calls to Careline for information 
related to research shall be referred to the DCF IRB. See DCF Policy 26-
8-1, "Institutional Review Board." 

- 
- 
Emergency 
Access to 
LINK 

The following persons or entities shall be eligible for emergency access to 
information in LINK: 
 

•  DCF employees after hours for work-related matters; 
•  a legally mandated public or private child protection agency 

investigating a report of known or suspected child abuse or 
neglect; 

•  a law enforcement agency investigating a report of known or 
suspected child abuse or neglect; 

•  a physician who has before him or her a child whom he or she 
reasonably suspects may be abused or neglected;and 

•  a person legally authorized to place a child in protective custody 
when such person: 
 

− has before him or her a child whom he or she reasonably 
suspects to be abused or neglected; and 

− requires the information to determine whether to place the 
child in protective custody. 
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Verification 
of Persons 
Requesting 
Emergency 
Access 

Careline staff shall use a callback system to verify that emergency 
telephone requests for information are from persons and agencies 
authorized for such access. 
 
Information shall be withheld pending verification of the caller's identity. 

 
Information 
and Referral 
Calls 

Careline shall also receive calls for general information and referrals to 
services or other agencies. See the Careline Practice Guide for more 
information. 

 
 
 
 


