Eligible state employees, permanent full time or part-time with benefits, are entitled to paid vacation time. Full time employees are eligible to begin taking paid vacation after completing six (6) months of service. Part-time employees, with benefits, can begin taking paid vacation after completing the equivalent of six (6) months of fulltime service.
You accrue vacation leave at the following rate for each completed month of service (prorated, if part-time):
• 0-5 years of service: 1 day per month (12 days per year).
• 5-20 years: 1-1/4 days per month (15 days per year).
• 20 or more years: 1-2/3 days per month (20 days per year).
As a manager, you accrue vacation leave at the rate of 1 1/4 days per completed month of service, or 15 days per year. After completing 10 years of service, on January 1 of each subsequent year you will receive the following number of days in addition to the normal accrual:
• 11 years of service: 1 additional day.
• 12 years: 2 additional days.
• 13 years: 3 additional days.
• 14 years: 4 additional days.
• 15 or more years: 5 additional days.PERSONAL LEAVE
In addition to vacation leave, full time, permanent employees are allowed three personal leave days per calendar year. Some labor contracts provide prorated personal leave for part time employees. These days may be used for personal business or for the observance of religious holidays. Personal Leave days do not accumulate from year to year. Therefore, they must be used by December 31 or they will be lost.SICK LEAVE
Eligible state employees, permanent full time or part-time with benefits, are entitled to paid sick time. Sick leave accrues at the rate of 1 1/4 days for every full calendar month worked and is credited to you on the last working day of the calendar month. You may use accrued sick leave during your initial six (6) month working test period if necessary. However, frequent absences may jeopardize your evaluation and continued employment.
In addition to absence due to illness or injury, you may use sick leave for:
- Medical or dental appointments that cannot be scheduled outside regular working hours;
- Serious illness in the immediate family which requires your presence (up to five (5) days per year for sick family);
- Death in the immediate family;
- Attending funerals of friends or relatives who are not part of the immediate family;
- The birth, adoption, or taking custody of a child (parental leave).
Up to three (3) days of sick leave per occasion per calendar year may be used due to a death in the immediate family. Immediate family includes your spouse, parent, sibling, child or any relative who lives in your household.
Up to three (3) days of sick leave per calendar year may be used to for going to, attending, and returning from funerals of non-immediate family members or friends. Non-immediate family includes, grandparents, cousins, aunts, uncles and in-laws.
The State of Connecticut offers a contributory retirement plan for all employees. All new hires employees to State service make bi-weekly contributions of 2% of their salary towards retirement. Employees in hazardous duty classifications make bi-weekly contributions of 5% of their salary.
The state of Connecticut grants twelve (12) paid holidays per year to permanent, full time employees:
- New Years Day
- Martin Luther King’s Birthday
- Lincoln’s Birthday
- Washington’s Birthday (President’s Day)
- Good Friday
- Memorial Day
- Independence Day
- Labor Day
- Columbus Day
- Veteran’s Day
- Thanksgiving Day
- Christmas Day
Note: Some facility-based employees may be required to work on holidays. In such cases, holiday pay is governed by the appropriate collective bargaining agreement.
For part-time employees you must be scheduled to work on the holiday in order to receive holiday pay.
If a holiday falls on a Saturday or Sunday, the State generally designates the Friday preceding or the Monday following as the day on which it will be observed. You will be paid for a holiday if you are on the payroll immediately before and after the day it is celebrated; you will not receive holiday pay if on a leave of absence without pay before and after a scheduled holiday.
If you are summoned to jury duty, you will receive your regular salary and benefits for any period of time you serve as a juror. When you receive your notice to report for jury duty, you must give a copy to your supervisor and to the human resources office. This notice is retained in your official personnel file. Whether you serve only one day, or are selected for a trial, the court will provide you with verification of your attendance. You must submit this verification to your supervisor upon your return to work. You must report for work if you are not actively serving on jury duty.
Since you will be receiving your regular pay while on jury duty, any fees paid to you for your services, except for reimbursement of mileage and parking fees, must be turned in to the Agency.
If you are a member of the National Guard or a reserve component of the U.S. Armed Forces and a permanent employee, you are entitled to military leave to attend required training. You must submit a copy of your military orders to the Human Resources office to verify the leave. The state permits you as many as three weeks in a calendar year for field training. Paid leave for military call-ups other than annual training is limited to unscheduled emergencies, subject to the provisions of your union contract. You should notify your supervisor as soon as you become aware of your military leave schedule.
FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE ACT
The federal and state governments have passed laws entitling qualified employees to unpaid, job-protected leave for specified family or medical reasons. The provisions differ between the federal and state benefits.
The Federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) provides for 12 weeks of protected leave in a 12-month period. In cases of military family leave, FMLA provides a maximum of 26 weeks of leave in a 12 month period. Employees may use accrued leave in order to be paid during leaves covered under FMLA. To be eligible for such leave, you must have at least 12 months of total service and have worked at least 1,250 hours during the 12 months prior to the leave.
State family/medical leave entitles employees with permanent status to as much as 24 weeks of unpaid leave in a two-year period for personal illness and/or to care for a family member with a serious illness. In cases of military family leave, state family/medical leave provides a maximum of 26 weeks of leave in a 24 month period.
The following are considered qualifying events in determining leave eligibility under State or Federal FMLA:
- Birth or adoption of a child (federal and state)
- Placement of a foster child in the employee's care (federal)
- "Serious illness" (state) or "serious health condition" (federal) of the employee, or the spouse, child or parent of the employee
- To serve as an organ or bone marrow donor (state);
The following are considered qualifying events in determining leave eligibility for Military Family Leave under State or Federal FMLA:
- Military Caregiver Leave (state or federal) to care for a spouse, son, daughter, parent or next of kin who is a "covered service member" and has a serious injury or illness while on covered active duty;
- Qualifying Exigency Leave (federal) for any qualifying exigency arising out of the fact a spouse, son, daughter or parent of the employee is on covered active duty.
When you are on FMLA leave, the agency will continue to pay its portion of your medical insurance coverage. Upon return to work, you will be restored to your position or one with equivalent pay, benefits, and other working conditions. This leave results in no loss of employment benefits which had accrued during the leave.
HEALTH AND DENTAL INSURANCE
All State employees have the opportunity to select one of the approved health insurance plans at the time of hire. Also, the state offers dental coverage as a separate election.
You may extend health coverage to cover your immediate family, spouse and unmarried children or same-sex domestic partner. The state generally pays 70 percent of this cost. You pay the remainder, which is directly deducted from your paycheck. Your dependent children may be covered under the medical and prescription drug plans through the end of the month in which they turn age 26 on a pre-tax basis. Dental coverage for dependents ends at age 19 (unless disabled).
Your insurance coverage becomes effective on the first day of the month immediately following your hire date or date of eligibility. For example, if you were hired on November 9, your coverage would begin on December 1.
GROUP LIFE INSURANCE
Group life insurance is an option available to permanent employees. The amount of coverage is based upon your annual salary (up to a maximum amount) and your premiums are paid bi-weekly through payroll deduction. The current rate for this coverage is $.20 per each $1,000 of life insurance. This coverage is term insurance and terminates if you leave state service.
If you do not enroll in this coverage during your first six (6) months of employment and subsequently wish to apply for coverage, you will be required to provide proof of insurability at the time of your application.
Short-term Disability Insurance
Available to full-time, active employees, this product protects against the short-term loss of income from a covered accident or illness.
Long-term Disability Insurance
This product protects against the long-term loss of income from accident or illness, and is available to full-time, active employees.
COBRA INSURANCE COVERAGE
In accordance with the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985 (COBRA), the state offers continuation of health coverage at group rates due to certain qualifying events such as termination, divorce, or death. Employees, their spouses, and eligible dependents may qualify for continuation of health insurance through the state’s health care plan at group rates, for 18, 29, or 36 months, depending on the qualifying event. Employees receiving COBRA benefits are billed directly by the health insurance carrier.
DEPENDENT CARE ASSISTANCE
This program allows employees to pay for dependent care expenses with wages which will not be subject to federal and state income taxes or FICA taxes (pre-tax dollars). You would be reimbursed from your contributions for actual dependent care expenses which you incur.
You are eligible to enroll in this program during one of the following periods:
- Open enrollment (usually the month of November)
- Within 31 days of your hire date
- Within 31 days of a change in family status which makes you eligible to participate
AUTOMOBILE / HOMEOWNERS INSURANCE
Full-time, active employees or retirees, may apply for automobile and home insurance coverage through a state-authorized vendor. The insurer will determine your premium. LONG-TERM HEALTH CARE INSURANCE
Full-time, active employees and retirees can obtain protection against the cost of long-term health care at home or in a convalescent hospital. This group policy has been approved by the Connecticut Partnership. UNIVERSAL LIFE INSURANCE
Full-time, active employees and retirees who want to supplement their life insurance coverage may purchase universal life insurance coverage. LICENSURE REIMBURSEMENT
Full reimbursement is available for employees who are required to maintain a State occupational license.TUITION REIMBURSEMENT
The State offers tuition reimbursement for all staff. The actual amount paid is determined by collective bargaining agreements. The courses must be job related, part of a job related degree program, or in preparation for promotion to another State position. Funds are on a "first come, first served" basis.
All State employees have the option of deferring a portion of their taxable income with one of the financial service organizations approved by the State Comptroller through automatic payroll deduction.
The primary purpose of a Deferred Compensation Plan (DCP) is to help you save money for retirement while providing current tax advantages. You choose how much you want to save and how you want your dollars invested among a variety of professionally managed investment options. Federal income taxes are not paid on these contributions or investment earnings until they are withdrawn. You determine how much you want to contribute to the Plan, up to the annual maximum amount. Contributions can be withdrawn from the Plan when you retire, or resign from State employment, or for certain unforeseeable emergencies, as regulated by the IRS. Your withdrawal will be subject to ordinary income tax.
EMPLOYEE CREDIT UNIONS
As a State employee you are eligible to join the State Employees Credit Union.
EMPLOYEE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
The State is committed to providing the necessary services to assist employees in the identification and resolution of personal problems. To meet this objective, an Employee Assistance Program is available to all employees of the State and their families. The employee assistance program (EAP) is composed of a confidential assessment, brief counseling and referral services.
The focus of the EAP is to reduce problems in the work force and to retain valued employees. It is designed to assist in the identification and resolution of any personal problem which may be affecting you, your family, or your job.
U.S. SAVINGS BONDS
Employees may purchase Series EE U.S. Savings Bonds through payroll deduction. Savings bonds are available in five denominations: $100; $200; $500; $1,000, and $5,000. The price is half the bond's face value. Series EE Savings Bonds earn variable interest, like money market accounts, if held five years. The rate changes twice yearly on May 1 and November 1, and the investor is guaranteed a minimum return.
Value at maturity will be at least the full amount of the bond, and more, if the market based rate is higher than the guaranteed minimum.
For more detailed information on State of Connecticut Benefits, visit the State Comptroller's website.