DEEP: Water Quality Standards and Classification

The Connecticut Water Quality Standards and Classification

{CT Water Quality Standards and Classifications}
Select the image to learn more about the CT Water Quality Standards


{Why Do We Need Water Quality Standards}

Connecticut Water Quality Standards:

  • Address both surface and ground waters.
  • Are required by Section 303(c) of the federal Clean Water Act.
  • Convey State policies regarding designated uses and related   classifications of Connecticut’s water resources.
  • Provide the criteria necessary to support designated uses.

The Water Quality Standards form the foundation of Connecticut’s water management programs, including:

The Connecticut Water Quality Standards
Triennial Review Process

{Know Your H2O}

{Who Does This Affect}
This process occurs every three years and provides an opportunity to:
  • Request public input on the Standards. 
  • Update the Standards to include the latest scientific understanding of water pollution effects.
  • Incorporate changes in state and federal law.

    CT DEEP is interested in your input on any potential changes regarding the Water Quality Standards during the 2019 Triennial Review!

Related Information

Join our Water Quality Planning ListServ to receive updates and information about water quality.

Contact us for more information at the CT DEEP Bureau of Water Protection and Land Reuse at (860) 424-3020.

Content last updated on November 13, 2019.