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0BUUNDERSTANDING FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE 
(A Primer for Connecticut State Employees) 

Revised March 2009 
  
The Department of Administrative Services has prepared this brochure to help State of 
Connecticut employees understand the federal and state laws governing family and 
medical leave. Questions regarding your individual situation should be directed to your 
agency's Human Resource Department.  
 

3BUINTRODUCTION 
 
Legislation passed at both federal and state levels provides eligible employees with job-
protected leave for certain family and medical reasons. The federal Family and Medical 
Leave Act (FMLA) was enacted by Congress in 1993 and was amended in 2008 to 
extend additional leave rights to families of members of the Armed Forces.  Connecticut's 
statute governing family and medical leaves for public sector employees (C.G.S. 5-248a) 
was enacted in 1988.  
 
Effective January 2009, the federal Department of Labor issued revised regulations 
regarding the federal FMLA.  In addition to explaining the new leave rights for military 
families, these regulations create new rules and procedures that emphasize more complete 
documentation and better communication between employers and employees. 
 
 
______ 
 

1BWHEN CAN I TAKE STATE FAMILY/MEDICAL 
 2BULEAVE OR FEDERAL FMLA LEAVE? 

 
 
4BUAm I eligible to take state family/medical leave or federal FMLA leave? 
 
You may be eligible for:   
 

• Federal FMLA leave only,  
• State family/medical leave only,  
• Both federal FMLA and state family/medical leave, or 
• Neither. 

 
To be eligible for federal FMLA leave (including military family leave), you must 
have at least U12 months Uof total service and have worked at least U1,250 hoursU in the U12 
months U immediately preceding the beginning of your leave. (“Hours worked” does not 
include time spent on paid leave - sick, vacation, PL, administrative - or unpaid leave. 
Overtime hours and military leave do count towards the 1,250-hour requirement.)  
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To qualify for state family/medical leave, you must have Upermanent statusU with the state 
as defined in C.G.S. 5-196(20).  
 
If you are eligible under only one law, you will receive benefits in accordance with that 
law only.  If the leave qualifies for both federal FMLA leave and state family/medical 
leave, the leave may count against your entitlement under both laws and run 
concurrently.   
 
5BUWhat situations qualify for state family/medical or federal FMLA leave? 
 
The reasons for leave are:  
 

• The birth of your child or adoption of a child by you (both state and federal);  
 
• The placement of a foster child with you (federal only);  

 
• The “serious illness” (state) or “serious health condition” (federal) of your 

“child,” “spouse,” or “parent;”  
 

• Your own “serious illness” (state) or “serious health condition” (federal);  
 

• To serve as an organ or bone marrow donor (state only); or 
 

• For military family leave: (federal only) 
 

∗ For a spouse, son, daughter, parent or “next of kin” to care for a 
covered service member who has been injured or becomes seriously ill 
while on active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces; or  

 
∗ Because of “any qualifying exigency” arising out of the fact that a 

spouse, son, daughter or parent of the employee is on active duty or 
notification of a call to active duty in support of a contingency 
operation. 

 
The term “child” means: 
 

• A biological, adopted or foster child, stepchild, child of a person standing in 
“loco parentis,” or a child of whom a person has legal guardianship or 
custody; AND 

• Who is under age 18 years or is 18 or older and incapable of self-care because 
of a mental or physical disability. 
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The term “parent” means: 
 

• A biological, adopted or foster parent, stepparent, person standing in “loco 
parentis” of a child or a person who has legal guardianship or custody of a 
child. 

• It does not include a parent-in-law. 
 

For purposes of state family/medical leave only, the term “spouse” includes civil unions 
and same sex marriages.  

 
For purposes of federal military family leave only, the term “next of kin” means the 

service member’s nearest blood relative, other than the covered service member’s 
spouse, parent, son or daughter, in the following order of priority:  

 
• A blood relative who the covered service member has specifically designated 

in writing as his or her nearest blood relative for purposes of military 
caregiver leave; 

• Blood relatives who have been granted legal custody of the service member 
by court decree or statutory provisions,  

• Brothers and sisters,  
• Grandparents,  
• Aunts and uncles, and  
• First cousins.  

 
6BFor purposes of state family/medical leave only, the term “serious illness” means: 
 

• 7BAn illness, injury, impairment or physical or mental condition that involves: 
 

∗ Inpatient care in a hospital, hospice or residential care facility, or 
 
∗ Continuing treatment or continuing supervision by a health care 

provider. 
 

For purposes of federal FMLA leave only, the term “serious health condition” means: 
 

• An illness, injury, impairment or physical or mental condition that involves: 
 

∗ Inpatient care: 
o Overnight stay in a hospital, hospice, or residential medical 

care facility, and 
o Includes any period of incapacity or subsequent treatment in 

connection with or consequent to inpatient care. 
 

∗ Incapacity and treatment: 
o A period of incapacity of more than three consecutive full 

calendar days, UandU  
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o Any subsequent treatment or period of incapacity relating to 
the same condition, that also involves: 

 Treatment two or more times within 30 days of the first 
day of incapacity, unless extenuating circumstances 
exist, Uor 

 Treatment by a health care provider on at least one 
occasion which results in a regimen of continuing 
treatment under the supervision of the health care 
provider.  

o The first (or only) in-person treatment visit must take place 
within seven (7) days of the first day of incapacity. 

o “Treatment” means an in-person visit to a health care provider.   
 

∗ Incapacity due to pregnancy: 
o For purposes of federal FMLA leave only, this includes 

prenatal care.  
 

∗ Incapacity due to chronic conditions requiring treatments (Ex: Asthma, 
diabetes, epilepsy)  

 
∗ Incapacity due to permanent long-term conditions (Ex: Alzheimer's, a 

severe stroke, terminal states of a disease)  
 

∗ Absence to receive multiple treatments for a condition that would 
likely result in incapacity of more than three days if left untreated (e.g. 
physical therapy, chemotherapy, dialysis, etc.)  

 
• Note: The following are generally not considered serious illnesses or serious 

health conditions:  common cold, flu, earaches, upset stomach, routine dental 
work, and cosmetic treatments. 

 
8BUHow much leave can I take?  
 
Under federal FMLA, eligible employees are entitled to a maximum of 12 weeks of 
unpaid leave (or paid leave using earned accruals) in a twelve-month period.  
 
Under state family/medical leave, eligible employees are entitled to a maximum of 
twenty-four (24) weeks of unpaid leave within a two-year period.  
 
Under federal Military Family leave, eligible employees are entitled to: 
 

• Up to 26 weeks of unpaid leave during a single 12-month period to care for a 
covered service member who was injured while on active duty in the U.S. 
Armed Forces.   
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∗ An employee can only take this leave one time per service member, 
per injury.  

 
∗ During any single 12-month period, the employee’s UtotalU leave 

entitlement is Ulimited to a combined total of 26 weeksU for all 
qualifying reasons under FMLA and military family leave. 

 
• Up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave in a 12-month period because of "any 

qualifying exigency" arising out of the fact that a spouse, son, daughter or 
parent of the employee is on active duty or notification of a call to active duty 
in support of a contingency operation.  Contact your Human Resources Unit 
for further information. 

 
• Rules regarding concurrent (or overlapping) leave: 

 
∗ If you are eligible for both state family/medical leave and federal 

FMLA leave, generally the leaves will run concurrently. The use of 
accrued sick time, however, may affect when the leaves run 
concurrently. 

 
∗ There are special rules regarding when Military Family leave runs 

concurrently with federal FMLA leave.   
 
∗ Federal FMLA (though not state family/medical leave) may run 

concurrently with a Workers' Compensation absence. 
 
∗ If both you and your spouse work for the State of Connecticut and are 

eligible for federal FMLA leave, you may be limited to a Ucombined 
total of 12 weeks U of leave during any 12-month period, if the reason 
for the leave is the birth or adoption of a child, the placement of a 
foster child or to care for a parent who has a serious health condition. 
There is no spousal limitation under state family/medical leave. 

 
UWhen can I take “intermittent leave” or a  “reduced leave schedule”? 
 
“Intermittent leave” is leave taken in separate blocks of time due to a single qualifying 
reason. (EX:  medical appointments, prenatal exams) 
 
“Reduced leave schedule” is a leave schedule that reduces an employee’s usual number 
of working hours per workweek or hours per workday. (full time, part time) (EX: 
recovery from serious health condition) 
  
Under federal FMLA: 

• You can take intermittent leave or go on a reduced leave schedule for your 
own serious health condition or the serious health condition of your spouse, 
parent or child and for military family leave.   



 6

 
• The policy for the State of Connecticut is that you cannot take intermittent 

leave or go on a reduced leave schedule for the birth or adoption of a child or 
the placement of a foster child with you.   

 
Under the state family/medical leave law, there is no provision for intermittent leave or 
reduced leave schedule. 

 
9BUAm I entitled to a paid leave of absence? 
 

• Neither the federal nor the state law establishes a right to a paid leave of 
absence.  To the contrary, both laws specify unpaid leave; however, 
depending on the reason for the leave, you may be able to use your earned 
accruals while you are on leave. 

 
• If you are taking a leave of absence in connection with your own serious 

illness or serious health condition, you are UrequiredU to exhaust UallU accrued 
sick leave unless your labor contract states otherwise. 

 
∗ If you are eligible for federal FMLA leave, the leave will run 

concurrently with the use of your accrued sick leave (and any other 
paid leave accruals you may choose to use). 

 
∗ If you are eligible for state family/medical leave, your state 

family/medical leave will not start until UafterU you exhaust all of your 
own accrued sick leave.   

 
∗ Donated sick time or benefits under a Sick Leave Bank will run 

concurrently with both your federal and/or state leave entitlement.    
 

• The use of sick leave accruals in connection with the birth of a child depends 
on whether you are the mother or the father, and for fathers, whether you are 
married to the mother.  Contact your Human Resources Unit for more 
information. 

 
• You may request to use your accrued vacation, personal leave or 

compensatory leave while you are on federal FMLA leave and/or state 
family/medical leave. 

 
∗ Your accrued vacation, personal leave or compensatory leave will run 

concurrently with your federal and/or state leave entitlement.  It cannot 
be used to extend the total length of the leave. 

 
∗ In order to use your accrued vacation, personal leave or compensatory 

leave, you must comply with your agency’s and /or collective 
bargaining agreement’s leave policies. 
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• If you are eligible for federal FMLA and/or state family/medical leave and the 

reason for your leave qualifies under one or both statutes, but, you do not have 
any accruals or do not meet the requirements for use of the accruals, you 
remain entitled to take UunpaidU federal FMLA and/or state family/medical 
leave. 

 
10BUWhat benefits will I receive while I am out on leave? 
 
During periods of federal FMLA leave and/or state family/medical leave, you will 
continue to receive the same insurance benefits as if you were actually working, 
regardless of whether the leave is paid or unpaid. 

 
• The State of Connecticut will continue to pay the same portion of your 

individual and/or dependent insurance coverage as it did before you went on 
leave;  

 
∗ If you are on unpaid leave, you will be billed directly for the portion of 

the cost that was previously withheld from your paycheck for that 
purpose.  

 
∗ If you have state-sponsored group life insurance, you will be billed 

directly for the same amount you contributed prior to the leave. 
 

∗ If you have dependent health coverage but wish to change to 
individual health coverage, you need to contact your Payroll Unit 
immediately for forms to cancel dependent coverage. 

 
∗ If you do not return to work immediately following the leave for 

reasons other than a health condition or another good reason beyond 
your control, the agency may charge you retroactively for its portion of 
the cost of the health insurance during the unpaid leave. 

 
• In the case of any other deductions being made from your paycheck (e.g. 

disability insurance, life insurance, deferred compensation, credit union 
loans), you must deal directly with the appropriate vendor to discuss payment 
options.  

 
The use of FMLA leave will not result in the loss of any other employment benefit that 
Uaccrued prior to the start of your leaveU.  
 
UWhat are my rights when I return from my leave of absence U? 
 

• At the conclusion of federal FMLA leave and/or state family/medical leave, 
you are entitled (with limited exceptions) to return to the same position or an 
equivalent position with equivalent pay, benefits and working conditions.  
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• Upon your return from the leave, the service time you accrued up to the 

beginning of the leave is restored for longevity and seniority purposes; some 
bargaining unit contracts also provide for service credit for the time spent on 
leave.  

 
∗ Consult your union contract for further information about longevity 

and seniority. 
 
∗ Consult the Comptroller’s Office for further information about 

retirement credit.  
 
UDo I have any other rights under the federal FMLA or the state family/medical 
leave act? 
 
Yes.  It unlawful for any employer to:  
 

• Interfere with, restrain, or deny the exercise of any right provided under 
FMLA;  

 
• Discharge or discriminate against any person for opposing any practice made 

unlawful by FMLA or for involvement in any proceeding under or relating to 
FMLA.  

 
The U.S. Department of Labor is authorized to investigate and resolve complaints of 
violations regarding the federal FMLA. Complaints regarding federal and or state 
family/medical leave may be directed to your Human Resources Unit or your union.  
 
 
 
 

11BPROCEDURES FOR REQUESTING STATE 
12BU FAMILY/MEDICAL LEAVE OR FEDERAL FMLA LEAVE 

 
 
13B1.   UWhat advance notice must I provide?U  
 
When the leave is foreseeable (e.g., an anticipated birth, adoption or surgery), you must 
notify your Human Resources Unit at least 30 days in advance, using approximate dates 
if definite ones are not yet available.  
 
When there is no forewarning (e.g., major unexpected illness), you must notify your 
Human Resources Unit as soon as you become aware that you are to be absent for a 
state family/medical or federal FMLA leave-qualifying reason.   
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If you fail to provide the required notice, your agency may deny your request completely 
or may delay commencement of the state family/medical or federal FMLA leave.   
 
 
 
14B2. UHow do I apply for federal FMLA leave and or state family/medical leave? 
 
You may request federal FMLA leave (including military family leave) and or state 
family/medical leave either Uorally or in writingU.   
 
In order for your Human Resources Unit to process your request, however, you must 
complete the Form FMLA-HR-1, “Employee Request for Leave of Absence under 
the federal FMLA and/or state C.G.S. 5-248a.”   This form is available from the 
agency Human Resources Unit and from the DAS website.   The completed form must be 
returned to your Human Resources Unit. 
 
Within five business days of your request, your Human Resources Unit will provide you 
with a Notice of Eligibility and Rights and Responsibilities (Form FMLA-HR-2a).  
This form does not constitute an approval of your request; it simply notifies you whether 
you meet the eligibility requirements under the state and federal laws.  At that time, your 
Human Resources Unit will also notify you what documentation you need to provide in 
order for it to make a determination regarding your leave request.    
 
15B3. UWhat documentation do I need to submit in support of my request for leave? 
 
You must provide your Human Resources Unit with enough information for it to 
determine whether the state family/medical leave law or federal FMLA covers the leave 
requested.  Failure to provide the needed documentation may result in a disapproval of 
the leave or a delay in its commencement.  The specific documentation required depends 
on the reason for the leave: 
 

• 16BSerious Health Condition/Serious Illness; Birth; Organ & Bone Marrow 
Donor 

 
*    Form P-33A-Employee – Medical certificate to be completed when 

the leave is for your own illness, including the disability portion of 
maternity leave.  

 
*    Form P-33B-Caregiver – Medical certificate to be completed when 

you request leave to care for a child, spouse or parent with a serious 
health condition/serious illness.  

 
∗ You may also be required to produce documentation demonstrating the 

required relationship between you and your family member. 
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• 17BMilitary Family Leave 
 

*    DOL-WH384 - Certification of Qualifying Exigency for Military 
Family Leave (FMLA) 

 
*    DOL-WH385 - Certification for Serious Injury or Illness of Covered 

Service member for Military Family Leave (FMLA) 
 
∗ You may also be required to produce documentation demonstrating the 

required relationship between you and the service member. 
 

• 18BPlacement of Foster Child/Adoption 
 

∗ In the case of the placement of a foster child, you must provide a letter 
from the state establishing the placement date.   

 
∗ In the case of adoption, you must provide a letter from the adoption 

agency establishing the date of the adoption.  
 
19B4. UWhen do I need to submit this documentation? 
 
You must submit the completed medical certificate or military family documentation 
to your Human Resources Unit no later than fifteen calendar days after receiving the 
Notice of Eligibility and Rights and Responsibilities (Form FMLA-HR2a) or demonstrate 
that you made diligent good faith efforts to do so.   
 
You must submit the documentation regarding the placement of a foster child or 
adoption to your Human Resources Unit as soon as practicable and, in all cases, before 
the leave commences. 
 
20B5. UWhat happens if the medical certificate or military family documentation is 

incomplete or insufficient? 
 
If the medical certificate or military family documentation is incomplete or insufficient, 
your Human Resources Unit will notify you in writing of the deficiencies and you will 
have seven calendar days to cure the deficiencies.  If it is not possible for you to submit 
a complete and sufficient medical certificate or military family documentation within the 
seven calendar days, you must demonstrate that you made diligent good faith efforts to 
do so.  Failure to provide complete and sufficient documentation may lead to the denial 
of your leave request. 
 
After receiving your completed medical certificate, your Human Resources Unit has the 
right to contact your medical provider to authenticate or receive clarification regarding 
the certificate.  If the validity of the medical certification is in doubt, your agency can 
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require a second opinion with a health care provider of its choice at its own expense. If 
the two opinions conflict, the agency may pay for a third opinion. The third opinion will 
be final and binding.  
 
The rules for military caregiver leave are slightly different.  Your Human Resources Unit 
has the right to contact the medical provider to authenticate or receive clarification but 
second and third opinions are Unot U permitted. 
 
6. UHow will I know if my agency has designated my leave as state 

family/medical leave and/or federal FMLA leave? 
 
Your Human Resources Unit will make every effort either to designate your leave as 
federal FMLA leave, state family/medical leave, both or to notify you that your request 
has been denied within 5 business days after receiving all of the necessary 
documentation from you. 
 
Your Human Resources Unit will send you a Form FMLA-HR-2b “Agency Response: 
Designation Notice,” which serves as an official notice of how your leave has been 
designated.   
  
7. UWhat do I need to do after my leave has been approved as either federal 

FMLA leave and/or state family/medical leave? 
 
Even if you are approved to take federal FMLA leave and/or state family/medical leave, 
you must follow your agency’s standard call-in policies. When you notify your agency 
that you will be absent you must specifically state that your absence is connected to your 
state family/medical leave and/or federal FMLA leave. 
 

• Even if you have been approved to take FMLA leave on an intermittent basis, 
you must explicitly notify your agency each time that you are absent for a 
FMLA-covered reason. 

   
If you are responsible for entering your own time and attendance coding, contact your 
Human Resources Unit to determine which CORE-CT codes to use. 
 
21B8. UDo I need to notify my agency if I intend to return to work after my leave 

expires?U   
 
Yes.  Before you commence your leave you are required to sign a statement confirming 
your intent to return to work immediately following the leave. (Form FMLA-HR3 
“Intent to Return to Work”)  You must sign this form and return it to your Human 
Resources Unit before you commence your leave.  
 
During your leave, you may be required to furnish your agency with periodic reports of 
your status. Failure to return to work at the end of the leave period may be treated as a 
resignation unless an extension has been agreed upon and approved in writing by the 
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agency.  Regardless of the total length of your leave of absence, the portion of the leave 
that is covered by state and/or federal leave shall not exceed the benefit provided under 
federal or state law.  
 
22B9. UWill I be required to provide a fitness-for-duty report? 
 
If your case involves your own serious health condition, your agency may require you to 
produce a fitness-for-duty report on which the physician has certified that you are able to 
return to work.  This requirement protects you, your co-workers and the public from the 
negative consequences that can result when an individual returns to work before being 
medically ready to do so.  
 
If your agency requires you to provide a fitness-for-duty report, it will be indicated on the 
Form FMLA-HR-2b Designation Notice.  If you are notified of the need for a fitness-
for-duty certification, you will not be allowed to return to work without it.  The 
completed fitness-for-duty certification must be returned to your Human Resources Unit. 
 
10. UMore InformationU  
 
If you have additional questions, please contact your Human Resource Unit.  
 
 
 
 
(Rev: 2009)  
 
  
 
 
 


