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6. DRUG-FREE SCHOOL ZONES 

Overview  
 
A working group of the Legislative Committee was charged with evaluating the effectiveness of drug-free 
school zone statutes in response to a request from the co-chairs of the Judiciary Committee. In 
Connecticut there are three statutes which carry an enhanced penalty for the sale or possession of illegal 
drugs or drug paraphernalia within 1,500 feet of a (1) licensed child day care center, (2) public or private 
elementary or secondary school, or (3) public housing project. 
 
 

 Possession of drug 

paraphernalia 

21a-267(c) 

Possession of illegal 

drugs 

21a-279(d) 

Manufacturing, 

distributing, selling, 

prescribing, dispensing, 

compounding, 

transporting with the 

intent to sell or dispense 

illegal drugs 

21a-278a(b) 

Distance 1,500 feet 1,500 feet 1,500 feet 

Enhanced 

penalty 

applies to 

zones 

within 

 Public or private 

elementary or 

secondary schools 

(applies to those who 

are not enrolled as 

students in such 

school) 

 Public or private 

elementary or secondary 

schools (applies to those 

who are not enrolled as 

students in such school) 

 Licensed child day care 

centers identified by a 

conspicuous sign 

 Public or private 

elementary or 

secondary schools 

 Licensed child day care 

centers identified by a 

conspicuous sign 

 Public housing projects 

Mandatory 

Minimum 

One year Two years Three years 

21a-283a allows the court, upon showing of a good cause by the defendant, to depart from the prescribed 

mandatory minimum sentence, provided that the defendant (1) did not use, attempt or threaten to use 

physical force; (2) was unarmed; (3) did not use, threaten to use, or suggest that he had a deadly 

weapon; and (4) did not benefit from this provision before. 

 

 

Recommendations 
  
The working group unanimously recommended the following changes to Connecticut’s drug-free school 

zone statutes to clarify and strengthen the perceived purpose of the original law as creating drug-free 

sanctuaries for school children. 

 

A. Drug-free school zone distances: The working group agreed that the current distance 

encompassing school zones is not appropriate. Having entire urban areas or compact rural areas 

almost totally designated as drug-free zones eliminates the distinction between areas around 

schools and other locations, a distinction which the law intended.  The law is also not clear 

whether the 1500’ distance should be measured from the center of the school property, the edge 

of the property, or the address of the property.  The typical drug free zone extends 1,000 feet in 

every direction from the property line of the school or other covered location. But 300 feet has 
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been chosen by Minnesota, North Carolina, and Rhode Island. Alaska and Wyoming chose 500 

feet and Hawaii set the distance as 750 feet. Therefore the working group recommends: 

a. That drug-free school zones be measured from the perimeter of the property. 

b. The drug-free school zone should extend 200’ from the perimeter. 

 

B. Codifying State v. Lewis
8
: The working group reviewed pertinent case law and recommended: 

Amending 21a-267(c) and 21a-278a(b) with respect to school zone violations to require “intent 

to commit such violation” in a specific location, and to require proof that the specific location 

is in a school zone, in compliance with a decision of the Connecticut Supreme Court. 
 

The working group considered, but was unable to reach consensus on the following issues:  

 

 Public Housing: Since areas around private housing are not treated as drug-free zones, and some 

public housing is strictly for the elderly and not children, there is debate as to whether this part of 

the law is discriminatory. Therefore the working group considered the following 

recommendation: Eliminating the language establishing drug-free zones around public 

housing. One concern was the legislative intent of this provision and the need to further research 

its origins and evaluate its effectiveness before making a recommendation. 

 

 Types of Public Housing: The working group discussed the statutory definition of a public 

housing project, “dwelling accommodations operated as a state or federally subsidized 

multifamily housing project by a housing authority, nonprofit corporation or municipal developer, 

as defined in section 8-39, pursuant to chapter 128 or by the Connecticut Housing Authority 

pursuant to chapter 129,” and the issue of Section 8 Housing Vouchers. Under this definition, the 

question was raised as to whether private housing which is occupied by a tenant with a 

Section 8 Housing Voucher would establish a drug-free zone. The working group would need 

to further research this issue before making a recommendation. 

 

 Drug-free school bus stops: To follow the intent of 21a-267(c), 21a-279(d), and 21a-278a(b) in 

creating sanctuaries for school children free of drugs and drug paraphernalia, the following 

recommendation was considered: To establish the areas immediately adjacent to school bus 

stops as drug-free zones. In terms of practicality, the working group was concerned that due to 

the fluid nature of school bus routes and stops this recommendation may prove unworkable. 

 

 Drug-free zone signs: The working group recognized the importance of conspicuous signs 

demarcating drug-free zones and the following recommendation was considered: Providing 

schools, day care centers and public housing projects discretion to determine how best to 

inform the public of drug-free zones.  
 

While each of these ideas may have merit, the working group would need to conduct further research 

before making additional recommendations. For this reason, the Sentencing Commission is available to 

further evaluate the effectiveness of drug-free zones and to report back to the Judiciary Committee with 

relevant recommendations. 

 

7. CLARIFYING FALSE STATEMENTS STATUTES 

 

Connecticut has a total of 293 “false statement” statutes which can be broken down as follows: 35 statutes 

cite false statements in the 1st degree and 2nd degree (Sec. 53a-157a, Sec. 153a-157b), 96 statutes utilize 
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 State v. Lewis, 303 Conn. 760, (2012) 


