CT.gov: The State Poet Laureate

Connecticut Poet Laureate
John Hollander

 John Hollander of Woodbridge has been appointed State Poet Laureate by the Connecticut Commission on Culture & Tourism, for a five-year term through 2011. He will serve a five-year term in the honorary position, which was created by the General Assembly to recognize a Connecticut poet of the highest distinction. He succeeds Marilyn Nelson and her predecessors, Leo Connellan and James Merrill.

Mr. Hollander has written 22 books of poetry, several works of criticism and numerous anthologies, as well as books for children and operatic and lyric works with composers such as Milton Babbitt and George Perle. His many honors and awards include the Bollingen Prize, the Levinson Prize, the MLA Shaughnessy Medal and the 1997 Connecticut
Governor*s Arts Award. He has also received fellowships from the
MacArthur Foundation, the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts.

More information about Mr. Hollander is available on the Commission*s web site at http://www.ct.gov/cct/cwp/view.asp?A=11&Q=320460

For further information, contact the Connecticut State Library: isref@cslib.org

Content Last Modified on 4/27/2007 10:05:20 AM