CJC: Kevin T. Kane Reappointed as Chief State’s Attorney
News Releases

Kevin T. Kane Reappointed as Chief State’s Attorney

The Honorable Richard N. Palmer, Chair of the Criminal Justice Commission, announced today that the Commission has reappointed Kevin T. Kane as Chief State’s Attorney. The appointment, approved unanimously by the Commission at a meeting today in Rocky Hill, is for a five-year term that expires June 30, 2016. {Justice Palmer administers the oath of office to Chief State}

“The Criminal Justice Commission expresses its appreciation to Chief State’s Attorney Kane for his dedicated service and leadership, and we are confident that he will continue to serve with distinction in these particularly difficult times,” Justice Palmer said.

As Chief State’s Attorney, Mr. Kane is the administrative head of the Division of Criminal Justice, which includes the Office of the Chief State’s Attorney in Rocky Hill and the offices of the State’s Attorneys for each of the state’s 13 Judicial Districts. The division is responsible for the investigation and prosecution of all criminal matters in Connecticut.

Mr. Kane was appointed Chief State’s Attorney effective September 5, 2006. A career prosecutor, he joined the Division of Criminal Justice as an Assistant Prosecuting Attorney for the former 9th Circuit in Middletown in August 1972 and was promoted to Prosecuting Attorney in the fall of 1973. He transferred to the Office of the Chief State’s Attorney in November 1978 where he served as the Unit Chief of the former Special Investigations Unit.

In 1986 he transferred to the Office of the State’s Attorney for the Judicial District of New London. He was promoted to Senior Assistant State’s Attorney in 1988 and Supervisory Assistant State’s Attorney in 1990.

He was appointed by the Criminal Justice Commission as State’s Attorney for the Judicial District of New London effective January 4, 1995, and served as State’s Attorney until he assumed the position of Chief State’s Attorney.

Chief State's Attorney Kane earned his Bachelor of Arts Degree from Marquette University in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and his Juris Doctorate from the University of Connecticut School of Law.

Established under Article XXIII of the Connecticut Constitution, the Criminal Justice Commission is responsible for the appointment of all state prosecutors in Connecticut. In addition to Justice Palmer, Associate Justice of the Connecticut Supreme Court, its membership includes the Honorable Juliett L. Crawford, Judge of the Superior Court, attorneys Mary M. Galvin, Maura Hughes Horan, Moy N. Ogilvie and Ann G. Taylor.

Content Last Modified on 2/21/2012 3:23:40 PM