
CONNECTICUT INSURANCE DEPARTMENT 
    

 
* See http://www.ct.gov/cid          PL Homeowners 

             Ed. Date: 11/10 
Note: If rule impacts Underwriting Guidelines, please complete Underwriting Guideline Checklist 
 
       Page 1 of 5 
              

PERSONAL LINES HOMEOWNERS  
FORMS FILING COMPLIANCE QUESTIONNAIRE 

COMPANY       Co. File No.       
TYPE OF INSURANCE        
Instructions: All applicable items must be answered.  Responses in the shaded area indicate non-compliance with 
applicable Connecticut rules and regulations including Connecticut General Statutes (“CGS”) §38a-307. Form, page and 
paragraph references that bring the submission into compliance must be included (enter NA in this column if the item is 
not applicable to the filing). If the company provides a response in the shaded column and/or fails to complete all items, 
the filing will be rejected and returned without further review. 

    
 Form/Page/Para 

Reference 
I. GENERAL INFORMATION     

II. COVERAGES     

 
Do all of the policy forms comply with Connecticut Standard Fire 
policy provisions in CGS §38a-307* and §38a-308*? YES    NO         /  /   

 

Do any the policy provisions and/or endorsements provide for 
the use of functional replacement cost valuation?  
Functional Replacement Cost valuation does not comply with the 
Connecticut Standard Fire Policy. [See CGS §38a-307]*  YES  NO        /  /   

 

Do the policy provisions and endorsements provide for 
replacement with like kind and quality on dwellings? 
[CGS §38a-307]* YES    NO         /  /   

 

Is the policy term clearly defined with an effective date and 
expiration date? 
A continuous policy term conflicts with the statutes. Policy 
expiration is necessary to afford the required cancellation and 
non-renewal provisions. YES    NO         /  /   

 
Does the definition of Insured comply with Connecticut law?  
[Per Public Act 05-10 Sections 14 and 15]* YES     NO         /  /   

 

Does the policy include a terrorism exclusion? Terrorism 
exclusions are not permitted for personal lines refer to current 
Department Bulletin PC 64*.   YES   NO        /  /   

 
Do the Mold exclusions comply with published Department Mold 
guidelines*?  YES    NO         /  /   

 

1. Does the policy exclude or limit coverage for loss arising out 
of mold or remediation in which the proximate cause of loss 
is the peril of fire or lightning?  YES  NO        /  /   

 

2. Does the policy provide sub-limits for mold loss of at least 
the following?  

• Section I -minimum $10,000 
• Section II -minimum $50,000 YES    NO         /  /   

 
3. Do the mold provisions provide coverage for loss caused by 

a peril other than fire and lightning? YES    NO         /  /   

 
4. Does the policy include an additional deductible for mold 

loss?  YES  NO       /  /   

 
5. Does the definition of “mold” comply with the published 

Department guidelines*? YES    NO         /  /   

 

6. Does the definition of “mold” include bacteria?   
   The policy provisions must include coverage for bacteria as   

outlined under (1) and (2) above.  YES    NO         /  /   

 

7. Does the policy unreasonably restrict the time period for 
reporting a mold claim?  

Policy language that requires a loss due to mold to be reported 
during the policy period in which the original covered loss  YES   NO        /  /   
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occurs is not acceptable. 

 Does the Intentional Acts clause protect the interests of an 
innocent co-insured?  
The wording of this clause must not preclude the interests of 
innocent co-insureds.   
See acceptable wording below: 

We do not provide coverage for the insured who commits or 
directs an act with the intent to cause a loss. YES    NO         /  /   

 Has the Concealment or Fraud clause been revised to comply 
with CGS 38a-307? The wording of this clause must not 
preclude the interests of an innocent co-insured. The element of 
intent must apply to each of the reason subsections. This 
element is important to differentiate when the company could 
invoke the concealment clause, which precludes coverage or 
voids the policy, from when the company could invoke the 
cancellation clause, which terminates the policy prospectively.  
See sample wording:  

The entire policy will be void with respect to the insured 
who, whether before or after a loss, has intentionally:  
      a. Concealed or misrepresented any material fact or  

                    circumstance;  
      b. Engaged in fraudulent conduct; or  
      c. Made material false statements;  
relating to this insurance.  YES   NO         /  /   

 

Do the policy forms include an intra-family suit exclusion?  
There is no prohibition of intra-family suit in Connecticut and the 
Department does not accept the exclusion of this exposure in 
contracts providing coverage for personal liability.  YES  NO        /  /   
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Does the Appraisal Condition clause include “competent and 
disinterested” language and the requirement for 20 day 
notification per CGS 38a-307?  
See Sample Wording:   
In case the insured and this Company shall fail to agree as to the 
actual cash value or the amount of loss, then, on the written 
demand of either, each shall select a competent and 
disinterested appraiser and notify the other of the appraiser 
selected within twenty days of such demand. The appraisers 
shall first select a competent and disinterested umpire; and 
failing for fifteen days to agree upon such umpire, then, on 
request of the insured or this Company, such umpire shall be 
selected by a judge of a court of record in this state in which the 
property covered is located. The appraisers shall then appraise 
the loss, stating separately actual cash value and loss to each 
item; and, failing to agree, shall submit their differences, only, to 
the umpire. An award in writing, so itemized, of any two when 
filed with this Company shall determine the amount of actual 
cash value and loss. Each appraiser shall be paid by the party 
selecting him and the expenses of appraisal and umpire shall be 
paid by the parties equally. 

YES   NO         /  /   

III. CANCELLATION PROVISIONS [Refer to Bulletin PC-66*]      

 

Do the cancellation provisions include a provision providing 10 
days notice for non-pay cancellations? 
Connecticut requires 10 days notification from date cancellation YES    NO         /  /   

 

For cancellations other than non-pay and not a renewal, do the 
cancellation provisions provide for 30 days notification prior to 
date cancellation takes effect? YES    NO         /  /   
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If the policy has been in effect for 60 days or more or at any time 
if it is a renewal, are the following reasons included in the 
cancellation provisions? 

a. A material misrepresentation of fact which if known to 
us would have caused us not to issue the policy; or 

b. The risk has changed substantially since the policy 
was issued. 

YES    NO         /  /   

 

Does the language state that the cancellation notification to the 
insured will be at least 30 days prior to the date cancellation 
takes effect? 

YES    NO         /  /   

 

Does the language state that the notice will be sent in writing and 
that the specific reason for cancellation will be clearly stated on 
the notice? 

YES    NO   

 

     /  /   

 

Does the language state that upon cancellation, the premium for 
the period from the date of cancellation to the expiration date will 
be refunded pro rata to the insured? 

YES    NO         /  /   

 

Does the language state that if the return premium is not 
refunded with the notice of cancellation or when this policy is 
returned to us, it will be refunded within a reasonable time after 
the date cancellation takes effect? 

YES    NO         /  /   

IV. NONRENEWAL PROVISIONS CGS 38a-323     

 
Does the nonrenewal language include a notification period of 60 
days prior to the expiration of the policy? 

YES    NO   
 

     /  /   

 

Does the nonrenewal language state that the notice must be 
sent in writing and must include the specific reason for 
nonrenewal on the notice? (See PC-66 for mailing requirements) 

YES    NO   

 

     /  /   

V. REFERENCE FILINGS (ME-TOO FILINGS)     
 Does the filing include the Department or company reference 

numbers for the previously approved filings that are being 
referenced in this filing? 

YES    NO   

 

     /  /   

 Did the company provide the Department with an explanation of 
the impact of the reference filing on existing business?  
Specifically, if the reference filing is being made in a new writing 
company, the company must specify where new business will be 
written and how existing renewals will be handled in the future. 

YES    NO   

 

     /  /   

VI. MISC FILING REQUIREMENTS  
(All filings must be submitted with the following) 

  
 

 

 Does the filing include either a ‘detailed’ description or ‘detailed’ 
cover letter explaining purpose and/or changes? 

YES   NO  

 
     /  /   
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 Does the filing include side-by-side comparisons for the revisions YES   NO        /  /   

 
Is the company licensed for this type of insurance in the state of 
Connecticut? YES    NO         /  /   

 Have the appropriate filing fees been included with the filing? YES    NO         /  /   
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