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TO:  All Insurance Companies, Fraternal Benefit Societies and Health Care Centers 
Authorized to Conduct Business in Connecticut  

RE:  Penalties for Late Filing of Annual and Quarterly Financial Statements to be Filed with 
the Insurance Department 

______________________________________________________________________________ 
 

This Bulletin amends and supercedes Bulletin FS-16-07 dated October 16, 2007. 
 
These requirements are effective beginning with quarterly statement filings for quarter 

ending September 30, 2008. 
  
Sections 38a-53(e) and 38a-614(8) of the Connecticut General Statutes, as amended by 

Public Act No. 07-225, impose monetary penalties on any insurance company, fraternal benefit 
society or health care center licensed in Connecticut which fails to file with the Insurance 
Commissioner ("Commissioner") its annual statement or quarterly statement in a timely manner. 
In addition, Conn. Gen. Stat. Sections 38a-53(e) and 38a-614(8), as amended by Public Act No. 
07-225, require the statements to be complete and filed electronically with the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners ("NAIC"). Domestic companies and fraternals that file 
on time with the NAIC must continue to submit paper copies of the filings to the Commissioner; 
foreign companies and fraternals submitting timely filings electronically to the NAIC are not 
required to provide paper copies to the Commissioner. 

  
Section 38a-53(e), as amended by Public Act 08-178 provides that any insurance 

company or health care center which fails to file its annual statement by the first of March of 
each year, or its quarterly statement by forty-five days after the end of each quarter, shall pay a 
late filing fee of one hundred seventy five dollars ($175) per day for each day the statement 
remains outstanding after its due date. 

  
Section 38a-614(8), as amended by Public Act 07-225 provides that any fraternal benefit 

society which fails to file its annual statement by the first of March of each year, or its quarterly 
statement by forty-five days after the end of each quarter, shall pay a late filing fee of one 
hundred dollars ($100) per day for each day the statement remains outstanding after its due date. 

  
Domestic Entities: In assessing such statutory penalties, the Insurance Department will 

consider an annual statement or quarterly statement as being filed on the date postmarked by the 
United States Postal Service. Statements sent by private delivery service will be considered filed 
on the date physically received by the Department. 

 

http://www.ct.gov/cid/lib/cid/BullFS16-07.pdf
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2007/ACT/PA/2007PA-00225-R00HB-07262-PA.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2008/ACT/PA/2008PA-00178-R00HB-05159-PA.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2007/ACT/PA/2007PA-00225-R00HB-07262-PA.htm


Foreign Entities: In assessing such statutory penalties, the Insurance Department will 
consider an annual statement or a quarterly statement as being filed on the date electronically 
received by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners. 
 

Please contact the Insurance Department Financial Analysis Division, 860-297-3814 or 
cid.financial@ct.gov with any questions about this bulletin. 
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