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All Connecticut providers were sent information in February of this year, advising 
of the Connecticut Insurance Department’s new flood requirement for all 
producers who have Property and Casualty and Personal Lines authority.  
Beginning August 1, 2007 each producer must complete an approved NFIP flood 
training course. At least 3 flood credits are necessary and will be applied toward 
the producers’ PC requirement. 
 
For example: A Property/Casualty producer with a 12-credit requirement must 
complete 3 hours of Ethics, 3 hours of PC and 6 hours in any other combination 
or category.  If he takes a 3 hour approved flood course, he has satisfied his 3 
hours of PC credit.  A Property/Casualty producer with a 24-credit requirement 
must complete 3 hours of Ethics, 3 hours of flood, 3 hours of PC and 15 hours in 
any other combination or category.   
 
Since August 2007 will be the first month of compliance with the new flood 
requirement, licensees with expiration/birth dates in August will be able to 
complete the flood requirement ANY TIME during the month of August 2007, 
without penalty. 
 
For example: If a licensee’s expiration/birth date is August 6, 2007, he may take 
a flood course on August 24, 2007.  As long as his renewal fee has been 
submitted timely, his renewal license will be processed with no lapse in licensure.  
This policy is ONLY for licensees with expiration/birth dates in August 2007. 
 
Note:  There will be no other grace periods or exemptions to this requirement. 
 
In order to ensure a smooth transition with this new requirement, we are asking 
all of the providers to submit roster information in July, August, and 
September well before the mandatory 15-calendar day requirement.   This 
will help both your company and the Department avoid unnecessary phone calls 
about posting of credits and renewed license status. 
 
If you have questions or need additional information, please send e-mail to: 
ctinsdept.licensing@ct.gov   


