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Bulletin No. FS-4C-13

December 6, 2013

To: ALL CAPTIVE INSURERS DOMICILED IN CONNECTICUT, BRANCH CAPTIVES LICENSED TO
TRANSACT BUSINESS IN THE STATE OF CONNECTICUT AND RISK RETENTION GROUPS
FORMED AS CAPTIVES, DOING BUSINESS IN THE STATE OF CONNECTICUT

Re: FINANCIAL REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

In accordance with Section 38a-91gg of the Connecticut General Statutes, each captive insurance company domiciled or, in
the case of a branch captive insurance company, licensed in the State of Connecticut must file annual financial reports with
the Insurance Commissioner. Such filings must be made with verification under oath from two executive officers of the
captive. Financial statements and reports are due on the following dates unless the captive is permitted by 38a-91gg to file an
application for an alternative date with the Insurance Department and the Commissioner has agreed to the alternative date.

Type Annual Filing *Alternative Date, if Accounting Basis
Defined in § 38a-91aa Due Date Permitted

Association Captive March 1 Not Permitted GAAP

Branch Captive March 1 60 days after end of fiscal GAAP
year

Industrial Insured Captive March 15 75 days after end of fiscal GAAP
year

Pure Captive March 15 75 days after end of fiscal GAAP
year

Risk Retention Group March 1 Not Permitted GAAP

Special Purpose Financial March 1 60 days after end of fiscal Statutory

Captive year

* Applications for permission to file on a fiscal year basis will require a written request addressed to the State of Connecticut
Insurance Commissioner, including the captive insurance company’s fiscal year and a commitment to providing the financial
report within 60 or 75 days after the end of their fiscal year, as applicable.

The required annual financial statements will be certified by an independent public accountant and will include a statement
of opinion on loss and loss adjustment expense reserves made by a member of the American Academy of Actuaries or a
qualified loss reserve specialist. The statement of opinion on loss and loss adjustment expense reserves will accompany the
unaudited financial report, due at the Connecticut Insurance Department, as prescribed in the above chart. Audited financial
reports are due 5 months following the end of the captive insurance company’s annual “calendar” or “fiscal” accounting
period.

Each association captive shall file its report in the form required by sections 38a-53 and 38a-53a. This form may also be
used by pure, industrial risk insured and special purpose captive insurance companies; however, they may apply to the
Commissioner for permission to file in an alternative form.

Branch captives must submit a copy of all reports and statements required to be filed by the jurisdiction in which the alien
captive insurance company is formed. These must be filed with verification under oath by two executive officers of the alien
captive insurance company. The Commissioner may waive the requirement for completion of the annual captive statement
for business written in the alien jurisdiction if the reports and statements provided to the alien's domiciliary jurisdiction give

www.ct.gov/cid
P.O. Box 816 Hartford, CT 06142-0816
An Equal Opportunity Employer


www.ct.gov/cid

adequate information concerning the financial condition of the alien captive insurance company. Filings made by alien
companies in their domiciliary jurisdiction which provide the same essential information as is required in the reports filed by
Connecticut domiciled captive insurers will generally be granted a waiver even though such information is presented in a
different format.

For Risk Retention Groups:

The Liability Risk Retention Act of 1986 U.S.C. 3901et seq. (LRRA) requires that each Risk Retention Group, doing
business, as a registered (non-Connecticut domiciled and not Connecticut licensed) company in the State of
Connecticut, to submit an electronic copy of the annual financial statement with the NAIC (including certification and
actuarial opinion statements) as described in Connecticut General Statutes, Section 38a-53, and this must be submitted by
March 1 of each year.

Each Risk Retention Group, doing business as a Connecticut domiciled and State of Connecticut licensed company, is
required to submit an electronic copy of the annual financial statement with the NAIC, as above, and also submit two
paper copies of the financial reporting statements (including certification and actuarial opinion statements) with the
Connecticut Insurance Department.

Each risk retention group is also required to submit quarterly financial statements, electronically filed with the National
Association of Insurance Commissioners. Quarterly filings are to be made as follows:

Quarter Ending Due Date

March 31, 2014 May 15,2014

June 30, 2014 August 15,2014
September 30, 2014 November 15,2014

All risk retention groups doing business in the State of Connecticut are required to submit an Exhibit of Premiums
and Losses for the State of Connecticut (i.e. NAIC “Yellow Book, State Page”- page 19, format). This exhibit is to be
submitted to the Connecticut Insurance Department on a quarterly basis (see schedule above). For Groups domiciled outside
of the State of Connecticut, an electronic filing of this report shall be made with via the NAIC electronic reporting system.
For Groups domiciled in the State of Connecticut, two paper copies must be submitted to the Connecticut Insurance
Department, in addition to the NAIC electronic filing.

Please refer to State of Connecticut Insurance Department Bulletin Number FS-4RR-13 for further information and
clarification.

All required filings, applications for deviations and requests for waivers may be made electronically via email to
John. Thomson(@ct.gov or may be sent to the Captive Division:

P.O. Box 816
Hartford, CT 06142-0816

Mail sent by private delivery should be directed to:
153 Market St.

7™ Floor

Hartford, CT 06103

Questions and additional requests for information should be directed to Captive Division via e-mail: John.Thomson@ct.gov

or by phone to (860) 297-3995. |
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Thomas B. Leonardi
Insurance Commissioner
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