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Forward 
The following public act summaries were written by the Legislative Commissioner’s Office and 
the Office of Legislative Research. Only public acts affecting, or of interest to, the Insurance 
Department are included in this document.  This document in not intended to convey legal advice 
on the content of the public acts.  
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Acts Proposed by the Insurance Department 
 
 
 
Public Act 07-21 (Senate Bill 1212) 
An Act Concerning Coverage by the Connecticut Insurance Guaranty Association 
(Signed by Governor 5/7/2007)  
 
This act increases the coverage limit for the Connecticut Insurance Guaranty Association 
from $300,000 to $400,000 for claims arising under policies of property and casualty 
insurers determined insolvent on or after October 1, 2007. By law, the association pays the 
full amount of workers' compensation claims. 
 
The association, which is funded by assessments against insurers licensed to write property 
and casualty insurance in Connecticut, is required by law to process and pay qualifying 
claims filed by state residents against an insolvent insurance company.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
 
Public Act 07-113 (Senate Bill 1214) 
An Act Concerning Postclaims Underwriting 
(Signed by the Governor 6/11/2007)  
 
This act prohibits certain health insurers and HMOs from rescinding, canceling, or limiting 
coverage based on information a person submitted with or omitted from an insurance 
application if, before issuing the policy, contract, or certificate, the insurer or HMO did not 
perform a thorough medical underwriting process. This includes resolving all reasonable 
medical questions based on the written application.  
 
However, the act allows a rescission, cancellation, or limitation based on the application 
when the insurance commissioner approves it. It requires insurers and HMOs to apply for 
approval using a process it specifies. It permits the commissioner to approve the action if 
the enrollee, or the enrollee's representative, knew or should have known that information 
material to the insurer's or HMO's risk assumption was (1) false when included with the 
application or (2) omitted from the application. Regardless, it prohibits an insurer or HMO 
from rescinding, canceling, or limiting any coverage that has been effective for more than 
two years. The act permits the commissioner to adopt implementing regulations.  
 
The act exempts the commissioner's decision from the administrative procedure law that 
permits a person aggrieved by the decision to request a hearing. Instead, it permits an 
aggrieved person to file an appeal with Hartford Superior Court within 30 days of when the 
decision is mailed to the affected parties. The court may grant equitable relief.  
 
The act removes from the preexisting condition definition that applies to individual health 
insurance policies, excluding short-term policies, a physical or mental condition that 
manifested itself during the 12 months before coverage became effective. Thus, it defines a 
preexisting condition as a physical or mental condition for which medical advice, 
diagnosis, care, or treatment was recommended or received during the 12 months before 
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coverage became effective. Under prior law, a short-term health insurance policy issued on 
a nonrenewable basis for six months or less was exempt from preexisting condition 
coverage requirements if it disclosed in plan materials that preexisting conditions are not 
covered. The act imposes preexisting condition exclusion limitations on these short-term 
policies and requires insurers and HMOs to use specific disclosure language.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
Background 
APPROVAL PROCESS 
The act requires an insurer or HMO to apply for the insurance commissioner's approval to 
rescind, cancel, or limit benefits under a health insurance policy, contract, or certificate 
based on information the enrollee provided or omitted from the insurance application. The 
commissioner must prescribe the approval application form. 
The insurer or HMO must provide a copy of the completed approval application to the 
enrollee, or enrollee's representative, who then has seven business days to submit relevant 
information to the commissioner. Within 15 days of receiving the enrollee's submission, 
the commissioner must mail a written decision to the enrollee; the enrollee's representative, 
if any; and the insurer or HMO.  
 
APPLICATION OF REQUIREMENTS  
The rescission, cancellation, and limitation requirements apply to health insurers and 
HMOs issuing policies or contracts that cover:  
1. basic hospital expenses,  
2. basic medical-surgical expenses,  
3. major medical expenses,  
4. accident,  
5. limited benefits, and  
6. hospital or medical services.  
 
SHORT-TERM POLICY PREEXISTING CONDITION EXCLUSION  
The act prohibits a short-term health insurance policy issued on a nonrenewable basis for 
six months or less from excluding coverage of a preexisting condition for more than 12 
months from the policy effective date. It defines “preexisting condition” as a physical or 
mental condition for which medical advice, diagnosis, care, or treatment was 
recommended or received during the 24 months before coverage became effective. 
The act requires the policy, coverage application, and sales brochure for the short-term 
coverage to conspicuously include the following statement in at least 14-point bold face 
type:  
THIS POLICY EXCLUDES COVERAGE FOR CONDITIONS FOR WHICH MEDICAL 
ADVICE, DIAGNOSIS, CARE, OR TREATMENT WAS RECOMMENDED OR 
RECEIVED DURING THE TWENTY-FOUR MONTHS IMMEDIATELY PRECEDING 
THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF COVERAGE.  
If an insurer or HMO issues consecutive short-term policies to the same person, it must 
subtract the time the person was covered by the former policy or policies from any 
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subsequent policy's preexisting condition exclusion period. The act specifies that it does 
not require a short-term policy to be issued or renewed.  
 
Preexisting Condition Coverage Requirement  
State law prohibits health insurance policies from excluding coverage for preexisting 
conditions for more than 12 months from the insured's policy effective date. It requires 
policies (excluding short-term policies) to provide coverage for preexisting conditions to a 
newly insured individual previously covered for the condition under a former plan if the 
former plan terminated no more than 120 days before the new policy's effective date. In the 
case of a new group member, coverage for a preexisting condition is required if (1) the 
former plan terminated because of an involuntary loss of employment within 150 days 
before the effective date of the new plan and (2) the member applies for the succeeding 
policy within 30 days of initial eligibility. If the person was not covered for the preexisting 
condition under the former policy, the new policy must subtract from the subsequent 
policy's preexisting condition exclusion period the time the person was covered by the 
former policy. 
 
RELATED LAW  
Insurance Fraud  
A person is guilty of insurance fraud when he or she, with the intent to injure, defraud, or 
deceive any insurance company, knowingly gives, or assists in giving, the insurer any 
false, incomplete, or misleading written or oral statement as part of, or in support of, any 
insurance application or claim, that is material to the application or claim. 
 
 
Public Act 07-178 (House Bill 7263) 
An Act Concerning Health Care Centers and Insolvency Protection 
(Signed by Governor 7/5/07)  
 
This act makes several changes to laws affecting health care centers (i. e., HMOs). It 
requires an HMO to deposit $500,000 with the insurance commissioner or designated 
trustee. The commissioner must use the deposit to provide health care services to the 
HMO's enrollees if the HMO is placed in receivership (i. e., rehabilitation or conservation) 
and may use them for related administrative costs. 
  
By law, an HMO may provide out-of-network (OON) benefits to its enrollees, subject to 
certain financial requirements. Prior law prohibited an HMO's OON benefits from 
exceeding 10% of its total quarterly health care expenditures (i. e., claims and expenses). 
The act instead permits OON benefits to exceed 10% of total expenditures if the HMO first 
(1) obtains the insurance commissioner's approval and (2) deposits an amount equal to at 
least 120% of its uncovered expenditures with the commissioner or designated trustee.  
Prior law required contracts between an HMO and a contracted health care provider to 
specify that if the HMO failed to pay the provider, the enrollee would not be liable for the 
amount the HMO owed. The act instead requires the contract to include language it 
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specifies that holds enrollees harmless (i. e., not liable) for amounts the HMO owes. It also 
requires the contract to inform the provider that it is an unfair trade practice to (1) ask an 
enrollee for more than his or her copayment or deductible or (2) report an enrollee to a 
credit agency for not paying a bill for which the HMO is liable.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
Background  
RECEIVERSHIP DEPOSIT  
The act requires each HMO to deposit with the commissioner cash, securities, any 
combination of these, or other measures acceptable to the commissioner. At the 
commissioner's discretion, deposits may be given to any acceptable organization or trustee 
through which a custodian or controlled account is used. The deposit must be worth at least 
$500,000 at all times. An HMO in operation on October 1, 2007 must deposit $250,000 
(presumably in 2007) and another $250,000 in the second year (presumably 2008) to meet 
the requirement.  
The act specifies that an HMO's deposits and all income from them are the HMO's 
admitted assets when determining its net worth. An HMO that has made a securities 
deposit may withdraw all or part of it after making a substitute deposit of equal amount 
and value. The insurance commissioner must approve any securities before they are 
deposited.  
The act requires that the deposits be used to protect the interests of the HMO's enrollees 
and to assure continuation of health care services to them when the HMO is in 
rehabilitation or conservation. It permits the commissioner to use the deposits for 
administrative costs directly related to a receivership or liquidation. If the HMO is placed 
in rehabilitation or liquidation, the deposit is considered an asset subject to the provisions 
of the Insurers Rehabilitation and Liquidation Act.  
 
UNCOVERED EXPENDITURES DEPOSIT  
The act requires an HMO to place an uncovered expenditures insolvency deposit with the 
insurance commissioner, or with an acceptable organization or trustee through which a 
custodial or controlled account is maintained, whenever uncovered expenditures exceed 
10% of its total health care expenditures.  
The deposit must be in cash or securities acceptable to the commissioner and must at all 
times have a fair market value equal to 120% of the HMO's uncovered expenditures 
liability for enrollees in Connecticut, including claims incurred but not yet reported to the 
HMO. The HMO must calculate the deposit amount as of a month's first day and maintain 
that amount for the rest of the month. The act requires the HMO to file with the insurance 
commissioner, within 45 days after each quarter ends, a financial report demonstrating 
compliance.  
Under the act, the uncovered expenditures insolvency deposit is in addition to the $500,000 
receivership deposit. It and all income from it are the HMO's admitted assets when 
determining net worth, and may be withdrawn quarterly with the commissioner's approval. 
The act permits an HMO to withdraw all or part of the deposit if (1) a substitute deposit of 
equal amount and value is made, (2) the fair market value exceeds the amount of the 
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required deposit, or (3) the required deposit is reduced or eliminated. Deposits, 
substitutions, or withdrawals require the commissioner's prior written approval.  
The act requires that the deposit be held in trust separate and apart from all other money, 
funds, and accounts and it may be used only as provided. It permits the commissioner to 
use the deposit for paying enrollees' claims for uncovered expenditures and related 
administrative costs. The commissioner must pay claims on a prorated basis based on 
available assets. Partial distribution may be made pending final distribution. Any deposit 
remaining must be paid into the HMO's liquidation or receivership.  
The act permits the commissioner to adopt regulations that set the time, manner, and form 
for filing uncovered expenditure claims. The commissioner may also adopt regulations or 
issue an order requiring an HMO to file annual, quarterly, or more frequent reports deemed 
necessary to demonstrate compliance. The commissioner may require that the reports 
include liability for uncovered expenditures as well as an audit opinion.  
 
PROVIDER CONTRACT HOLD HARMLESS PROVISION  
The act requires a contract between an HMO and a participating provider to contain the 
language it includes or a variation the insurance commissioner approves. The language 
specifies that the provider and HMO agree that if the HMO does not pay the provider, 
becomes insolvent, or breaches the contract, the provider will not collect or attempt to 
collect the amount the HMO owes from the HMO's enrollee or take any recourse against 
him or her. It also specifies that the provider will continue to render health care services to 
the enrollee for the period of time for which the enrollee's premiums were paid or until he 
or she is discharged from an inpatient facility, whichever is longer.  
 
Uncovered Expenditures  
“Uncovered expenditures” are health care costs an HMO is obligated to pay, but for which 
an enrollee may be liable if the HMO is insolvent. Uncovered expenditures do not include 
(1) expenses for which a provider has agreed not to bill the enrollee even if the HMO does 
not pay the provider or (2) services another person or organization, other than the HMO, 
guarantees, insures, or assumes. 
  
Insurers Rehabilitation and Liquidation Act  
The Insurers Rehabilitation and Liquidation Act gives the insurance commissioner broad 
authority to supervise, rehabilitate, or liquidate a financially impaired or insolvent HMO to 
protect the interests of enrollees, claimants, creditors, and the general public. Among other 
actions, the commissioner can void fraudulent transfers, preferences, and liens; seek 
recovery of premiums; dispute claims; prohibit certain financial transactions; and distribute 
an insolvent HMO's remaining assets to enrollees and other claimants.  
 
Unfair Trade Practice  
The Connecticut Unfair Trade Practices Act (CUTPA) prohibits businesses from engaging 
in unfair and deceptive acts or practices. It allows the Department of Consumer Protection 
commissioner to define “unfair trade practice” in regulations, investigate complaints, issue 
cease and desist orders, order restitution in cases involving less than $5,000, enter into 
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consent agreements, ask the attorney general to seek injunctive relief, and accept voluntary 
statements of compliance. It also allows individuals to sue. Courts may issue restraining 
orders; award actual and punitive damages, costs, and reasonable attorneys fees; and 
impose civil penalties of up to $5,000 for willful violations and $25,000 for violation of a 
restraining order. 
 
  
Public Act 07-225 (House Bill 7262)  
An Act Concerning Electronic Insurance Filings  
(Signed by Governor 7/11/2007)  
 
This act makes various changes in insurance company financial reporting requirements. 
Prior law required all insurers, HMOs, and fraternal benefit societies doing business in 
Connecticut to annually file financial statements by March 1 and audited financial reports 
by June 1 with the insurance commissioner. The act (1) limits the annual reporting 
requirements to domestic and foreign companies, (2) requires the financial statements to be 
complete when filed, and (3) requires the companies to electronically file the statements 
and reports with the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). Domestic 
companies that file on time with NAIC must still submit paper copies to the commissioner, 
but foreign companies do not. By law, the commissioner may require an insurer, HMO, or 
fraternal benefit society to file quarterly financial statements. Under the act, if the company 
electronically files the reports with NAIC on time, then it does not have to give the 
commissioner paper copies. By law, a company that fails to report as required must pay a 
$100 fine for each day a report is late. In addition, a fraternal benefit society, upon notice 
from the commissioner, loses its authority to operate in Connecticut while in default.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
Background  
Domestic, Foreign, Alien, and Unauthorized Companies  
The Insurance Department licenses and regulates domestic, foreign, and alien companies to 
transact insurance in the state. A domestic company is formed under Connecticut laws. A 
foreign company is formed under the laws of another state or U. S. territory. An alien 
company is formed under another country's laws. An unauthorized company is not licensed 
or admitted to transact insurance business in the state.  
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Acts of Direct Interest to the Insurance Department 
 
 
Life and Health  
 
 
Public Act 07-2 (House Bill 8002)  
An Act Implementing the Provisions of the Budget Concerning Human Services and 
Public Health  
(Signed by Governor 6/26/2007)  
 
This act makes numerous changes to human services and public health statutes and 
establishes the Charter Oak Health Plan. Only those sections of interest to the Connecticut 
Insurance Department are summarized below.  The link to the entire summary is: 
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2007/BA/2007HB-08002-R00SS1-BA.htm
  
Sections 18-20 — THIRD PARTY LIABILITY AND MEDICAID COVERAGE  
Obligation of Insurers to Provide Information  
Federal law requires states, as a condition of receiving federal Medicaid matching funds, to 
enact laws requiring insurers to provide certain information to DSS. Medicaid is generally 
the payer of last resort. Thus, DSS must exhaust other payment sources (e. g. , private 
insurance) before paying for health care services provided to Medicaid recipients. By law, 
individuals are expected to fully disclose when they have other coverage. The bill requires 
health insurers to provide certain information to the DSS commissioner, when requested, 
regardless of whether they bear any financial risk for a Medicaid recipient's claims. As 
used in the bill, “health insurer” includes a self-insured plan; group health plan, as defined 
in federal law; service benefit plan; managed care organization; health care center; 
pharmacy benefit manager (PBM); dental benefit manager, or other party that is by statute, 
contract, or agreement legally responsible for paying health care claims.  
 
The bill requires health insurers to provide the information in a manner and format the 
commissioner or his designee prescribes, that identifies, determines, or establishes third-
party coverage. This includes information necessary to determine during what period a 
person, or his or her spouse or dependents, is or was covered by a health insurer and the 
nature of the coverage provided, including the insurance plan's name, address, and 
identifying number. The insurer must also provide this information to all third-party 
administrators, PBMs, dental benefit managers, or other entities with which it arranges to 
adjudicate health care claims.  
 
Under current law, state-licensed insurance companies must conduct automated data 
matches to identify this coverage if (1) the DSS commissioner requests it and (2) 
compatible data elements are available, and the law requires the commissioner to 
reimburse the companies for the costs of conducting the matches. The bill instead requires 
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health insurers, as more broadly defined by the bill, to do these matches at the 
commissioner's request or allow the commissioner or his designee to conduct them.  
Insurers' Obligation to Assist DSS as Condition of Operating in State  
With respect to individuals eligible for or receiving Medicaid, the bill requires health 
insurers, as a condition of operating in Connecticut, to:  
1. provide to the DSS commissioner or his designee, all third-party administrators, PBMs, 

dental benefits managers, and other entities with which the insurer arranges to 
adjudicate health care claims any information the commissioner or his designee 
prescribes that is necessary for determining whether there is available coverage and the 
coverage plan's name, address, and identifying number;  

2. accept the state's right of recovery and a person's assignment of benefits to the state for 
payment of a health care service provided for which Medicaid paid;  

3. respond to any inquiry from the commissioner or his designee regarding a health care 
claim submitted within three years from the date the service was provided; and  

4. agree not to deny a claim that the state submits solely based on its submission date, 
claim form, type or format, or failure to present proper documentation at the “point-of-
sale” that is the basis of the claim if (A) the state or its agent submits the claim within 
the three-year period and (B) the state begins any legal action to enforce its rights with 
respect to the claim within six years of the claim submission.  

Under current law, no individual or group accident, health, accident or health, medical 
expense, medical service plan, self-insured plan, or self-funded plan subject to ERISA can 
contain provisions that have the effect of denying or limiting benefits or excluding 
coverage because the services are provided to someone who is eligible for or receiving 
Medicaid. The bill instead applies the prohibition to the bill's broadened list of health 
insurers' plans and extends it to include provisions that limit enrollment in private health 
care coverage.  
DSS Subrogated to Any Right of Recovery for Medicaid Services Rendered  
By law, DSS is subrogated (i. e., entitled) to any right of recovery or indemnification that a 
Medicaid applicant or recipient, or his or her legally liable relative, has against an insurer 
for the costs of hospitalization, pharmacy, physician, and nursing services provided, up to 
the amount DSS spent on such services. The bill extends this provision to the broadened 
list of health insurers and any other legally liable third party. And it adds behavioral health 
and long-term care services to the list of Medicaid-covered services for which DSS can 
recover.  
Applying for or receiving Medicaid is deemed by law to be a subrogation assignment and 
an assignment of claims for benefits to DSS. Insurers must pay DSS directly under such an 
assignment. DSS can further assign its right to payment to a health care provider 
participating in Medicaid. Currently, providers must notify the “private” insurer of the 
assignment when rendering health care services. If the provider fails to do this, he or she is 
ineligible for DSS reimbursement. The bill requires notification to a health insurer, as it 
more broadly defines the term or other legally liable third party.  
Requirement to Pay Claims  
The bill specifies that claims for recovery or indemnification that DSS or its designee 
submit to health insurers may not be denied solely based on the submission date, claim 
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form, type or format, or failure to present proper documentation at the “point-of-sale” that 
is the basis of the claim if (A) the state or its agent submits the claim within three years 
from the date of service and (B) any legal action to enforce its rights with respect to the 
claim the state begins within six years of the claim submission.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2007  
 
Section 21 — PHARMACY CLAIMS FOR BENEFICIARIES WHO HAVE OTHER 
INSURANCE AND FRAUD UNDER DSS PROGRAMS AND MEDICARE PART D 
SUPPLEMENTAL NEEDS FUND  
The bill prohibits any pharmacy from claiming payment from DSS under a DSS-
administered medical assistance program or the Medicare Part D Supplemental Needs 
Fund for drugs prescribed to people who have other prescription drug insurance coverage 
unless the coverage has been exhausted and the person is otherwise eligible for the 
program or assistance from the Fund. It requires DSS to recoup from the submitting 
pharmacy any claims it submitted to DSS which DSS paid when other insurance coverage 
is available.  
Under the bill, DSS must investigate a pharmacy that consistently submits ineligible 
payment claims to determine whether the pharmacy is in violation of its medical assistance 
provider agreement or is committing fraud or abuse in the program. Based on DSS's 
findings in the investigation, the bill allows it to take action against the pharmacy in 
accordance with state and federal law.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  
 
Section 23 — CHARTER OAK HEALTH PLAN  
The bill establishes a Charter Oak Health Plan for residents who have been uninsured for at 
least six months and are ineligible for publicly funded health care.  
Contracts for Health Care  
In establishing the plan, the bill authorizes the Department of Social Services (DSS) 
commissioner to enter into contracts to provide comprehensive health care for the state's 
uninsured residents. It requires the commissioner to conduct outreach to facilitate 
enrollment in the plan.  
Cost Sharing  
The bill requires the DSS commissioner to impose cost sharing for plan participants. This 
may include:  
1. monthly premiums;  
2. a maximum $ 1,000 annual deductible;  
3. coinsurance of no more than 20%, once the deductible is met;  
4. tiered co-payments for prescription drugs, depending on whether the drug is on a 

formulary, is a brand name, or whether it is mail-ordered;  
5. no fees for emergency visits to hospital emergency rooms and a maximum $ 150 fee 

for nonemergency visits; and  
6. a $ 1 million lifetime benefit limit.  
Premium Assistance  
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Residents purchasing the insurance pay premiums directly to the insurer and qualify for 
premium assistance if their income is less than 300% of the FPL. The assistance amounts 
are shown below.  
Income Level  Monthly Premium Assistance  
Below 150% of FPL  $ 175  
150% to 185% of FPL  $ 150  
185% to 235% of FPL  $ 75  
235% to 300% of FPL  $ 50  
Coverage  
The bill requires the DSS commissioner to determine minimum requirements for the plan's 
amount, duration, and scope of benefits, which cannot include a pre-existing condition 
exclusion. Each participating insurer must provide an internal grievance process through 
which an insured person can request and receive a review of any coverage denial.  
Allowable Plans  
The bill authorizes DSS to contract with any of the following entities to provide coverage:  
1. managed care organizations,  
2. a consortium of federally qualified health centers and other state-funded, community-

based health care providers; and  
3. other health care provider consortia established to serve plan participants.  
The bill specifies that the above consortia are not subject to the laws governing MCOs, 
hospital service corporations, and medical service corporations. These laws include annual 
financial filings with the Department of Insurance (DOI), DOI rate approval, and 
investment limitations. Before these providers may participate in the plan, the DSS 
commissioner must certify them according to criteria he or she establishes, which must 
include minimum reserve fund requirements.  
The bill requires the commissioner to seek proposals from the entities based on the cost-
sharing and benefits (presumably those that the entities offer). It allows the commissioner 
to approve an alternative plan to make coverage options available to eligible residents.  
Regulations; Exception to Six-Month Crowd Out and Enrollment Restrictions  
The bill permits the DSS commissioner to implement policies and procedures for 
administering the plan while in the process of adopting them as regulations, if notice of 
intent to adopt the regulations is published in the Connecticut Law Journal within 20 days 
of implementation. The policies and procedures are valid until the regulations are adopted. 
The bill allows the policies and regulations to include an exception to the six-month period 
of noninsurance and requirements for open enrollment periods, and limiting enrollees' 
ability to change plans between these periods.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2007  
 
Section 24 — SCHOOL DISTRICT REPORTING OF STUDENT INSURANCE RATES 
The bill requires local or regional school boards to require all students in their jurisdiction 
to report whether they have health insurance. The DSS commissioner, or his designee, 
must provide information to the boards on state-sponsored health insurance programs for 
children, including application assistance. The boards must provide this information, and 
application assistance, to the student's parent or guardian. (HB 8005 limits the districts' 
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obligation to offer the information to only those parents and guardians whose children are 
identified as uninsured.)  
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2007  
Sections 51 - 52 – INSURANCE COVERAGE FOR LEAD SCREENING The bill 
requires individual and group health insurance policies to cover the bill's lead screening 
and risk assessments mandates. The requirement applies to Connecticut policies delivered, 
issued for delivery, amended, renewed, or continued on or after January 1, 2009.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2009  
 
Sections 64, 65 & 69 — DEPENDENT CHILDREN COVERAGE EXTENSION  
The bill amends provisions in PA 07-185 that raise, from age 22 to 25, the age to which 
group comprehensive and individual health insurance policies that cover children must do 
so. That act limited the coverage extension to children who reside in Connecticut; the bill 
extends coverage to full-time students at accredited out-of-state colleges and universities 
and children who live out-of-state with a custodial parent pursuant to a court order.  
 
It makes both the group and individual policy coverage provisions effective January 1, 
2009. Under PA 07-185, the group provision was effective July 1, 2007, and the individual 
policy provision was effective October 1, 2007.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2009  
 
Section 67 — HEALTHFIRST CONNECTICUT AUTHORITY  
The bill amends PA 07-185 to add the insurance commissioner and health care advocate or 
their designees as nonvoting members of this authority, which was created to recommend 
alternatives for affordable quality health care coverage for un- and underinsured people 
and cost containment measures and insurance financing mechanisms.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  
 
 
Public Act 07-18 (Senate Bill 229)  
An Act Concerning Lists of Providers and Notification of Termination or Withdrawal 
of Primary Care Physicians  
(Signed by Governor 5/7/2007)  
By law, managed care organizations (MCOs) must annually provide people enrolled in a 
health plan a list of health care providers participating in the plan. This act specifies that 
the list must be provided in writing or through the Internet at the enrollee's option.  Prior 
law required an MCO to notify an enrollee as soon as possible when his or her primary 
care physician left the MCO's provider network. The act limits this requirement to 
managed care plans that require an enrollee to select a primary care physician.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
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Public Act 07-28 (Senate Bill 1103)  
An Act Concerning Nonforfeiture Benefit Requirements with Respect to Long-Term 
Care Policies  
(Signed by Governor 5/18/2007)  
This act prohibits an insurer from issuing or delivering a long-term care policy on or after 
July 1, 2008 unless it had offered the prospective insured an optional nonforfeiture benefit 
during the policy solicitation or application process. The offer may form a rider to the 
policy. If the nonforfeiture option is declined, the insurer must give the insured a 
contingent benefit if the policy lapses (i. e., terminates because the insured stops paying the 
premium). The contingent benefit must be available to the insured for a period of time after 
any substantial premium increase.  
The act requires the insurance commissioner to adopt regulations by July 1, 2008 to 
implement the nonforfeiture option and contingent benefit requirements. The regulations 
must specify (1) the nonforfeiture benefit standards and type, (2) the time period a 
contingent benefit must be available, and (3) what constitutes a substantial premium 
increase. They must also be in accord with the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners' long-term care insurance model regulation. The act's requirements apply 
to insurance companies, fraternal benefit societies, hospital or medical service 
corporations, and HMOs.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2007  
 
Background  
Nonforfeiture and Contingent Benefits  
A nonforfeiture benefit is an insurance policy provision specifying that an insured's equity 
in the policy cannot be forfeited. It offers the insured options for receiving the cash value 
of a policy that lapses. Some common types of nonforfeiture benefits are the policy's cash 
surrender value, other insurance, or a loan. If the insured does not elect a nonforfeiture 
option, a policy specifies one that is automatically effective (i. e., a contingent benefit upon 
lapse).  
 
Long-Term Care Policy  
Connecticut law defines a long-term care policy as an individual health insurance policy 
that provides expense-incurred, indemnity, or pre-paid benefits for the necessary care or 
treatment of an injury, illness, or loss of functional capacity provided by a certified or 
licensed health care provider in a setting other than an acute hospital, including a nursing 
home and an insured's own home. Benefits are effective for at least one year following an 
elimination period (i. e., a time period after the onset of the injury, illness, or function loss 
during which no benefits are payable). It excludes policies that provide Medicare 
supplement, basic medical-surgical expense, hospital confinement indemnity, major 
medical expense, disability income protection, accident only, specified accident, and 
limited benefit health coverage.  
 
Related Act  
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PA 07-226 requires a long-term care policy elimination period of (1) no more than 100 
days of confinement or (2) between 100 days and two years of confinement if an 
irrevocable trust is in place that is estimated to be sufficient to cover the person's 
confinement costs during that period.  
 
 
Public Act 07-48 (House Bill 5259) 
An Act Concerning Refunds of Prepaid Premiums Made by Senior Citizens to Health 
Insurance Providers for Medicare Supplement Policies 
(Signed by the Governor 5/22/2007) 
 
This act requires insurers to refund to a person who cancels his or her Medicare 
supplement policy before the policy's coverage period ends any prepaid premium. The 
requirement applies to insurance companies, fraternal benefit societies, hospital or medical 
service corporations, HMOs, and other entities that deliver, issue, continue, or renew a 
Medicare supplement policy or certificate in Connecticut.  
A Medicare supplement policy (also referred to as “Medigap”) is a health insurance policy 
that covers some of the health care costs that Medicare does not cover. It must meet 
minimum standards set in federal law.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
 
Public Act 07-67 (Senate Bill 389)  
An Act Concerning Hospitalization at an Out-of-Network Facility During Treatment 
in Cancer Clinical Trials  
(Signed by Governor 5/30/2007)  
By law, individual and group health insurance policies and HMO contracts must cover 
medically necessary hospitalization services and other routine patient care costs associated 
with certain cancer clinical trials. This act specifies that the required hospitalization 
coverage includes treatment at an out-of-network facility if (1) it is unavailable at an in-
network facility and (2) the clinical trial sponsors are not paying for it. (An out-of-network 
facility is one that has not contracted with the insurer or HMO to provide health care 
services to enrollees. An in-network facility has contracted.)  
 
Prior law subjected the required coverage to the policy's or contract's terms and limitations, 
including out-of-network limitations. The act instead requires the out-of-network hospital 
and insurer or HMO to make the out-of-network hospital treatment available at no greater 
cost to the patient than if treatment was available at an in-network facility. Thus, the 
patient is only responsible to pay any copayment, coinsurance, or deductible required 
under the policy or contract for in-network services.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  
 
Background  
Coverage for Cancer Clinical Trials  
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By law, health insurers and HMOs must cover routine patient care costs associated with 
certain cancer clinical trials. A “cancer clinical trial” is an organized, systematic, scientific 
study of interventions for cancer (1) treatment or palliation or (2) prevention. If the trial is 
for cancer prevention, it must be a Phase III trial conducted at multiple institutions. (Phase 
III clinical trials compare a new drug or surgical procedure to the current standard of 
treatment.)  The law applies to trials conducted under an independent, peer-reviewed 
protocol approved by (1) one of the National Institutes of Health, (2) a National Cancer 
Institute-affiliated cooperative group, (3) the Food and Drug Administration as part of an 
investigational new drug or device exemption, or (4) the U. S. Departments of Defense or 
Veterans' Affairs.  
 
Payment to Out-of-Network Providers  
By law, an insurer or HMO must pay out-of-network providers (including hospitals) the 
lesser of (1) the lowest contracted daily fee schedule or case rate it pays its Connecticut in-
network providers for similar services or (2) billed charges. Out-of-network providers are 
prohibited from collecting more than the total of the amount paid by the insurer or HMO 
and the insured's deductible and copayment.  
 
 
Public Act 07-75 (House Bill 7055) 
An Act Concerning Medical Necessity and External Appeals 
(Signed by Governor 5/30/2007)  
 
This act requires insurers, HMOs, and other entities to include a particular definition of 
“medically necessary” or “medical necessity” in individual and group health insurance 
policies and contracts. For insurers and HMOs that have entered into a federal court-
approved class action settlement with physicians, the requirement does not apply until the 
settlement's expiration date.  
 
The act extends the timeframe for appealing to the insurance commissioner (i. e., filing an 
external appeal) after a person has exhausted a company's internal grievance procedures. 
Under prior law, after receiving a final written claim denial based on a lack of medical 
necessity or determination not to certify an admission, service, procedure, or extension of 
hospital stay, a person had 30 days to file an external appeal. The act extends this to 60 
days. It also makes a conforming change.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2008, except for the appeal provision, which is 
effective upon passage.  
 
REQUIRED DEFINITION  
The act prohibits insurers and HMOs from delivering or issuing for delivery any individual 
or group health insurance policy in Connecticut unless it contains the following definition: 
“Medically necessary” or “medical necessity” means health care services that a physician, 
exercising prudent clinical judgment, would provide to a patient for the purpose of 
preventing, evaluating, diagnosing, or treating an illness, injury, disease, or its symptoms, 
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and that are (1) in accordance with generally accepted standards of medical practice; (2) 
clinically appropriate, in terms of type, frequency, extent, site, and duration and considered 
effective for the patient's illness, injury, or disease; and (3) not primarily for the 
convenience of the patient, physician, or other health care provider and not more costly 
than an alternative service or sequence of services at least as likely to produce equivalent 
therapeutic or diagnostic results as to the diagnosis or treatment of that patient's illness, 
injury, or disease. “Generally accepted standards of medical practice” means standards that 
are based on credible scientific evidence published in peer-reviewed medical literature 
generally recognized by the relevant medical community or otherwise consistent with the 
standards set forth in policy issues involving clinical judgment.  
 
APPLICATION  
Medically Necessary Provisions  
The act's medical necessity provisions apply to insurers, HMOs, hospital and medical 
service corporations, and other entities delivering, issuing, renewing, continuing, or 
amending individual or group health insurance policies in Connecticut beginning January 
1, 2008 that cover (1) basic hospital expenses, (2) basic medical-surgical expenses, (3) 
major medical expenses, (4) accidents only, (5) limited benefits, or (6) hospital or medical 
services.  
Appeal Provision  
The act's appeal provision applies to any entity delivering, issuing, renewing, or amending 
individual or group health insurance policies in Connecticut that cover (1) basic hospital 
expenses; (2) basic medical-surgical expenses; (3) major medical expenses; (4) limited 
benefits; (5) specified diseases; or (6) hospital or medical services, including those issued 
by HMOs.  
 
Background  
Class Action Settlements  
Aetna, CIGNA, Health Net, Prudential, Anthem/WellPoint, and Humana entered into 
settlement agreements that apply nationally with over 900,000 physicians and state and 
county medical societies in the class action lawsuits consolidated as In re Managed Care 
Litigation in the U. S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida. The settlements 
were approved at various times between 2003 and 2006. Other defendants, including 
PacifiCare, United, and Coventry, did not enter into settlement agreements with the 
physicians. The lawsuits alleged that since 1990, these companies engaged in a conspiracy 
to improperly deny, delay, or reduce payment to physicians by engaging in several types of 
allegedly improper conduct, including failing to pay for medically necessary services in 
accordance with member plan documents. Under the settlement terms, each company has 
agreed to use a specified “medical necessity” definition. The settlements have expiration 
dates that vary by company. When they expire, the companies will no longer be bound to 
follow the definition contained in the settlements, at which time they are required to use 
the act's definition.  
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Public Act 07-96 (House Bill 5496) 
An Act Regulating Limited Benefit Medical Plans 
(Signed by Governor 6/11/2007)  
 
Beginning January 1, 2008, this act requires each individual and group health insurance 
policy, contract, or certificate issued in Connecticut that provides limited coverage, and 
any related advertising, marketing, and enrollment material, to include a conspicuous 
statement disclosing that the plan does not provide comprehensive medical coverage.  It 
also prohibits, as of that date, an insurer, HMO, or other entity from replacing an 
employer-sponsored comprehensive health insurance plan with a policy that provides 
limited coverage.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2007  
 
Background  
Definition  
The act defines "limited coverage" as a health insurance policy that includes an annual 
maximum benefit of less than $100,000 or a per-service or -condition benefit limit of less 
than $20,000. The policy covers basic hospital expenses, basic medical-surgical expenses, 
major medical expenses, or hospital or medical services, including an HMO contract.  
 
Conspicuous Statement  
Beginning January 1, 2008, each individual and group health insurance policy, contract, 
and certificate providing limited coverage and any related advertising, marketing, and 
enrollment material must include a conspicuous statement printed in capital letters and at 
least 12-point bold face type that says:  
This limited health benefits plan does not provide comprehensive medical coverage. It is a 
basic or limited benefits policy and is not intended to cover all medical expenses. This plan 
is not designed to cover the costs of serious or chronic illness. It contains specific dollar 
limits that will be paid for medical services which may not be exceeded. If the cost of 
services exceeds those limits, the beneficiary and not the insurer is responsible for payment 
of the excess amounts. The specific dollar limits are as follows: (The insurer is to specify 
the limits.)  
 
 
Public Act 07-155 (House Bill 6893)  
An Act Concerning Expanded Outreach and Communication Activities by the 
Choices Health Insurance Assistance Program  
(Signed by Governor 6/25/2007)  
 
This act expands the statutory role of the Department of Social Services' CHOICES health 
insurance assistance program in disseminating information (including preparing and 
distributing written material) and providing advice to Medicare beneficiaries. Under the 
act, the program must provide information on the federal Medicare Part D prescription 
drug program and long-term care options in the state. The act includes the Medicare Part D 
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program in the list of mandatory Medicare-related information in the Connecticut 
Medicare consumer guide. CHOICES develops and distributes this guide after consulting 
with the insurance commissioner and other organizations.  
 
The act also requires CHOICES to collaborate with other state agencies and entities in 
developing consumer-oriented websites that provide information on Medicare plans, 
including Medicare Part D plans and available long-term care options. It adds CHOICES 
personnel designated by the social services commissioner to the group charged with 
developing the state's long-term care website, which began operating in 2006. (The other 
entities are the Office of Policy and Management, Select Committee on Aging, 
Commission on Aging, and Long-term Care Advisory Council.)  
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2007  
 
 
Public Act 07-185 (Senate Bill 1484) 
An Act Concerning the Healthfirst Connecticut and Healthy Kids Initiatives 
(Signed by Governor 7/10/2007)  
 
This act expands access to public health insurance by making a number of changes in the 
HUSKY program and insurance statutes.  Only those sections of interest to the Connecticut 
Insurance Department are summarized below.  The link to the entire summary is: 
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2007/SUM/2007SUM00185-R01SB-01484-SUM.htm
 
Sections 15-17 — DEPENDENT CHILDREN COVERAGE EXTENSION  
The act raises, from age 23 to 26, the age to which group comprehensive and individual 
health insurance policies that cover children must do so. Prior law required coverage for 
unmarried, dependent children until they turn 19, or 23 for full-time students at an 
accredited school. The act eliminates the requirements that children be dependent or full-
time students and limits the continuing coverage to those who live in Connecticut. (PA 07-
2, JSS, extends coverage for children who attend accredited out-of-state colleges or who 
live in another state with a custodial parent.)  
 
The act applies to:  
1. individual health insurance policies delivered, issued, amended, or renewed on or after 

October 1, 2007 that cover (a) basic hospital and medical surgical expenses, (b) major 
medical expenses, (c) accidents, (d) limited benefits, and (e) hospital or medical 
services, including HMO contracts; and  

2. group comprehensive health care plans (a minimum plan all health insurers must offer) 
beginning July 1, 2007.  

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2007 (PA 07-2, JSS, makes these changes effective 
January 1, 2009)  
 
Sections 18-21 — HEALTH REINSURANCE ASSOCIATION (HRA) PLANS  
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By removing a provision that prohibits the sale of special health care plans to small 
employers after January 1, 1995, the act permits such plans to be sold again. Small 
employers are those with 50 or fewer uninsured employees and self-employed people.  
By law, each small-employer insurer must offer small employers a special health care plan. 
A small employer with 10 or fewer employees, most of whom are low-income, does not 
have to offer a plan. Instead, the insurer must refer the employer to the HRA. The act 
potentially makes these plans available to more employers by raising the income eligibility 
limit for a low-income individual or employee from 200% to 300% of FPL. HRA must 
develop premium rates and administer the plans without profit or loss.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2007  
 
Section 22 — CONSUMER HEALTHCARE WEBSITE  
The act requires the Healthcare Advocate's Office, by October 1, 2008 and within available 
appropriations, to create and maintain an Internet website for consumer health care 
information. At a minimum, the website must contain (1) information about wellness 
programs, such as disease prevention and health promotion, available in various regions; 
(2) hospital quality and experience data; and (3) a link to the Insurance Department's 
managed care consumer report card.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
Section 23 — PRE-TAX HEALTH INSURANCE PREMIUM DEDUCTIONS  
The act requires every employer that deducts health insurance premiums from its 
employees' pay to allow employees to make these payments with pre-tax earnings to the 
extent permitted under IRS Code section 125. That section allows employers to offer 
employees a choice between cash salary and a variety of nontaxable, qualified benefits 
such as health, disability, and group life insurance. Employee contributions are made 
before federal and most state income taxes and Social Security taxes are calculated.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
Sections 30 & 39 — HEALTHFIRST CONNECTICUT AUTHORITY  
The act creates a 13-member HealthFirst Connecticut Authority to:  
1. evaluate alternatives for providing quality, affordable, and sustainable health care for 

all state residents, including a single-payer system and employer-sponsored insurance;  
2. recommend (a) ways to contain health care costs and improve health care quality, 

including health information technology; (b) disease management and other methods to 
improve care for people with chronic diseases; (c) monitoring and reporting on cost, 
quality, and care utilization; and (d) ways to encourage or require providing health care 
coverage to certain groups through participation in an insurance pool; and  

3. recommend ways to finance insurance for state residents, including ways to maximize 
federal funding for subsidies; contributions from employers, employees, and 
individuals; and ways to pay the state's share of costs.  

The panel must report its recommendations, including recommended strategies for 
increasing health care access, by December 1, 2008, to the Public Health, Human Services, 
and Insurance committees.  
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Legislative leaders and the governor appoint 10 members, some of whom must represent 
specific interests, as Table 1 shows. The DPH and DSS commissioners and the 
comptroller, or their designees, are ex-officio, nonvoting members. (PA 07-2, JSS, adds 
the insurance commissioner and health care advocate as ex-officio, nonvoting 
members.) All members must be familiar with the Institute of Medicine's health care 
reform principles and be committed to making recommendations consistent with them.  
 
Table 1: HealthFirst Connecticut Appointments  
Appointing Authority (Number of 
Appointments)  

Appointees  

Governor (2)  Health quality or patient safety advocate 
Person with information technology 
experience  

Senate president pro tempore (2)  Representative of businesses with fewer than 
50 employees Person with community-based 
health experience  

House speaker (2)  Health care provider Representative of 
businesses with 50 or more employees  

Senate majority leader (1)  Labor representative  
House majority leader (1)  Consumer representative  
Senate minority leader (1)  Hospital representative  
House minority leader (1)  Insurance company representative  
 
All appointments must be made within 30 days after the act is enacted, and if a vacancy 
occurs, the appointing authority must fill it within 30 days. The speaker and president pro 
tempore each choose one chairperson, and the two must schedule the panel's first meeting 
no more than 60 day's after the act's enactment. If an appointing authority fails to make an 
initial or vacancy appointment within the 30-day period, the authority chairpeople must do 
so.  
  
The authority can apply for grants or financial assistance from state and federal agencies, 
individuals, groups, and corporations. The act appropriates $500,000 to DPH in FY 09 for 
the authority (PA 07-2, JSS, removes the appropriation).  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage, except for the appropriation, which is effective July 
1, 2008.  
 
 
Public Act 07-191 (Senate Bill 1213) 
An Act Concerning the Financial Security Requirement for Preferred Provider 
Networks 
(Signed by Governor 7/10/2007)  
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The act revises the formula that determines the amount of financial security preferred 
provider networks (PPNs) and managed care organizations (MCOs) that contract with 
PPNs must post, maintain, or arrange for by letter of credit, bond, surety, reinsurance, 
reserve, or other means. In case of insolvency or nonpayment, the PPN, or another entity 
the insurance commissioner designates, must use the security to pay the network's health 
care providers.  
Under prior law, the security amount required was the greater of (1) an amount calculated 
based on the two quarters in the past year in which the largest amounts were owed to 
network providers, (2) the actual outstanding debt owed them, or (3) another amount the 
commissioner determined. The act changes the formula's first prong to an amount 
sufficient for the PPN to pay the providers for two months based on the two months in the 
past year in which the PPN owed the largest amount to them. It leaves the two other prongs 
unchanged.  By law, the financial security amount maintained may be credited against the 
network's minimum net worth requirement. The commissioner must review the amount 
and the calculation on a quarterly basis.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2007  
 
Background  
PPN Definition  
By law, a PPN is an entity that pays health care claims and accepts the financial risk for the 
delivery of health care services. It establishes, operates, or maintains an arrangement or 
contract with health care providers relating to (1) health care services the providers render 
and (2) compensation for such services. It excludes MCOs; workers' compensation 
preferred provider organizations; individual practice associations or physician hospital 
associations whose primary function is to contract with insurers and provide services to 
providers; and licensed clinical laboratories whose primary payments are made to other 
licensed laboratories or for associated pathology services.  
 
Related Act  
PA 07-200 excludes from the PPN definition a pharmacy benefits manager that processes 
pharmacy claims primarily to administer a health benefit plan's pharmacy benefit.  
 
 
Public Act 07-197 (Senate Bill 66) 
An Act Expanding Insurance Coverage for Specialized Formulas for Children 
(Signed by Governor 7/5/2007)  
 
This act requires health insurance policies to cover medically necessary specialized 
formulas administered under a physician's direction for children up to age 12, instead of 
age eight. The act applies to group and individual insurance policies delivered, issued for 
delivery, or renewed in Connecticut after September 30, 2007 that cover (1) basic hospital 
expenses; (2) basic medical-surgical expenses; (3) major medical expenses; (4) accidents 
only; and (5) hospital or medical services, including HMO contracts. It does not apply to 
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self-insured benefit plans, which are regulated under the federal Employee Retirement 
Income Security Act (ERISA).  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
Background  
Specialized Formulas  
“Specialized formula” is a nutritional formula that is exempt from the federal Food and 
Drug Administration's general nutritional labeling requirements and is intended for use 
solely under medical supervision in the dietary management of specific diseases.  
Related Act  
PA 07-75 requires insurers and HMOs to include a specified “medically necessary” 
definition in health insurance policies.  
 
 
Public Act 07-200 (Senate Bill 74) 
An Act Requiring the Registration of Pharmacy Benefit Managers 
(Signed by Governor 7/6/2007)  
 
This act requires pharmacy benefit managers (PBMs), with exceptions, to obtain a 
certificate of registration from the Insurance Department before operating in Connecticut. 
It requires PBMs already operating in the state on January 1, 2008 to obtain one by April 1, 
2008 to continue operating here.  
 
PBMs must apply for registration by giving the department (1) a completed application 
form that contains information on the people running the PBM; (2) a nonrefundable $50 
fee; and (3) evidence of a surety bond that is between $25,000 and $1 million. The PBM 
may request a hearing if the department denies registration. The act permits the insurance 
commissioner to suspend, revoke, or deny registration for specified causes after notice and 
hearing. PBMs must apply annually for registration renewal. The act also excludes a PBM 
that processes pharmacy claims primarily to administer a health benefit plan's pharmacy 
benefit from the “preferred provider network” (PPN) definition; thus, the PBM does not 
have to obtain a PPN license or comply with state PPN requirements.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2008  
 
Background  
PHARMACY BENEFIT MANAGER  
Under the act, a PBM is a person that administers the prescription drug, prescription 
device, or pharmacist services portion of a health benefit plan on behalf of plan sponsors 
(e. g. , self-insured employers, insurers, labor unions, or HMOs).  
 
REGISTRATION  
Application  
The act requires a PBM, unless it meets a specified exception (see below), to apply for a 
certificate of registration from the Insurance Department on a form the department 
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develops. The application must include the name, address, official position, and 
professional qualifications of each person responsible for running the PBM. Such people 
include (1) the principal officers, partners, or association members; (2) all members of the 
boards of directors, trustees, and executive and governing committees; and (3) any other 
person exercising control or influence over the PBM. The application must also include the 
name and address of the PBM's agent for service of process in Connecticut.  
 
Fee and Bond  
The PBM must pay a $50 nonrefundable application fee. It must also provide evidence of a 
surety bond equal to 10% of one month of claims in Connecticut over a 12-month average, 
except the bond must be at least $25,000 and no more than $1 million.  
 
Issuance, Renewal, Suspension, Revocation, or Denial  
Once the insurance commissioner receives a PBM's completed application, fee, and bond 
evidence, he must either issue the PBM a certificate of registration or deny registration.  
Expiration and Renewal. Registration expires annually on December 31. The PBM may 
apply for renewal by completing a renewal form that the commissioner prescribes and 
paying a $50 nonrefundable renewal fee, plus a $50 penalty fee if paid late. (The act does 
not specify when a renewal is due or when payment is considered late).  
Suspension, Revocation, and Denial. The commissioner may suspend, revoke, or deny a 
registration for (1) conduct likely to mislead, deceive, or defraud the public or 
commissioner; (2) unfair or deceptive business practices; or (3) not paying the renewal fee. 
The act specifies that the commissioner may suspend or revoke a registration only after 
providing notice and hearing in accordance with the Uniform Administrative Procedure 
Act (UAPA). Upon denying a registration, the commissioner must notify the PBM of the 
(1) decision and (2) PBM's right to request a hearing within 10 days of receiving notice. If 
the PBM requests a hearing, the commissioner must (1) give notice of the grounds for 
denying the registration and (2) hold a UAPA hearing. If after the hearing the denial is 
upheld, the PBM may reapply for registration, but it must wait at least one year from the 
hearing decision to do so.  
Investigations  
The act permits the commissioner to investigate and hold hearings on any matter covered 
by the registration requirements; issue subpoenas; administer oaths; compel testimony; and 
order the production of books, records, and documents. If anyone refuses to comply with 
the commissioner's orders, the commissioner may apply to Superior Court for a judge to 
order compliance.  
Appeal to Court  
The act permits anyone aggrieved by the commissioner's orders or decisions to appeal to 
Superior Court in accordance with the UAPA.  
Regulations 
The act requires the commissioner to adopt regulations to implement the registration 
requirements. The regulations must include the application form and any other required 
forms and reports.  
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EXCEPTIONS The act exempts from the registration requirement a PBM that is a line of 
business or affiliate of a Connecticut-licensed health insurer, HMO, hospital or medical 
service corporation, or fraternal benefit society. It requires the insurer or other entity to 
annually notify the insurance commissioner in writing on a department form that it is 
affiliated with or operating a PBM.  
 
Preferred Provider Network  
A PPN enters into contracts with health care providers who agree to deliver health care 
services to people covered under certain health care plans in exchange for payment. The 
PPN pays health care claims, taking on the financial risk for the delivery of services.  
The law excludes from the PPN definition (1) managed care organizations, (2) workers 
compensation preferred provider organizations, (3) independent practice associations and 
physician hospital associations that primarily contract with insurers and provide services to 
providers, and (4) licensed clinical laboratories whose primary payments for contracted or 
referred services are to other licensed laboratories or for associated pathology services.  
 
 
Public Act 07-226 (House Bill 7283) 
An Act Establishing a Long-Term Care Initiative 
(Signed by Governor 7/10/2007)  
 
This act changes the elimination period under a long-term care (LTC) insurance policy. 
Prior law required an LTC policy to contain a “reasonable” elimination period (i.e., a 
waiting period after the onset of the injury, illness, or function loss during which no 
benefits are payable). The act instead requires an elimination period that is (1) up to 100 
days of confinement or (2) between 100 days and two years of confinement if an 
irrevocable trust is in place that is estimated to be sufficient to cover the person's 
confinement costs during this period.  
 
The act requires that the trust (1) pay the health care provider directly and (2) create an 
unconditional duty to pay only confinement costs during the elimination period. It specifies 
that the (1) state, grantor, or person acting on the grantor's behalf may enforce this duty 
and (2) trust remains subject to taxes and any trustee charges allowed by law.  For LTC 
policies that offer the elimination period trust option, the act requires an insurer to include, 
(1) in rate filings it submits to the insurance commissioner, how it estimated trust values 
and (2) on the policy application and face page, a clear and conspicuous statement that the 
trust may be insufficient to cover all costs incurred during the elimination period.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
Long-Term Care Policy  
An LTC policy is an individual health insurance policy that provides expense-incurred, 
indemnity, or pre-paid benefits for the necessary care or treatment of an injury, illness, or 
loss of functional capacity provided by a certified or licensed health care provider in a 
setting other than an acute care hospital, including a nursing home and an insured's own 
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home, for at least one year after an elimination period. It excludes policies that primarily 
provide Medicare supplement, basic medical-surgical expense, hospital confinement 
indemnity, major medical expense, disability income protection, accident only, specified 
accident, and limited benefit health coverage.  
 
 
Public Act 07-252 (House Bill 7163)  
An Act Concerning Revisions to Statutes Relating to the Departments of Public 
Health and Social Services and Town Clerks  
(Signed by Governor 7/12/2007)  
 
Only those sections of direct interest to the Connecticut Insurance Department are 
summarized below.  
 
Sections 12 & 13 — ASSISTED LIVING SERVICES AGENCY  
The act adds assisted living services agencies to the statutory list of health care institutions 
and makes a technical change to the definition of such agencies.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
Sections 23 & 24 — ALCOHOL AND DRUG COUNSELORS  
Existing law provides that the alcohol and drug abuse counselor licensure and certification 
statutes do not apply to the activities of various licensed professionals acting within the 
scope of their profession, doing work consistent with their training, and not holding 
themselves out as alcohol and drug counselors. The act amends this exception by (1) 
removing chiropractors, acupuncturists, physical therapists, and occupational therapists 
from the exempt list; (2) adding professional counselors; and (3) specifying that “nurses” 
mean advanced practice registered nurses and registered nurses. It also specifies that the 
person must be working consistent with his or her license, rather than with his or her 
“training.”  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  
 
Sections 70 & 71 — MOBILE FIELD HOSPITAL  
All individual and group health policies delivered, issued for delivery, renewed, amended 
or continued in the state on or after July 12,2007, shall provide benefits for isolation care 
and emergency services provided by the state's mobile field hospital. Such benefits shall be 
subject to any policy provisions that apply to other services covered by such policy. 
Mobile field hospital means a modular, transportable facility used intermittently, deployed 
at the discretion of the Governor, or the Governor's designee, for the provision of medical 
services at a mass gathering; for the purpose of training or in the event of a public health or 
other emergency for isolation care purposes or triage and treatment during a mass casualty 
event; or for providing surge capacity for a hospital during a mass casualty event or 
infrastructure failure.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon Passage  
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Property and Casualty Division  
 
Public Act 07-5 (Senate Bill 109)  
An Act Requiring Automobile Insurance Discounts for Drivers Sixty Years of Age 
and Over who Complete an Accident Prevention Course  
(Signed by Governor 4/26/2007)  
 
This act decreases, from 62 to 60, the age at which a driver is eligible for an automobile 
insurance policy premium discount for successfully completing a Department of Motor 
Vehicles-approved accident prevention course.  
By law, the premium discount must be at least 5% and apply for at least 24 months. The 
driver must complete the course within one year before applying for an initial discount. For 
any future discount, the driver must complete a course within one year before the current 
discount expires. The premium discount is effective at the policy's next renewal.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
 
Public Act 07-25 (Senate Bill 249) 
An Act Concerning Medical Malpractice Data Regarding Medical Professionals 
(Signed by Governor 5/18/2007)  
 
This act extends to insurers of any “medical professional,” instead of just insurers of 
physicians, advanced practice registered nurses, or physician assistants, the requirement to 
provide to the insurance commissioner a closed claim report. A “closed claim” is one that 
has been settled, or otherwise disposed of, and for which the insurer has paid all claims. By 
law, the insurer must submit the report on a form the commissioner prescribes within 10 
days after the last day of the calendar quarter in which a claim is closed. The report 
includes information only about claims settled under Connecticut law.  
 
The act defines “medical professional” as any person licensed or certified to provide health 
care services to individuals, including chiropractors, clinical dietitians, clinical 
psychologists, dentists, nurses, occupational speech and physical therapists, optometrists, 
pharmacists, physicians, podiatrists, and psychiatric social workers. By law, a closed claim 
report contains details about the insured and the insurer, the injury or loss, the claims 
process, and the amount paid on each claim.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
Closed Claim Reports  
By law, the insurance commissioner must aggregate the individual closed claim report data 
into a summary and annual report. The summary must include (1) an analysis of the trend 
of direct losses, incurred losses, earned premiums, and investment income as compared to 
prior years and (2) base premiums medical malpractice insurers charge for each specialty 
and the number of providers insured by specialty for each insurer. By law, the 
commissioner must annually submit the report to the Insurance and Real Estate 

Page 29 of 47 



Committee. He must also (1) make the report available to the public, (2) post it on the 
department's Internet site, and (3) provide public access to the electronic database after 
establishing that individually identifiable information about claimants and practitioners has 
been removed.  
 
Claims Process  
The report must contain details about the claims process including:  
1. whether a lawsuit was filed and, if so, in which court;  
2. its outcome;  
3. the number of other defendants, if any;  
4. the stage in the process when the claim was closed;  
5. the trial dates;  
6. the date of any judgment or settlement;  
7. whether an appeal was filed and, if so, the date filed;  
8. the resolution of the appeal and the date it was decided;  
9. the date the claim was closed; and  
10. the initial and final indemnity and expense reserve for the claim.  
 
Amount Paid on the Claim  
The report must include:  
1. the total amount of the initial judgment rendered by a jury or awarded by the court;  
2. the total amount of the settlement if no judgment was rendered or awarded or the claim 

was settled after judgment was rendered or awarded;  
3. the amount of economic and noneconomic damages, or the insurer's estimate of these 

amounts in a settlement;  
4. the amount of any interest awarded due to failure to accept an offer of compromise;  
5. the amount of any reduction or addition and the amount of final judgment after such 

reductions or additions;  
6. the amount the insurer paid;  
7. the amount the defendant paid due to a deductible or a judgment or settlement in excess 

of policy limits;  
8. the amount other insurers or defendants paid;  
9. whether a structured settlement was used;  
10. the expense assigned to and recorded with the claim, including defense and 

investigation costs but not including the actual claim payment; and  
11. any other information the commissioner determines necessary to regulate the medical 

malpractice insurance industry, ensure its solvency, and ensure that such liability 
insurance is available and affordable.  

 
 
Public Act 07-68 (House Bill 5286)  
An Act Concerning Insurance on Residential Condominiums and Flood Insurance for 
Condominiums Located in Flood Hazard Areas  
(Signed by Governor 5/30/2007)  
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For condominiums and other common interest communities governed by the Common 
Interest Ownership Act (CIOA), this act requires the association of unit owners to maintain 
flood insurance if (1) the property is located in a flood hazard area, as defined and 
determined by the National Flood Insurance Act and (2) the unit owners, by vote, require 
it. By law, common expenses for these common interest communities include the cost of 
repairing and replacing any portion of the common interest community that exceeds the 
insurance proceeds from the insurance the association must provide by law. The act 
specifies that common expenses also include any excess resulting from any applicable 
insurance deductible.  
 
The act imposes similar requirements for condominiums governed by the Condominium 
Act. For these condominiums, the requirement applies only if the condominium 
instruments or unit owners' vote requires it. The act imposes this requirement on the 
association acting through its board of directors, managing agent, or other authorized 
agent. The Act requires, instead of authorizes, them to provide other types of insurance, 
including workers' compensation, directors' indemnity, and specialized policies covering 
lands or improvements in which the unit owners' association has or shares ownership or 
other rights, if the condominium instruments or unit owners' vote requires it.  
 
Under prior law, premiums for insurance that the law requires the condominium 
associations governed by the Condominium Act to provide had to be treated as common 
expenses. This act allows the condominium instruments to instead assess the cost of the 
insurance coverage against the units in proportion to risk.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
Background  
CIOA, the Condominium Act, and the Unit Ownership Act  
Three different sets of laws govern condominiums, depending on when they were created. 
CIOA governs the creation, alteration, management, termination, and sale of 
condominiums and other common interest communities formed in Connecticut after 
January 1, 1984 (CGS § 47-200 et seq. ). The Condominium Act governs condominiums 
created from 1977 through 1983. (PA 76308; CGS §§ 47-68a to 47-90c). Condominiums 
created before the Condominium Act was adopted are governed by the Unit Ownership 
Act (PA 1963, No. 605, July 10, 1963; CGS §§ 4767 to 47-115 Revised to 1975).  
 
Certain CIOA provisions automatically apply to condominiums created in Connecticut 
before January 1, 1984, but only with respect to events and circumstances that occur after 
December 31, 1983. The CIOA insurance provisions amended by this act do not 
automatically apply to pre-CIOA condominiums (CGS § 47-216).  
 
The law permits condominiums created before January 1, 1984 to amend their governing 
instruments (declaration, bylaws, survey, or plans) to conform to portions of CIOA that do 
not automatically apply. Thus, a pre-CIOA condominium may adopt any of these CIOA 
provisions it wishes and does not have to adopt all of CIOA. Any amendment must be 
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adopted in accordance with the law that applied when the condominium was created and 
with the procedures and requirements specified by the condominium's declaration and 
bylaws (CGS § 47-218).  
 
Common Interest Community  
“Common interest community” means real property described in a declaration on which a 
person, by virtue of his ownership of a unit, is obligated to make payments for (1) real 
property taxes, (2) insurance premiums, (3) maintenance, or (4) improvement of any other 
real property other than the unit described in the declaration (CGS § 47-202 (7)).  
 
Related Law  
For condominiums governed by CIOA, to the extent required by the declaration, 
associations must assess the costs of insurance in proportion to risk (CGS § 47-257 (c)).  
 
 
Public Act 07-77 (House Bill 7300)  
An Act Establishing Measures to Mitigate Catastrophic Losses due to Hurricanes and 
Severe Storms  
(Signed by Governor 5/30/2007)  
 
Effective July 1, 2007, this act prohibits an insurer from refusing to issue or renew a 
homeowners insurance policy solely because a person has not installed permanent storm 
shutters on his or her home to mitigate loss from hurricanes and severe storms. It requires 
an insurer to offer an actuarially sound premium discount to homeowners who install 
permanent storm shutters or impact-resistant glass for loss mitigation purposes.  
 
The act authorizes the insurance commissioner to (1) establish and adopt regulations for a 
Coastal Market Assistance Program (CMAP) to help coastal-area residents obtain 
homeowners insurance and (2) require an insurer that does not issue or renew a 
homeowners policy to tell the homeowner about CMAP in writing. (The act does not 
define what it means to be “in proximity to the coastal area. ”)  The act includes certain 
owners of mobile homes as homeowners.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage, except for the insurer prohibition and premium 
discount provisions, which are effective January 1, 2008. (PA 07-4, June Special 
Session, changes the effective date of the insurer prohibition to July 1, 2007.)  
 
Background  
MOBILE HOMEOWNER  
In applying its requirements, the act includes as a homeowner a person who owns and 
occupies a mobile dwelling that is (1) equipped for year-round living, (2) permanently 
attached to a foundation on property the person owns or leases, (3) connected to utilities, 
(4) assessed as real property for tax purposes, and (5) in conformance with state and local 
laws and ordinances.  
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CMAP 
According to the act, CMAP's purpose is to help homeowners find insurance for residential 
dwellings located near the state's coastal area. The act permits CMAP to consist of a 
voluntary network of participating insurers and insurance producers that operates under the 
insurance commissioner's guidance. It permits the commissioner to adopt implementing 
regulations.  
 
Coastal Area  
In January 2007, the Insurance Department published administrative guidelines for 
underwriting coastal homeowners insurance policies. The guidelines differ if the insured 
property is within or over 2,600 feet of the coast. The department's publication, which is 
available on its web site, notes that there is no generally accepted definition of “coast” for 
property and casualty insurance purposes. In the guidelines, coast refers “only to a salt-
water ocean, sound, bay, or inlet with the distance as measured from the median high water 
mark. ”  
 
 
Public Act 07-167 (Senate Bill 1400) 
An Act Concerning the Administration of the Department of Motor Vehicles 
(Signed by Governor 6/25/2007)  
 
This act makes a number of changes to the Department of Motor Vehicles.  Only those 
sections of interest to the Connecticut Insurance Department are summarized below.  
 
Section 11 – INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS FOR MOTOR CARRIERS  
The act expands insurance requirements for certain motor carriers. By law, owners of 
certain commercial motor vehicles must file evidence with the DMV commissioner every 
six months that they have the insurance coverage or other security required by law for each 
vehicle they operate. For those carriers subject to federal financial responsibility coverage 
requirements, the commissioner has adopted the same coverage levels as state 
requirements. The minimum federal financial responsibility limits generally apply to (1) 
for-hire carriers with gross vehicle weight ratings over 10,000 pounds carrying non-
hazardous cargo in interstate commerce, (2) for-hire and private carriers in interstate or 
intrastate commerce carrying hazardous materials requiring warning placards under federal 
law, and (3) any vehicles carrying passengers for hire in interstate commerce.  
 
The state applies the federal minimum levels of coverage for vehicles (1) engaged in 
intrastate commerce with gross vehicle weight ratings of 18,001 pounds or more; (2) 
engaged in interstate commerce with gross vehicle weight ratings of 10,001 pounds or 
more; (3) designed to transport more than 15 passengers, including the driver; and (4) used 
to transport hazardous materials requiring placards, regardless of vehicle size. Generally,  
1. non-hazardous property carriers subject to federal limits must have a minimum of 

$750,000 liability coverage;  
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2. hazardous materials carriers must have either $1 million or $5 million in liability 
coverage depending on the classification of the hazardous material carried; and  

3. passenger carriers must have $1. 5 million if the vehicle seats fewer than 15 passengers 
and $5 million if it seats 16 or more.  

 
The act requires that all for-hire carriers and private carriers of property or passengers, and 
the owner of any vehicle that transports hazardous material requiring warning placards 
under federal law show in their semiannual filings with DMV that they maintain the 
minimum level of financial responsibility the federal regulations specify. This appears to 
extend the higher federal, rather than state limits, to certain types of carriers (e. g., private 
carriers with over 10,000 pounds gross weight ratings carrying non-hazardous cargo in 
intrastate commerce or passenger carriers engaged in intrastate commerce, which, because 
they are not currently covered by the federal limits, may not have to show the same levels 
of financial responsibility as carriers that are explicitly under the federal regulations).  
 
Section 31 – RECOVERY OF TOWING CHARGES BY TOWERS  
Under prior law, when a tower removed a motor vehicle from the highway or from private 
property and brought it to its storage facility, the tower was granted a lien upon the vehicle 
for storage charges. The act expands this lien authority to include the towing charges as 
well as the storage charges. The lien is usually satisfied either by (1) the vehicle's owner if 
he or she comes to claim the vehicle or (2) the proceeds of any sale of the vehicle pursuant 
to the statutory requirements governing how towers may dispose of unclaimed vehicles.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
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Human Resources – Agency Operations – Other  
 
 
Public Act 07-3 (House Bill 5706) 
An Act Concerning Leave for State Employees Providing Disaster Relief 
(Signed by Governor 4/25/2007)  
 
This act gives a state employee who is a certified American Red Cross disaster service 
volunteer up to 15 working days each year, rather than 14 calendar days, to participate in 
Red Cross specialized disaster relief services without loss of pay or accrued leave time 
(vacation, sick, or earned overtime). By law, the leave must be (1) approved by the 
employee's supervisor and (2) requested by the Red Cross.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
 
Public Act 07-27 (Senate Bill 1102) 
An Act Requiring the Use of Generally Accepted Accounting Principles for Certain 
Audits 
(Signed by Governor 5/18/2007)  
 
This act permits the insurance commissioner to accept from certain “employers' mutual 
associations” financial statements that use generally accepted accounting procedures 
(GAAP) if the statement includes a conversion to statutory accounting procedures (SAP). 
The association must submit the financial statements quarterly and annually.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
Background  
EMPLOYERS' MUTUAL ASSOCIATION FINANCIAL STATEMENTS  
The act permits the insurance commissioner to accept financial statements prepared using 
GAAP if the statements include a conversion to SAP from an employers' mutual 
association that (1) was organized before June 6, 1996, (2) is composed exclusively of 
health care providers, and (3) derives its premiums entirely from health care organizations.  
Annually by March 1, the association must submit to the commissioner a financial 
statement covering the preceding calendar year that:  
1. is audited by an independent certified public accountant; 
2. is prepared in a manner the commissioner prescribes; 
3. is signed and sworn to by the association's president or vice president and secretary or 

assistant secretary; and 
4. includes an actuary's or reserve specialist's certification of reserve liabilities prepared in 

accordance with Insurance Department regulations. 
The association must also submit quarterly, unaudited financial statements using GAAP if 
the statements include a conversion to SAP. 
 
 

Page 35 of 47 



Employers' Mutual Associations  
An employers' mutual association is a mutual association formed by a group of employers 
in the same or similar trade or business with substantially similar degrees of risk of injury 
to employees to insure the employers' liabilities under the state Workers' Compensation 
Act. This is an alternative to the employers purchasing commercial insurance.  
By law, the insurance commissioner has financial oversight of these associations and 
periodically conducts a financial examination of them following the statutorily prescribed 
standards applicable to licensed insurance companies.  
 
Statutory Accounting Principles  
Insurance companies prepare their financial statements using SAP, a set of accounting 
regulations the National Association of Insurance Commissioners developed. The SAP 
method of preparing financial statements is regarded as more conservative than the GAAP 
method.  
 
 
Public Act 07-54 (House Bill 6982) 
An Act Making Minor and Technical Changes to the Insurance Statutes 
(Signed by Governor 5/22/2007)  
 
This act makes technical, non-substantive revisions to the insurance statutes.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  
 
 
Public Act 07-112 (Senate Bill 1186)  
An Act Concerning State Employees Serving in Operation Jump Start or Certain 
Other Operations  
(Signed by Governor 6/11/2007)  
 
This act extends (1) paid leave to state employees called by the president or governor to 
active service in “Operation Jump Start” at the border of the United States and Mexico and 
(2) health insurance coverage to such employees and their dependents. These employees 
get (1) full state pay for active-duty leave up to 30 days and (2) payment of the difference 
between their state pay (including longevity) and military pay after 30 days. These 
employees and their dependents continue to receive state health insurance coverage for the 
duration of the call-up as long as the employees continue to make their co-payments at pre-
activation levels.  
 
The law already provides these same benefits to state employees called to active service in 
(1) Operation Enduring Freedom (Afghanistan war), (2) Operation Noble Eagle (anti-
terrorism activities within the United States), (3) any related military or emergency 
operation whose mission was substantially changed because of the September 11, 2001 
terrorist attacks, (4) any federal or state action authorized by the governor to support 
Operation Liberty Shield or combat terrorism in the United States, and (5) military action 
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authorized by the president against Iraq. The act prohibits employers from denying benefits 
to state employees called to active service in the above conflicts solely because of any 
collective bargaining agreement classifying their leave as recess or other equivalent leave 
rather than vacation. These include bargaining agreements covering state employees in 
teaching, instructional, or professional positions in Unified School Districts 1, 2, or 3.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  
 
Background  
EMPLOYEES CALLED TO ACTIVE SERVICE  
By law, state employees called to active service during various wars and conflicts continue 
to accrue vacation time to which they would have been entitled had they continued 
working in their state jobs. The act specifies that they must continue to accrue equivalent 
leave, which it defines as leave classified as other than vacation or sick time, including 
recess. It specifies that employees must be credited with their accrued vacation time, 
equivalent leave time, and sick time. But if the accrued time would cause an employee to 
exceed any limit placed on leave by statutes, regulations, or collective bargaining 
agreement, the employer must waive the limit to allow the employee to use the excess 
leave before the last of the following:  
1. from the date of the employee's discharge from active service until he or she returns to 

state employment,  
2. not later than 120 calendar days after the employee returns to state employment, or  
3. not later than 120 calendar days after the employee is credited with the excess leave 

time.  
 
 
Public Act 07-181 (Senate Bill 1048)  
An Act Concerning the Investigation of a Discrimination Complaint Against or by an 
Agency Head or State Commission or Board Member  
(Signed by Governor 7/5/2007)  
 
This act requires investigations of discrimination complaints made against or by a state 
agency head, a board or commission member, or an affirmative action officer (AAO) to be 
shifted to another agency.  
By law, each state agency, department, board, or commission must designate an AAO. 
Prior law required the AAO to (1) investigate all discrimination complaints made against 
the entity and (2) report all the findings and recommendations to the entity's commissioner 
or director for proper action. Under the act, complaints against or by an agency head, board 
or commission member, or AAO must be referred to the Commission on Human Rights 
and Opportunities (CHRO) for review and, if appropriate, to the Department of 
Administrative Services (DAS) for investigation. Also, it requires that a discrimination 
complaint against CHRO be handled by DAS and a complaint against DAS be handled by 
CHRO.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage  
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Background  
COMPLAINTS AGAINST OR BY AN AGENCY HEAD  
The act requires all discrimination complaints made against or by an agency head, board or 
commission member, or AAO to be reviewed by CHRO and, if appropriate, referred to 
DAS for investigation. CHRO must refer the complaint to DAS for review and, if 
appropriate, investigation, when the complaint is made against or by CHRO's executive 
head, commission member, or AAO.  If the discrimination complaint is made against or by 
the DAS commissioner or AAO, the act requires CHRO to review and investigate, if 
appropriate.  
 
It also requires the person or entity investigating the complaint against an agency head, 
board or commission member, or AAO to report any findings to the entity or person that 
appointed the agency head or member. For example, when the complaint is against an 
agency commissioner, the findings must be reported to the governor.   The act specifies 
that the new complaint provision applies to complaints pending on or after the act's 
passage.  
 
NOTIFYING AGENCIES OF COMPLAINTS TO CHRO OR EEOC  
By law, an AAO is barred from representing his or her own agency before CHRO or the 
federal Equal Employment Opportunities Commission in a complaint against the agency. 
The attorney general must handle the complaint. The act also requires the attorney general, 
or his designee, to provide the agency AAO with a copy of the complaint. The AAO must 
investigate the complaint as required by law.  
 
The act requires the attorney general's designee to complete state and federal 
discrimination law and investigation training that CHRO and the Permanent Commission 
on the Status of Women conduct for all AAOs pursuant to law. The law requires a 
minimum of 10 hours of training the first year and a minimum of five hours each following 
year.  
 
 
Public Act 07-213 (Senate Bill 1182)  
An Act Concerning Administrative Procedures of the Department of Public Works, 
Auditing of Large Construction Contracts, Environmental Review of Certain Land 
Transfers, Grant Payments to Municipalities, Advertising on State Building and 
Certain Exemptions to the Freedom of Information Act  
(Signed by Governor 7/10/2007)  
 
This act makes several unrelated changes affecting:  
1. state construction and contracts,  
2. state real property,  
3. the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA),  
4. certain state grant payments to municipalities and neighborhood revitalization zones 

(NRZs), and  
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5. the comptroller.  
 
Only those sections of the law of direct impact to the Connecticut Insurance Department 
are summarized below.  
 
FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT §§ 22 AND 23  
Exempt Records  
The act makes changes to the public's access to records. It exempts from disclosure under 
FOIA (1) the name and address of any minor enrolled in any parks and recreation program 
administered or sponsored by a public agency and (2) certain documents created during the 
contract award process. 
Concerning contract awards, the act exempts responses to public agency requests for 
proposals or bid solicitations, and any related record or file the agency creates, if the 
agency's chief executive officer certifies that the public interest in confidentiality 
outweighs the public interest in disclosure. The documents may remain confidential only 
until the contract is executed or negotiations have ended, whichever occurs first.  
 
Public Meeting Notices  
The act requires state agencies, other than the General Assembly, to file their regular 
meeting agendas with the secretary of the state. It requires local agencies to file their 
agendas with the town clerk or the clerk of a multi-town district or agency, whichever is 
applicable. By law, agencies must file notices at least 24 hours before the meetings.  
 
The act requires state agencies and the secretary of the state to post the agendas on their 
websites but does not specify when the postings must occur.  
 
The law, unchanged by the act, requires state and local agencies to file the agendas in their 
respective offices. Under prior law, they filed their agendas with the secretary of the state 
or the appropriate clerk only if they had no regular office or place of business. The General 
Assembly is exempt from the filing requirement.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon passage, except the DPW commissioner's authority to 
contract with consultants is effective July 1, 2007 and the provisions addressing (1) 
labor and material bonds, (2) the review of state property and the related account, and 
(3) FOIA are effective October 1, 2007.  
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Other Acts of Interest 
 
 
Public Act 07-31 (Senate Bill 1378)  
An Act Concerning the Workers’ Compensation Medical Practitioners’ Fee Schedule 
and Time for Filing a Workers’ Compensation Appeal  
(Signed by Governor 5/18/2007)  
 
This act requires the Workers' Compensation Commission chairman, by April 1, 2008, to 
develop, implement, and annually update a new medical practitioners' fee schedule using 
values from the Medicare resource-based relative value scale (RBRVS). The Medicare 
RBRVS conversion must be revenue neutral to the workers' compensation system. The fee 
schedule is used as a basis for physician and other practitioner fees for services provided 
under the Workers' Compensation Act. The chairman must also implement coding 
guidelines that conform to the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services' Correct 
Coding Initiative. For services rendered under workers' compensation in cases where there 
is no established Medicare RBRVS, the act authorizes the chairman to make necessary 
adjustments to the fee schedule.  
 
The act expands the list of people who can receive fees for service to include “other 
persons. ” By law, approved physicians, surgeons, podiatrists, optometrists, and dentists 
can receive fees under workers' compensation, but, in practice, other medical professionals 
also receive fees. The act also delays the start of the 20-day deadline to file an appeal of a 
workers' compensation award or order to the Compensation Review Board in situations 
when a ruling is pending on a subsequently filed motion. Under the act, the 20-day period 
to file an appeal with the board begins when a compensation commissioner rules on the 
motion. Under prior law, the 20-day period began when a commissioner issued an award 
or order, regardless of any subsequent motions.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
Background  
Medicare Resource-Based Relative Value Scale (RBRVS)  
This scale ranks medical services according to the relative costs of resources needed to 
produce the services. Medicare uses three components to calculate resource costs (and 
therefore the relative value) of each medical service: (1) physician (or other provider) 
work, 55%; (2) practice expense, 42%; and (3) liability insurance, 3%. The total relative 
value of a particular medical service is multiplied by a conversion factor to determine the 
Medicare fee. The RBRVS method is familiar to and accepted by all physician practices 
because Medicare is the nation's largest medical services payer.  
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Public Act 07-80 (Senate Bill 1036)  
An Act Concerning Notification to Injured Employees of the Discontinuation or 
Reduction of Workers’ Compensation Benefits  
(Signed by Governor 6/1/2007)  
 
This act extends, from 10 to 15 days, the period during which an employee can request a 
hearing after receiving a workers' compensation benefit reduction or discontinuation 
notice. By law, the employee has the right to request such a hearing. If there is no request, 
benefits are automatically reduced or discontinued. The act also requires that certain 
additional information be included in the form notifying an employee of the pending 
reduction or discontinuation.  
It also increases the maximum penalty, from $500 to $1,000, for an employer's or insurer's 
undue delay of a compensation payment due to such party's fault or neglect. The act 
permits the compensation commissioner hearing the claim to assess the penalty for each 
delay.  
The act requires the penalty be paid to the claimant, but existing law requires all fines and 
penalties collected under this provision be paid to the treasurer and deposited in the Second 
Injury Fund.  
It also makes a conforming change.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
Background  
NEW NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS  
In addition to the existing notification requirements (such as stating the employee's name 
and employer) the act requires the notice to identify:  
1. the employee's attorney or other representative;  
2. the insurer;  
3. the injury, its nature, and the date it occurred; and  
4. the city or town in which the injury occurred.  
(In practice, the prior form used by the Workers' Compensation Commission required this 
information.)  
The notice must also include medical documentation that establishes the basis for 
discontinuing or reducing benefits and identifies the employee's attending physician. Under 
prior law, the employer had to state the reason for the reduction or discontinuation of 
benefits, and the “attending surgeon” had to sign the form and indicate what kind of work 
the employee could perform.  
 
NEW REQUIRED LANGUAGE  
The act requires that the notice form include the following statement: 
 “If you object to the reduction or discontinuation of benefits as stated in this notice, YOU 
MUST REQUEST A HEARING NOT LATER THAN 15 DAYS after your receipt of this 
notice, or this notice will automatically be approved.”  
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Under prior law, the form had to state: “The employee may request a hearing by the 
compensation commissioner on the discontinuance or reduction set forth in this notice 
within 10 days of receipt of this notice. ”  In addition, the new required language specifies 
that the employee (1) must call the workers' compensation district office handling the 
claim to request a hearing, (2) must be prepared to provide medical and other 
documentation to support the claim, and (3) should note the date the notice was received. 
This language was not required under prior law, although in practice the prior form advised 
employees to be prepared to provide medical documentation at the hearing to support their 
claim.  
 
 
Public Act 07-89 (Senate Bill 931)  
An Act Concerning Penalties for Concealing Employment or Other Information 
Related to Workers’ Compensation Premiums  
(Signed by Governor 6/5/2007)  
 
This act authorizes the labor commissioner to issue a stop-work order to an employer who:  
1. fails to obtain insurance or provide satisfactory proof of self-insurance for the 

employer's workers' compensation liability or  
2. intends to injure, defraud, or deceive the employer's workers' compensation insurer by 

knowingly (a) misrepresenting an employee as an independent contractor (and thus not 
required to be covered by workers' compensation insurance) or (b) providing false, 
incomplete, or misleading information to the insurance company on the number of its 
employees in order to pay a lower premium.  

 
By law, an employer who misrepresents the number of employees or provides misleading 
information is subject to (1) a class D felony (see Table on Penalties) and (2) a civil 
penalty from the Labor Department of $300 for each violation. The act subjects an 
employer who fails to obtain insurance or self-insurance to these penalties. The law also 
subjects an employer who knowingly and willfully fails to obtain insurance or self-
insurance to the penalties for a class D felony and civil penalties (see BACKGROUND for 
other penalties for these violations).  
The act includes procedures for issuing and terminating stop-work orders, imposes 
penalties for violating stop-work orders, and requires the labor commissioner to adopt 
regulations to implement the act's stop-work order provisions.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
Background  
INVESTIGATIONS AND STOP-WORK ORDERS  
Investigations  
The law authorizes the labor commissioner to investigate complaints that an employer 
misrepresented an employee as an independent contractor or provided misleading 
information to the insurance company on the number of its employees in order to pay a 
lower premium. The law allows the commissioner to subpoena witnesses and records and 
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fine an employer or any officer or agent who hinders an investigation. Each day of a 
violation is a separate offense. The act increases the fine from between $25 and $100 to 
between $100 and $250.  
The act applies these provisions to investigations of an employer's failure to obtain 
workers' compensation insurance or provide satisfactory proof of self-insurance.  
 
Stop-Work Orders  
The act requires the commissioner to issue a stop-work order within 72 hours after an 
investigation determines that the employer committed one of these violations. The stop-
work order must require stopping all business operations but only for the specific place of 
business or employment for which the violation exists. The stop-work order is effective 
when served on the employer or at the place of business or employment. It can be served at 
a place of business or employment by posting a copy conspicuously at the location.  
The act requires the order to remain in effect until the commissioner orders it released on 
finding that the employer has complied with the workers' compensation requirement or 
after a hearing requested by the employer. The act allows the employer to request a hearing 
in writing within 10 days after the order is issued. The hearing is conducted according to 
the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act.  
 
The act provides that the stop-work order and any penalties imposed under these 
provisions against a corporation, partnership, or sole proprietorship are effective against 
any successor entity that (1) is engaged in the same or an equivalent trade or activity and 
(2) has at least one of the same principals or officers.  
Under the act, an employer who violates a stop-work order is liable to the Labor 
Department for a civil penalty of $1,000 for each day of the violation.  
 
Other Provisions on Investigations and Penalties for Violating Workers' Compensation 
Insurance and Self-Insurance Requirements  
The law requires the state treasurer's investigations unit to investigate an employer for not 
complying with the insurance or self-insurance requirements at the request of the Second 
Injury Fund's custodian, the Workers' Compensation Commission, or a workers' 
compensation commissioner. The investigator issues a citation to require an employer in 
violation to meet the requirements and provide notice of a hearing and possible penalties. 
The commissioner conducts a hearing and if the employer is not in compliance, assesses a 
civil penalty. The commissioner assesses an additional penalty for each day the employer 
continues in non-compliance. Failure to pay within 90 days can result in a civil action to 
double the penalty.  
An employer who knowingly and willfully fails to comply with the insurance and self-
insurance requirements commits a class D felony. This applies to an owner of a sole 
proprietorship, a partner in a partnership, a principal in a limited liability company, or a 
corporate officer (CGS § 31-288(c) to (f)).  
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Public Act 07-130 (Senate Bill 1451) 
An Act Establishing the Connecticut Homecare Option Program for the Elderly 
(Signed by Governor 6/19/2007)  
 
This act establishes a Connecticut Home Care Option Program for the Elderly and a 
Connecticut Home Care Trust Fund, administered by the state comptroller. The program 
and the fund must help people plan and save for the costs of certain elderly services that 
(1) are either not covered by a long-term health insurance policy or supplement services 
covered by such a policy or by Medicare and (2) will allow them to remain in their homes 
or live in a non-institutional setting as they age.  
 
The act allows participants to establish individual savings accounts within the fund and 
allows an account's designated beneficiary to withdraw funds from it for qualified home 
care expenses. It exempts interest earned on fund accounts from the state income tax and 
makes any unspent funds remaining in an account when a beneficiary dies part of his or her 
estate.  
The act specifies the comptroller's duties and authority over the program and the trust fund, 
establishes standards for investing the fund's assets and for offering the fund to investors, 
and creates a 19-member advisory committee for the program.   Finally, the act eliminates 
the 250person limit on the number of participants in a state-funded pilot program that 
allows seniors to hire their own personal care assistance (PCA) attendants directly instead 
of going though a home health care agency.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007, except for the repeal of the PCA pilot program 
participation limit, which takes effect July 1, 2007. The income tax exemption applies to 
tax years starting on or after January 1, 2007.  
 
QUALIFIED HOME CARE EXPENSES 
The act allows home care program account beneficiaries to withdraw funds from an 
account to pay for “qualified home care expenses,” which are expenses for instrumental 
activities of daily living, such as chore, homemaker, or companion services; adult day care; 
preparing meals; home-delivered meals; or transportation. They must be either (1) services 
performed by a Connecticut-licensed home care services provider, a homemaker or 
companion service registered with the Department of Consumer Protection, or a personal 
care assistant, or (2) licensed transportation services. They must also be recommended by a 
physician. Before a beneficiary can withdraw money from an account, a physician must 
certify to the fund that the beneficiary needs the qualified services to live independently in 
his or her home or another non-institutional setting. 
 
INCOME TAX EXEMPTION 
The act exempts interest a designated beneficiary earns on a home care program account 
from the state income tax. It does so by allowing the beneficiary to deduct any such 
interest includable in his or her federal adjusted gross income (AGI) when calculating his 
or her Connecticut AGI for state income tax purposes. 
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1. COMPTROLLER'S AUTHORITY AND DUTIES 
On behalf and for the purposes of the fund, the act allows the comptroller to: 
receive and invest its money;  

2. procure insurance for its assets and activities;  
3. establish funds within the larger trust fund and maintain separate accounts for each 

beneficiary;  
4. establish consistent terms for operating the trust, such as (a) ways of making 

contributions, (b) withdrawal, termination, and payment transfers (including to an 
eligible home care provider), (c) penalties for improper use of funds, (d) changing 
beneficiaries, and (e) administration charges or fees;  

5. enter contractual agreements for services for the fund and pay for them with the fund's 
earnings;  

6. apply for and receive public or private donations to enable the fund to achieve its 
objectives;  

7. adopt regulations;  
8. sue and be sued; and  
9. take other necessary action to carry out the act's purposes or that is incidental to her 

duties under the act.  
 
TRUST FUND INVESTMENTS  
The act requires the comptroller to invest the fund in a reasonable way to achieve its 
objectives; exercise a prudent person's care and discretion; and consider such things as rate 
of return, risk, maturity, portfolio diversification, liquidity, projected disbursements and 
expenditures, and expected deposits and other gifts. The comptroller cannot require the 
fund to invest directly in Connecticut state or municipal bonds or other funds or 
investments (if any) she administers. She must keep fund assets continuously invested 
according to its objectives until they are (1) used by beneficiaries for qualified home care 
expenses, (2) used to pay the fund's operating expenses, or (3) returned to depositors and 
beneficiaries according to the participation agreement between the fund and its depositors.  
 
FUND OFFERING AND SOLICITATION Under the act, fund material intended for 
distribution to prospective investors does not have to be filed, and fund investments do not 
have to be registered, with the banking commissioner. But the comptroller must get written 
advice from counsel, the Securities and Exchange Commission, or both, that the trust and 
participation in it are not subject to federal securities laws. The act promises that the state 
will not alter participants' rights until all the fund's obligations are discharged and contracts 
performed, unless the law makes adequate provision for their protection. It allows the trust 
to include this promise in its participation agreements and other contracts.  
 
ADVISORY COMMITTEE The act establishes a 19-member advisory committee for the 
program consisting of a provider of home care services for the elderly and a physician 
specializing in geriatrics, both appointed by the governor, and the following officials or 
their designees:  
1. the state treasurer, state comptroller, and social services commissioner; 
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2. a Commission on Aging representative; 
3. the director of the long-term care partnership policy program within the Office of 

Policy and Management; and 
4. the chairpersons and ranking members of the Human Services, Aging, and Finance, 

Revenue and Bonding committees. 
The committee must meet at least once a year. The comptroller convenes the meetings. 
 
 
Public Act 07-161 (Senate Bill 845)  
An Act Concerning Survivor Benefits  
(Signed by Governor 6/19/2007)  
 
This act requires a municipality that provides survivor pension benefits for paid police and 
firefighters who die in the line of duty to continue to provide the benefits after the 
surviving spouse remarries. By law, total survivor benefits for paid police and firefighters 
include the workers' compensation survivor benefit plus the municipality's survivor 
benefit. The combined benefits cannot exceed 100% of the weekly pay that employees in 
the same position as the deceased employee receive during the compensable period. The 
act specifies that the combined weekly benefit cannot exceed 100% of the maximum rate 
for the same position. By law, workers' compensation survivor benefits end when the 
surviving spouse remarries or the dependent children reach 18.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: October 1, 2007  
 
 
Public Act 07-165 (Senate Bill 1270)  
An Act Concerning Notice in Dram Shop Actions Involving Death or Incapacity and 
Manufacturer Permits for Brew Pubs  
(Signed by Governor 6/25/2007)  
 
Summary references to brew pubs have been deleted.  
 
The Dram Shop Act makes a liquor seller liable if the seller or his or her employee sells 
liquor to an already intoxicated person who injures a person or property. An injured party 
has 120 days to notify the seller of an incident and his or her intention to sue for damages.  
This act extends the deadline for filing the notice to 180 days if the injured person dies or 
is incapacitated.  
EFFECTIVE DATE: The Dram Shop Act provisions take effect July 1, 2007 and apply 
to causes of action arising on or after that date.  
 
Background  
Dram Shop Act  
The Dram Shop Act does not require proof that the seller acted negligently. The maximum 
amount that can be recovered is $250,000 for injuries to a single person or in aggregate for 
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injuries to more than one person. The court determines the actual amount of liability in a 
particular case.  
 
 
Public Act 07-217 (House Bill 7409) 
An Act Concerning the Revisor’s Technical Corrections to the General Statutes, 
Expanding the Membership of the Sentencing Task Force and Revising Certain 
Reporting Deadlines 
(Signed by Governor 7/12/2007)  
 
This act makes a variety of technical, non-substantive corrections to the General Statutes. 
Changes in Sections 156 through Section 159 relate to the Insurance Statutes.  
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