CID: New Releases (11/09/2017) - Insurance Commissioner: Veterans Can Be Reimbursed For Licensing Exam Fees

{Connecticut Insurance Department}
STATE OF CONNECTICUT
Insurance Department
 
Katharine L. Wade
Commissioner
 
 
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
 CONTACT: 
Donna Tommelleo
 
860-297-3958
November 9th, 2017


{American flag}
 
Insurance Commissioner: Veterans Can Be Reimbursed
For Licensing Exam Fees

Insurance Commissioner Katharine L. Wade today announced that U.S. veterans applying for insurance licenses are eligible to be reimbursed for licensing exam fees.

“We are honored to offer this service to our veterans working in the insurance industry in Connecticut. Under this program, veterans can be reimbursed for exam fees each time they take a test,” Commissioner Wade said. “The men and women of the military who serve our nation and defend our way of life certainly are deserving of this.”

The Insurance Department is participating through an initiative of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) and the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs reimburses exam fees for the following 17 licenses:

Test Name Fee
Property & Casualty Insurance $79
Producers Property Insurance $25
Producers Casualty Insurance $25
Producers Personal Lines Insurance $25
Life, Accident & Health Insurance $79
Life Insurance $54
Producers Accident & Health Insurance $54
Casualty Adjuster All lines Insurance $30
Casualty Adjuster Auto Only $59
Casualty Adjusters Exam for Workers Comp $30
Surety Bail Bond Agent $25
Motor Vehicle Physical Damage Appraiser $90
Consultant’s Life/Accident & Health Insurance $36
Consultants Property/Casualty Insurance $36
Public Adjuster $25
Surplus Lines Broker $30
Casualty Adjuster All Lines Except Workers Comp $59


For more information contact Department’s Licensing Unit at: cid.licensing@ct.gov or visit the following DVA websites:


###
 
About the Connecticut Insurance Department: The mission of the Connecticut Insurance Department is to protect consumers through regulation of the industry, outreach, education and advocacy. The Department recovers an average of $4 million yearly on behalf of consumers and regulates the industry by ensuring carriers adhere to state insurance laws and regulations and are financially solvent to pay claims. The Department’s annual budget is funded through assessments from the insurance industry. Each year, the Department returns an average of $100 million a year to the state General Fund in license fees, premium taxes, fines and other revenue sources to support various state programs, including childhood immunization.
 
 
For help with all your insurance issues:
  • Email us at insurance@ct.gov
  • Ask a question or file a complaint online
  • Call the Consumer Helpline at 800-203-3447 or 860-297-3900.
  • Sign up for e-alerts to get the latest news, warnings and rate changes that may affect your premium
  • Download consumer FAQs on health, homeowner and auto coverage
  • Use the Department’s Speakers Bureau for public events.
  • Visit our Web site and follow the Department on Facebook, Twitter or YouTube
 


Content Last Modified on 11/9/2017 11:04:07 AM