CCT: CCT Seeks Nominations for the 2011 Governor's Awards and Distinguished Advocates

The Connecticut Commission On Culture & Tourism Seeks Nominations for
2011 Governorís Awards for Excellence in Culture & Tourism
and the Distinguished Advocates Awards

Nomination Deadline is March 4, 2011

Guidelines and nomination forms:
Governorís Awards for Excellence in Culture & Tourism
Distinguished Advocates

HARTFORD, Conn. (January 25, 2011) Ė The Connecticut Commission on Culture & Tourism (CCT), seeks nominations for the 2011 Governorís Awards for Excellence in Culture & Tourism and Distinguished Advocates Awards. Winners will be honored on Wednesday, April 27, 2011 at the Legislative Office Building in Hartford.

Governorís Awards for Excellence in Culture & Tourism
The Governorís Awards for Excellence in Culture & Tourism honor Connecticutís most accomplished individuals and organizations for their outstanding contributions in the fields of performing, visual or literary arts; film, video or digital media; history, heritage or historic preservation or tourism.

"From Mark Twain, Harriet Beecher Stowe to Charles Ives, Eugene OíNeill and Wallace Stevens, from the stone house in Guilford to the glass house in New Canaan, Connecticutís heritage includes literary and artistic heroes of global proportions," said Governor Dannel P. Malloy. "As we celebrate the legacy of the past, it is befitting that we recognize the accomplishments of the present. The Governorís Awards celebrate the individuals and organizations that make exceptional contributions to the cultural enrichment of Connecticut and the world."

"These awards recognize individuals and organizations whose achievements and contributions help make our state the most sought after place to live and work and an ideal destination to visit," said Karen Senich, executive director of the Commission on Culture & Tourism.

Winners of the Governorís Awards for Excellence in Culture & Tourism are selected based on one or more of the following criteria: magnitude of achievement, level of recognition brought by the achievement and sustained contribution to the field and to the state.

Past recipients of the Governorís Awards for Excellence in Culture & Tourism include: Barkley L. Hendricks, visual artist; Connecticut Humanities Council; Diane Smith, Emmy Award winning news anchor, producer, reporter and TV journalist; ESPN, 24-hour, multinational sports broadcasting network and leader in digital media and technology; Philip Roth, author; Smith Edwards Architects, architecture firm dedicated to historic preservation/reuse projects; Campbell Scott, actor and director; Jacques Pepin, celebrity chef and cookbook author; William Morris Meredith, poet; Robert A.M. Stern, architect and dean of the Yale School of Architecture; Barry Levinson, film director; and Robert D. Ballard, underwater archaeologist and founder and president of the Institute for Exploration at Mystic Aquarium; Michael Wilson, artistic director of the Hartford Stage; Gene Wilder, actor, writer, director and producer; Vita West Muir, founder of the Litchfield Jazz Festival; and Joan D. Hedrick, Pulitzer Prize winner.

Distinguished Advocates Awards
Distinguished Advocates Awards recognize the exemplary contributions of volunteers in the arts, film, historic preservation or tourism in Connecticut. The awards honor individuals who through their tireless volunteerism have made a significant impact on culture and tourism in communities across the state.

Recipients of the 2010 Distinguished Advocates awards included:
Fred T. Blish of Manchester, for his 50+ years as the "guiding force" and founding member of the all-volunteer organization, the Little Theatre of Manchester.

Coleman H. Casey of Hartford, for his 30+ years of hard work and dedication to the Hartford arts community and his service as a trustee or board member of more than 15 organizations.

John Frantzis of Middlebury, for his 50+ years of dedication to the Quassy Amusement Park in Middlebury and his continuous advocacy for tourism in Northwestern Connecticut.

Rose Gaudio Lamy of Wallingford, for her passion and energy as a tourism ambassador and for her unyielding love for the "Great State of Connecticut".
Donna J. McCalla of Amston, for her tireless efforts to revitalize Hebronís history and its historic properties, structures and landmarks.

Marian OíKeefe of Seymour, for her 50+ years of enthusiastic commitment to learning the history of whatever Connecticut town she resided in Ė seven - and for her dedication to raise public awareness of Connecticutís rich local and state history.



About the Connecticut Commission on Culture & Tourism

The Connecticut Commission on Culture & Tourism brings together tourism, history and the arts. Its mission is to preserve and promote Connecticutís cultural and tourism assets in order to enhance the quality of life and economic vitality of the state. For more information, log on to


Karen Senich
Executive Director
Connecticut Commission on Culture & Tourism

(860) 256-2727 (Leigh Johnson)