CAES: Valley Laboratory

Valley Laboratory

The Connecticut Valley, with its deep fertile soils and accommodating climate attracted the first settlers and remains the center of the State’s agriculture today. The Valley Laboratory in Windsor was established by the Board of Control in 1921 to investigate cigar wrapper tobacco production and disease control. While research on the culture of shade and broadleaf tobacco continues today,  scientists now seek practical methods for controlling plant diseases, insect pests and weeds in a variety of crops including fruits, vegetables, ornamental trees and shrubs. In forests, entomologists are exploring biological control of introduced insect pests including hemlock woolly adelgid. Diagnostic services are provided to commercial growers and homeowners to identify plants, plant pathogens and diseases and insect pests of plants and human health concern as well as provide knowledge of the current management tools that are available and appropriate.  Soil nutrient and pH testing is also conducted to allow successful plant growth on farms and landscapes while protecting environmental resources.

Valley Laboratory, Windsor, CT
Connecticut Nursery and Landscape Assocation Discovery and Education Garden
Garden Brochure (PDF Format) / Garden Listing (PDF Format)
 
The Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station
Valley Laboratory
153 Cook Hill Road
P.O. Box 248
Windsor, CT 06095
Fax: (860) 683-4987

LaMondia, James A.: Chief Scientist, Department Head
E-mail: James.LaMondia@ct.gov
Voice: (860) 683-4982

Aulakh, Jatinder S.: Assistant Agricultural Scientist II
E-mail: Jatinder.Aulakh@ct.gov
Voice:  (860) 683-4984

Bildad, Isaac K.: Custodian
Voice: (860) 683-4977

Canepa-Morrison, Jane: Agricultural Research Technician II
E-mail:  Jane.Canepa-Morrison@ct.gov 
Voice: (860) 683-4977

Cheah, Carole A.: Assistant Agricultural Scientist II
E-mail: Carole.Cheah@ct.gov 
Voice: (860) 683-4980

Child, Nathaniel R.: Agricultural Technician I
E-mail: Nathaniel.Child@ct.gov
Voice: (860) 683-4977

Cowles, Richard S.: Agricultural Scientist
E-mail: Richard.Cowles@ct.gov
Voice: (860) 683-4983

Fengler, Jeffrey: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Jeffrey.Fengler@ct.gov 
Voice: (860) 285-7418

Hiskes, Rose T.: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Rose.Hiskes@ct.gov 
Voice: (860) 683-4977

Li, DeWei: Agricultural Scientist
E-mail: DeWei.Li@ct.gov 
Voice: (860) 683-4979

Preste, James J.: Research Farm Manager
E-mail: James.Preste@ct.gov  
Voice: (860) 683-4981

Riddle, Diane: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Diane.Riddle@ct.gov
Voice: (860) 683-4977

Salvas, Michelle R.: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Michelle.Salvas@ct.gov
Voice: (860) 683-4977

EMERITUS
Rathier, Thomas M.
E-mail: Thomas.Rathier@ct.gov
Voice: (860) 683-4977





Content Last Modified on 8/30/2017 12:35:25 PM