CAES: Environmental Sciences

Environmental Sciences

The Department of Environmental Sciences conducts fundamental and applied research in diverse areas related to soil and water quality, arthropod vector-borne diseases, and aquatic invasive species.  The Department runs the Connecticut Mosquito and Arbovirus Surveillance Program, which monitors transmission of viral diseases such as West Nile and eastern equine encephalitis.  The Department runs the Invasive Aquatic Plant program, which surveys aquatic vegetation and water chemistry in Connecticut’s freshwater ponds and lakes, and develops and conducts management strategies for controlling invasive species.  Lastly, the Department runs a soil testing laboratory that analyzes samples from farms, homes, and commercial grounds for nutrient levels, and then recommends steps to improve soil fertility.

Department scientists are studying the behavior of pesticides, organic contaminants and engineered nanomaterials in the environment, including their binding to soil particles, their biological availability in soil, mechanisms of their natural breakdown in soil and water, and novel physical and chemical methods for their removal or destruction in soil and water.  Department scientists who are associated with the Center for Vector Biology and Zoonotic Diseases are studying the molecular evolution, epidemiology, vector-host interactions and ecology of pathogenic viruses, with the goal of reducing the risk of infections in humans and domesticated animals.  In conjunction with the Invasive Aquatic Plant program, Department scientists are examining the ecology of invasive aquatic plants as a function of water chemistry and habitat, as well as evaluating methods for the control of invasives.  Lastly, staff scientists are studying the molecular mechanisms of host specificity enabling the parasitic behavior of microsporidia.

The Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station
Department of Environmental Sciences
Slate Building
123 Huntington Street
P.O. Box 1106
New Haven, CT 06504-1106
Fax: (203) 974-8502

Pignatello, Joseph J.: Chief Scientist, Department Head
E-mail: Joseph.Pignatello@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8518

Armstrong, Philip M.:  Agricultural Scientist
E-mail: Philip.Armstrong@ct.gov 
Voice: (203) 974-8510

Bransfield, Angela B.: Agricultural Technician II
E-mail: Angela.Bransfield@ct.gov
Office: (203) 974-8575
Laboratory: (203) 974-8472

Bugbee, Gregory J.: Associate Agricultural Scientist
E-mail: Gregory.Bugbee@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8512

Misencik, Michael J.: Agricultural Technician I
E-mail: Michael.Misencik@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8472

Molaei, Goudarz: Associate Agricultural Scientist
E-mail:  Goudarz.Molaei@ct.gov 
Voice:  (203) 974-8487

Shepard, John J.: Assistant Agricultural Scientist I
E-mail: John.Shepard@ct.gov 
Voice: (203) 974-8543

Steven, Blaire T.: Assistant Agricultural Scientist II
E-mail:
Voice: (203) 974-8461

Thomas, Michael: Agricultural Research Technician II
E-mail: Michael.C.Thomas@ct.gov 
Voice: (203) 974-8542

Vasil, Michael: Agricultural Research Technician II
E-mail: Michael.Vasil@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8619 
(203) 974-8362

Vasireddy, Sivakumar: Agricultural Post Doctoral Research Scientist
E-mail: Sivakumar.Vasireddy@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8526

Vossbrinck, Charles R.: Associate Agricultural Scientist
E-mail: Charles.Vossbrinck@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8522

Xiao, Feng: Agricultural Post Doctoral Research Scientist
E-mail: Feng.Xiao@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8514

Yi, Peng: Agricultural Post Doctoral Research Scientist
E-mail: Peng.Yi@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8515

EMERITUS:
Sawhney, Brij L., Emeritus





Content Last Modified on 7/24/2014 3:09:23 PM