CAES: Analytical Chemistry

Analytical Chemistry

The Department of Analytical Chemistry has organized its work, including both service and research activities, into two focus areas: Food Safety and Environmental Monitoring. The service component of the work consists of providing analyses of samples submitted by other State agencies in a timely fashion. Research in the Department is largely service-driven. It consists primarily, but not exclusively, of investigations in applied Analytical Chemistry and encompasses projects in each of the focus areas. We also pursue investigations of a more fundamental nature. One example of Food Safety research which we conducted is our study of levels, origins, and remediation of lead in maple syrup. In the Environmental Monitoring area we are investigating the cycling of organic pollutants in the environment, with an emphasis on phytoremediation issues. These cited examples are intended as a small sampling of the work underway in our Department.

The Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station
Department of Analytical Chemistry
Johnson-Horsfall Building
123 Huntington Street
P.O. Box 1106
New Haven, CT 06504-1106
Fax: (203) 974-8502

Resources and Equipment in the CAES Department of Analytical Chemistry (PDF Format)

White, Jason: Vice Director, Chief Scientist, Department Head
E-mail: Jason.White@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8523

Arsenault, Terri: Agricultural Research Technician II
E-mail: Terri.Arsenault@ct.gov 
Voice: (203) 974-8570

Cavadini, Michael J.: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Michael.Cavadini@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8450

De La Torre Roche, Roberto: Agricultural Post-Doctoral Research Scientist
E-mail: Roberto.DeLaTorreRoche@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8457

Eitzer, Brian D.: Agricultural Scientist
E-mail: Brian.Eitzer@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8453

Hawthorne, Joseph R.: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Joseph.Hawthorne@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8455

Krol, Walter: Associate Agricultural Scientist
E-mail: Walter.Krol@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8456

Mukherjee, Arnab K.: Agricultural Post-Doctoral Research Scientist
E-mail: Arnab.Mukherjee@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8459

Musante, Craig: Assistant Agricultural Scientist I
E-mail: Craig.Musante@ct.gov 
Voice: (203) 974-8454

Prapayotin-Riveros, Kitty: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Kitty.Prapayotin-Riveros@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8499

Ranciato, John F.: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: John.Ranciato@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8608

Robb, Christina S.: Assistant Agricultural Scientist II
E-mail: Christina.Robb@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8451

Servin, Alia: Agricultural Post-Doctoral Research Scientist
E-mail: Alia.Servin@ct.gov
Voice:  203-974-8459

EMERITUS
Mattina, MaryJane Incorvia
E-mail: MaryJane.Mattina@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8449





Content Last Modified on 9/5/2014 11:01:24 AM