CAES: Analytical Chemistry

Analytical Chemistry


The Department of Analytical Chemistry has been conducting high quality chemical analysis since 1875 and has organized its work, including both service and research activities, into two focus areas: Food Safety and Environmental Monitoring. The service component of the work consists of providing analyses of samples submitted by other State agencies, as well as samples submitted by Federal agencies such as the US Food and Drug Administration. The Department is one of 14 funded laboratories in the FDA Food Emergency Response Network (FERN) Chemistry Cooperative Agreement Program (https://www.fernlab.org/).  The FERN is a network of state laboratories that receive funding and equipment from the FDA to support surveillance and associated activities related to chemical terrorism and the food supply. Two other FDA funded programs in the Department are the Manufactured Food Regulatory Program (MFRP) and the Animal Feed Regulatory Program (AFRP). Major research initiatives in the Department are focused on the fate and effects of engineered nanomaterials in food, the use of nanoscale nutrients to suppress crop disease, and the role of pesticides in pollinator decline.

As of December 2016, the CAES Department of Analytical Chemistry was awarded ISO/IEC 17025 Accreditation by the American Association for Laboratory Accreditation (A2LA) (https://www.a2la.org/scopepdf/4133-01.pdf ). The Scope of Accreditation covers multi-residue pesticide analysis by GC-MS/MS and LC-HRMS, as well as total arsenic by ICP-MS, in fresh and manufactured foods.


The Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station
Department of Analytical Chemistry
Johnson-Horsfall Laboratory
123 Huntington Street
P.O. Box 1106
New Haven, CT 06504-1106
Fax: (203) 974-8502

Resources and Equipment in the CAES Department of Analytical Chemistry (PDF Format)

White, Jason: Vice Director, Chief Scientist, Department Head
E-mail: Jason.White@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8523

Ammirata, Michael A.: Agricultural Reseach Technician I
E-mail: Michael.Ammirata@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8455

Arsenault, Terri: Agricultural Research Technician II
E-mail: Terri.Arsenault@ct.gov 
Voice: (203) 974-8570

Cavadini, Michael J.: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Michael.Cavadini@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8450

De La Torre Roche, Roberto: Agricultural Post-Doctoral Research Scientist
E-mail: Roberto.DeLaTorreRoche@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8457

Eitzer, Brian D.: Agricultural Scientist
E-mail: Brian.Eitzer@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8453

Krol, Walter: Associate Agricultural Scientist
E-mail: Walter.Krol@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8456

Ma, Chuanxin: Agricultural Post Doctoral Research Scientist
E-Mail: Chuanxin.Ma@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8459

Musante, Craig: Assistant Agricultural Scientist I
E-mail: Craig.Musante@ct.gov 
Voice: (203) 974-8454

Prapayotin-Riveros, Kitty: Agricultural Research Technician I
E-mail: Kitty.Prapayotin-Riveros@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8499

Ranciato, John F.: Agricultural Research Technician II
E-mail: John.Ranciato@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8608

Robb, Christina S.: Assistant Agricultural Scientist II
E-mail: Christina.Robb@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8451

Zuverza-Mena, Nubia: Agricultural Post-Doctoral Research Scientist
E-mail: Nubia.Zuverza@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8459

EMERITUS
Mattina, MaryJane Incorvia
E-mail: MaryJane.Mattina@ct.gov
Voice: (203) 974-8449





Content Last Modified on 6/21/2017 11:56:21 AM