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Introduction

Board of Firearms Permit Examiners is comprised of seven members appointed by the Governor to
serve during his term and until their successors are appointed and qualify. With the exception of public
members, the members shall be appointed from nominees of the Commissioner of Public Safety, the
Connecticut State Association of Chiefs of Police, the Commissioner of Environmental Protection,
The Connecticut State Rifle and Revolver Association, Inc., and Ye Connecticut Gun Guild, Inc., and
each of said organizations shall be entitled to representation on the board. At least one member of the



board shall be a lawyer licensed to practice in this state, who shall act as chairman of the board during
the hearing of appeals brought under this section.

The material in this pamphlet appears in two parts: “Frequently Asked Questions” and
Connecticut Statutes and Public Acts pertaining to firearms effective Oct. 1, 2001.

Regulations of the Board appear in the publication, “Regulations of Connecticut State
Agencies”.

No attempt has been made to include the hunting laws or the Federal laws.
Board of Firearms Permit Examiners home page on the internet http:/www.bfpe.state.ct.us

The material in this pamphlet should not be used in substitute for the State of Connecticut General
Statutes.

Frequently Asked Questions
Handgun Permit Application

Q1. What permits are required for carrying or transporting pistols and revolvers?

A. Legislation enacted Oct. 1, 2001,changed the permit process from two permits, a local
and state permit, to a single state permit. However it is obtained in a two-step process. A
temporary state permit may be obtained from the town in which you reside or own a
business. Upon issuance of a temporary state permit, the local authority shall forward the
original application to the Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety. Not later
than sixty days after receiving a temporary state permit, an applicant may obtain a
permanent state permit at one of the locations designated by the commissioner to receive
the state permit.



Q2. Does my temporary state permit to carry pistols end revolvers permit me to
carry (or transport) handguns anywhere in Connecticut?

A. Yes.

Q3. Must I first obtain a Temporary State permit to carry pistols and revolvers
before I may obtain a state permit?

A. Yes. It is only good for 60 Days. During that time you may obtain a permanent state
permit as described in Question 1 above.

Q4. Can I renew my temporary state permit?
A. No. It is good for 60 days and is not renewable.

QS. What are the fees for temporary state and state permits to carry pistols and
revolvers?

A. The fee is $70 plus a fee to the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) to cover the cost
of a national criminal history records check. (currently $24.00)

Q6. How long is the state permit to carry pistols and revolvers valid?
A. Five years, unless sooner revoked.
Q7. If I move, should I notify the state authorities?

A.Yes. A felony prosecution and conviction, $500 fine, three years imprisonment, and
forfeiture of any pistols or revolvers in your possession are possible for anyone who fails
to notify the issuing authority within two business days of any change of address. The
notification shall include the old address and new address. The State Police Special
Licensing and Firearms Unit, P.O. Box 2794, Middletown, CT 06457-9294, Tel. 685-
8290 should be notified for State permits.

Q8. In a town which does not have an organized police department, who is the local
authority - the First Selectman or the Resident State Trooper?

A. The First Selectman.

Q9. Does the law require that I be given an application form for a permit to carry
pistols and revolvers if I ask for one?

A. Yes. Section 29-28a requires that an application form be furnished to you immediately
if you ask for it in person at the police station, and not later than one week after receiving
your request for an application, if your request is made other than by an "in person" visit
to the police station. If you have been refused an application or the issuing authority has
otherwise failed to give you an application after you have requested one, you may appeal
to the Board of Firearms Permit Examiners.

Q10. How long after I make an application must 1 be notified of the issuing
authority’s decision?



A. The law mandates that the issuing authority shall inform the applicant that his/her
request for a permit has been approved or denied not later than eight weeks after the
application has been made.

Q11. What should I do if I do not receive a decision within eight weeks after
submitting my application?

A. At the end of eight weeks, contact the issuing authority and inquire about the status of
your application. If there appears to be a minor administrative delay, wait an additional
two or three weeks for it to be resolved. Otherwise, contact the Board and file an appeal
(See Q12 & Q27). Your right to appeal begins at the end of eight weeks from the date of
application.

Q12. What is the procedure for filing an appeal with the Board?

A. You must write a letter to the Board simply stating the problems you have encountered
i.e. failure to receive an application, failure to receive a decision at the end of eight weeks
from date of application, denial or revocation. In the case of a new application, the Board
will need the date you applied and if you have been informed of a denial, the date you
were denied. For revocations, the Board will need the date you received notice of the
revocation from the authority, which issued the permit. Be sure to include your name,
address, telephone number and date of birth, and revoked permit number.

Q13. Why have I been asked to furnish the issuing authority a letter attesting to my
competence with a handgun signed by anyone of the following: 1. An NRA Certified
Instructor; 2. A Police Firearms Instructor; 3. A DEP Certified Instructor or other
State Certified Instructor?

A. Section 29-28 requires that before an issuing authority may issue a permit to carry
pistols and revolvers, the issuing authority must find (among other things) that the
applicant for the permit "is a suitable person to receive such permit." The ability to
handle and fire a handgun safely is a proper requirement to help determine suitability.
(See Q14).

Q14. Must I complete a training course to be eligible for a pistol permit?

A. Yes, Section 29-28 states that no permit shall be issued if the applicant has failed to
successfully complete a course approved by the Commissioner of Public Safety in the
safety and use of pistols and revolvers. These courses would include but not be limited to
courses offered by a law enforcement agency; a private or public educational institution
or a firearms training school using instructors certified by the NRA or the Department of
Environmental Protection; State Certified Instructors or NRA Certified Instructors.

Q15. I have been asked to demonstrate my ability to safely handle and fire a
handgun at the local police range. Is this a requirement and must I achieve a certain
score?

A. As to the requirement, please see the answer to Question 13. In most cases the
certificate will satisfy the requirement. If the issuing authority requests a demonstration,



you must comply. Your score during such a demonstration is immaterial. The purpose of
the demonstration is to satisfy the issuing authority that you can handle a handgun safely
and pose no risk to yourself and others.

Q16. Does the law mandate the issuing authority to forward the applicant’s
fingerprints to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a National Criminal History
Records Check?

A. Yes.

Q17. May a local authority require supplemental application, in addition to the one
prescribed by the Commissioner of Public Safety?

A. No. Section 29-28a requires that application forms be those prescribed by the
Commissioner of Public Safety. In an opinion dated July 9, 1968, the Attorney General
said "The clear and obvious intent of the General Assembly was to provide a uniform
application for state-wide use by all issuing authorities. The authority to prescribe such a
form having been granted to the Commissioner of Public Safety, a municipal police
department may not alter, change, or add to the prescribed form no matter how laudable
the intent or motive for doing so."

Q18. Are letters of reference or character reference required?
A. There is no requirement for letters of reference or character references.

Q19. Do the towns and cities throughout the state have any local requirements for
permit applicants?

A. No. The requirements are defined in the statute and apply to all jurisdictions
throughout the state.

Q20. Must I prove a "need" to have a handgun, either to acquire one or to obtain a
permit to carry?

A. No. Need is not among the criteria stated in the law. However, the issuing authority
may inquire into the reason that you wish a permit in order to determine that you intend
to make no unlawful use. The issuing authority may not deny you a permit on grounds of
“insufficient need”.

Q21. Must I own a handgun in order to obtain a permit to carry pistols and
revolvers?

A. No.
Q22. Must I belong to an organized gun club to be eligible for a permit?

A. No. However, under the law the issuing authority must find that you will make no use
of any handgun other than a lawful use. Therefore, the issuing authority has the



responsibility to investigate you to make certain that your use of handguns will not be
unlawful.

Q23. I understand that under Section 29-28, CGS, certain convictions and other
events prohibit the issuance of a permit to carry pistols and revolvers. What are
these convictions and other events?

A.

1.Failure to complete a course prescribed by the commissioner of public safety in the
safety and use of pistols and revolvers.

2. Felony conviction.
3. Misdemeanor conviction for:

a) Penalty for illegal possession. Alternative sentences. Subsection (c)
of Section 21 a-279.

b) Criminally negligent homicide. Section 53a-58.

c) Assault in the third degree. Section 53a-61.

d) Assault of a victim sixty or older in the third degree Section 53a-61 a.
e) Threatening. Section 53a-62.

f) Reckless endangerment in the first degree. Section 53a-63.

g) Unlawful restraint in the second degree. Section 53a-96.

h) Riot in the first degree. Section 53a-175.

1) Riot in the second degree. Section 53a-176.

j) Inciting to riot Section 53a-178.

k) Stalking in the second degree. Section 53a-181d.

4. Has been discharged from custody within the preceding 20 years after having
been found not guilty of a crime by reason of mental disease or defect pursuant to
Section 53a-13.

5. Has been confined in a hospital for mental illness as defined in Section 17a-
495, within the preceding 12 months by order of a probate court.

6. Subject to a restraining or protective order issued by a court in a case involving
the use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force on another person.

7. Is an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States.



Q24. In addition to the convictions and events listed in Q23 what other criteria
govern the issuance of a permit to carry pistols and revolvers?

A. 1. Has the applicant failed to give the issuing authority, to the extent requested by such
authority, full information concerning his criminal record?

2. Is there any reasonable basis for believing that the applicant intends to make
anything but a lawful use of any pistol and revolver?

3. Is there any reasonable basis for believing that the applicant is not a suitable
person to have a permit?

Q25. Is it true that I must be issued a permit if I do not have any of the convictions
or events listed in Section 29-28?

A. No. Even when there is no criminal record of any kind, the issuing authority is entitled
to consider anything which pertains to the conduct, judgment, character, reputation,
habits, behavior, physical condition, mental condition, etc., of the seeker of the permit —
to the extent that it bears on the question of the suitability of the individual to carry
handguns. While all of the above may be considered, a permit may be denied (or
revoked) only for just and proper cause. The issuing authority may not be arbitrary or
capricious in refusing a permit

Q26. Can an alien obtain a permit to carry pistols and revolvers?

A. An alien can obtain a permit on the same basis as a citizen. Aliens unlawfully and
illegally in the United States are prohibited from obtaining permits.

Permit Appeals Process

Q27. What should I do if a permit to carry pistols and revolvers is refused or
revoked for reasons, which I consider to be improper?

A. You may write to the Board of Firearms Permit Examiners, State Office Building,
505 Hudson Street, 5th floor, Hartford, Connecticut 06106, and ask for a hearing. Include
your name, address, phone number and date of birth. Be sure to do so within the 90-day
period specified in Section 29-32b (b) of the General Statutes; otherwise the Board can
not consider your appeal. The Board will send to you and to the issuing authority any
questionnaires needed in order to obtain information sufficient to conduct a fair and
impartial hearing. You will be notified to appear at a hearing, if a hearing is required.
(See also Q12)

Q28. What does the Board charge for an appeal?

A. No fee is charged by the Board. Each member of the Board serves without pay. The
Board’s office and clerical expenses are borne by the State.

Q29. Who Appoints members to the Board?



A. The Governor. The law states that the seven members of the Board shall be appointed
by the Governor, two public members and one each from the nominees of each of the
following: The Commissioner of Public Safety, the Connecticut State Association of
Chiefs of Police, The Commissioner of Environmental Protection, The Connecticut State
Rifle and Revolver Association, Inc. and Ye Connecticut Gun Guild, Inc. The first three
of these organizations have law enforcement responsibilities. The fourth is a sportsmen’s’
group. The fifth is a gun collectors’ group. At least one of the persons appointed to the
Board must be an attorney authorized to practice law in Connecticut.

Q30. Must any nominee be a member of the group making the nominations?
A. No.
Q31. Is each member of the Board a public official?

A. Yes. Each member of the Board has accepted a public office. A public office is a trust
created by law for a public purpose, and, in the case of each Board member, carries with
it an obligation to ensure that he and the Board act in a fair and impartial manner in the
conduct of hearings, in rendering decisions, and transacting Board business.

Q32. Are rules of the Board available to the public?
A. Yes, they are included in the publication Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies.

Q33. If the Board decides against me on an appeal, do I have a right to appeal to the
court?

A. Yes.

Q34. If the Board decides against me (or a Court appeal is decided against me) am I
forever barred from having a permit to carry pistols and revolvers?

A. You may be. Much depends on the circumstances of the individual case. A person
once found not suitable might meet the criteria for suitability at some future time.
Normally, the Board will not reconsider a case based upon the same facts until at least
one year after its original decision.

Q35. If I apply for an eligibility certificate and am turned down can I appeal that
denial to the Board?

A. Yes. The appeals process is the same as for pistol permits.

Carry/Transporting Handguns

Q36. Does my permit to carry pistols and revolvers permit me to carry on my
person?

A. Yes. However, mature judgment dictates that every effort should be made to make
sure that no gun is exposed to view or carried in any manner that would tend to alarm



people who see it. When your gun becomes visible so as to cause alarm, and the police
are called, your permit to carry is placed in jeopardy of revocation.

Q37. Does my permit to carry pistols and revolvers permit me to carry a handgun
anywhere, anytime?

A. No. Mature judgment dictates that no handgun be carried unless carrying the gun at
the time and place involved is prudent and proper in the circumstances. For example,
handguns should not be carried:

1. Into a bar or other place where alcohol is being consumed.
2. In any situation involving stress such as an argument.
3. After consuming alcohol or any drugs other than those legally prescribed.

4. In any building where either house of the general assembly is located, or in which the office of
any member, officer, employee, or committee is located, or where a committee of the general
assembly is holding a meeting.

5. Any building residential or commercial whose owner prohibits handguns.

Q38. I sometimes have a handgun on my person in my home and in my place
of business. Do I need a permit?

A. No. However, your "place of business" must qualify under the law. Generally a
business you own will qualify, whereas a business you are employed by, but do not own,
will not qualify.

Q39. May I carry (or transport) my handguns between my home and my place of
business without having a permit to carry pistols and revolvers?

A. No, as this is not one of the exemptions provided for in Section 29-35.

Q40. May I transport handguns (loaded or unloaded) in my car without a permit to
carry pistols and revolvers?

A. No, and the manner in which the gun is stored in the car (i.e. whether assembled,
disassembled, encased, etc.) is immaterial.

Q41. May I carry (or transport) handguns between my home and a gun club or to a
commercial shooting range, without having a permit to carry pistols and revolvers?

A. No. A felony prosecution and conviction are risked whenever a handgun is carried (or
transported) without a permit, outside of the exemptions provided for in Section 29-35.

Q42. Do I need a permit to carry (or transport) antique pistols or revolvers?

A. No, as long as the pistol or revolver qualifies as an antique under Connecticut Law.
(see Q 50)



Q43. May a non-resident of Connecticut transport handguns in this state when he
comes into (or goes through) Connecticut when taking part in pistol competitions (in
or out of Connecticut) or when attending any meeting or exhibition of any organized
collectors' group (in or out of Connecticut)?

A. Yes, but only if and while he or she meets EACH of the following requirements:
1. Is a bona fide resident of the United States.

2. Holds a valid permit or license to carry a firearm issued by another state, city,
town, etc., within the United States.

3. The purpose is strictly as stated above.
Q44. May a handgun be used for hunting in Connecticut?

A. Yes, provided the person carrying (or transporting) the handgun has a valid State
permit to carry pistols and revolvers AND a valid State hunting license AND the hunting
is being done at a lawful time and place. HOWEVER, no handgun may be used for
waterfowl or deer hunting and no handgun may be used in areas where hunting by
handguns is prohibited.

Handgun sales, purchases, transfers

Q45. What licenses or permits do I need to become a retail firearms dealer?

A. You will need a federal firearms dealer's license. If handguns are to be sold, you also
need a permit to sell handguns at retail.

Before applying for a local permit to sell, you must have either a valid permit to carry
pistols and revolvers or an eligibility certificate for pistols and revolvers. Also, you
should contact the Connecticut State Police Special Licensing and Firearms Division in
order to obtain the necessary forms and familiarize yourself with the procedures
regarding firearm sales.

Q46. What are the fees for a local permit to sell pistols and revolvers?

A. The only fee that can be charged is the fee specified in the statute. Section 29-30
specifies the fee for a permit to sell pistols and revolvers as $100.

Q47. How long is the permit to sell valid?
A. Five years, unless sooner revoked.
Q48. Does everyone who sells handguns need a permit to sell?

A. No. Only those with a Federal Firearms Dealer's license or those who sell at retail ten
or more handguns in a calendar year are required to have a local permit to sell.

Q49. Does the requirement for an application apply In the case of an antique pistol
or revolver?



A. No.
Q50. How does Connecticut law define an antique pistol or revolver?
A. Section 29-33 reads as follows:

"An antique pistol or revolver, for the purpose of this section, means any pistol or
revolver which was manufactured in or before 1898 and any replica of such pistol
or revolver provided such replica is not designed or redesigned for using rimfire
or conventional centerfire fixed ammunition except rimfire or conventional
centerfire fixed ammunition which is no longer manufactured in the United States
and not readily available in the ordinary channel of commercial trade."

QS51. What permits are required for the purchase or receipt of a pistol or revolver?

A. Effective October 1, 1995 no one may purchase or receive a pistol or revolver unless
they hold a valid permit to carry pistols or revolvers, a valid permit to sell at retail pistols
or revolvers, or a valid eligibility certificate for pistols or revolvers, or is a federal
marshal, sheriff, parole officer or peace officer. All purchasers/ transferees must complete
all application and receipt forms. The application and receipt form requirements do not
apply to antique pistols and revolvers (See Q63) nor to the sale, delivery or transfer
between (1) a federally-licensed firearm manufacturer and a federally-licensed firearm
dealer, (2) a federally-licensed firearm importer and a federally-licensed firearm dealer,
or (3) federally-licensed firearm dealers.

Q52. What are the criteria for determining eligibility for the possession of pistols
and revolvers?

A. The criteria listed in the law are as follows:
1.Has the applicant ever been convicted of a felony?
2.Has the applicant ever been convicted of the following misdemeanors:

a) Penalty for illegal possession. Alternative sentences. Subsection (c) of Section
21a-279.

b) Criminally negligent homicide. Section 53a-58.
c¢) Assault in the third degree. Section 53a-61.

d) Assault of a victim sixty or older in the third degree Section
53a-61a.

e) Threatening. Section 53a-62.
f) Reckless endangerment in the first degree. Section 53a-63.
g) Unlawful restraint in the second degree. Section 53a-96.

h) Riot in the first degree. Section 53a-175.



1) Riot in the second degree. Section 53a-176.
J) Inciting to riot. Section 53a-178.
k) Stalking in the second degree. Section 53a-181d.

3. Has applicant been discharged from custody within the preceding 20 years after having been
found not guilty of a crime by reason of mental disease or defect pursuant to Section 53a-13.

4. Has applicant been confined in a hospital for mental illness as defined in Section 17a-495,
within the preceding 12 months by order of a probate court.

5. Does applicant know he is the subject of a restraining or protective order issued by a court,
after notice and an opportunity to be heard has been provided to such person, in a case involving
the use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force on another person.

6. Is an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States?

QS3. If I become ineligible to possess pistols and revolvers due to the occurrence of
one of the above events, what does the law require me to do with any pistols or
revolvers I possess?

A. Section 29-36k provides that within two business days after the occurrence of any
disqualifying event you must transfer all pistols and revolvers in your possession to
someone eligible to possess following all application and receipt form requirements or
deliver them to the commissioner of public safety. You may at any time within one year
from the delivery request that any pistols and revolvers delivered to the commissioner be
transferred to someone eligible to possess. Any pistols or revolvers not so transferred
shall be destroyed at the end of the year.

Q54. I understand that I must be at least twenty-one years of age in order to
purchase a pistol or revolver. Is this true?

A. Yes. Connecticut law states that no person may sell, barter, hire, lend, give, deliver or
otherwise transfer any pistol or revolver to anyone under twenty-one years of age.

QSS. Are there any exceptions that would allow someone to transfer a pistol or
revolver to someone under twenty-one years of age for use in target shooting or on a
firing or shooting range?

A. Yes. Connecticut law allows the temporary transfer of a pistol or revolver to someone
under twenty-one for use in target shooting or on a firing or shooting range provided the
person is under the immediate supervision of a person eligible to possess a pistol or
revolver and that such use is otherwise permitted by law.

Q56. May a resident of Connecticut acquire a handgun outside of Connecticut?

A. Federal law generally prohibits purchases outside of your home state, unless you are a
federally-licensed firearms dealer.



Q57.1 am not a citizen of the USA. I understand that under federal law the fact that
I am an alien does not prevent me from acquiring handguns, rifles, and shotguns.
What is the Connecticut law on this point?

A. Connecticut law does not prevent a legal alien from acquiring handguns, rifles, and
shot guns. However, illegal-aliens are prohibited from acquiring handguns (See Q26).

Sales, Purchases — Firearms other than Handguns

Q58. I understand there is a two-week waiting period for the purchase of firearms other than
handguns. Does the waiting period apply to everyone?

A. No the waiting period does not apply to:
a. Any federal marshal, sheriff, parole officer, or peace officer.

b. Any holder of a valid state permit to carry a pistol or revolver issued under the provisions
of Sec. 29-28, CGS.

c. Any active member of the armed forces of the United States or any reserve component
thereof.

d. Any holder of a valid hunting license issued pursuant to Chapter 490, CGS.

e. Any purchasers of antique firearms. (See Section 29-37a for a definition of antique
firearms.)

Q59. I understand that purchasers of firearms other than handguns must complete and
application or other forms prescribed by the Commissioner of Public Safety. Does that
requirement pertain to all purchasers?

A. No. The Connecticut forms requirement does not apply to:

a. Any holder of a valid state permit to carry a pistol or revolver issued under the provisions
of Sec. 29-28, CGS.

b. Amy holder of a valid hunting license issued pursuant to Chapter 490, CGS.

c. Any purchasers of antique firearms. (See Section 29-37a for a definition of antique
firearms.

Q60. May a resident of Connecticut acquire a rifle or shotgun outside of Connecticut?
A. Only under the limited circumstances specified in Federal law.

Q61. Is there a Connecticut law on the subject of the unlawful discharge of firearms?
A.Yes. See particularly Sections 53-203 and 53-204.

Q 62. Do I need a permit to carry rifles or shotguns, (including rifles and shotguns which are
muzzleloaders, flintlocks, etc.)?



A. No. Normally, any rifle or shotgun should be carried unloaded and enclosed in a gun case. A rifle or
shotgun may be carried loaded in any vehicle or snowmobile only by military personnel on duty, by
enforcement officers, by security guards or other persons employed to protect public or private property
while in the performance of such duties.

Q 63. Am I risking arrest if I carry a rifle or shotgun on my person without the gun being enclosed
in a gun case?

A. Not if the carrying of the gun at the time and place involved is prudent and proper in the
circumstances (e.g. while lawfully hunting, target shooting, etc.). However, if mature judgment
is lacking or people become alarmed, an arrest can be expected under the provisions of the penal
code.

Index of State Statutes
Public Acts



Public Act No. 01-130

AN ACT CONCERNING ASSAULT WEAPONS, A SINGLE STATE
HANDGUN PERMIT, A FIREARMS EVIDENCE DATABANK AND
RESTRAINING AND PROTECTIVE ORDERS IN FIREARMS CASES.

Statutes repealed and new language substituted: 29-28, 29-28a, 29-29, 29-30, 29-
32,29-35,29-36n, and 53a-217.

Only legislative changes to the “Single State Permit” will be published in this booklet. Please
refer to State Statutes or the Dept. of Public Safety Special Licensing and Firearms Unit,

regarding assault weapons, evidence databank and restraining and protective orders: 1-860-
685-8290.

State Statutes

Sec. 2-1e. Interference with the legislative process; firearms; dangerous or deadly
Weapons; explosive; felony.

Sec. 4-183 Appeal to Superior Court.

Sec. 4-184 Appeal from final judgment of Superior Court.

Sec. 27-35. Use of rifle ranges on Sunday.

Sec. 27-36. Use of rifle ranges by civilian organizations.

Sec. 29-10a. Use of state police rifle ranges by civilian rifle clubs.
Sec. 29-27. "Pistol" and "revolver" defined.

Sec. 29-28. Permit for sale at retail of pistol or revolver. Permit to carry pistol or
revolver. Confidentiality of name and address of permit holder.

Sec. 29-28a. Application for permit. Notice of decision to applicant.

Sec. 29-29. Information concerning criminal records of applicants for permits.
Sec. 29-30. Fees for pistol and revolver permits.

Sec. 29-31. Display of permit to sell. Record of sales.

Sec. 29-32. Revocation of permit. Notification. Penalty for failure to surrender
permit.

Sec. 29-32b. Board of Firearms Permit Examiners. Appeals to board. Hearings.
Sec. 29-33. Sale, delivery or transfer of pistols and revolvers.

Sec. 29-34. False statement or information in connection with sale or transfer of
pistol or revolver prohibited. Sale or transfer to person under twenty-one years of
age prohibited. Temporary transfers. Penalties.

Sec. 29-35. Carrying of pistol or revolver without permit prohibited. Exceptions.



Sec. 29-36. Altering or removing identification mark.
Sec. 29-36f. Eligibility certificate for pistol or revolver.
Sec. 29-36g. Application for eligibility certificate.

Sec. 29-36h. Fee for eligibility certificate. Expiration and renewal of eligibility
certificate.

Sec. 29-36i. Revocation of eligibility certificate.

Sec. 29-36k. Transfer or surrender of pistols or revolver by person ineligible to
possess same.

Sec. 29-36l. State database to supply information concerning validity of permits
and eligibility certificate.

Sec. 29-36j. Repealed effective 10/1/99. Purchase or receipt of pistol or revolver
without permit or eligibility certificate prohibited. Exceptions.

Sec. 29-36k. Transfer or surrender of pistols or revolver by person ineligible to
possess same.

Sec. 29-361. Verification of eligibility of persons to receive or possess firearms.
State database. Instant criminal background check. Immunity of seller of
transferor. Authorization number required.

Sec. 29-36n. Protocol concerning transfer or surrender of pistols and revolvers.
Sec. 29-37. Penalties.

Sec. 29-37a. Sale or delivery at retail of firearm other than pistol or revolver.

Sec. 29-37b. Retail dealer to equip pistols and revolvers with gun locking device
and provide written warning at time of sale. Penalty.

Sec. 29-37e¢. False statement or information in connection with sale or transfer of firearm
other than pistol or revolver prohibited.

Sec. 29-37f. Qualifications of retail store employees who sell firearms.
Sec. 29-37g. Gun show requirements.
Sec. 29-37i. Responsibilities re storage of loaded firearms with respect to minors.

Sec. 29-37j. Purchase of a firearm with intent to transfer it to a person prohibited
from purchasing or possessing.

Sec. 29-38. Weapons in vehicles.



Sec. 29-38a. Out-of-state purchase or acquisition of rifles or shotguns.

Sec. 29-38b. Determination of commitment status of person who applies for or seeks
renewal or firearm permit or certificate. Report on status of application.

Sec. 29-38c. Seizure of firearms of person posing risk of imminent personal injury to self
or others.

Sec. 29-38d. Interstate transportation of firearms through state.

Sec. 52-571f. Strict liability of person who illegally transfers a firearm.

Sec. 52-571g. Strict liability of person who fails to securely store a loaded firearm.
Sec. 53-203. Unlawful discharge of firearms.

Sec. 53-204. Hunting or discharging firearm from public highway.

Sec. 53-206b. Unlawful training in use of firearms, explosive or incendiary devices or
techniques capable of causing injury. Class C felony.

Sec. 53-206d. Carrying of firearm while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or
drug prohibited. Class B misdemeanor.

Sec. 53a-7. Effect of intoxication.
Sec. 53a-8. Criminal liability for acts of another.
Sec. 53a-212. Stealing a firearm. Class D felony.

Sec. 53a-217. Criminal possession of a firearm or electronic defense weapon:
Class D felony

Sec. 53a-217a. Criminally negligent storage of a firearm: Class D felony.
Sec. 53a-217b. Possession of a weapon on school grounds: Class D felony.

Sec. 53a-217¢. Criminal possession of a pistol or revolver: Class D felony.



Sec. 2-1e. Interference with the legislative process; firearms; dangerous or deadly weapons;
explosives; felony. (a) A person is guilty of interfering with the legislative process when he,
alone or in concert with others, either by force, physical interference, fraud, intimidation or by
means of any independently unlawful act, prevents or attempts to prevent any member, officer or
employee of the General Assembly, either house thereof or any committee of the General
Assembly or either house thereof, from performing any of his official functions, powers or
duties.

(b) A person is guilty of coercing performance when he, alone or in concert with others, either by
force, physical interference, fraud, intimidation or by means of any unlawful act, compels or
induces any member, officer or employee of the General Assembly, either house thereof or any
committee of the General Assembly or either house thereof to perform any acts as a member,
officer or employee against his will.

(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of sections 29-35 and 53-206, (1) a person, other than a state
or local police officer, a member of the Office of State Capitol Police or a police officer of any
other state or of the federal government, who is carrying out official duties in this state, or any
person summoned by any such officer to assist in making arrests or preserving the peace while
he is actually engaged in assisting such officer, while such officer is in the performance of his



official duties or any member of the armed forces of the United States, as defined by section 27-
103, or of this state, as defined by section 27-2, in the performance of official duties, or any
veteran, as defined by section 27-103, performing in uniform as a member of an official
ceremonial unit, is guilty of interfering with the legislative process when he, alone or in concert
with others, brings into, or possesses within, any building in which the chamber of either house
of the General Assembly is located or in which the official office of any member, officer or
employee of the General Assembly or the office of any committee of the General Assembly or
either house thereof is located or any building in which a committee of the General Assembly is
holding a public hearing, any weapon, whether loaded or unloaded, from which a shot may be
discharged, or a billy; and (2) any person is guilty of interfering with the legislative process
when he, alone or in concert with others, brings into, or possesses within, any such building, a
switchblade, gravity knife, blackjack, bludgeon, metal knuckles or any other dangerous or deadly
weapon or instrument, or any explosive or incendiary or other dangerous device.

(d) The violation of any provision of this section is a class D felony.

Sec. 4-183. Appeal to Superior Court. (a) A person who has exhausted all administrative
remedies available within the agency and who is aggrieved by a final decision may appeal to the
Superior Court as provided in this section. The filing of a petition for reconsideration is not a
prerequisite to the filing of such an appeal.

(b) A person may appeal a preliminary, procedural or intermediate agency action or ruling to the
Superior Court if (1) it appears likely that the person will otherwise qualify under this chapter to
appeal from the final agency action or ruling and (2) postponement of the appeal would result in
an inadequate remedy.

(c) Within forty-five days after mailing of the final decision under section 4-180 or, if there is no
mailing, within forty-five days after personal delivery of the final decision under said section, a
person appealing as provided in this section shall serve a copy of the appeal on the agency that
rendered the final decision at its office or at the office of the Attorney General in Hartford and
file the appeal with the clerk of the superior court for the judicial district of New Britain or for
the judicial district wherein the person appealing resides or, if that person is not a resident of this
state, with the clerk of the court for the judicial district of New Britain. Within that time, the
person appealing shall also serve a copy of the appeal on each party listed in the final decision at
the address shown in the decision, provided failure to make such service within forty- five days
on parties other than the agency that rendered the final decision shall not deprive the court of
jurisdiction over the appeal. Service of the appeal shall be made by (1) United States mail,
certified or registered, postage prepaid, return receipt requested, without the use of a state
marshal or other officer, or (2) personal service by a proper officer or indifferent person making
service in the same manner as complaints are served in ordinary civil actions. If service of the
appeal is made by mail, service shall be effective upon deposit of the appeal in the mail.

(d) The person appealing, not later than fifteen days after filing the appeal, shall file or cause to
be filed with the clerk of the court an affidavit, or the state marshal's return, stating the date and
manner in which a copy of the appeal was served on each party and on the agency that rendered
the final decision, and, if service was not made on a party, the reason for failure to make service.
If the failure to make service causes prejudice to any party to the appeal or to the agency, the
court, after hearing, may dismiss the appeal.

(e) If service has not been made on a party, the court, on motion, shall make such orders of
notice of the appeal as are reasonably calculated to notify each party not yet served.



(f) The filing of an appeal shall not, of itself, stay enforcement of an agency decision. An
application for a stay may be made to the agency, to the court or to both. Filing of an application
with the agency shall not preclude action by the court. A stay, if granted, shall be on appropriate
terms.

(g) Within thirty days after the service of the appeal, or within such further time as may be
allowed by the court, the agency shall transcribe any portion of the record that has not been
transcribed and transmit to the reviewing court the original or a certified copy of the entire record
of the proceeding appealed from, which shall include the agency's findings of fact and
conclusions of law, separately stated. By stipulation of all parties to such appeal proceedings, the
record may be shortened. A party unreasonably refusing to stipulate to limit the record may be
taxed by the court for the additional costs. The court may require or permit subsequent
corrections or additions to the record.

(h) If, before the date set for hearing on the merits of an appeal, application is made to the court
for leave to present additional evidence, and it is shown to the satisfaction of the court that the
additional evidence is material and that there were good reasons for failure to present it in the
proceeding before the agency, the court may order that the additional evidence be taken before
the agency upon conditions determined by the court. The agency may modify its findings and
decision by reason of the additional evidence and shall file that evidence and any modifications,
new findings, or decisions with the reviewing court.

(1) The appeal shall be conducted by the court without a jury and shall be confined to the record.
If alleged irregularities in procedure before the agency are not shown in the record or if facts
necessary to establish aggrievement are not shown in the record, proof limited thereto may be
taken in the court. The court, upon request, shall hear oral argument and receive written briefs.
(j) The court shall not substitute its judgment for that of the agency as to the weight of the
evidence on questions of fact. The court shall affirm the decision of the agency unless the court
finds that substantial rights of the person appealing have been prejudiced because the
administrative findings, inferences, conclusions, or decisions are: (1) In violation of
constitutional or statutory provisions; (2) in excess of the statutory authority of the agency; (3)
made upon unlawful procedure; (4) affected by other error of law; (5) clearly erroneous in view
of the reliable, probative, and substantial evidence on the whole record; or (6) arbitrary or
capricious or characterized by abuse of discretion or clearly unwarranted exercise of discretion.
If the court finds such prejudice, it shall sustain the appeal and, if appropriate, may render a
judgment under subsection (k) of this section or remand the case for further proceedings. For
purposes of this section, a remand is a final judgment.

(k) If a particular agency action is required by law, the court, on sustaining the appeal, may
render a judgment that modifies the agency decision, orders the particular agency action, or
orders the agency to take such action as may be necessary to effect the particular action.

(1) In all appeals taken under this section, costs may be taxed in favor of the prevailing party in
the same manner, and to the same extent, that costs are allowed in judgments rendered by the
Superior Court. No costs shall be taxed against the state, except as provided in section 4-184a.
(m) In any case in which a person appealing claims that he cannot pay the costs of an appeal
under this section, he shall, within the time permitted for filing the appeal, file with the clerk of
the court to which the appeal is to be taken an application for waiver of payment of such fees,
costs and necessary expenses, including the requirements of bond, if any. The application shall
conform to the requirements prescribed by rule of the judges of the Superior Court. After such
hearing as the court determines is necessary, the court shall render its judgment on the



application, which judgment shall contain a statement of the facts the court has found, with its
conclusions thereon. The filing of the application for the waiver shall toll the time limits for the
filing of an appeal until such time as a judgment on such application is rendered.

Sec. 4-184. Appeal from final judgment of Superior Court. An aggrieved party may obtain a
review of any final judgment of the Superior Court under this chapter. The appeal shall be taken
in accordance with section 51-197b.

Sec. 27-35. Use of rifle ranges on Sunday. The rifle ranges under control of the Military
Department of the state and those of rifle or gun clubs or of members of rifle or gun clubs who
are affiliated with the National Rifle Association of America, which are conducted under rules
prescribed by the National Board for the Promotion of Rifle Practice, may be used on Sunday for
the purpose of practicing rifle and shot gun shooting, and the members of such clubs and the
organized military forces of the state may carry rifles, rifled firearms and shot guns, with
ammunition, to and from such ranges on said day.

Sec. 27-36. Use of rifle ranges by civilian organizations. Civilian rifle clubs affiliated with the
National Rifle Association of the United States may be permitted to use the outdoor and indoor
rifle ranges belonging to, or under the control of, the state for practice with small arms in
accordance with such regulations as the Adjutant General may prescribe, provided such use of
any rifle range shall at no time interfere with the instruction or practice of members of the armed
forces of the state.

Sec. 29-10a. Use of state police rifle ranges by civilian rifle clubs. Civilian rifle clubs
affiliated with the National Rifle Association of the United States and members of organized
police departments may be permitted to use the outdoor and indoor rifle and pistol ranges
belonging to, or under the control of, the Division of State Police within the Department of
Public Safety for practice with small arms in accordance with such regulations as the
Commissioner of Public Safety may prescribe, provided such use of any rifle or pistol range shall
at no time interfere with the instruction or practice of members of the Division of State Police.

Sec. 29-27. "Pistol" and "revolver" defined. The term "pistol" and the term "revolver", as used
in sections 29-28 to 29-38, inclusive, mean any firearm having a barrel less than twelve inches in
length

Sec. 29-28. Permit for sale at retail of pistol or revolver. Permit to carry pistol or revolver.
Confidentiality of name and address of permit holder. (a) No person who sells ten or more
pistols or revolvers in a calendar year or is a federally-licensed firearm dealer shall advertise,
sell, deliver, or offer or expose for sale or delivery, or have in such person’s possession with
intent to sell or deliver, any pistol or revolver at retail without having a permit therefore issued as
provided in this subsection. The chief of police or, where there is no chief of police, the warden
of the borough or the first selectman of the town, as the case may be, may, upon the application
of any person, issue a permit in such form as may be prescribed by the Commissioner of Public
Safety for the sale at retail of pistols and revolvers within the jurisdiction of the authority issuing
such permit. No permit for the sale at retail of any pistol or revolver shall be issued unless the
applicant holds a valid eligibility certificate for a pistol or revolver issued pursuant to section 29-
36f or a valid state permit to carry a pistol or revolver issued pursuant to subsection (b) of this
section and the applicant submits documentation sufficient to establish that local zoning



requirements have been met for the location where the sale is to take place except that any
person selling or exchanging a pistol or revolver for the enhancement of a personal collection or
for a hobby or who sells all or part of such person’s personal collection of pistols or revolvers
shall not be required to submit such documentation for the location where the sale or exchange is
to take place.

(b) Upon the application of any person having a bona fide residence or place of business within
the jurisdiction of any such authority, such chief of police, warden or selectman may issue a
temporary state permit to such person to carry a pistol or revolver within the state, provided such
authority shall find that such applicant intends to make no use of any pistol or revolver which
such applicant may be permitted to carry under such permit other than a lawful use and that such
person is a suitable person to receive such permit. No state or temporary state permit to carry a
pistol or revolver shall be issued under this subsection if the applicant (1) has failed to
successfully complete a course approved by the Commissioner of Public Safety in the safety and
use of pistols and revolvers including, but not limited to, a safety or training course in the use of
pistols and revolvers available to the public offered by a law enforcement agency, a private or
public educational institution or a firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the
National Rifle Association or the Department of Environmental Protection and a safety or
training course in the use of pistols or revolvers conducted by an instructor certified by the state
or the National Rifle Association, (2) has been convicted of a felony or of a violation of
subsection (c¢) of section 21a-279, section 53a-58, 53a- 61, 53a-61a, 53a-62, 53a-63, 53a-96, 53a-
175, 53a-176, 53a-178 or 53a-181d, (3) has been convicted as delinquent for the commission of a
serious juvenile offense, as defined in section 46b-120, (4) has been discharged from custody
within the preceding twenty years after having been found not guilty of a crime by reason of
mental disease or defect pursuant to section 53a-13, (5) has been confined in a hospital for
persons with psychiatric disabilities, as defined in section 17a-495, within the preceding twelve
months by order of a probate court, (6) is subject to a restraining or protective order issued by a
court in a case involving the use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force against
another person, (7) is subject to a firearms seizure order issued pursuant to subsection (d) of
section 29-38c after notice and hearing,(8) is an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States,
or (9) is less than twenty-one years of age. Nothing in this section shall require any person who
holds a valid permit to carry a pistol or revolver on October 1, 1994, to participate in any
additional training in the safety and use of pistols and revolvers. Upon issuance of a temporary
state permit to the applicant, the local authority shall forward the original application to the
commissioner. Not later than sixty days after receiving a temporary state permit, an applicant
shall appear at a location designated by the commissioner to receive the state permit. Said
commissioner may then issue, to any holder of any temporary state permit, a state permit to carry
a pistol or revolver within the state. Upon issuance of the state permit, the commissioner shall
forward a record of such permit to the local authority issuing the temporary state permit. The
commissioner shall retain records of all applications, whether approved or denied. The copy of
the state permit delivered to the permittee shall be laminated and shall contain a full- face
photograph of such permittee. A person holding a state permit issued pursuant to this subsection
shall notify the issuing authority within two business days of any change of such person's
address. The notification shall include the old address and the new address of such person.

(c) No issuing authority may require any sworn member of the Department of Public Safety or an
organized local police department to furnish such sworn member’s residence address in a permit
application. The issuing authority shall allow each such sworn member who has a permit to carry



a pistol or revolver issued by such authority, to revise such member’s application to include a
business or post office address in lieu of the residence address. The issuing authority shall notify
each such member of the right to revise such application.

(d) Notwithstanding the provisions of sections 1-210 and 1-211, the name and address of a
person issued a permit to sell at retail pistols and revolvers pursuant to subsection (a) of this
section or a state or temporary state permit to carry a pistol or revolver pursuant to subsection (b)
of this section, or a local permit to carry pistols and revolvers issued by local authorities prior to
the effective date of this act, shall be confidential and shall not be disclosed, except (1) such
information may be disclosed to law enforcement officials acting in the performance of their
duties, (2)the issuing authority may disclose such information to the extent necessary to comply
with a request made pursuant to section 29-33 for verification that such state or temporary state
permit is still valid and has not been suspended or revoked, and the local authority may disclose
such information to the extent necessary to comply with a request made pursuant to section 29-
33 for verification that a local permit is still valid and has not been suspended or revoked, and (3)
such information may be disclosed to the Commissioner of Mental Health and Addiction
Services to carry out the provisions of subsection (c¢) of section 17a-500.

(e) The issuance of permit to carry a pistol or revolver does not thereby authorize the possession
or carrying of a pistol or revolver in any premises where the possession or carrying of a pistol or
revolver is otherwise prohibited by law or is prohibited by the person who owns or exercises
control over such premises. (f) Any bona fide resident of the
United States having no bona fide residence or place of business within the jurisdiction of any
local authority in the state, but who has a permit or license to carry a pistol or revolver issued by
the authority of another state or subdivision of the United States, may apply directly to the
Commissioner of Public Safety for a permit to carry a pistol or revolver in this state. All
provisions of subsections (b), (¢ ) and (e) of this section shall apply to applications for a permit
received by the commissioner under this subsection.

Sec. 29-28a. Application for permit. Notice of decision to applicant. (a) Requests for
temporary state permits under section 29-28, as amended by this act, shall be submitted to the
chief of police, or, where there is no chief of police, to the warden of the borough or the first
selectman of the town, as the case may be, on application forms prescribed by the Commissioner
of Public Safety. Upon written request by any person for a temporary state permit not on a
prescribed application form, or upon request by any person for such application form, the local
authority shall supply such forms. When any such request is made in person at the office of the
local authority, the local authority shall supply such application form immediately. When any
such request is made in any other manner, the local authority shall supply such application form
not later than one week after receiving such request. If such application form is not supplied
within the time limits required by this section, the request therefor shall constitute a sufficient
application. If any local authority fails to supply an application form upon the request of any
person, such person may request an application form from the Commissioner of Public Safety or
any barracks of the Division of State Police, and the time limits and procedures set forth in this
section for handling requests for such forms shall be applicable.

(b) The local authority shall, not later than eight weeks after a sufficient application for a
temporary state permit has been made, inform the applicant that such applicant’s request for a
temporary state permit has been approved or denied. The local authority shall forward a copy of
the application indicating approval or denial of the temporary state permit to the Commissioner
of Public Safety. If the local authority has denied the application for a temporary state permit, no



state permit may be issued. The commissioner shall, not later than eight weeks after receiving an
application indicating approval from the local authority, inform the applicant in writing that the
applicant's application for a state permit has been approved or denied, or that the results of the
national criminal history records check have not been received. If grounds for denial become
known after a temporary state permit has been obtained, the temporary state permit shall be
immediately revoked pursuant to section 29-32, as amended by this act.

Sec. 29-29. Information concerning criminal records of applicants for permits. (a)No
temporary state permit for carrying any pistol or revolver shall be issued under the provisions of
section 29-28, as amended by this act, unless the applicant for the same gives to the local
authority, upon its request, full information concerning the applicant's criminal record, and such
local authority shall thereupon take a full description of such applicant and make an investigation
concerning the applicant's suitability to carry any such weapons. The local authority shall take
the fingerprints of such applicant unless the local authority determines that the fingerprints of
such applicant have been previously taken and the applicant's identity established, and such
applicant presents identification that the local authority verifies as valid. The local authority shall
record the date the fingerprints were taken in the applicant's file and, within five business days of
such date, shall forward such fingerprints to the Commissioner of Public Safety, who shall
forward_them to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a national criminal history records
check. The local authority may, in its discretion, issue a temporary state permit before a national
criminal history records check relative to such applicant's record has been received. Upon receipt
of the results of such national criminal history records check, the commissioner shall send a copy
of the results of such national criminal history records check to the local authority, which shall
inform the applicant and render a decision on the application within one week of the receipt of
such results. If such results have not been received within eight weeks after a sufficient
application for a permit has been made, the local authority shall inform the applicant of such
delay, in writing. No temporary state permit shall be issued if the local authority has reason to
believe the applicant has ever been convicted of a felony, or that any other condition exists for
which the issuance of a permit for possession of a pistol or revolver is prohibited under state or
federal law. (b) The commissioner may investigate any applicant for a state permit and shall
investigate each applicant for renewal of a state permit to ensure that such applicant is eligible
under state law for such permit or for renewal of such permit. (c) No state permit may be issued
unless either the local authority or the commissioner has received the results of the national
criminal history records check.

Sec. 29-30. Fees for pistol and revolver permits. Expiration and renewal of permits.

(a) The fee for each permit originally issued under the provisions of subsection (a) of section 29-
28, as amended by this act, for the sale at retail of pistols and revolvers shall be one hundred
dollars and for each renewal thereof one hundred dollars. The fee for each state permit originally
issued under the provisions of subsection (b) of section 29-28, as amended by this act, for the
carrying of pistols and revolvers shall be seventy dollars plus sufficient funds as required to be
transmitted to the Federal Bureau of Investigation to cover the cost of a national criminal history
records check. The local authority shall forward sufficient funds for the national criminal history
records check to the commissioner no later than five business days after receipt by the local
authority of the application for the temporary state permit. Thirty-five dollars shall be retained by
the local authority. Upon approval by the local authority of the application for a temporary state
permit, thirty-five dollars shall be sent to the commissioner. The fee to renew each_state permit



originally issued under the provisions of subsection (b) of section 29-28, as amended by this act,
shall be thirty-five dollars. Upon deposit of such fees in the General Fund, ten dollars of each fee
shall be credited within thirty days to the appropriation for the Department of Public Safety to a
separate nonlapsing account for the purposes of the issuance of permits under subsections (a) and
(b) of section 29-28, as amended by this_act. (b) A local permit originally issued before the
effective date of this act, whether for the sale at retail of pistols and revolvers or for the carrying
of pistols and revolvers, shall expire five years after the date it becomes effective and each
renewal thereof shall expire five years after the expiration date of the permit being renewed. On
and after the effective date of this act, no local permit for the carrying of pistols and revolvers
shall be renewed.

(c) A state permit originally issued under the provisions of section 29-28, as amended by this act,
for the carrying of pistols and revolvers shall expire five years after the date such permit
becomes effective and each renewal thereof shall expire five years after the expiration date of the
state permit being renewed and such renewal shall not be contingent on the renewal or issuance
of a local permit. A temporary state permit issued for the carrying of pistols and revolvers shall
expire sixty days after the date it becomes effective, and may not be renewed. (d) The renewal
fee required pursuant to subsection (a) of this section shall apply for each renewal which is
requested not earlier than thirty-one days before, and not later than thirty-one days after, the
expiration date of the state permit being renewed. (¢) No fee or portion thereof paid under the
provisions of this section for issuance or renewal of a state permit shall be refundable except if
such permit for which the fee or portion thereof was paid was not issued or renewed. The portion
of the fee expended on the national criminal history records check for any such permit that was
not issued or renewed shall not be refunded. (f) The issuing authority shall send a notice of the
expiration of a state permit to carry a pistol or revolver, issued pursuant to section 29-28, as
amended by this act, to the holder of such permit, by first class mail, not less than ninety days
before such expiration, and shall enclose with such notice a form for the renewal of said state
permit. A state permit to carry a pistol or revolver, issued pursuant to section 29-28, as amended
by this act, shall be valid for a period of ninety days after the expiration date, except this
provision shall not apply to any state permit to carry a pistol or revolver which has been revoked
or for which revocation is pending, pursuant to section 29-32, as amended by this act.

Sec. 29-31. Display of permit to sell. Record of sales. No sale of any pistol or revolver shall be
made except in the room, store or place described in the permit for the sale of pistols and
revolvers, and such permit or a copy thereof certified by the authority issuing the same shall be
exposed to view within the room, store or place where pistols or revolvers are sold or offered or
exposed for sale, and no sale or delivery of any pistol or revolver shall be made unless the
purchaser or person to whom the same is to be delivered is personally known to the vendor of
such pistol or revolver or the person making delivery thereof or unless the person making such
purchase or to whom delivery thereof is to be made provides evidence of his identity. The vendor
of any pistol or revolver shall keep a record of each pistol or revolver sold in a book kept for that
purpose, which record shall be in such form as is prescribed by the Commissioner of Public
Safety and shall include the date of the sale, the caliber, make, model and manufacturer's number
of such pistol or revolver and the name, address and occupation of the purchaser thereof, and
shall be signed by the purchaser and by the person making the sale, each in the presence of the
other, and shall be preserved by the vendor of such pistol or revolver for at least six years.

Sec. 29-32. Revocation of permit. Notification. Penalty for failure to surrender permit. (a)
For the purposes of this section, "conviction" means the entry of a judgment of conviction by any



court of competent jurisdiction. (b) Any state permit or temporary state permit for the carrying of
any pistol or revolver may be revoked by the Commissioner of Public Safety for cause and shall
be revoked by said commissioner upon conviction of the holder of such permit of a felony or of
any misdemeanor specified in subsection (b) of section 29-28, as amended by this act, or upon
the occurrence of any event which would have disqualified the holder from being issued the state
permit or temporary state permit pursuant to subsection (b) of section 29-28, as amended by this
act. Upon the revocation of any state permit or temporary state permit, the person whose state
permit or temporary state permit is revoked shall be notified in writing and such state permit or
temporary state permit shall be forthwith delivered to the commissioner. Any law enforcement
authority shall confiscate and immediately forward to the commissioner any state permit or
temporary state permit that is illegally possessed by any person. The commissioner may revoke
the state permit or temporary state permit based upon the commissioner's own investigation or
upon the request of any law enforcement agency. Any person who fails to surrender any permit
within five days of notification in writing of revocation thereof shall be guilty of a class C
misdemeanor. (c) Any local permit for the carrying of a pistol or revolver issued prior to the
effective date of this act may be revoked by the authority issuing the same for cause, and shall be
revoked by the authority issuing the same upon conviction of the holder of such permit of a
felony or of any misdemeanor specified in subsection (b) of section 29-28, as amended by this
act, or upon the occurrence of any event which would have disqualified the holder from being
issued such local permit. Upon the revocation of any local permit, the person whose local permit
is revoked shall be notified in writing and such permit shall be forthwith delivered to the
authority issuing the same. Upon the revocation of any local permit, the authority issuing the
same shall forthwith notify the commissioner. Upon the revocation of any permit issued by the
commissioner, the commissioner shall forthwith notify any local authority which the records of
the commissioner show as having issued a currently valid local permit to the holder of the permit
revoked by the commissioner. Any person who fails to surrender such permit within five days of
notification in writing or revocation thereof shall be guilty of a class C misdemeanor.

Sec. 29-32b. Board of Firearms Permit Examiners. Appeals to board. Hearings. (a) There
shall be established a Board of Firearms Permit Examiners, within the Department of Public
Safety for administrative purposes only, hereinafter referred to as the board, to be comprised of
seven members appointed by the Governor to serve during his term and until their successors are
appointed and qualify. With the exception of public members, the members shall be appointed
from nominees of the Commissioner of Public Safety, the Connecticut State Association of
Chiefs of Police, the Commissioner of Environmental Protection, The Connecticut State Rifle
and Revolver Association, Inc., and Ye Connecticut Gun Guild, Inc., and each of said
organizations shall be entitled to representation on the board. At least one member of the board
shall be a lawyer licensed to practice in this state, who shall act as chairman of the board during
the hearing of appeals brought under this section.

(b) Any person aggrieved by any refusal to issue or renew a permit or certificate under the
provisions of section 29-28 or 29-36f, or by any limitation or revocation of a permit or certificate
issued under any of said sections, or by a refusal or failure of any issuing authority to furnish an
application as provided in section 29-28a, may, within ninety days after receipt of notice of such
refusal, limitation or revocation, or refusal or failure to supply an application as provided in
section 29-28a, and without prejudice to any other course of action open to such person in law or
in equity, appeal to the board. On such appeal the board shall inquire into and determine the
facts, de novo, and unless it finds that such a refusal, limitation or revocation, or such refusal or



failure to supply an application, as the case may be, would be for just and proper cause, it shall
order such permit or certificate to be issued, renewed or restored, or the limitation removed or
modified, as the case may be. If the refusal was for failure to document compliance with local
zoning requirements, under subsection (a) of section 29-28, the board shall not issue a permit.
(c) Any person aggrieved by the action of an issuing authority may file with the board a clear and
concise statement of the facts on which he relies for relief, and shall state the relief sought by the
appellant. The receipt by the board of the appellant's statement shall initiate the appeals process,
and no appeal may be rejected for mere lack of formality. The board shall, within ten days next
following receipt of the appeal, set a time and place at which the appeal shall be heard. The
board, while such appeal is pending, may request such additional information from the appellant
and from the issuing authority as it deems reasonably necessary to conduct a fair and impartial
hearing, and shall require of the issuing authority from whose decision or action the appeal is
being sought a statement in writing setting forth the reasons for such failure, refusal, revocation
or limitation. Failure or refusal of the issuing authority to furnish such written statement, or to
supply the appellant with an application, at least ten days prior to the hearing shall be cause for
the board to grant the relief sought, forthwith and without further hearing.

(d) The board shall hold hearings at such times and places as it in its discretion reasonably
determines to be required, but not less than once every ninety days, and shall give reasonable
notice of the time and place of the hearing to the appellant and to the issuing authority. The
board shall have the power to compel attendance at its sessions.

(e) All appeals hearings shall be conducted in an informal manner, but otherwise according to the
rules of evidence, and all witnesses shall be sworn by the chairman. The board shall cause a
verbatim transcript of the hearing to be kept in such manner as it may determine, and shall
furnish such transcript to any party appealing its decision as hereinafter set forth. The statements
of witnesses made under oath shall be privileged. Decisions of the board shall be by majority
vote and shall be communicated in writing to the appellant and to the issuing authority within
twenty days after the rendering of the decision. If any issuing authority neglects or refuses to
comply with a decision of the board within ten days after notice of the board's decision has been
given to such issuing authority, the board shall apply to the Superior Court for a writ of
mandamus to enforce the board's decision.

(f) Any person aggrieved by the decision of the board may appeal therefrom in accordance with
the provisions of section 4-183.

(g) The board shall serve without compensation, but its members shall be entitled to reasonable
subsistence and travel allowances in the performance of their duties.

Sec. 29-33. Sale, delivery or transfer of pistols and revolvers. Procedure. Penalty. (a) No
person, firm or corporation shall sell, deliver or otherwise transfer any pistol or revolver to any
person who is prohibited from possessing a pistol or revolver as provided in section 53a-217c.
(b) On and after October 1, 1995, no person may purchase or receive any pistol or revolver
unless such person holds a valid permit to carry a pistol or revolver issued pursuant to subsection
(b) of section 29-28, a valid permit to sell at retail a pistol or revolver issued pursuant to
subsection (a) of section 29-28 or a valid eligibility certificate for a pistol or revolver issued
pursuant to section 29-36f or is a federal marshal, parole officer or peace officer.

(c) No person, firm or corporation shall sell, deliver or otherwise transfer any pistol or revolver
except upon written application on a form prescribed and furnished by the Commissioner of
Public Safety. Such person, firm or corporation shall insure that all questions on the application
are answered properly prior to releasing the pistol or revolver and shall retain the application,



which shall be attached to the federal sale or transfer document, for at least twenty years or until
such vendor goes out of business. Such application shall be available for inspection during
normal business hours by law enforcement officials. No sale, delivery or other transfer of any
pistol or revolver shall be made unless the person making the purchase or to whom the same is
delivered or transferred is personally known to the person selling such pistol or revolver or
making delivery or transfer thereof or provides evidence of his identity in the form of a motor
vehicle operator's license, identity card issued pursuant to section 1-1h or valid passport. No sale,
delivery or other transfer of any pistol or revolver shall be made until the person, firm or
corporation making such transfer obtains an authorization number from the Commissioner of
Public Safety. Said commissioner shall perform the national instant criminal background check
and make a reasonable effort to determine whether there is any reason that would prohibit such
applicant from possessing a pistol or revolver as provided in section 53a-217c. If the
commissioner determines the existence of such a reason, the commissioner shall deny the sale
and no pistol or revolver shall be sold, delivered or otherwise transferred by such person, firm or
corporation to such applicant.

(d) No person, firm or corporation shall sell, deliver or otherwise transfer any pistol or revolver,
other than at wholesale, unless such pistol or revolver is equipped with a reusable trigger lock,
gun lock or gun locking device appropriate for such pistol or revolver, which lock or device shall
be constructed of material sufficiently strong to prevent it from being easily disabled and have a
locking mechanism accessible by key or by electronic or other mechanical accessory specific to
such lock or device to prevent unauthorized removal. No pistol or revolver shall be loaded or
contain therein any gunpowder or other explosive or any bullet, ball or shell when such pistol or
revolver is sold, delivered or otherwise transferred.

(e) Upon the sale, delivery or other transfer of any pistol or revolver, the person making the
purchase or to whom the same is delivered or transferred shall sign a receipt for such pistol or
revolver which shall contain the name and address of such person, the date of sale, the caliber,
make, model and manufacturer's number and a general description of such pistol or revolver, the
identification number of such person's permit to carry pistols or revolvers, issued pursuant to
subsection (b) of section 29-28, permit to sell at retail pistols or revolvers, issued pursuant to
subsection (a) of said section, or eligibility certificate for a pistol or revolver, issued pursuant to
section 29-36f, if any, and the authorization number designated for the transfer by the
Department of Public Safety. The person, firm or corporation selling such pistol or revolver or
making delivery or transfer thereof shall give one copy of the receipt to the person making the
purchase of such pistol or revolver or to whom the same is delivered or transferred, shall retain
one copy of the receipt for at least five years, and shall send, by first class mail, or electronically
transmit, within forty-eight hours of such sale, delivery or other transfer, one copy of the receipt
to the Commissioner of Public Safety and one copy of the receipt to the chief of police or, where
there is no chief of police, the warden of the borough or the first selectman of the town, as the
case may be, of the town in which the transferee resides.

(f) The provisions of this section shall not apply to antique pistols or revolvers. An antique pistol
or revolver, for the purposes of this section, means any pistol or revolver which was
manufactured in or before 1898 and any replica of such pistol or revolver provided such replica
is not designed or redesigned for using rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed ammunition
except rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed ammunition which is no longer manufactured in
the United States and not readily available in the ordinary channel of commercial trade.

(g) The provisions of this section shall not apply to the sale, delivery or transfer of pistols or



revolvers between (1) a federally-licensed firearm manufacturer and a federally-licensed firearm
dealer, (2) a federally-licensed firearm importer and a federally- licensed firearm dealer, or (3)
federally-licensed firearm dealers.

(h) If the court finds that a violation of this section is not of a serious nature and that the person
charged with such violation (1) will probably not offend in the future, (2) has not previously
been convicted of a violation of this section, and (3) has not previously had a prosecution under
this section suspended pursuant to this subsection, it may order suspension of prosecution. The
court shall not order suspension of prosecution unless the accused person has acknowledged that
he understands the consequences of the suspension of prosecution. Any person for whom
prosecution is suspended shall agree to the tolling of any statute of limitations with respect to
such violation and to a waiver of his right to a speedy trial. Such person shall appear in court and
shall be released to the custody of the Office of Adult Probation for such period, not exceeding
two years, and under such conditions as the court shall order. If the person refuses to accept, or,
having accepted, violates such conditions, the court shall terminate the suspension of prosecution
and the case shall be brought to trial. If such person satisfactorily completes his period of
probation, he may apply for dismissal of the charges against him and the court, on finding such
satisfactory completion, shall dismiss such charges. If the person does not apply for dismissal of
the charges against him after satisfactorily completing his period of probation, the court, upon
receipt of a report submitted by the Office of Adult Probation that the person satisfactorily
completed his period of probation, may on its own motion make a finding of such satisfactory
completion and dismiss such charges. Upon dismissal, all records of such charges shall be erased
pursuant to section 54-142a. An order of the court denying a motion to dismiss the charges
against a person who has completed his period of probation or terminating the participation of a
defendant in such program shall be a final judgment for purposes of appeal.

(1) Any person who violates any provision of this section shall be guilty of a class D felony,
except that any person who sells, delivers or otherwise transfers a pistol or revolver in violation
of the provisions of this section, knowing that such pistol or revolver is stolen or that the
manufacturer's number or other mark of identification on such pistol or revolver has been altered,
removed or obliterated, shall be guilty of a class B felony, and any pistol or revolver found in the
possession of any person in violation of any provision of this section shall be forfeited.

Sec. 29-34. False statement or information in connection with sale or transfer of pistol or
revolver prohibited. Sale or transfer to person under twenty-one years of age prohibited.
Temporary transfers. Penalties. (a) No person shall make any false statement or give any false
information connected with any purchase, sale, delivery or other transfer of any pistol or
revolver. Any person violating any provision of this subsection shall be guilty of a class D
felony.

(b) No person shall sell, barter, hire, lend, give, deliver or otherwise transfer to any person under
the age of twenty-one years any pistol or revolver, except that a pistol or revolver may be
temporarily transferred to any person only for the use by such person in target shooting or on a
firing or shooting range, provided such use is otherwise permitted by law and is under the
immediate supervision of a person eligible to possess a pistol or revolver. Any person violating
any provision of this subsection shall be guilty of a class D felony for which one year of the
sentence imposed may not be suspended or reduced by the court.

(c) Any pistol or revolver found in the possession of any person in violation of any provision of
this section shall be forfeited.



Sec. 29-35. Carrying of pistol or revolver without permit prohibited. Exceptions.

(a) No person shall carry any pistol or revolver upon one's person, except when such person is
within the dwelling house or place of business of such person, without a permit to carry the same
issued as provided in section 29-28, as amended by this act. The provisions of this subsection
shall not apply to the carrying of any pistol or revolver by any parole officer or peace officer of
this state, or parole officer or peace officer of any other state while engaged in the pursuit of
official duties, or federal marshal or federal law enforcement agent, or to any member of the
armed forces of the United States, as defined by section 27-103, or of this state, as defined by
section 27-2, when on duty or going to or from duty, or to any member of any military
organization when on parade or when going to or from any place of assembly, or to the
transportation of pistols or revolvers as merchandise, or to any person transporting any pistol or
revolver while contained in the package in which it was originally wrapped at the time of sale
and while transporting the same from the place of sale to the purchaser's residence or place of
business, or to any person removing such person's household goods or effects from one place to
another, or to any person while transporting any such pistol or revolver from such person's place
of residence or business to a place or individual where or by whom such pistol or revolver is to
be repaired or while returning to such person's place of residence or business after the same has
been repaired, or to any person transporting a pistol or revolver in or through the state for the
purpose of taking part in competitions, taking part in formal pistol or revolver training, repairing
such pistol or revolver or attending any meeting or exhibition of an organized collectors' group if
such person is a bona fide resident of the United States and is permitted to possess and carry a
pistol or revolver in the state or subdivision of the United States in which such person resides, or
to any person transporting a pistol or revolver to and from a testing range at the request of the
issuing authority, or to any person transporting an antique pistol or revolver, as defined in section
29-33. For the purposes of this subsection, "formal pistol or revolver training" means pistol or
revolver training at a locally approved or permitted firing range or training facility, and
"transporting a pistol or revolver" means transporting a pistol or revolver that is unloaded and, if
such pistol or revolver is being transported in a motor vehicle, is not readily accessible or
directly accessible from the passenger compartment of the vehicle or, if such pistol or revolver is
being transported in a motor vehicle that does not have a compartment separate from the
passenger compartment, such pistol or revolver shall be contained in a locked container other
than the glove compartment or console. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit the
carrying of a pistol or revolver during formal pistol or revolver training or repair. (b) The holder
of a permit issued pursuant to section 29-28, as amended by this act, shall carry such permit upon
one's person while carrying such pistol or revolver.

Sec. 29-36. Alteration of firearm identification mark, number or name. (a) No person shall
remove, deface, alter or obliterate the name of any maker or model or any maker's number or
other mark of identification on any firearm as defined in section 53a-3. The possession of any
firearm upon which any identifying mark, number or name has been removed, defaced, altered or
obliterated shall be prima facie evidence that the person owning or in possession of such firearm
has removed, defaced, altered or obliterated the same.

(b) Any person who violates any provision of this section shall be fined not more than one
thousand dollars or imprisoned not more than five years or both and any firearm found in the
possession of any person in violation of said provision shall be forfeited.



Sec. 29-36f. Eligibility certificate for pistol or revolver. (a) Any person who is twenty-one
years of age or older may apply to the Commissioner of Public Safety for an eligibility certificate
for a pistol or revolver.

(b) The Commissioner of Public Safety shall issue an eligibility certificate unless said
commissioner finds that the applicant: (1) Has failed to successfully complete a course approved
by the Commissioner of Public Safety in the safety and use of pistols and revolvers including,
but not limited to, a safety or training course in the use of pistols and revolvers available to the
public offered by a law enforcement agency, a private or public educational institution or a
firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or the
Department of Environmental Protection and a safety or training course in the use of pistols or
revolvers conducted by an instructor certified by the state or the National Rifle Association; (2)
has been convicted of a felony or of a violation of subsection (c) of section 21a-279, section 53a-
58, 53a-61, 53a-61a, 53a-62, 53a-63, 53a-96, 53a-175, 53a-176, 53a-178 or 53a-181d; (3) has
been convicted as delinquent for the commission of a serious juvenile offense, as defined in
section 46b-120; (4) has been discharged from custody within the preceding twenty years after
having been found not guilty of a crime by reason of mental disease or defect pursuant to section
53a-13; (5) has been confined in a hospital for persons with psychiatric disabilities, as defined in
section 17a-495, within the preceding twelve months by order of a probate court; (6) is subject to
a restraining or protective order issued by a court in a case involving the use, attempted use or
threatened use of physical force against another person; (7) is subject to a firearms seizure order
issued pursuant to subsection (d) of section 29-38c¢ after notice and hearing, or (8) is an alien
illegally or unlawfully in the United States.

Sec. 29-36g. Application for eligibility certificate. Criminal history records check. Deadline
for approval or denial of application. Form of certificate. Change of address.
Confidentiality of name and address of certificate holder. Scope of certificate. (a) Requests
for eligibility certificates under section 29-36f shall be submitted to the Commissioner of Public
Safety on application forms prescribed by the commissioner. No eligibility certificate for a pistol
or revolver shall be issued under the provisions of said section unless the applicant for the same
gives to the Commissioner of Public Safety, upon his request, full information concerning the
applicant's criminal record and relevant information concerning the applicant's mental health
history, and the commissioner shall thereupon take a full description and the fingerprints of such
applicant. The commissioner shall record the date the fingerprints were taken in the applicant's
file and shall forward such fingerprints to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a national
criminal history records check and to the State Police Bureau of Identification for a state criminal
history records check. The commissioner shall, within sixty days of receipt of the national
criminal history records check from the Federal Bureau of Investigation, either approve the
application and issue the eligibility certificate or deny the application and notify the applicant of
the reason for such denial in writing.

(b) With respect to any application for an eligibility certificate filed with the Commissioner of
Public Safety on or before July 1, 1995, the commissioner shall, not later than October 1, 1995,
(1) approve the application and issue the eligibility certificate, (2) issue a temporary eligibility
certificate or (3) deny the application and notify the applicant of the reason for such denial in
writing. With respect to any application for an eligibility certificate filed with the Commissioner
of Public Safety after July 1, 1995, the commissioner shall, within ninety days, (1) approve the
application and issue the eligibility certificate, (2) issue a temporary eligibility certificate or (3)



deny the application and notify the applicant of the reason for such denial in writing. A
temporary certificate issued under this subsection shall be valid until such time as the
commissioner either approves or denies the application.

(c) An eligibility certificate for a pistol or revolver shall be of such form and content as the
commissioner may prescribe, shall be signed by the certificate holder and shall contain an
identification number, the name, address, place and date of birth, height, weight and eye color of
the certificate holder and a full-face photograph of the certificate holder.

(d) A person holding an eligibility certificate issued by the commissioner shall notify the
commissioner within two business days of any change of his address. The notification shall
include his old address and his new address.

(e) Notwithstanding the provisions of sections 1-210 and 1-211, the name and address of a
person issued an eligibility certificate for a pistol or revolver under the provisions of section 29-
36f shall be confidential and shall not be disclosed, except (1) such information may be disclosed
to law enforcement officials acting in the performance of their duties, (2) the Commissioner of
Public Safety may disclose such information to the extent necessary to comply with a request
made pursuant to section 29-33 for verification that such certificate is still valid and has not been
suspended or revoked, and (3) such information may be disclosed to the Commissioner of
Mental Health and Addiction Services to carry out the provisions of subsection (c) of section
17a-500.

(f) An eligibility certificate for a pistol or revolver shall not authorize the holder thereof to carry
a pistol or revolver upon his person in circumstances for which a permit to carry a pistol or
revolver issued pursuant to subsection (b) of section 29-28 is required under section 29-35.

Sec. 29-36h. Fee for eligibility certificate. Expiration and renewal of eligibility certificate.
(a) The fee for each eligibility certificate for a pistol or revolver originally issued under the
provisions of section 29-36f shall be thirty-five dollars and for each renewal thereof thirty-five
dollars, which fees shall be paid to the Commissioner of Public Safety. Upon deposit of such fees
in the General Fund, the fees shall be credited to the appropriation to the Department of Public
Safety to a separate nonlapsing account for the purposes of the issuance of eligibility certificates
under said section.

(b) An eligibility certificate originally issued under the provisions of section 29- 36f, shall expire
five years after the date it becomes effective and each renewal thereof shall expire five years
after the expiration date of the certificate being renewed.

(c) The renewal fee shall apply for each renewal which is requested not earlier than thirty-one
days before, and not later than thirty-one days after, the expiration date of the certificate being
renewed.

(d) No fee or portion thereof paid under the provisions of this section for issuance or renewal of
an eligibility certificate shall be refundable except if the eligibility certificate for which the fee or
portion thereof was paid was not issued or renewed.

(e) The Commissioner of Public Safety shall send a notice of the expiration of an eligibility
certificate issued pursuant to section 29-36f, to the holder of such certificate, by first class mail,
at the address of such person as shown by the records of the commissioner, not less than ninety
days before such expiration, and shall enclose therein a form for the renewal of said certificate.
An eligibility certificate issued pursuant to said section, shall be valid for a period of ninety days
from the expiration date, except this provision shall not apply to any certificate which has been



revoked or for which revocation is pending, pursuant to section 29-36i.

Sec. 29-36i. Revocation of eligibility certificate. (a) Any eligibility certificate for a pistol or
revolver shall be revoked by the Commissioner of Public Safety upon the occurrence of any
event which would have disqualified the holder from being issued the certificate pursuant to
section 29-36f.

(b) Upon the revocation of any eligibility certificate, the person whose eligibility certificate is
revoked shall be notified in writing and such certificate shall be forthwith delivered to the
Commissioner of Public Safety. Any person who fails to surrender such certificate within five
days of notification in writing of revocation thereof shall be guilty of a class C misdemeanor.

Sec. 29-36j. Purchase or receipt of pistol or revolver without permit or eligibility certificate
prohibited. Exceptions. Section 29-36j is repealed, effective October 1, 1999.

Sec. 29-36k. Transfer or surrender of pistols or revolver by person ineligible to possess
same. (a) Not later than two business days after the occurrence of any event that makes a person
ineligible to possess a pistol or revolver, such person shall (1) transfer in accordance with section
29-33 all pistols and revolvers which he then possesses to any person eligible to possess a pistol
or revolver or (2) deliver or surrender such pistols and revolvers to the Commissioner of Public
Safety. The commissioner shall exercise due care in the receipt and holding of such pistols and
revolvers.

(b) Such person, or his legal representative, may, at any time up to one year after such delivery
or surrender, transfer such pistols and revolvers in accordance with the provisions of section 29-
33 to any person eligible to possess a pistol or revolver. Upon notification in writing by the
transferee and such person, the Commissioner of Public Safety shall within ten days deliver such
pistols and revolvers to the transferee. If, at the end of such year, such pistols and revolvers have
not been so transferred, the commissioner shall cause them to be destroyed.

(c) Any person who fails to transfer or surrender any such pistols and revolvers as provided in
this section shall be subject to the penalty provided for in section 53a-217c.

Sec. 29-36l. Verification of eligibility of persons to receive or possess firearms. State
database. Instant criminal background check. Immunity of seller or transferor.
Authorization number required. (a) The Commissioner of Public Safety shall establish a state
database within one year of October 1, 1994, that any person, firm or corporation who sells or
otherwise transfers pistols or revolvers may access, by telephone or other electronic means in
addition to the telephone, for information to be supplied immediately, on whether a permit to
carry a pistol or revolver, issued pursuant to subsection (b) of section 29-28, a permit to sell at
retail a pistol or revolver, issued pursuant to subsection (a) of section 29-28, or an eligibility
certificate for a pistol or revolver, issued pursuant to section 29-36f, is valid and has not been
revoked or suspended.

(b) Upon establishment of the database, the commissioner shall notify each person, firm or
corporation holding a permit to sell at retail pistols or revolvers issued pursuant to subsection (a)
of section 29-28 of the existence and purpose of the system and the means to be used to access
the database.

(c) The Department of Public Safety shall establish days and hours during which the telephone
number or other electronic means shall be operational for purposes of responding to inquiries,
taking into consideration the normal business hours of retail firearm businesses.



(d) The Department of Public Safety shall be the point of contact for initiating a background
check through the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS), established
under section 103 of the Brady Handgun Violence Prevention Act, on individuals purchasing
firearms.

(e) Any person, firm or corporation that contacts the Department of Public Safety to access the
database established under this section and determine if a person is eligible to receive or possess
a firearm shall not be held civilly liable for the sale or transfer of a firearm to a person whose
receipt or possession of such firearm is unlawful or for refusing to sell or transfer a firearm to a
person who may lawfully receive or possess such firearm if such person, firm or corporation
relied, in good faith, on the information provided to such person, firm or corporation by said
department, unless the conduct of such person, firm or corporation was unreasonable or reckless.
(f) Any person, firm or corporation that sells, delivers or otherwise transfers any firearm pursuant
to section 29-33 or 29-37a, shall contact the Department of Public Safety to access the database
established under this section and receive an authorization number for such sale, delivery or
transfer. The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to: (1) Any sale, delivery or transfer of
an antique firearm manufactured in or before 1898, including any firearm with a matchlock,
flintlock, percussion cap or similar type of ignition system manufactured in or before 1898; (2)
any sale, delivery or transfer of any replica of any firearm described in subdivision (1) of this
subsection if such replica uses rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed ammunition which is no
longer manufactured in the United States and which is not readily available in the ordinary
channels of commercial trade; (3) transactions between persons who are licensed as firearms
importers or collectors, manufacturers or dealers pursuant to 18 USC 921 et seq.; (4) the transfer
of firearms to and from gunsmiths for purposes of repair only; and (5) any sale, delivery or
transfer of any firearm to any agency of the United States, the state of Connecticut or any local
government.

Sec. 29-36n. Protocol concerning transfer or surrender of pistols and revolvers. (a)The
Commissioner of Public Safety, in conjunction with the Chief State's Attorney and the
Connecticut Police Chiefs Association, shall develop a protocol to ensure that persons who
become ineligible to possess a pistol or revolver have, in accordance with section 29-36k,
transferred such pistol or revolver to a person eligible to possess such pistol or revolver or have
delivered or surrendered such pistol or revolver to said commissioner.

Sec. 29-37. Penalties. (a) Any person violating any provision of section 29-28 or 29-31 shall be
fined not more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than three years or both, and
any pistol or revolver found in the possession of any person in violation of any of said provisions
shall be forfeited.

(b) Any person violating any provision of subsection (a) of section 29-35 may be fined not more
than one thousand dollars and shall be imprisoned not less than one year nor more than five
years, and, in the absence of any mitigating circumstances as determined by the court, one year
of the sentence imposed may not be suspended or reduced by the court. The court shall
specifically state the mitigating circumstances, or the absence thereof, in writing for the record.
Any pistol or revolver found in the possession of any person in violation of any provision of
subsection (a) of section 29-35 shall be forfeited.

(c) Any person violating any provision of subsection (b) of section 29-35 shall have committed
an infraction and shall be fined thirty-five dollars.



Sec. 29-37a. Sale or delivery at retail of firearm other than pistol or revolver. Procedure.
(a) No person, firm or corporation may deliver, at retail, any firearm, as defined in section 53a-3,
other than a pistol or revolver, to any person unless such person makes application on a form
prescribed and furnished by the Commissioner of Public Safety, which shall be attached by the
vendor to the federal sale or transfer document and filed and retained by the vendor for at least
twenty years or until such vendor goes out of business. Such application shall be available for
inspection during normal business hours by law enforcement officials. No sale or delivery of any
firearm shall be made until the expiration of two weeks from the date of the application, and until
the person, firm or corporation making such sale, delivery or transfer has insured that such
application has been completed properly and has obtained an authorization number from the
Commissioner of Public Safety for such sale, delivery or transfer. The Department of Public
Safety shall make every effort, including performing the national instant criminal background
check, to determine if the applicant is eligible to receive such firearm. If it is determined that the
applicant is ineligible to receive such firearm, the Commissioner of Public Safety shall
immediately notify the person, firm or corporation to whom such application was made and no
such firearm shall be sold or delivered to such applicant by such person, firm or corporation.
When any firearm is delivered in connection with the sale or purchase, such firearm shall be
enclosed in a package, the paper or wrapping of which shall be securely fastened, and no such
firearm when delivered on any sale or purchase shall be loaded or contain any gunpowder or
other explosive or any bullet, ball or shell.

(b) Upon the delivery of the firearm, the purchaser shall sign in triplicate a receipt for such
firearm which shall contain the name and address of such purchaser, the date of sale, caliber,
make, model and manufacturer's number and a general description thereof. Not later than twenty-
four hours after such delivery, the vendor shall send by first class mail or electronically transfer
one receipt to the Commissioner of Public Safety and one receipt to the chief of police or, where
there is no chief of police, the warden of the borough or the first selectman, of the town in which
the purchaser resides, and shall retain one receipt, together with the original application, for at
least five years. The waiting period specified in subsection (a) of this section during which
delivery may not be made and the provisions of this subsection shall not apply to any federal
marshal, parole officer or peace officer, or to the delivery at retail of (1) any firearm to a holder
of a valid state permit to carry a pistol or revolver issued under the provisions of section 29-28 or
a valid eligibility certificate issued under the provisions of section 29-36f, (2) any firearm to an
active member of the armed forces of the United States or of any reserve component thereof, (3)
any firearm to a holder of a valid hunting license issued pursuant to chapter 490, or (4) antique
firearms. For the purposes of this section, "antique firearm" means any firearm which was
manufactured in or before 1898 and any replica of such firearm provided such replica is not
designed or redesigned for using rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed ammunition except
rimfire or conventional centerfire fixed ammunition which is no longer manufactured in the
United States and not readily available in the ordinary channel of commercial trade.

Sec. 29-37b. Retail dealer to equip pistols and revolvers with gun locking device and
provide written warning at time of sale. Penalty. (a) Each person, firm or corporation which
engages in the retail sale of any pistol or revolver, at the time of sale of any such pistol or
revolver, shall (1) equip such pistol or revolver with a reusable trigger lock, gun lock or gun
locking device appropriate for such firearm, which lock or device shall be constructed of
material sufficiently strong to prevent it from being easily disabled and have a locking



mechanism accessible by key or by electronic or other mechanical accessory specific to such
lock or device to prevent unauthorized removal, and (2) provide to the purchaser thereof a
written warning which shall state in block letters not less than one inch in height: "UNLAWFUL
STORAGE OF A LOADED FIREARM MAY RESULT IN IMPRISONMENT OR FINE."

(b) Each such person, firm or corporation shall conspicuously post and at all times display the
warning specified in subsection (a) of this section in block letters not less than three inches in
height.

(c) Any person, firm or corporation which violates any provision of this section shall be fined not
less than five hundred dollars for each violation.

Sec. 29-37e. False statement or information in connection with sale or transfer of firearm
other than pistol or revolver prohibited. (a) No person shall make any false statement or give
any false information connected with any purchase, sale, delivery or other transfer of any firearm
other than a pistol or revolver. Any person violating any provision of this subsection shall be
guilty of a class D felony.

(b) Any firearm found in the possession of any person in violation of this section shall be
forfeited.

Sec. 29-37f. Qualifications of retail store employees who sell firearms. No person, firm or
corporation that engages in the retail sale of goods, where the principal part of such trade or
business is the retail sale of goods other than firearms, shall employ a person to sell firearms in a
retail store unless such person (1) is at least eighteen years of age, (2) has submitted to state and
national criminal history records checks and such checks indicate that such person has not been
convicted of a felony or a violation specified in subdivision (2) of subsection (b) of section 29-
36f, and (3) has successfully completed a course or testing approved by the Commissioner of
Public Safety in firearms safety and statutory procedures relating to the sale of firearms. The sale
of firearms by such person, firm or corporation shall be accomplished only by an employee
qualified pursuant to this section. Any employer who employs a person to sell firearms in
violation of the provisions of this section shall be liable for a civil penalty of not more than ten
thousand dollars per day for each violation. The Attorney General shall institute a civil action to
recover such penalty.

Sec. 29-37g. Gun show requirements. (a) For the purposes of this section, (1) "gun show"
means any event (A) at which fifty or more firearms are offered or exhibited for sale, transfer or
exchange to the public and (B) at which two or more persons are exhibiting one or more firearms
for sale, transfer or exchange to the public; and (2) "gun show promoter" means any person who
organizes, plans, promotes or operates a gun show.

(b) Not later than thirty days before commencement of a gun show, the gun show promoter shall
notify the chief of police or, where there is no chief of police, the warden of the borough or the
first selectman of the town in which the gun show is to take place of the date, time, duration and
location of the gun show.

(c) No person, firm or corporation shall sell, deliver or otherwise transfer a firearm at a gun show
until such person, firm or corporation has complied with the provisions of section 29-36l.

Sec. 29-37i. (Formerly Sec. 29-37¢). Responsibilities re storage of loaded firearms with
respect to minors. No person shall store or keep any loaded firearm on any premises under his
control if he knows or reasonably should know that a minor is likely to gain access to the firearm



without the permission of the parent or guardian of the minor unless such person (1) keeps the
firearm in a securely locked box or other container or in a location which a reasonable person
would believe to be secure or (2) carries the firearm on his person or within such close proximity
thereto that he can readily retrieve and use it as if he carried it on his person. For the purposes of
this section, "minor" means any person under the age of sixteen years.

Sec. 29-37j. Purchase of firearm with intent to transfer it to person prohibited from
purchasing or possessing. (a) Any person who purchases a firearm, as defined in section 53a-3,
pursuant to section 29-33 or 29-37a with the intent to transfer such firearm to any other person
who the transferor knows or has reason to believe is prohibited from purchasing or otherwise
receiving such a firearm pursuant to section 29-33 or 29-37a shall be fined not more than one
thousand dollars or imprisoned not more than five years or both.

(b) Any person prohibited from purchasing or otherwise receiving or possessing a firearm and
who solicits, employs or assists any person in violating the provisions of subsection (a) of this
section shall be guilty of a class B misdemeanor. If the violation of subsection (a) of this section
involves a transfer of more than one firearm, such person shall be guilty of a class A
misdemeanor. Each transfer shall constitute a separate offense.

(c) Any person convicted of violating the provisions of subsection (a) or (b) of this section and
who was convicted of a felony within the prior five-year period shall be guilty of a class D
felony.

Sec. 29-38. Weapons in vehicles. (a) Any person who knowingly has, in any vehicle owned,
operated or occupied by such person, any weapon, any pistol or revolver for which a proper
permit has not been issued as provided in section 29-28 or any machine gun which has not been
registered as required by section 53-202, shall be fined not more than one thousand dollars or
imprisoned not more than five years or both, and the presence of any such weapon, pistol or
revolver, or machine gun in any vehicle shall be prima facie evidence of a violation of this
section by the owner, operator and each occupant thereof. The word "weapon", as used in this
section, means any BB. gun, any blackjack, any metal or brass knuckles, any police baton or
nightstick, any dirk knife or switch knife, any knife having an automatic spring release device by
which a blade is released from the handle, having a blade of over one and one-half inches in
length, any stiletto, any knife the edged portion of the blade of which is four inches or over in
length, any martial arts weapon or electronic defense weapon, as defined in section 53a- 3, or
any other dangerous or deadly weapon or instrument.

(b) The provisions of this section shall not apply to: (1) Any officer charged with the
preservation of the public peace while engaged in the pursuit of such officer's official duties; (2)
any security guard having a baton or nightstick in a vehicle while engaged in the pursuit of such
guard's official duties; (3) any person enrolled in and currently attending a martial arts school,
with official verification of such enrollment and attendance, or any certified martial arts
instructor, having any such martial arts weapon in a vehicle while traveling to or from such
school or to or from an authorized event or competition; (4) any person having a BB. gun in a
vehicle provided such weapon is unloaded and stored in the trunk of such vehicle or in a locked
container other than the glove compartment or console; and (5) any person having a knife, the
edged portion of the blade of which is four inches or over in length, in a vehicle if such person is
(A) any member of the armed forces of the United States, as defined in section 27-103, or any
reserve component thereof, or of the armed forces of this state, as defined in section 27- 2, when
on duty or going to or from duty, (B) any member of any military organization when on parade



or when going to or from any place of assembly, (C) any person while transporting such knife as
merchandise or for display at an authorized gun or knife show, (D) any person while lawfully
removing such person's household goods or effects from one place to another, or from one
residence to another, (E) any person while actually and peaceably engaged in carrying any such
knife from such person's place of abode or business to a place or person where or by whom such
knife is to be repaired, or while actually and peaceably returning to such person's place of abode
or business with such knife after the same has been repaired, (F) any person holding a valid
hunting, fishing or trapping license issued pursuant to chapter 490 or any salt water fisherman
while having such knife in a vehicle for lawful hunting, fishing or trapping activities, or (G) any
person participating in an authorized historic reenactment.

Sec. 29-38a. Out-of-state purchase or acquisition of rifles or shotguns. Section 29-38a is
repealed, effective October 1, 1999.

Sec. 29-38b. Determination of commitment status of person who applies for or seeks
renewal of firearm permit or certificate. Report on status of application. (a) The
Commissioner of Public Safety, in fulfilling his obligations under sections 29- 28 to 29-38,
inclusive, and section 53-202d, shall verify that any person who, on or after October 1, 1998,
applies for or seeks renewal of a permit to sell at retail a pistol or revolver, a permit to carry a
pistol or revolver, an eligibility certificate for a pistol or revolver or a certificate of possession
for an assault weapon has not been confined in a hospital for persons with psychiatric
disabilities, as defined in section 17a-495, within the preceding twelve months by order of a
probate court, by making an inquiry to the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services
in such a manner so as to only receive a report on the commitment status of the person with
respect to whom the inquiry is made including identifying information in accordance with the
provisions of subsection (b) of section 17a-500.

(b) If the Commissioner of Public Safety determines pursuant to subsection (a) of this section
that a person has been confined in a hospital for persons with psychiatric disabilities, as defined
in section 17a-495, within the preceding twelve months by order of a probate court, said
commissioner shall report the status of such person's application for or renewal of a permit to sell
at retail a pistol or revolver, a permit to carry a pistol or revolver, an eligibility certificate for a
pistol or revolver or a certificate of possession for an assault weapon to the Commissioner of
Mental Health and Addiction Services for the purpose of fulfilling his responsibilities under
subsection (¢) of section 17a-500.

Sec. 29-38c¢. Seizure of firearms of person posing risk of imminent personal injury to self or
others. (a) Upon complaint on oath by any state's attorney or assistant state's attorney or by any
two police officers, to any judge of the Superior Court, that such state's attorney or police
officers have probable cause to believe that (1) a person poses a risk of imminent personal injury
to himself or herself or to other individuals, (2) such person possesses one or more firearms, and
(3) such firearm or firearms are within or upon any place, thing or person, such judge may issue
a warrant commanding a proper officer to enter into or upon such place or thing, search the same
or the person and take into such officer's custody any and all firearms. Such state's attorney or
police officers shall not make such complaint unless such state's attorney or police officers have
conducted an independent investigation and have determined that such probable cause exists and
that there is no reasonable alternative available to prevent such person from causing imminent
personal injury to himself or herself or to others with such firearm.



(b) A warrant may issue only on affidavit sworn to by the complainant or complainants before
the judge and establishing the grounds for issuing the warrant, which affidavit shall be part of the
seizure file. In determining whether grounds for the application exist or whether there is probable
cause to believe they exist, the judge shall consider: (1) Recent threats or acts of violence by
such person directed toward other persons; (2) recent threats or acts of violence by such person
directed toward himself or herself; and (3) recent acts of cruelty to animals as provided in
subsection (b) of section 53-247 by such person. In evaluating whether such recent threats or acts
of violence constitute probable cause to believe that such person poses a risk of imminent
personal injury to himself or herself or to others, the judge may consider other factors including,
but not limited to (A) the reckless use, display or brandishing of a firearm by such person, (B) a
history of the use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force by such person against other
persons, (C) prior involuntary confinement of such person in a hospital for persons with
psychiatric disabilities, and (D) the illegal use of controlled substances or abuse of alcohol by
such person. If the judge is satisfied that the grounds for the application exist or that there is
probable cause to believe that they exist, such judge shall issue a warrant naming or describing
the person, place or thing to be searched. The warrant shall be directed to any police officer of a
regularly organized police department or any state police officer. It shall state the grounds or
probable cause for its issuance and it shall command the officer to search within a reasonable
time the person, place or thing named for any and all firearms. A copy of the warrant shall be
given to the person named therein together with a notice informing the person that such person
has the right to a hearing under this section and the right to be represented by counsel at such
hearing.

(c) The applicant for the warrant shall file a copy of the application for the warrant and all
affidavits upon which the warrant is based with the clerk of the court for the geographical area
within which the search will be conducted no later than the next business day following the
execution of the warrant. Prior to the execution and return of the warrant, the clerk of the court
shall not disclose any information pertaining to the application for the warrant or any affidavits
upon which the warrant is based. The warrant shall be executed and returned with reasonable
promptness consistent with due process of law and shall be accompanied by a written inventory
of all firearms seized.

(d) Not later than fourteen days after the execution of a warrant under this section, the court for
the geographical area where the person named in the warrant resides shall hold a hearing to
determine whether the seized firearms should be returned to the person named in the warrant or
should continue to be held by the state. At such hearing the state shall have the burden of proving
all material facts by clear and convincing evidence. If, after such hearing, the court finds by clear
and convincing evidence that the person poses a risk of imminent personal injury to himself or
herself or to other individuals, it may order that the firearm or firearms seized pursuant to the
warrant issued under subsection (a) of this section continue to be held by the state for a period
not to exceed one year, otherwise the court shall order the seized firearm or firearms to be
returned to the person named in the warrant. If the court finds that the person poses a risk of
imminent personal injury to himself or herself or to other individuals, it shall give notice to the
Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services, which may take such action pursuant to
chapter 319i as it deems appropriate.

(e) Any person whose firearm or firearms have been ordered seized pursuant to subsection (d) of
this section, or such person's legal representative, may transfer such firearm or firearms in
accordance with the provisions of section 29-33 or other applicable state or federal law, to any



person eligible to possess such firearm or firearms. Upon notification in writing by such person,
or such person's legal representative, and the transferee, the head of the state agency holding
such seized firearm or firearms shall within ten days deliver such firearm or firearms to the
transferee.

Sec. 29-38d. Interstate transportation of firearms through state. (a) The provisions of
sections 29-35 and 29-38 shall not apply to the interstate transportation of firearms through this
state in accordance with 18 USC 926A and 927, as amended from time to time, by any person
who is not otherwise prohibited from shipping, transporting, receiving or possessing a firearm.
Such person may transport a firearm for any lawful purpose from any place where such person
may lawfully possess and carry such firearm through this state to any other place where such
person may lawfully possess and carry such firearm provided such transportation is in
accordance with subsection (b) of this section.

(b) During the transportation of a firearm through this state as authorized in subsection (a) of this
section, such firearm shall be unloaded and neither such firearm nor any ammunition being
transported shall be readily accessible or directly accessible from the passenger compartment of
the vehicle. If the vehicle does not have a compartment separate from the passenger
compartment, such firearm shall be unloaded and such firearm and any ammunition being
transported shall be contained in a locked container other than the glove compartment or console.
(c) No person who is transporting a firearm through this state in accordance with this section
may use or carry such firearm or sell, deliver or otherwise transfer such firearm while in this
state.

Sec. 52-571f. Strict liability of person who illegally transfers a firearm. Any person who
sells, delivers or otherwise transfers a firearm, as defined in section 53a-3, to a person knowing
that such other person is prohibited from possessing such firearm shall be strictly liable for
damages for the injury or death of another person resulting from the use of such firearm by any
person.

Sec. 52-571g. Strict liability of person who fails to securely store a loaded firearm. Any
person whose act or omission constitutes a violation of section 29-37i shall be strictly liable for
damages when a minor obtains a firearm, as defined in section 53a- 3, and causes the injury or
death of such minor or any other person. For the purposes of this section, "minor" means any
person under the age of sixteen years.

See Sec. 53a-217a re criminally negligent storage of firearm.

Sec. 53-203. Unlawful discharge of firearms. Any person who intentionally, negligently or
carelessly discharges any firearm in such a manner as to be likely to cause bodily injury or death
to persons or domestic animals, or the wanton destruction of property shall be fined not more
than two hundred fifty dollars or imprisoned not more than three months or both.

Sec. 53-204. Hunting or discharging firearm from public highway. Any person who hunts or
discharges any firearm from any public highway shall be fined not more than one hundred
dollars. This section shall not apply to any law or conservation enforcement officer in the
performance of his duty. Enforcement officers of the Department of Environmental Protection
are empowered to arrest for the violation of the provisions of this section.



Sec. 53-206. Carrying of dangerous weapons prohibited. (a) Any person who carries upon
one's person any BB. gun, blackjack, metal or brass knuckles, or any dirk knife, or any switch
knife, or any knife having an automatic spring release device by which a blade is released from
the handle, having a blade of over one and one-half inches in length, or stiletto, or any knife the
edged portion of the blade of which is four inches or over in length, any police baton or
nightstick, or any martial arts weapon or electronic defense weapon, as defined in section 53a-3,
or any other dangerous or deadly weapon or instrument, shall be fined not more than five
hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than three years or both. Whenever any person is found
guilty of a violation of this section, any weapon or other instrument within the provisions of this
section, found upon the body of such person, shall be forfeited to the municipality wherein such
person was apprehended, notwithstanding any failure of the judgment of conviction to expressly
impose such forfeiture.

(b) The provisions of this section shall not apply to (1) any officer charged with the preservation
of the public peace while engaged in the pursuit of such officer's official duties; (2) the carrying
of a baton or nightstick by a security guard while engaged in the pursuit of such guard's official
duties; (3) the carrying of a knife, the edged portion of the blade of which is four inches or over
in length, by (A) any member of the armed forces of the United States, as defined in section 27-
103, or any reserve component thereof, or of the armed forces of this state, as defined in section
27-2, when on duty or going to or from duty, (B) any member of any military organization when
on parade or when going to or from any place of assembly, (C) any person while transporting
such knife as merchandise or for display at an authorized gun or knife show, (D) any person who
is found with any such knife concealed upon one's person while lawfully removing such person's
household goods or effects from one place to another, or from one residence to another, (E) any
person while actually and peaceably engaged in carrying any such knife from such person's place
of abode or business to a place or person where or by whom such knife is to be repaired, or while
actually and peaceably returning to such person's place of abode or business with such knife after
the same has been repaired, (F) any person holding a valid hunting, fishing or trapping license
issued pursuant to chapter 490 or any salt water fisherman carrying such knife for lawful
hunting, fishing or trapping activities, or (G) any person while participating in an authorized
historic reenactment; (4) the carrying by any person enrolled in or currently attending, or an
instructor at, a martial arts school of a martial arts weapon while in a class or at an authorized
event or competition or while transporting such weapon to or from such class, event or
competition; (5) the carrying of a BB. gun by any person taking part in a supervised event or
competition of the Boy Scouts of America or the Girl Scouts of America or in any other
authorized event or competition while taking part in such event or competition or while
transporting such weapon to or from such event or competition; and (6) the carrying of a BB. gun
by any person upon such person's own property or the property of another person provided such
other person has authorized the carrying of such weapon on such property, and the transporting
of such weapon to or from such property.

Sec. 53-206b. Unlawful training in use of firearms, explosive or incendiary devices or
techniques capable of causing injury. Class C felony. (a) As used in this section:

(1) "Civil disorder" means a public disturbance involving acts of violence by a group of three or
more persons which causes an immediate danger of or results in damage to the property of or
injury to any other person.

(2) "Explosive or incendiary device" means (A) dynamite and all other forms of high explosives,
(B) any explosive bomb, grenade, missile or similar device, and (C) any incendiary bomb or



grenade, fire bomb or similar device, including any device which (i) consists of or includes a
breakable container which contains a flammable liquid or compound and a wick composed of
any material which, when ignited, is capable of igniting such flammable liquid or compound, and
(i1) can be carried or thrown by an individual.

(3) "Firearm" means a firearm as defined in section 53a-3.

(b) No person shall (1) teach or demonstrate to any person the use, application or making of any
firearm, explosive or incendiary device, or technique capable of causing injury or death to a
person, knowing or intending that such firearm, explosive, incendiary device or technique will be
unlawfully employed for use in, or in furtherance of, a civil disorder; or (2) assemble with one or
more persons for the purpose of training with, practicing with or being instructed in the use of
any firearm, explosive or incendiary device, or technique capable of causing injury or death to a
person, intending to employ unlawfully such firearm, explosive, incendiary device or technique
for use in, or in furtherance of, a civil disorder.

(c) Any person who violates any provision of this section shall be guilty of a class C felony.

(d) Nothing in this section shall make unlawful any act of any peace officer, as defined in section
53a-3, performed in the lawful discharge of his official duties.

Sec. 53-206d. Carrying of firearm while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drug
prohibited. Class B misdemeanor. (a)(1) No person shall carry a pistol, revolver, machine gun,
shotgun, rifle or other firearm, which is loaded and from which a shot may be discharged, upon
his person (A) while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug, or both, or (B) while
the ratio of alcohol in the blood of such person is ten-hundredths of one per cent or more of
alcohol, by weight.

(2) Any person who violates any provision of this subsection shall be guilty of a class B
misdemeanor.

(b) (1) No person shall engage in hunting while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any
drug, or both, or while impaired by the consumption of intoxicating liquor. A person shall be
deemed under the influence when at the time of the alleged offense the person (A) is under the
influence of intoxicating liquor or any drug, or both, or (B) has an elevated blood alcohol
content. For the purposes of this subdivision, "elevated blood alcohol content" means (i) a ratio
of alcohol in the blood of such person that is ten-hundredths of one per cent or more of alcohol,
by weight, or (i1) if such person has been convicted of a violation of this subsection, a ratio of
alcohol in the blood of such person that is seven-hundredths of one per cent or more of alcohol,
by weight. A person shall be deemed impaired when at the time of the alleged offense the ratio
of alcohol in the blood of such person was more than seven-hundredths of one per cent of
alcohol, by weight, but less than ten-hundredths of one per cent of alcohol, by weight.

(2) Any person who violates any provision of this subsection shall be guilty of a class A
misdemeanor.

(3) Enforcement officers of the Department of Environmental Protection are empowered to arrest
for a violation of the provisions of this subsection.

Sec. 53a-7. Effect of intoxication. Intoxication shall not be a defense to a criminal charge, but in
any prosecution for an offense evidence of intoxication of the defendant may be offered by the
defendant whenever it is relevant to negate an element of the crime charged, provided when
recklessness or criminal negligence is an element of the crime charged, if the actor, due to self-
induced intoxication, is unaware of or disregards or fails to perceive a risk which he would have
been aware of had he not been intoxicated, such unawareness, disregard or failure to perceive



shall be immaterial. As used in this section, "intoxication" means a substantial disturbance of
mental or physical capacities resulting from the introduction of substances into the body.

Sec. 53a-8. Criminal liability for acts of another. (a) A person, acting with the mental state
required for commission of an offense, who solicits, requests, commands, importunes or
intentionally aids another person to engage in conduct which constitutes an offense shall be
criminally liable for such conduct and may be prosecuted and punished as if he were the
principal offender.

(b) A person who sells, delivers or provides any firearm, as defined in subdivision (19) of section
53a-3, to another person to engage in conduct which constitutes an offense knowing or under
circumstances in which he should know that such other person intends to use such firearm in
such conduct shall be criminally liable for such conduct and shall be prosecuted and punished as
if he were the principal offender.

Sec. 53a-212. Stealing a firearm. Class D felony. (a) A person is guilty of stealing a firearm
when, with intent to deprive another of his firearm or to appropriate the same to himself or a
third party, he wrongfully takes, obtains or withholds a firearm, as defined in subdivision (19) of
section 53a-3.

(b) Stealing a firearm is a class D felony.

Sec. 53a-217. Criminal possession of a firearm or electronic defense weapon: Class D
felony. (a) A person is guilty of criminal possession of a firearm or electronic defense weapon
when such person possesses a firearm or electronic defense weapon and (1) has been convicted
of a felony, (2) has been convicted as delinquent for the commission of a serious juvenile
offense, as defined in section 46b-120, (3) knows that such person is subject to a restraining or
protective order issued by a court, after notice and an opportunity to be heard has been provided
to such person, in a case involving the use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force
against another person, or (4) knows that such person is subject to a firearms seizure order issued
pursuant to subsection (d) of section 29-38c after notice and an opportunity to be heard has been
provided to such person. For the purposes of this section, "convicted" means having a judgment
of conviction entered by a court of competent jurisdiction.

(b) Criminal possession of a firearm or electronic defense weapon is a class D felony, for which
two years of the sentence imposed may not be suspended or reduced by the court.

Sec. 53a-217a. Criminally negligent storage of a firearm: Class D felony. (a) A person is
guilty of criminally negligent storage of a firearm when he violates the provisions of section 29-
371 and a minor obtains the firearms and causes the injury or death himself or any other person.
For the purposes of this section, “minor” means any person under the age of sixteen years.

(b) The provisions of this section shall not apply if the minor obtains the firearm as a result of an
unlawful entry to any premises by any person.

(c ) Criminally negligent storage of a firearm is a class D felony.

Sec. 53a-217b. Possession of a weapon on school grounds: Class D felony. (a) A person is
guilty of possession of a weapon on school grounds when, knowing that he is not licensed or
privileged to do so, he possesses a firearm or deadly weapon, as defined in section 53a-3, (1) in
or on the real property comprising a public or private elementary or secondary school or (2) at a
school-sponsored activity as defined in subsection (h) of section 10-233a.



(b) The provisions of subsection (a) of this section shall not apply to the otherwise lawful
possession of a firearm (1) by a person for use in a program approved by school officials in or on
such school property, (2) by a person in accordance with an agreement entered into between
school officials and such person or such person's employer, (3) by a peace officer, as defined in
subdivision (9) of section 53a-3, while engaged in the performance of his official duties, or (4)
by a person while traversing such school property for the purpose of gaining access to public or
private lands open to hunting or for other lawful purposes, provided such firearm is not loaded
and the entry on such school property is permitted by the local or regional board of education.
(c) Possession of a weapon on school grounds is a class D felony.

Sec. 53a-217¢. Criminal possession of a pistol or revolver: Class D felony. (a) A person is
guilty of criminal possession of a pistol or revolver when such person possesses a pistol or
revolver, as defined in section 29-27, and (1) has been convicted of a felony or of a violation of
subsection (c¢) of section 21a-279, section 53a-58, 53a-61, 53a-61a, 53a-62, 53a-63, 53a-96, 53a-
175, 53a-176, 53a-178 or 53a-181d, (2) has been convicted as delinquent for the commission of a
serious juvenile offense, as defined in section 46b-120, (3) has been discharged from custody
within the preceding twenty years after having been found not guilty of a crime by reason of
mental disease or defect pursuant to section 53a-13, (4) has been confined in a hospital for
persons with psychiatric disabilities, as defined in section 17a-495, within the preceding twelve
months by order of a probate court, (5) knows that such person is subject to a restraining or
protective order issued by a court, after notice and an opportunity to be heard has been provided
to such person, in a case involving the use, attempted use or threatened use of physical force
against another person, (6) knows that such person is subject to a firearms seizure order issued
pursuant to subsection (d) of section 29-38c after notice and an opportunity to be heard has been
provided to such person, or (7) is an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States. For the
purposes of this section, "convicted" means having a judgment of conviction entered by a court
of competent jurisdiction.

(b) Criminal possession of a pistol or revolver is a class D felony.



