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Poli idelin

Section 1-212(b)(4) of the Connecticut General Statutes requires the Department of
Administrative Services to provide guidelines to agencies regarding the calculation of fees
charged for copies of computer-stored public records to ensure that such fees are
reasonable and consistent among agencies. The following is a recommended policy for
agency use:

Upon receiving a request for computer-stored public records that require programming, a
state agency should conform to the following policy, unless covered by another statutory
fee schedule.

e The calculation of fees should include only the time it takes the state employee(s) to
format and program the request.

e It cannot include the time it takes for the search and retrieval of the information.

e The hourly salary for the state employee(s) doing the programming and formatting is
an allowable charge.

e Fees can not include any employee fringe benefit costs.

e The cost of the media is an allowable charge (i.e., if the information is supplied on a
diskette, the state agency can charge for the cost of that diskette).

e |If an agency uses a private company, the agency can only charge for the costs
incurred for those services.

Charges for any computer-stored public records that are printed rather than copied to
diskette or other electronic storage device will follow hard copy FOI fee schedules.

The following is an example of a fee calculation:

e A citizen requests information that is stored electronically and is not readily
available.

e Inorder to comply with the request, a state employee spends 3 hours programming
and formatting a computer in order to extract the required information.

e That employee earns $15.00 per hour.

e The report takes 1 hour to run.

e The end result of the request is stored on a diskette that costs the State of
Connecticut $.75.

e The allowable charge to the citizen is $45.75.
- 3 hours of programming/formatting at $15/hour equals $45.00



- $.75 for the diskette
- 1 hour of run time is not allowable
e Once this programming and formatting is completed, the fees for any subsequent
request that can be retrieved by using the existing programming and formatting
cannot include those costs. The fee should only include the cost for the media or the
cost for the hard copy printed information.



