Care 4 Kids

Description:

Care 4 Kids is a program designed to help make childcare affordable for low and
moderate-income working families in Connecticut. All families, including foster, relative
care and adoptive parents as well as families participating in the Department of Children
and Families’ (DCF) Subsidized Guardianship Program may apply. To be eligible, family
income must be below the income limits for the program and there must be a child in
the home who needs care during the hours the parents are at work or participating in an
approved TFA employment training activity.

A Child Care Certificate is issued to families and child care providers who apply and are
determined eligible to participate in the program. This certificate authorizes payment for
childcare services for a specific period of time up to six months. After the six-month
period, the family’s eligibility is reviewed. Families can continue to participate in Care 4
Kids as long as both the family and childcare provider are eligible. The amount of
payment the child care provider receives depends upon the parent’'s or caregiver’'s work
or training schedule, the child’s age, the hours of care the child needs, whether the child
has special needs, the countable family income, the amount the provider charges,
where the provider is located, and whether the provider is licensed or accredited.
Relatives, such as grandparents, are eligible to be childcare providers as long as they
are not the parent or caregiver of the child, the spouse of the child’s parent or caregiver,
a sister or brother who lives in the home of the child needing care or the parent of a
minor parent. Families who work are responsible for paying a family fee, which is
usually between two and 10 percent of their countable income. Families are also
responsible to pay the difference between the provider's charges and the amount of
assistance they receive including any payments or down payments required by the
provider. Assistance provided by this program is based upon available funding; when
funds are exhausted, new applicants may be placed on a waiting list for services.

Parents and caregivers can request a supplemental payment for instances in which
child care needs temporarily exceed the authorized hours by more than 20 hours per
month. These increases may be due to school closures, a child’s illness, an increase in
work or employment service hours or temporary unavailability of the provider or the
parent that provides care. Requests must be made within 30 days of the end of the
month in which care is needed.

Eligibility Requirements, Service Areas and Program Year:
Eligibility Requirements:

Families must:
= Live in Connecticut.
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=  Work or attend a JobsFirst Employment Services activity.
= Have incomes below 50 percent of the State Median Income, refer to

Appendix E.

Children must:
= Live in Connecticut.

= Be younger than 13 or younger than 19 if the child has special needs.

Providers must:
= Be licensed by the Connecticut Department of Public Health, or
= Be arelative, such as a grandparent, or
= Provide care for the child in the child’s home.

Service Areas:
Statewide

Program Year:
N/A

Contact Information:
For more information regarding the program and how to apply:

Care 4 Kids

Telephone: 888-214-KIDS (5437)
TDD/TTY: 877-455-9169
Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Thursday 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Website: www.ctcare4kids.com

For information on becoming a licensed child care provider:

Department of Public Health

Division of Community Based Regulation
165 Capitol Avenue

Hartford, CT 06145

Telephone: 860-509-8045 or 800-282-6063
Website: www.ct.gov/dph

For information on finding a licensed child care provider:
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http://www.ctcare4kids.com/
http://www.ct.gov/dph

United Way of Connecticut

211 Child Care

Telephone: 211 or 800-505-1000
Website: www.211childcare.org

Related Information:

NA
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http://www.211childcare.org/

