AGING SERVICES: Senior Community Service Employment Program

Senior Community Service Employment Program


About SCSEP

SCSEP participants are placed in temporary training assignments where they gain valuable on-the-job work experience and training needed to gain meaningful employment.

Participants will work 20 hours a week at the training sites for which they will be paid minimum wage.

Goals

  • To assist participants in acquiring marketable jobs skills and
  • To help participants secure meaningful unsubsidized employment

Program Objectives

  • Participate in community service assignments to learn new skills in on the job training
  • Assistance in resume development
  • Assistance in developing job search skills
  • Increase opportunities to obtain jobs in the private sector
  • Referrals to supportive services as needed
  • Change stereotypes about older workers through public education and demonstrated success
Qualifications
  • Be unemployed
  • Be 55 years of age or older and a resident of Connecticut
  • Have an annual family income that is not more than 125% of the federal poverty income guidelines.

Family Size Annual Income
   1 - $15,175
   2 - $20,575
   3 - $25,975

For additional information about Ready to Work, please contact Jennifer Gorman at (860) 424-5643 or at Jennifer.Gorman@ct.gov

READY TO WORK PROVIDERS

Greater New Haven Area:

Associates for Training and Development
Whitneyville Cultural Commons
1253 Whitney Ave
Sean Joyce
(203) 202-3998 x203

Litchfield County:

Education Connection
PO Box 909
Litchfield, CT 06759
JodiLynn Nasinnyk
(860) 567-0863
binkley@educationconnection.org

Greater Stamford Area:

Jewish Family Service of Stamford
733 Summer St, 6th Flr
Stamford, CT 06901-1208
Ilene Locker
(203) 921-4161
iklocker@ctjfs.org

For Other Senior Community Service Programs Contact:

Fairfield, Hartford, Middlesex, New London, Tolland and Windham Counties:

The WorkPlace Inc.:
350 Fairfield Ave, 4th Flr
Bridgeport, CT 06604
(203) 953-3752
John Szymanski
jszymanski@workplace.org

601 Norwich New London Tnpk, Suite 1
Montville, CT 06382
(203) 610-6554
Elizabeth Acevedo
eacevedo@workplace.org

20-28 Sargeant St, 2nd Flr
Hartford, CT 06105
(203) 610-8478
Rory Patton
rpatton@workplace.org

458 Grand Ave, Rm 110
New Haven, CT 06513
Patryce Bryant
(203) 373-2101
pbryant@workplace.org

649 West Main St
Waterbury, CT 06702
(203) 373-2104
Patrick Murphy
pmurphy@workplace.org





Content Last Modified on 6/21/2018 3:11:22 PM