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I. THE MEDICARE PRESCRIPTION DRUG MODERNIZATION AND 
IMPROVEMENT ACT  OF 2003 

 
The new Medicare Act created a new “Medicare Part D” benefit that will provide 
prescription drug insurance to Medicare beneficiaries beginning in January 2006.  The 
federal government is still working out the specifics of this benefit, and Congress may 
make changes in the benefit program before it is put into place. 
 
Enrollment for the Medicare Part D benefit is not expected to begin until November, 
2005.  The federal government’s Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services will 
provide Medicare beneficiaries with detailed information about the prescription drug 
benefit before those eligible need to make decisions about how to participate. 
 
II. THE MEDICARE PRESCRIPTION DRUG DISCOUNT CARD 
 
 A. Introduction 
 
In the interim before the new Medicare Part D becomes effective, the Medicare Act 
created a temporary government-approved prescription drug discount card program to 
provide short-term relief from the high cost of prescription pharmaceuticals for those 
Connecticut citizens eligible for the cards.  The enrollment period for the discount cards 
began on May 3, 2004 and, once enrolled with a card sponsor, you can begin to use the 
card beginning June 1, 2004.  This discount card program will be in effect from June 1, 
2004 through December 31, 2005.   
 
Medicare is contracting with private companies, such as insurance companies, 
pharmaceutical manufacturers and pharmaceutical benefit managers, to offer Medicare-
approved drug discount cards.  These card sponsors are expected to offer savings in the 
range of 10-20% off retail brand name prescription drug prices and potentially greater 
discounts for generics.  All discount cards approved by Medicare will have this seal: 
 

     
 
The Medicare program will only approve discount cards that meet certain standards, such 
as providing a range of different categories of discounted drugs, access to local 
pharmacies, and regular price comparisons for discounted drugs.  Medicare discount 
cards will cost no more than $30 per year and will be established by each company 
offering the cards.  For certain low-income Connecticut citizens (see page 6), the $30 fee 
will be waived.  
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An eligible recipient may choose only one card from among the numerous cards offered, 
so it is important to select the card that will provide the greatest cost savings to yourself 
or your family member.  
 
 B. The Basics of the Program 
 
 1. Who is Eligible? 
 
The Medicare prescription drug card is voluntary in nature.  The discount card program is 
not insurance and is not intended to replace any other health insurance you may already 
have that covers prescription drugs.  You are eligible for a Medicare prescription drug 
discount card if you are eligible for Medicare and do not have outpatient prescription 
drug benefits through Medicaid.  If you are enrolled in ConnPACE you can still get a 
Medicare-approved discount card. 
  

2. Selecting the Card  
 
The selection of the discount card that is best for you is a personal decision based on 
convenience of pharmacy location, which drugs are covered by the card and the 
discounted price offered for the drugs.  While each company offering a Medicare-
approved discount card must offer a discount on at least one drug to treat most health 
conditions, be aware that all discounts cards are not created alike - - each company may 
use different pharmacies, different discounts and cover different prescription drugs.  In 
fact the same pharmacy very likely will offer different discounts on the same drug 
depending on which Medicare-approved discount card you have selected.  Further, 
Medicare-approved discount card sponsors can change the drugs on its discount list 
and/or the discounted prices as often as once a week.  You should also note that the 
company sponsoring your card will give you information about the discounts it offers and 
the drugs covered only if you ask.  You should periodically check for any changes on the 
company’s internet website (if it has one) or through a toll-free telephone number, which 
all Medicare-approved discount card sponsors are required to have.  
 
To find out which discount cards are available in Connecticut, or for assistance in 
choosing a discount card or filling out the enrollment form, you should: 
 

• Look at www.medicare.gov on the web; or 
• Call 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227); or 
• Contact the Connecticut Department of Social Services’ health 

insurance assistance program (“CHOICES”) at 1-800-994-9422 or 
look at www.ctelderlyservices.state.ct.us on the web; or 

• Call the company offering the drug discount card you want.  
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3. Enrollment 
 

Unless the Medicare discount card enrollment fee is waived, Medicare-approved 
companies offering the discount cards are entitled to charge you an enrollment fee of up 
to $30 annually.  You should note there are no monthly charges and there are no extra 
fees.  For the calendar year 2004, the Medicare discount card annual enrollment fee will 
cover prescription drug purchases from June 1 through December, 31, 2004.  You will 
have to pay a new enrollment fee for 2005.  Moreover, you will have to pay an additional 
enrollment fee if you voluntarily decide to switch to a different discount card regardless 
of whether that company stops covering your prescription drug or decreases the discount 
originally offered, or even if the company that you selected for your discount card stops 
offering your discount card.  While you may cancel your Medicare discount card at any 
time, you may not receive a refund of the enrollment fee. 
 
Medicare beneficiaries can sign up for only one prescription drug discount card at a time, 
and you will have only one opportunity this year to switch cards.  Although there are 
certain exceptions, generally discount cards can only be switched between November 15 
and December 31, 2004.  If you want to keep the same card sponsor for 2005, you do not 
need to reapply as long as you pay your annual fee.  
 

4. Comparing Medicare Discount Card Choices
 
Medicare beneficiaries should ask the following questions when considering the purchase 
of a Medicare-approved prescription drug discount card: 
 

• Has the Medicare program approved this card?  Check the 
information from the Medicare program - - do not just rely on 
literature from the discount provider or the fact that the literature 
contains the Medicare-approved seal; 

• Does the card cover the prescription drugs I take? 
• Is my physician considering changing the prescription medications 

I am presently taking?  If so, you should discuss what medications 
your physician is considering switching you to in order to 
determine whether that prescription drug is also covered by the 
Medicare discount card you are considering; 

• Does my brand medication have a generic equivalent that is 
appropriate for me and will save me more money?  

• How much will I save?  To see how much you would save by 
using a particular Medicare card, list your monthly prescription 
drug costs, and calculate the savings the card would offer on each 
drug; 

• Does the pharmacy where I shop accept this card?  Ask the 
pharmacist - - do not just rely on literature from the discount card 
company; 

• Does the Medicare discount card company include pharmacies in 
its network that are convenient for me? 
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• Is the Medicare discount card only usable in Connecticut or can it 
be used in multiple states or throughout the country?  This is 
especially important for those Medicare beneficiaries who travel, 
or live seasonally in another part of the country, i.e., Florida or 
Arizona.  

 
A list of Medicare-approved discount card companies can be found at www.medicare.gov 
or by calling 1-800-MEDICARE (1-800-633-4227).   
 
 C. The Medicare Drug Discount Card and the ConnPACE Program 
 
The new Medicare-approved discount card program presents Connecticut with the 
opportunity to coordinate benefits with the state’s ConnPACE program through federal 
money available for certain ConnPACE members who meet certain income criteria.  
While implementation and application of the federal benefit requires additional 
administrative work for the Connecticut Department of Social Services, ConnPACE 
members should know that the state’s coordination with the federal government will take 
place behind the scenes, and will result in no additional cost and no loss of benefits to 
eligible ConnPACE members.   
 
The Connecticut Department of Social Services has refined the list of Medicare-approved 
discount cards sponsors to reduce the number of sponsors available for ConnPACE 
members.  For certain lower income ConnPACE members (incomes under $12,570 for a 
single person or under $16,863 for a married couple) the Medicare-approved discount 
card is required, but the discount card enrollment fee will be waived and, depending on 
the cost of your prescription drug, you may pay less than your usual $16.25 co-payment.  
Your usual co-pay may be less because at these income levels Medicare has co-payment 
amounts of 5% or 10% of the cost of each prescription when you go to the pharmacy 
(whether you get a 5% or 10% co-payment level depends on your income).  This means 
that depending on the retail cost of your prescription, you may pay less than the $16.25 
flat co-pay.  However, since you are also a ConnPACE member, you will never pay 
more than $16.25.  The Connecticut Department of Social Services will be sending 
ConnPACE members who meet these income limits with information on how to enroll in 
an approved discount card program. 
 
For ConnPace members whose incomes exceed the above-specified limits, it may not be 
worthwhile to enroll in a Medicare-approved discount card program, as the card will cost 
you up to $30 for 2004 and another $30 in 2005, which will entitle you to a discount of 
roughly 10%- 25% per prescription drug.  However, you are already covered by 
ConnPACE and do not have to pay more than the $16.25 co-payment.  The Connecticut 
Department of Social Services will send all ConnPACE members information to assist 
you in your decision. 
 
ConnPace members with questions or concerns are urged to contact the Connecticut 
Department of Social Services at 1-800-423-5026.  Additional information is also 
available on the ConnPace website at www.connpace.com.    
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III. NON-MEDICARE PRESCRIPTION DRUG DISCOUNT CARDS 
 
There are other prescription drug discount cards offered by a variety of companies and 
organizations that do not fall within the Medicare drug discount card program.  Although 
you can only have one Medicare drug discount card at any time, you may use any other 
prescription drug discount cards you have or obtain over the next 18 months.  Note that 
these prescription drug discount cards are not approved by Medicare, and thus may or 
may not meet the same standards as the Medicare-approved cards.  You will, however, 
only be able to use one discount card for each prescription drug purchase.    
 
Many organizations currently offer drug discount cards.  Some of these cards are offered 
by established, familiar organizations such as pharmaceutical manufacturers, pharmacy 
chains, advocacy organizations, and pharmacy benefit managers.  It is possible - - in fact 
likely - - that some of these cards may actually offer you a better deal on some or all of 
you prescription drugs than the Medicare-approved cards, so you must be careful when 
considering all of your options.   
 
You should consider the following points when deciding whether to obtain a non-
Medicare-approved discount card: 
 

• Purchase a non-Medicare discount card only from a company or 
organization you know; 

• Compare the costs and benefits of several cards before you 
purchase one.  Both the costs and the benefits vary widely; 

• Most prescription drug discount cards cost less than $30.  Do not 
pay much more than that for a card unless it provides significant 
additional benefits, such as dental care or eyeglasses; 

• Read the fine print before you purchase anything; 
• Be cautious about giving out personal information such as your 

social security number or mother’s maiden name.  Never give out 
your bank account number or your passwords; 

• Keep a record of the organization’s name, address and phone 
number.  Keep copies of any information you provide; 

• When you receive your medication through the mail or from a 
pharmacy, always check to see if it is exactly what you ordered.  If 
you have questions or concerns, ask your physician;  

• You should always inquire whether your pharmacy offers a senior 
citizen discount, as many pharmacies will offer a discount to 
senior citizens of at least 10% if not more, without the need for a 
discount card; and 

• If you believe a discount card’s practices are unfair or deceptive, 
contact Attorney General Blumenthal’s Consumer Assistance 
Hotline at (860) 808-5420. 
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Finally, a special note about ordering prescription drugs through an internet pharmacy 
provider, whether a pharmacy that purports to be within the United States, in Canada, or 
elsewhere:  Great care should be taken when ordering your prescription drugs from 
internet pharmacies that do business from outside the United States as there could be 
legitimate concerns regarding the origin and thus safety of prescription drugs shipped 
from certain of these sites.  For prescription drugs purchased from internet pharmacies 
that purport to exist in the United States, Attorney General Blumenthal recommends that 
consumers first check the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy’s Verified 
Internet Pharmacy Practice Sites (“VIPPS”) at www.nabp.net/vipps/intro.asp for 
information on internet pharmacies that are VIPPS certified.  Such certification means the 
listed pharmacy has complied with the licensing and inspection requirements of their 
home state and each state to which they dispense pharmaceuticals.  In addition, 
pharmacies displaying the VIPPS seal have demonstrated to the National Association of 
Boards of Pharmacy that they are in compliance with  VIPPS criteria, including patient 
rights to privacy, authentication and security of prescription orders, adherence to a 
recognized quality assurance policy, and provision of meaningful consultation between 
patients and pharmacists. 

IV. WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW TO AVOID MEDICARE DISCOUNT 
DRUG CARD SCAMS 

The Medicare drug discount cards program is, in many respects, confusing and, 
unfortunately, susceptible to abuse by those unscrupulous companies and individuals who 
may try and take advantage of the unwary.  The federal government’s Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services and Health and Human Service’s Office of the Inspector 
General, and the Office of the Connecticut Attorney General, are aware of a number of 
potential drug card scams and are warning Medicare beneficiaries and their family 
members to be cautious when approached to buy a drug discount card.   

The Office of the Connecticut Attorney General recommends that consumers follow 
these simple rules to avoid falling victim to such deceit: 

• Be sure the discount drug program is Medicare-approved.  All 
Medicare-approved discount card programs will bear the Medicare 
Rx seal 

 

• Medicare-approved card sponsors are not permitted to conduct any 
cold-calls.   Therefore, no individual should receive a call or in-
person unsolicited visit from a card sponsor unless you have 
requested further information from an ad or direct mail piece.  
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Medicare-approved card sponsors will advertise their discount 
cards on television, radio, newspapers and direct mail.   

• A Medicare beneficiary or ConnPace beneficiary should never 
share personal information such as bank account number, social 
security number or health insurance card number (or Medicare 
or ConnPACE number) with any individual who calls or comes to 
the door claiming to sell any Medicare related product; 

• A ConnPACE member whose income limits are under $12,570 for 
a single person or under $16,863 for a married couple, should 
never have to pay an enrollment fee, under any circumstances.  
Likewise, no ConnPACE member should ever have to pay more 
than $16.25 for their prescription.  If a pharmacy requires a 
ConnPACE member with the aforementioned income limits to pay 
an enrollment fee for a discount card, or charges you more than 
$16.25 for your prescription drug, you should report the pharmacy 
to the Office of the Connecticut Attorney General’s Health Care 
Fraud Unit at 860-808-5355 or the Department of Social Service at 
860-424-5150.  
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