Governor Rell: Governor Rell Presents 2010 Governor's Awards for Excellence in Culture & Tourism

{Seal of the State of Connecticut}


M. Jodi Rell

April 28, 2010
Governor Rell Presents 2010 Governor's Awards for Excellence in Culture & Tourism


      On April 28, Governor M. Jodi Rell celebrated Connecticut's creative industries by honoring organizations and individuals who have made lasting contributions to the fields of arts, digital media, film, history, historic preservation, and tourism during the 2010 Governor's Awards for Excellence in Culture & Tourism, presented by the Connecticut Commission on Culture & Tourism (CCT).


      “The Governor's Awards for Excellence in Culture & Tourism recognize organizations and individuals who have demonstrated excellence and lifetime achievement in the fields of arts, digital media, film, history, historic preservation, and tourism,” Governor Rell said.  “Recipients are selected based on magnitude of achievement; the level of recognition brought by achievement and sustained contribution to the field and the state.”


      Recipients of the Distinguished Advocate Awards are Connecticut residents who, without monetary compensation, have worked to strengthen, preserve or promote the creative industry in the state. They have made a significant impact on one or more organizations or have made important contributions to their communities, regions or the state.


      A special presentation was made to the Connecticut State Capitol Preservation and Restoration Commission. The Commission, formed in March 1972, was charged with obtaining funds for the restoration of the State Capitol, which took place from 1979 to 1989. The 12-member Commission continues to oversee the physical, historic and artistic integrity of the State Capitol and its grounds.

2010 Governor’s Award Recipients are:

Barkley L. Hendricks, New London, visual artist and Professor of Art at Connecticut College

Connecticut Humanities Council, Middletown, the state’s affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities

Diane Smith, West Hartford, Emmy Award winning news anchor, producer, reporter and TV journalist

ESPN, Bristol, 24-hour, multinational sports broadcasting network and leader in digital media and technology.

2010 Distinguished Advocates include:
Fred T. Blish of Manchester, for his 50+ years as the “guiding force” and founding member of the all-volunteer organization, the Little Theatre of Manchester.

Coleman H. Casey of Hartford, for his 30+ years of hard work and dedication to the Hartford arts community and his service as a trustee or board member of more than 15 organizations.

John Frantzis of Middlebury, for his 50+ years of dedication to the Quassy Amusement Park in Middlebury and his continuous advocacy for tourism in Northwestern Connecticut.

Rose Gaudio Lamy of Wallingford, for her passion and energy as a tourism ambassador and for her unyielding love for the “Great State of Connecticut”.
Donna J. McCalla of Amston, for her tireless efforts to revitalize Hebron’s history and its historic properties, structures and landmarks.

Marian O’Keefe of Seymour, for her 50+ years of enthusiastic commitment to learning the history of whatever Connecticut town she resided in – seven - and for her dedication to raise public awareness of Connecticut’s rich local and state history.

Content Last Modified on 4/30/2010 4:46:47 PM

Home | Home Send Feedback | Login |  Register

State of Connecticut Disclaimer and Privacy Policy.  Copyright © 2002 - 2011 State of Connecticut.