DMHAS: Catchment Area Councils

Catchment Area Councils

A Catchment Area is a defined geographic area, based on population, that receives mental health services as a unit. Each town in Connecticut is represented by a Catchment Area Council (CAC). The Catchment Area Council (CAC) is a citizen body and is the grassroots level of citizen involvement in planning for needed services. Some members of the CAC are lay citizens, called consumers, while others are mental health professionals called providers.   
The role of the CAC is to study and evaluate existing mental health services in the catchment area and to make recommendations about the types of services that are needed. All findings and conclusions are reported to the Regional Mental Health Boards and to the Connecticut Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services. The regional board makes recommendations on a regular basis.

{Region one map}

  Catchment Area Councils 1 - 4

(Catchment Area 1)
Serving the towns of Darien, Greenwich, New Canaan, and Stamford.

(Catchment Area 2)
Serving the towns of Norwalk, Weston, Westport and Wilton.

(Catchment Area 3)
Serving the towns of Bridgeport (western portion), Easton, and Fairfield.

(Catchment Area 4)
Serving the towns of Bridgeport (eastern portion), Monroe, Stratford, and Trumbull.

{Region two map}

 Catchment Area Councils 5 - 10

(Catchment Area 5)
Serving the towns of Ansonia, Derby, Seymour and Shelton.

(Catchment Area 6)
Serving the towns of Milford, Orange and West Haven.

(Catchment Area 7)
Serving the towns of Bethany, Hamden, New Haven and Woodbridge.

(Catchment Area 8)
Serving the towns of Branford, East Haven, Guilford, Madison, North Branford, and North Haven.

(Catchment Area 9)
Serving the towns of Meriden and Wallingford.

(Catchment Area 10)
Serving the towns of Chester, Clinton, Cromwell, Deep River, Durham, East Haddam, East Hampton, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, Lyme, Middlefield, Middletown, Old Lyme, Old Saybrook, Portland, and Westbrook.

{Region three map}

  Catchment Area Councils 11 - 14 

(Catchment Area 11)
Serving the towns of East Lyme, Groton, Ledyard, Montville, New London, North Stonington, Stonington, and Waterford.

(Catchment Area 12)
Serving the towns of Bozrah, Colchester, Franklin, Griswold, Lisbon, Norwich, Preston, Salem, Sprague, and Voluntown.

(Catchment Area 13)
Serving the towns of Ashford, Chaplin, Columbia, Coventry, Hampton, Lebanon, Mansfield, Scotland, Storrs, Union, Willington, and Windham.

(Catchment Area 14)
Serving the towns of Brooklyn, Canterbury, Eastford, Killingly, Plainfield, Pomfret, Putnam, Sterling, Thompson, and Woodstock.

{Region four map}

  Catchment Area Councils 15 - 19 and 23 

(Catchment Area 15)
Serving the towns of Amston, Andover, Bolton, Buckland, Ellington, Hebron, Manchester, Rockville, South Windsor, Talcottville, Tolland, Vernon, and Wapping.

(Catchment Area 16)
Serving the towns of East Glastonbury, East Hartford, Glastonbury, Maple Hill, Marlborough, Newington, Rocky Hill, South Glastonbury, and Wethersfield.

(Catchment Area 17)
Serving the towns of Bloomfield, Broad Brook, East Granby, East Hartland, East Windsor, Enfield, Granby, Hazardville, Melrose, North Granby, Poquonock, Scitico, Somers, Somersville, Stafford, Stafford Springs, Staffordville, Suffield, Thompsonville, Warehouse Point, West Granby, West Suffield, Wilson, Windsor, Windsor Locks, and Windsorville.

(Catchment Area 18 and 23)
Serving the towns of Avon, Canton, Canton Center, Collinsville, Elmwood, Farmington, Hartford, Simsbury, Tariffville, Unionville, Weatogue, West Hartford, and West Simsbury.

(Catchment Area 19)
Serving the towns of Berlin, Bristol, Burlington, East Berlin, Kensington, Marion, Milldale, New Britain, Pequabuck, Plainville, Plantsville, Plymouth, Southington and Terryville.

{Region five map}

  Catchment Area Councils 20 - 22 

(Catchment Area 20)
Serving the towns of Beacon Falls, Bethlehem, Cheshire, Middlebury, Naugatuck, Oakville, Oxford, Prospect, South Britain, Southbury, Thomaston, Union City, Waterbury, Watertown, Waterville, Wolcott and Woodbury.

(Catchment Area 21)
Serving the towns of Bethel, Botsford, Bridgewater, Brookfield, Brookfield Center, Danbury, Gaylordsville, Hawleyville, New Fairfield, New Milford, Newtown, Redding, Redding Center, Redding Ridge, Ridgefield, Roxbury, Sandy Hook, Sherman, West Redding.

(Catchment Area 22)
Serving the towns of Bantam, Barkhamsted, Canaan, Colebrook, Cornwall, Cornwall Bridge, Falls Village, Goshen, Hartland, Harwinton, Kent, Lakeside, Lakeville, Limerock, Litchfield, Marble Dale, Morris, New Hartford, New Preston, Norfolk, North Canaan, North Kent, Northfield, Pine Meadow, Pleasant Valley, Riverton, Salisbury, Sharon, South Kent, Taconic, Torrington, Warren, Washington, Washington Depot, West Cornwall, West Goshen, Winchester, Winchester Center, Winsted.

To locate services in your area, follow the link to Finding Services.

 Also See . . .    

Content Last Modified on 6/6/2016 8:51:57 AM