CSAO: Cold Case Investigations

Cold Case Investigations

{The email address for the Cold Case Unit is cold.case@ct.gov}
Toll-Free Tip Line
Hartford Area Tip Line
Statewide by U.S. Mail:
Cold Case Unit
P.O. Box 962
Rocky Hill, CT 06067
Cold Case Cards

The Division of Criminal Justice in partnership with the Connecticut Department of Correction and law enforcement agencies statewide have created a Cold Case playing card deck highlighting 52 unsolved homicides, missing persons, and unidentified remains cases that have occurred throughout the state. These cards are being distributed in an effort to generate information and leads in solving these cold cases. Every tip has the potential to bring law enforcement one step closer to obtaining justice for victims and a sense of closure for their surviving family members.

Tips Remain Anonymous



THE COLD CASE UNIT was established in the Office of the Chief State's Attorney in May of 1998 to focus special investigative efforts on crimes that have gone "cold," that is, unsolved for a prolonged period of time.

In October 2009, a second unit was established to focus on Cold Cases in Southeastern Connecticut/New London County.

Since 1998, the Cold Case Unit has undertaken numerous investigations, resulting in convictions in more than a dozen previously unsolved homicides. Additionally, Cold Case investigators have been involved in investigations that resulted in the Federal court convictions of three individuals in homicide cases.

Cold Case Units bring together experienced prosecutors and investigators from the Division of Criminal Justice (Office of the Chief State's Attorney and State's Attorneys) to work closely with the Connecticut State Police and municipal police departments. These investigators start from scratch, reviewing all evidence and taking a fresh look at the crime.

This work relies upon the latest investigative techniques and the newest technology, including highly sophisticated DNA analysis. Many of these techniques were not available when the crimes occurred and the original investigations were undertaken.

The Division of Criminal Justice Cold Case Unit currently includes investigators from the:

  • Office of the Chief State’s Attorney;
  • State of Connecticut Department of Correction;
  • Hartford Police Department;
  • New Haven Police Department;
  • Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives.
Additionally, the Southeastern Connecticut/New London County Cold Case Unit includes investigators from:
  • Town of Groton Police Department;
  • City of Groton Police Department;
  • New London Police Department;
  • Norwich Police Department;
  • Stonington Police Department;
  • Waterford Police Department;
  • State of Connecticut Department of Correction;
  • Connecticut State Police Eastern District Major Crime Squad;
  • Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
  • Office of the Chief State's Attorney;
  • Office of the State's Attorney - Judicial District of New London and;
  • Office of the State's Attorney -  Judicial District of Windham.

The Cold Case approach is not unique to Connecticut. The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) and many other state and local jurisdictions also have Cold Case Units or Squads.

Content Last Modified on 9/18/2015 4:11:10 PM